Sugar Glider V5, Mini Suggie gathering. View post #7

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 5 2008, 03:30 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(siokjinlim @ Mar 5 2008, 02:37 PM)
mod, feel free to delete it, cos this is not my pic, but just wondering if all suggie in the pic are wild.. just wan to learn hw to spot wild ones, so i/we all dun get cheated in the future  wink.gif
Actually, this pic was in that mudah.com's ad... but it is not original pic. This pic originally from adpost, by a supplier who was selling Rm60 for males.

QUOTE(colnagos @ Mar 5 2008, 02:53 PM)
lose some moral  to keep them cry.gif

hey,is it possible it was from another species?
Don't lose hope lah. You already bought them, you need to do research.

Did you buy on impulse? I mean.... you also haven't get ready their cage.... normally the cage should be ready before we get our gliders.

All you need is patience and bonding time. JitShiong did it, KP did it, Reanne also did it.... it took them months to tame their adults.... and I think KP got her Iggy when he was a crabby bitey glider when he was about 5 or 6 months old. Reanne's 1st glider was a very adult untame male, that became quite tame. It's all time, patience and commitment lah.

Right now you already know that they are not as young as you had expected... so.... just deal with it, you already have them. Read up on bonding and start bonding with your gliders. It's never too late.

Adults can get RM100 to Rm120 in KL.... if in Malacca or Penang.... I think RM60 also got....

QUOTE(bonai @ Mar 5 2008, 02:54 PM)
RM200 seems reasonable.
Now glider only few stocks so it's ok la..
Wild caught could get like RM120 from petaling street.

Money is not the matter once you love it.

there's no rule saying you can't buy adults or wild caughts.
So feel happy to have have one.

It's just the taming and bonding process that takes time.
I bet you would be much more brave once their tame rather than those who bought tamed gliders.

Btw, this guy knows that he needs to do research and thats what he's doing now (looks like that to me).
that's a good start!

EDITED: I can show you some wild adults thats not even brown in colour. And I can show you my friend's joey brown in colour. It's called true cinnamon as he said. Only a true cinnamon reveals it colour since young. So cant really tell by just looking at the colour. Anyway, in above pictures if kept like that is totally wild!
Petaling Street out of stock already. There are 2 juvi gliders and 1 very adorable slightly underage joey... A pity coz shop keeper couldn't tell the sex. The small joey is a female.

Cinnamon rare to find here. I think if we wanna know our glider's true colours, is either we keep since young or we shave out gliders bald and see what fur grows hahahaha.... jk lah here.

Anyway, when it comes to pets, money is not really an issue if we love them. I spend all my money on my pets. My parents kept nagging at me, asking "Are you gonna be a slave to your pets forever?".... I think I would coz I'm extremely happy with them.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 5 2008, 03:33 PM

12,047 posts

Did the seller give you a caresheet? In his ad.... he said all the joeys are 2 to 3 months old.... why so different?

I also got caresheet but I gotta email out coz still in the progress hahahah...
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 5 2008, 04:11 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(spel'it @ Mar 5 2008, 03:34 PM)
"Are you gonna be a slave to your pets forever?".... I think I would coz I'm extremely happy with them.
This part is extremely sweet. smile.gif
tongue.gif Thanks...

I always stay at home, rarely go out to do other stuff ppl my age would do.... all coz I babysit my pets LOL.

Anyway, your C and K looks very very well. K's leg ok now?

QUOTE(colnagos @ Mar 5 2008, 03:36 PM)
there ,u  see, actually that guy is hiding sumthing,i think so .
Thanks for the info crazymouse  biggrin.gif
All the pics he posted in mudah.com not his pics. I saw it before you guys bought.... I was suspecting something not right coz his 1st ad, he deleted.... then 2nd ad, was only mentioning gliders for sale, no age... then he re-edit it, putting in the end cage cost Rm10, will give caresheet and information on diet and care, also only for animal lovers.... so can say he edited his ad 3 times liao....

