Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

36 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Compatible Routers for PS3, share info and tips here (Technical)

views
     
TStherescueone
post Feb 23 2008, 04:43 AM, updated 10y ago

New Member
*
Junior Member
11 posts

Joined: Jan 2008
From: Subang Jaya/Puchong



hi.. guys.. i bought a D-Link DIR-300 wireless G router a few days back and i don't think i like it much.. first of all.. i cant play COD4 online.. i cant play warhawk online.. all i get is the web browser and that is it.. i cant play anything online.. is it something wrong with my settings for the router? i've done the DMZ.. UPnP doesnt work so i tick it off.. read somewhere in a forum someone said to do the port forward, and i did.. but nothing new happen.. the psn just kick me off the network and the internet freezed up until i reset the damn thing.. can some one help me please with my problem.. anyway, i have my ps3 on wired since its hard enough to get the net.. ow, and if nothing helps.. someone please recommend me a better router so i can get back into the game.. cheers!
KoNz3n
post Feb 23 2008, 04:44 AM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
110 posts

Joined: Jun 2006
From: Kuala Lumpur


Did u manage to get ur NAT on type 2 ?


Added on February 23, 2008, 4:55 amGot this from gameaxis forum nt sure if its true though.

Re: The RockBand Thread
Quote:
Originally Posted by forza46 View Post

Following the matter, here's the list for compatible/non compatible router for our PS3..but I'm not sure if it true or not....

Routers that WorK:

Airlink AR325w wireless-g
Actiontec MI424WR
Apple AirPort Express b/g
Apple Airport Extreme Base Station 802.11b/g
Belkin N1
D-link DI-524 802.11 b/g 2.4GHz*
D-link DIR-625 802.11 (b/g/draft n)
D-link DGL4300 802.11b/g 2.4GHz
Linksys wireless-g 2.4 with speedbooster (from ps3forums)
Linksys WRT54G v2.0, 5.0, 6.0**(not the X4 Version)
Linksys WRT54GC
Linksys WRT54GS v4.0
Netgear WGR614
Netgear WGT624 v3 802.11b/g 2.4GHz
Netgear WGT634U 802.11b/g 2.4 GHz (firmware 1.4.1.10)***
Netgear WNR854T Pre-N Rangemax
SMC 7004AWBR

Routers that Don't Work:

Belkin F5D7230-4
Linksys BEFW11S4 802.11b 2.4GHz
Linksys WRT54GL
Linksys WRT54GX4
Netgear MR814v2 802.11b
Netgear WPN824 802.11 b/g RangeMax Wireless Router (from playstation boards)
SMC 2804WBRP-G - 2.08 firmware

All the best

wow.. thx for posting this up. hopefully this will help the guys with connection problem

eq2addict says
add to forza's post :

D-Link DIR-300 DUN WORK with PS3.

Oh : oh i go home liao... 1hr + later who want to play msg me haha

This post has been edited by KoNz3n: Feb 23 2008, 04:56 AM
wideawake
post Feb 23 2008, 06:01 AM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
88 posts

Joined: Jan 2003


Linksys WRT54GL won't work? Even with the hacked firmware?

This is like the most common router at some point....
rx330
post Feb 23 2008, 10:03 AM

10k Club
********
All Stars
10,395 posts

Joined: Jun 2006
its not a wireless modem router rite?
connected to TM modem? the modem is auto log in mode?
TStherescueone
post Feb 23 2008, 10:11 AM

New Member
*
Junior Member
11 posts

Joined: Jan 2008
From: Subang Jaya/Puchong



the only thing i need to do now i to get myself a new router.. thanks guys.. shakehead.gif

ow.. anyone here playing COD4 and using a wireless router? what router are you using.. it would really help if you would share that info.. dont want to go to the pc shop and bring a big list of what router that i should buy.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by therescueone: Feb 23 2008, 10:25 AM
clngu
post Feb 23 2008, 12:07 PM

. . . . . . . . .
*******
Senior Member
2,220 posts

Joined: May 2007


I bought the following and tested it ...

