Technical Compatible Routers for PS3, share info and tips here

shahreza2000
post Mar 30 2009, 02:20 AM

62 posts

i thought streamyx modem db102 cant do dmz and port forwarding properly.
shahreza2000
post May 13 2009, 07:37 PM

62 posts

i've been using belkin F5D8233-AK4 Wireless router and it worked like a charm for ps3. thumbup.gif

as for new routers, they shouldn't be a prob.
shahreza2000
post Jul 11 2009, 01:35 PM

62 posts

bro, do u get NAT type 2 or type 3?

EDIT: nih mesti dapat terus NAT1.... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by shahreza2000: Jul 11 2009, 01:47 PM
shahreza2000
post Jul 11 2009, 06:45 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(monyetbesi @ Jul 11 2009, 03:35 PM)
owh, juz now i check out it while boot the system up its mention NAT: failed???but ip adress & other numerical were all in order, so weird...
i'll update and double confirm the status by this eve...but everything was normal just now. sweat.gif

UPDATING
UPNP: Not available
NAT Type: Failed

atm i guess it will be fine just leave it that way, don't want to mess up with the current setting, as long as i'm onlene can see you guy it would be enough already.

Cheers!
do inform us whether online gaming works... since NAT type failed... hmm.gif
shahreza2000
post Jul 12 2009, 10:12 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(vorchiel @ Jul 11 2009, 06:57 PM)
first time im seeing a router/bridge that MUST be set up via disc

100% of the time setup-ing network, i never use any disc

just put it in dhcp first, and configure it using ps3 browser to change whatever you want. however the stupid poor implementation of javascript in ps3 browser may hinder that to be done smoothly.
actually i believe ALL router can work with ps3. it is just the matter on how you setup it. ps3 doesnt require some proprietary 3rd party closed protocol for the network. it is just basic tcp/ip. as long as it has ethernet/gigabitethernet/wifiB/wifiG, i dont see why a router/wifiAP cant work with ps3.
agreed

also do research be4 buying it.... certain routers are very troublesome (hence this and that firmware)... rclxub.gif
shahreza2000
post Aug 2 2009, 12:59 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(sora_world07 @ Aug 2 2009, 12:44 AM)
Hey guys... i have a question... wat ip address will not work wit the PS3?

i usually get 60.48.., 60.49.., n 60.50.. so i was wanderin if my ip is ok?

thxz
it all depends on our own ISP....

few months back... 60.48, 60.49, 60.53, 60.54 were the best for ps3 online and gaming.... (also depends on ur area)

as of this past few days... 60.50, 60.51 are somewhat reliable... (which were considered worst few months back)

as long u can connect to PSN and able to play online games... then ur ip is considered fine...
shahreza2000
post Aug 12 2009, 02:09 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(poyol @ Aug 12 2009, 12:05 PM)
Hi all,

I just recently obtained a PS3 and am now looking to get it working online.
Looking for a proper modem + router + wireless unit which works well with the PS3.

Currently I'm eyeing the Linksys WAG54G2
Will it work flawlessly with the PS3?

Otherwise.. what other brand/model will?

thanks! smile.gif
before getting a brand new wireless router, plz do some research .... google 1st

that way u can make good decisions whether to buy or avoid certain models....

issues popping up like frequent dc, UPNP probs, firmware issues, etc...

i know u aldy aware of it
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/892880

btw i've been using dlink and belkin wireless routers.... both work for ps3 and pc...also for other wireless devices as well

This post has been edited by shahreza2000: Aug 12 2009, 02:10 PM
shahreza2000
post Aug 12 2009, 03:30 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(poyol @ Aug 12 2009, 02:34 PM)
Haiya, see la..this is why I damn headache  rclxub.gif

one side say Linksys no prob, the other side say Linksys sucks..

shareeza2000: which model Belkin you using?

vorchiel: was it easy to setup the Linksys? Plug & Play or alot of manual configuration needed?
i'm using Belkin N wireless router F5D8233-4v3.... so far so good thumbup.gif plus its not overheating as my previous dlink router..

my old dlink router set to bridged mode (now running ok), connected to the belkin...

if u got prob with set up router and connection, plz do not hesitate to post here or pm....

This post has been edited by shahreza2000: Aug 12 2009, 03:32 PM
shahreza2000
post Aug 13 2009, 10:04 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(mizer @ Aug 12 2009, 11:04 PM)
how much you bought it ?  tongue.gif
can't remember how much exactly... under rm300 i think @lowyat plaza
shahreza2000
post Aug 13 2009, 06:35 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(ericpires @ Aug 13 2009, 12:35 PM)
How to set modem router to Bridge mode with ps3?
usually in modem settings .... falls under Connection Type...

Added on August 13, 2009, 6:40 pm
QUOTE(MacaroniNcheese @ Aug 13 2009, 02:51 PM)
I just recently bought a Belkin 54G Wireless Modem Router for my PS3, without doing any research straight to Lowyat, pluck the mf from the store, ask tokey can use for ps3 "Can can sure" i reply wokey,

Went back test the mf, can play ok, even do "No" in the spec for gaming. but the next following day, it kept on disconnecting. So coz very ithcy wit Killzone2, trow the mf aside and  straight plug from modem.

Since then the belkin makan abuk.......

So is it the hardware or the software prob im facing?? or the setting?
Or return to Lowyat and shove the belkin in the Can2 tokey... brows.gif
Actualy not his fault coz business head....

So any help/answer from mighty one?
well u need to config ur router... i also face dc (due to streamyx prob recently...ruining my online gaming)

may i ask whats ur model number?