QUOTE(thejamz @ Mar 5 2008, 03:37 PM)
i think i'll get it and try tame them..
coz i already confimd..
must keep promise..
berdosa if i dont...
You promised to buy? Wah... next time shouldn't promise mah.... take a look 1st if you find it suspecious... best you buy from people who are trusted....
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 5 2008, 04:48 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(ggMing @ Mar 5 2008, 04:28 PM)
thank you..
i figured, it would be better to let them bite me now than to let them bite me when they are bigger... lol...
i just can't stand looking at my glider playing with herself in the cage...

yeah!!! my friend is giving me a bigger cage for my glider... actually, as a present....
well, i was thinking whether or not to put fake plants in the cage....

it would definitely make the cage look better with fake plants...
but my only concern is that i'm afraid when i bring my glider out, they will jump on to branches and trees...
will they do it?? any recommendation whether or not to put in fake plants?
Get another joey loh heheheh.... anyway, you can add fake plants but then most likely she would chew it up. So better not. Just stick with some ropes, safe recommended branches like hibiscus, you can add more ramps or more pouches heheheh. Anyway, use your creativity.

QUOTE(siokjinlim @ Mar 5 2008, 04:33 PM)
crazymouse: hun, the joey you saw at petaling street, is it petsmore? and do you think the little baby is still there?? might wan to visit her... if can, wan to adopt her before someone else does..

thejamz: bro, u check and see if the gliders he promised you is in good shape or not lah... or else, i think its ok if u dont buy them. the seller is more berdosa to sell you gliders who're in bad condition.
Oh, is not Petsmore.... Petsmore that joey kinda stressed.... dunno bout the diet.... the one I saw is at one of the last old petshops down the road.... near the chicken rice shop and some small parking lot.

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Mar 5 2008, 04:36 PM)
Arghh, so geram my net went crappy when I was about to reply... Now so many to reply... Ans it ain't all that good!
You bought an adult, possibly wild caught gliders ofcourse they can bite till bleeding.

Will take a whole lot of time and patience to tame them and I hope you will stick to it to the end and not give up half way!

That is what most newbies do... Cannot cope about a month or 2, give up, sell the gliders to someone else... Seen too much of this happening.

And your cage is freaking small and torturous for them.
Yes, it's actually easy to differentiate WC and captive bred.

Like what jitshiong has said, WC furs are mostly tainted and very brown in color, this is due to their pee stain, nesting in the wild and markings.
Need to correct that statement a bit.

Adults be it captive bred or WC, CAN bite till draw blood!

Iggy is a captive bred which was kept in a group in god knows how big of a cage and had no proper human interaction... And he bites till it bleeds!

Adults teeth are much more stronger as they grow, and even a little nip can actually break your skin and draw blood. Joeys teeth is still immature, thus wont break your skin if they nip.
Definitely not 3-4 months old. More like a juvie of 6-7 months.

You'll need a lot of time and patience. Only that can help you.
You've definitely been duped.

RM400 for those 2 is a brag!

You need a big cage asap!

Should have known that before you commit to getting them.
A nursing joey will get a very faint taint around their muzzle only.

Most WC brownish color won't shed off anymore, the taint has become permenant and since ewe can wash them with whitening shampoo, the color will most likely to stay.
Yes, those are WC. They ship and keep them in that bloody condition. Very sad.

That pix is actually from Adpost.
One should not be duped and called reasonable.

WC range from as low as RM60-150 each only.

There's plenty of glider stock, all you need to do is spend some proper time to search.

So far the colors of gliders available in Malaysia is only standard grey with a few variant of shades, we don't have any other special color such as cinnamon and such. Dunnolah if you are really fortunate to get one.
If you can back out, it's best to do so since you have already gotten some info.

It's not easy to tame a WC.

Without real patience and persistance, you'd get frustrated easily.

Taming can take from a few months to even years.

KP
Finally your here.... Maybe I should have mention captive bred that have been handled.... coz like some gliders I boarded, got 1 pair they were captive bred but rarely handled.... never bite till bleeding, the male is ok enough for me to hold and climb about me.... but the female is timid as a mouse.

Many people are going about using other people's pictures for their sales.... in LYN garage sales got as well.... just google sugar glider images, can find it.... that is why, always request for the original photo if you need it.