1. D-Link DSL-2640T > 54Mbps (802.11g) Wireless ADSL 2/2+ Router with Built-in Modem, 4-port 10/100Mbps Switch

NOT GOOD

2. ZyXEL P-660HW-T1 > 802.11g Wireless ADSL 2+ 4-port Gateway

NOT GOOD

3. Linksys WAG200G > Wireless-G ADSL Home Gateway

GOOD


Now I can host COD4 full green bar match. Refer to COD4 Discussion Thread. Click Here.
cwl_ykh
post Feb 23 2008, 01:20 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
5,114 posts

Joined: May 2007


how bout maxis broadband? is it compatible??
especially the new wifi modem (e960)

This post has been edited by cwl_ykh: Feb 23 2008, 01:22 PM
samurai20
post Feb 23 2008, 01:38 PM

~~HMMMM~~
******
Senior Member
1,441 posts

Joined: Jan 2005
Now i use AZTECH ADSL2+ .... got 4 port wired & wireless too so far so good..... bought from Sri Comp Lowyat.. i think RM185.00....
dattebayo
post Feb 23 2008, 01:52 PM

kekanda ayu
*******
Senior Member
4,965 posts

Joined: Aug 2005

I thought any standard 802.11b/g router is supported?
even the PSP is able to connect to all kind of networks I ve tested so far
cwl_ykh
post Feb 23 2008, 02:27 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
5,114 posts

Joined: May 2007


QUOTE(cwl_ykh @ Feb 23 2008, 01:20 PM)
how bout maxis broadband? is it compatible??
especially the new wifi modem (e960)
*
any answer for me...??
Eric_Almighty
post Feb 23 2008, 02:36 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
60 posts

Joined: Aug 2007
From: *Kawaii no Jutsu*


So the ultimate question is what's the best setting in (wired/wireless) router to get a decent connection to PSN?

I have a D-Link DSL-2540T ADSL wired router but really don't know how to configure the setting in order to get a better connection especially when playing COD4 online.
clngu
post Feb 23 2008, 02:56 PM

. . . . . . . . .
*******
Senior Member
2,220 posts

Joined: May 2007


QUOTE(cwl_ykh @ Feb 23 2008, 02:27 PM)
any answer for me...??
*
Sorry, no idea about Maxis modem.

QUOTE(Eric_Almighty @ Feb 23 2008, 02:36 PM)
So the ultimate question is what's the best setting in (wired/wireless) router to get a decent connection to PSN?

I have a D-Link DSL-2540T ADSL wired router but really don't know how to configure the setting in order to get a better connection especially when playing COD4 online.
*
I had D-Link DSL-2640T ADSL wireless router, tested and result not good. So I think you better change your modem.
Eric_Almighty
post Feb 23 2008, 03:09 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
60 posts

Joined: Aug 2007
From: *Kawaii no Jutsu*


LOL... Is there any big different between the that model (wired/wireless).
Is it just the wireless model or both (included wired too) are equally bad? I just that wired router few days ago with my ang pau money.
Rezuan78
post Feb 23 2008, 06:00 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
144 posts

Joined: Jun 2007
From: Orbit



im using BELKIN F5D7632AK4A Wireless G 802.11b/g 54 Mbps ADSL2 Modem + Router 4 Port
playing warhawk on wireless connection. NAT on type 2. UPnP ON. works great rclxm9.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Rezuan78: Feb 23 2008, 06:05 PM
kyle9
post Feb 23 2008, 06:22 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
128 posts

Joined: Oct 2006
From: Kuala Lumpur


DIR-300 dun work with COD4. I tried with open port/dmz everything.

Can login to psn and until COD4 online but cant find game or join others even with NAT type 2.
TStherescueone
post Feb 23 2008, 08:10 PM

New Member
*
Junior Member
11 posts

Joined: Jan 2008
From: Subang Jaya/Puchong



rezuan : where can i get BELKIN F5D7632AK4A.. and how much issit?

im looking to buy something worth rm200 below.. something good to settle for..