This post has been edited by shahreza2000: Aug 13 2009, 06:40 PM
shahreza2000
post Aug 14 2009, 02:39 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(ericpires @ Aug 14 2009, 12:29 PM)
im using the same type of Belkin modem router as urs, don't even bother with wireless with just plug direct cable to it. I find its not really got for ps3 online gaming ... or maybe its my streamyx.

Also u can try putting the PS3 in DMZ mode. It can improve your connection
really need to config that router.... adjustment to the settings...

sometimes router even allocate auto ip to ur ps3... it might block certain connections (psn dc etc etc)...

all router are like this, got prob here n there ... not plug n play friendly ....sigh. rclxub.gif

Added on August 14, 2009, 2:47 pm
QUOTE(RCrex @ Aug 14 2009, 01:03 PM)
same problem i;m facing like u guys
i;m using belkin N1 somemore -.-
from the 1st floor wireless connect to ground floow
the signal strength is not very good only 30%+ yet the range not even 15m!
the only way i did was using LAN cable in the end-.-
til not i din even try for online gaming
kinda sad tho coz spent so much to get a belkin n1 but result is disappointing
have u try changing the wireless channel?

This post has been edited by shahreza2000: Aug 14 2009, 02:47 PM
shahreza2000
post Aug 19 2009, 12:33 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(lee_lnh @ Aug 18 2009, 11:11 PM)
wanna ask..

which USB wifi dongle compatitable with PS3?

today got heavy casualty....
superb thundergod strike...

1) D-Link DSL-2640T got fried
2) Lenovo Y400 laptop cannot power on or detect any power source

and paling hampeh... PS3 wireless gg. Ethernet port also gg. now kenot go online with PS3.. grrrrr
wah... kesian lar .... shocking.gif

if wifi and ethernet port gone... dont think usb wifi dongle can work with ps3...
shahreza2000
post Aug 19 2009, 02:24 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(poyol @ Aug 19 2009, 02:12 PM)
little update if anyone cares..

I bought a Belkin N1 router yesterday and got it to work with the PS3.

Router is in my room and the ps3 is in my living room.
According to the PS3, signal strength about 75% and the connection was stable.

Played SF4 and the game was smooth, provided that you play against someone with yellow or green connection.

Also downloaded a couple of HD videos and a game demo from PSN overnight.
dont mind... show us a pic ... icon_rolleyes.gif

u using streamyx or other isp?
shahreza2000
post Aug 19 2009, 02:34 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(karasawamk2 @ Aug 19 2009, 02:33 PM)
Luckly u  rclxms.gif

Mine now using N wirelss Modem Router [F5D8633-4] and yikes.... i seems don't like my ps3 (heck i can't host a game in MGO, portfoward or dmz)... thinking selling this..

Anyone recommend some router or share with me [using 4 mbps]
bro... settings not working?

This post has been edited by shahreza2000: Aug 19 2009, 02:35 PM
shahreza2000
post Aug 19 2009, 02:51 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(karasawamk2 @ Aug 19 2009, 02:42 PM)
Nope not working even it shows NAT2 but using my 4 year old zte stimyx modem and surprisely it works and i can host the game... rclxub.gif

shahreza, kau gune modem ape ye...
aku guna Belkin N wireless router model F5D8233-4

tapi setting ps3 utk router nih mmg kaw2

aku set ps3 ip outside DCHP range

MTU = 1492, kat ps3 MTU = auto/1480

enable MAC Address Filtering... letak ps3 punya MAC address...

portforward dan DMZ pun dah buat...

shahreza2000
post Aug 19 2009, 03:09 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(RCrex @ Aug 19 2009, 03:01 PM)
erm
how to change ar? -.-
change at router webpage

under WIRELESS

Channel and SSID

what is ur wireless channel (1-13) default: 6

what is ur extension channel (2/10) detault: 10

Wireless mode: all mode

Bandwidth: 20/40 mhz

Protection mode: off

QOS: ON

Added on August 19, 2009, 3:13 pm
QUOTE(ericpires @ Aug 19 2009, 03:04 PM)
what is MAC address filtering?

portforward and DMZ is the same rite?
plz read abt it...
http://www.corenetworkz.com/2009/07/enable...-in-belkin.html

u can find ps3 MAC address

NETWORK SETTINGS > Settings and Connection Status List > MAC address shld be there...

This post has been edited by shahreza2000: Aug 19 2009, 03:13 PM
shahreza2000
post Aug 19 2009, 04:31 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(karasawamk2 @ Aug 19 2009, 03:36 PM)
UIIISH, jadi lak, kalau aku tak portfoward letak dmz tu jadi, portfoward tak jadi huhu....

Btw thanx man.... icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
mmg jadi lar...

cool cool... hope more ppl have uninterrupted gaming sessions....hope TM improve their services... thumbup.gif
shahreza2000
post Nov 1 2009, 11:57 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(xPC12x @ Nov 1 2009, 06:06 PM)
boleh sambung ke wire internet kat blakang ps3??(i dun hav ps3,but will get it soon)
u mean adsl modem connect directly to ps3? or otherwise
shahreza2000
post Nov 3 2009, 04:35 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(xPC12x @ Nov 3 2009, 04:16 PM)
adsl....
adsl modem can directly connect to ps3 (thru ethernet cable) - look at rear ps3 (vorchiel provided the search)

either the model auto login - auto connect to ps3, or set pppoe dialer in ps3..
shahreza2000
post Nov 15 2009, 10:55 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(O-haiyo @ Nov 15 2009, 06:05 AM)
hi guys, just bought a ps3. wanna ask, can i connect my ps3 to the internet straight from the TM adsl modem? if can, wats the config?
Yes you can.

The adsl modem is set to bridge mode.

In ps3 network settings, choose PPPoE (insert username & password to login into streamyx)

0.0329sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:14 AM