Wild caught so damn cheap... RM60 RM50.... imagine how many impulse breeders and buyers would buy.... imagine those seeking a profit would gain.... buy at Rm50, then sell at RM300... who knows rite?

Even the adults in Pets Wonderland, the staff dare not hold the adult gliders coz they bite till bleed.... and sell rm488.... crazy...

I think alot these days are captive bred but never handled, pretty much let them go wild.... but thanks for pointing out my mistake.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 5 2008, 04:56 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(ggMing @ Mar 5 2008, 04:50 PM)
everyone is asking me to get another glider...
but i don't want another glider if i don't need to...
i'm seriously bonded to the one i'm having..

do i really need to get another glider?
You will one day. It doesn't need to be a male, female also fine. It doesn't need to be now, maybe in a few months time or a year... who knows....

But if you really can play and spend all your time with your joey now and she has adapted well, then possible to not have. But since gliders are social, is good to have another so that your glider can have company with another that is the same species with her....

I started with 1, now got 3.... may add more later tongue.gif

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 6 2008, 12:22 PM

12,047 posts

I'm also in the midst of thinking how to make my bigger cage more "filled up".... but cage not with me yet LOL.... most likely I will use ropes coz Kiah and Kapi like to walk and hang on their ropes.

My cage is not big enough. Is the normal RM100 cage from pet safari lah but it is so filled up with stuff! A friend saw my cage, she said my cage looks like a circus hahahah....
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 7 2008, 10:38 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Mar 7 2008, 06:35 PM)
[attachmentid=412665]
Look at this!!!
Haha, i went to a breeder to check for gliders.
He showed me his his white tipped glider!!
First time i saw it.
Sorry for the unclear picture.
Only have a camera phone to capture it.
Bad one summore.
Just feel like sharing.
Dun ask, he's not selling it.
He's got 3 white tipped.
Wahh.... something new drool.gif

If I had them, I won't even sell them heheheh.... cute things.

Anyway, here is Kiah, posing....

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 11 2008, 12:50 PM

12,047 posts

Hahaha... Foo caught Kiah stoning on my arm while nibbling on a piece of dried guava.

Miko has these super big hypnotic eyes that I feel like poking them LOL....

KP, Reanne, ggMing, jtl and I were at the Petster's magazine launch. Kinda not bad coz we gotta educate MANY people on sugar gliders. I was super pissed when 1 guy with his family came up to me and was saying
"Hey, mine died in 3 months hahahaah"

I was like.... what!? How can? He said it was playful and all, but died 1 day like a piece of stone.... er.... that's not nice to hear rite? That guy was laughing away.... saying petshop told him to feed only apples. That's why it died loh.... for a joey, what nutrition would it be getting by eating only apples?

Anyway, the aim was to introduce glider products to people with gliders and also to educate people who do not know what gliders are. Quite good lah, we all talked till throat dry heheheh. Kiah gave me scary arms coz of her claws but she was very sweet to pose with anyone who wanted a pic. But pity her coz when I reached home, she and Kapi were so tired till don't even wanna eat dinner.

Not bad lah, got many people willing to learn. But there was one who kept telling me that we should release them into the wild coz they are wild animals....
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 12 2008, 07:36 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(bonai @ Mar 11 2008, 05:23 PM)
Yeah, one of my band mates said I'm not helping the environment since I keep protected animals..
But sugar gliders aren't really that bad.... they are protected in Australia....

Alot of places keep gliders but need permits or license. Some states in US do not allow gliders.

http://www.sugarglider.com/gliderpedia/index.asp?Laws

QUOTE(ggMing @ Mar 11 2008, 06:14 PM)
wahaha... brought my glider went fishing yesterday...
she was all the time on her fav. tree...

well, good news, i'm not afraid of crabbing already..!!!

woot!!!
Wah.... so did she catch any fishes? LOL tongue.gif

QUOTE(Reanne @ Mar 11 2008, 07:25 PM)
New set up for Miko and Dakota with ropes and KP's hammock, tunnel and Zzz pouch set.