Linksys WAG200G sounds good enough.. now where can i get the item for a great deal.. anyone want to buy my D-Link DIR-300 router?

This post has been edited by therescueone: Feb 23 2008, 08:18 PM
outdoorxplorer
post Feb 23 2008, 09:22 PM

~Money Only Bring Pleasures When You Spent It WISELY!~
******
Senior Member
1,990 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Kuala Lumpur, MYS


anyone using a wireless-n router for ps3???
liquidsny
post Feb 23 2008, 10:11 PM

On my way
****
Junior Member
517 posts

Joined: Apr 2007
is direct connectioon ( wired ) that bad with ps3?
clngu
post Feb 23 2008, 11:46 PM

. . . . . . . . .
*******
Senior Member
2,220 posts

Joined: May 2007


QUOTE(Eric_Almighty @ Feb 23 2008, 03:09 PM)
LOL... Is there any big different between the that model (wired/wireless).
Is it just the wireless model or both (included wired too) are equally bad? I just that wired router few days ago with my ang pau money.
*
If D-Link Wireless DSL-2640T not good, then D-Link Wired DSL-2540T also the same cause the configuration is the same.

QUOTE(Rezuan78 @ Feb 23 2008, 06:00 PM)
im using BELKIN F5D7632AK4A Wireless G 802.11b/g 54 Mbps ADSL2 Modem + Router 4 Port
playing warhawk on wireless connection. NAT on type 2. UPnP ON. works great  rclxm9.gif  thumbup.gif
*
Then you should be able to configure to NAT type 1.

QUOTE(kyle9 @ Feb 23 2008, 06:22 PM)
DIR-300 dun work with COD4. I tried with open port/dmz everything.

Can login to psn and until COD4 online but cant find game or join others even with NAT type 2.
*
of course D-Link Wireless-G Broadband Router 4-port DIR-300 not working properly because you still need a ADSL modem to connect to it.

QUOTE(therescueone @ Feb 23 2008, 08:10 PM)
rezuan : where can i get BELKIN F5D7632AK4A.. and how much issit?

im looking to buy something worth rm200 below.. something good to settle for..

Linksys WAG200G sounds good enough.. now where can i get the item for a great deal.. anyone want to buy my D-Link DIR-300 router?
*
Belkin ADSL Modem Wireless-G Router F5D7632, RM235
Linksys ADSL Modem Wireless-G Router WAG200G, RM235

QUOTE(outdoorxplorer @ Feb 23 2008, 09:22 PM)
anyone using a wireless-n router for ps3???
*
I had used Belkin Wireless N MIMO Modem Router F5D8633 and Belkin N1 Wireless Modem Router F5D8631 for my PS3 before.

QUOTE(liquidsny @ Feb 23 2008, 10:11 PM)
is direct connectioon ( wired ) that bad with ps3?
*
Wired Connection is the best method for PS3. Guarantee works.
Rezuan78
post Feb 23 2008, 11:49 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
144 posts

Joined: Jun 2007
From: Orbit



QUOTE(therescueone @ Feb 23 2008, 08:10 PM)
rezuan : where can i get BELKIN F5D7632AK4A.. and how much issit?

im looking to buy something worth rm200 below.. something good to settle for..

Linksys WAG200G sounds good enough.. now where can i get the item for a great deal.. anyone want to buy my D-Link DIR-300 router?
*
i bought it at lowyat. price around rm200 plus... thumbup.gif


Added on February 23, 2008, 11:51 pm
QUOTE(clngu @ Feb 23 2008, 11:46 PM)
Then you should be able to configure to NAT type 1.

*
i connect using router can i get NAT Type 1? hmm.gif

NAT Type 1: Connected directly to the Internet
NAT Type 2: Connected to the Internet via a router
NAT Type 3: Connected to the Internet via a router. Depending on the network environment it may not be possible to connect to other PS3(tm) systems. Voice / video chat and the communication features of games are restricted.

This post has been edited by Rezuan78: Feb 24 2008, 12:27 AM

36 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top
 

Change to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0369sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th June 2021 - 12:48 AM