Now ur cage looks like a circus hahahaah.... I want those ropes....

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Mar 11 2008, 07:47 PM)
Tadaaa!!!
[attachmentid=415271]
Hie everybody!!
[attachmentid=415272]
Cassie
[attachmentid=415273]
Celestial
[attachmentid=415275]
Cassie again!

They are 17 days OOP today. Growing well.  laugh.gif
Ai, so cute. The 2 male joeys with me now. So adorable... will take pictures later.

QUOTE(emino @ Mar 12 2008, 12:13 AM)
Hehe... Just finish trimming Teddy's nails. You guys were right. Once the glider had becomes tamer and friendlier to us, its easier to trim their nails. Teddy doesnt even struggle. I of course rasuah him with mealworms coated with Hun's mixs XD.

Added on March 12, 2008, 12:19 amSome pictures of Teddy after nail trimming session.
user posted image user posted image
Teddy Teddy.... he was never a crabber since he was a tiny joey. I found him very laid back and so very quiet for a joey hahahah.... you can do whatever with him and he won't really make a fuss.

Not all gliders like nail trimming.... now my Kiah and Kapi hates me whenever I trim their nails.

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Mar 12 2008, 05:27 PM)
wow..very cute like jumping tat way  tongue.gif oh NO!!!! poison is killing me...I have to resist...

crazymouse...how long do I need to wait if im in the waiting list?
It's long.... gotta wait. Anyway, wait lah.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 12 2008, 09:24 PM

12,047 posts

Glider and hamster hehehehe... old pic but always fun to see this.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 13 2008, 10:53 PM

12,047 posts

My Kiah would kill and eat baby mice (pinkies) but when it comes to hamsters.... nothing.... more interested in the sun flower seeds. I don't put them together, last time Kiah would visit my hamster every night by herself.....
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 13 2008, 11:18 PM

12,047 posts

LOL, I never tried gerbils.... coz not in my room hahahah.

Anyway, my gliders just moved into their new big cage. Hhahah.... now can put more stuff.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 13 2008, 11:33 PM

12,047 posts

Yups heheheh. New and improved.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 14 2008, 01:23 AM

12,047 posts

Wow, they are so tiny. Luckily you manage to care for them. Poor things. Yes, luckily I brought in the glider milk thanks to a friend here. This is why I brought the milk, to help other owners who have underage joeys.....

I hope they grow well. Update us on their progress.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 16 2008, 12:51 AM

12,047 posts

I'd like to add AGAIN.... please do not discuss sales here. 1st warning for nads88.

About all this "no time to take care" or "too many gliders"... if you do know you won't have much time or space, then why get a male and female pair? Get a single sex pair lah, saves so much trouble. Their lifespan is like 10 years, they can go on breeding and breeding. So how? Sell again and again? Now there is an option to neuter.... so I hope you will think about neutering your male to stop making so many joeys that you do not want. There is always another option where you separate the female glider with her female joey and male glider with the male joey. 2 cages but then it stops the breeding..... As keepers we have to be responsible.... some would put excuses like "my pet horny" or "it needs sex".... this is not only with glider owners but also with hamsters, cats, dogs, rabbits and other pet owners who never thought about the outcome later on.

Added on March 16, 2008, 12:53 am
QUOTE(ggMing @ Mar 15 2008, 11:31 PM)
hi all, i was wondering if those mezzanine pieces comes with bird cages any use to gliders??? they seem to take up a lot of space, and i dont see my gliders jump from those mezzanine pieces...
what's that? The ramps?

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Mar 16 2008, 12:53 AM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 16 2008, 11:08 PM

12,047 posts

If we do not support the suppliers and glider millers, then there will be less wild gliders used for breeding. Then those that we get as pets would be 100% captive bred and also no wild side.

There are so many animals here in this forum that should be left in the wild... snakes, tarantulas, scorpions, tortoises, terrapins... so why only point the finger to gliders? Also, gliders are not native animals so if we release them into our forest, is it wise and correct? Most likely the glider would starve, die from cold and also get eaten by our local civet cats.

Domestication takes a very very long time.... dogs and cats evolved that way. Gliders can adapt well and they do very well in captivity. We can't really put them on the list as a domesticated animal coz they are after all exotics.....

In US, there are so many people keeping gliders now, growing and growing. Many do see their potential to be very good pets. I would point fingers to people who keep kangaroos, koalas, tigers and primates as pets coz those really do not make good pets.

QUOTE(ggMing @ Mar 16 2008, 11:49 AM)
yes, those ramps...
You can leave one. My gliders like to sit and sometimes hop around.... but that's about it.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 17 2008, 05:51 PM

12,047 posts

I was watching Kiah on the wheel last night. Had to off the lights only she would run. LOL. Kapi still haven't run on it yet. She just hop around and climb around like a monkey in her cage.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 18 2008, 01:39 PM

12,047 posts

Just got an SMS from KP. Gathering may go on after all hahahah.... wait for her update.

Meanwhile.... since there will be a pet expo at MidValley, anyone going?

I'll be there on the Saturday with my gliders. We can have a mini-get-together. Just a small gathering for us glider owners to mingle and also.... attract attention hahahah.

Come come. Who wanna go?
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 18 2008, 09:38 PM

12,047 posts

The mini glider gathering is on the 29 March, same day with the Pet World thing at MidValley.

Anyway, coz I think a few of us will be there to see the pet expo, so why not meet up rite?

But then do remember to clear your calendar for 19/20 April for the real big gathering heheheh.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 19 2008, 11:09 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(ayiesz @ Mar 19 2008, 02:21 PM)
ouch sad.gif
that would be sad indeed.
Australia has 3 subspecies that are native to the country, also all native animals are protected by law. Cannot even export and import pets freely too. Since our gliders are Indonesian species, it would not be wise to bring into Australia. They are quite strict with animals going into their country. This is coz they fear that other species may accidentally get released, then they may destroy the flora, causing the local fauna to fight for survival and so on.... That's why there are no hamsters in Australia. They fear hamsters may destroy the flora and crops, causing habitat destruction....

QUOTE(ggMing @ Mar 19 2008, 06:31 PM)
hi all, i've read in glider central and it looks like everyone is using tent to bond with their gliders???

my question is, does it bond better?

i know that bonding in tent does prove that gliders will be bonded to you... but why is a tent so important???

other methods mentioned is... bathroom....

the idea of the above 2 method mention is so that the glider has got noting to play with, therefor, they are stuck with you... and has got nothing else to deal with but you....

i tried bonding in my washroom once, and my glider attacked me... well, it is more towards offensive move rather than defensive....
Lazy to bond mah LOL.... I never use the tent. It kinda makes the glider feels trap. I rather bond by using the pouch method and also handfeeding and playing. So far that works for me.
QUOTE(silverwineus @ Mar 19 2008, 09:39 PM)
Recently i bought a canned food for my MengZai.. and i'm posting the ingredients of this canned food as below, appreciate your analysis as i'm not sure whether the ingredients are glider safe..
If you suspect any hazardous ingredients, do inform me accordingly.

Turkey and Rice Bites

INGREDIENTS:
Turkey, Chicken Broth, Chicken Liver, Kidney, Ocean Fish, Carrots, Brown Rice, Oat Bran, Brewers Dried Yeast, Lecithin, Beet Pulp,
Sea Salt, Guar Gum, Potassium Chloride, Carrageenan, Choline Chloride, Vit E Supplement, Ferrous Sulphate, Zinc Oxide, Riboflavin Supplement, Niacin, Sodium Bisulphate Complex, Vit B-12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Calcium Panthothenate, Vit D3 Supplement, Calcium Iodate, Biotin Supplement, Folic Acid, Sodium Selenite.

Whew..
finally finished with the list.. sweat.gif
Your glider eats canned food? Mine won't hahaha.... but then I did find this canned food by Purina (Fancy Feast for cats), flavour is Roasted Succulent Chicken. The canned food is not processed meat but real chicken meat with some gel. My gliders love that.

I think the canned food you got there is ok....

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0255sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:27 AM