US Iphone + Customs / SIRIM Problem
MattJ
Mar 28 2008, 10:06 AM
Deanja92,
Biar betul RM2.7K???? Paid RM1.8K for a 16gb purchased in LA and brought back by my nephew. If truly said you paid RM2.7K for a 8gb or even a 16gb, might as well buy from garage sale, you can get 16gb at less than 2.3k now and avoid all the hassle of SIRIM, Kastam and going to those places.
limmin
Apr 6 2008, 07:46 AM

Hi Guys,
I need some advice here. I just ordered an iphone from us. It was send to Malaysia using Priority Mail International.. I am able to track the pasckage. Here is the result.
Out of Foreign Customs, April 04, 2008, 3:11 pm, MALAYSIA Arrived Abroad, April 04, 2008, 11:41 am, MALAYSIA International Dispatch, March 31, 2008, 2:38 pm, O'HARE APT/CHICAGO Acceptance, March 29, 2008, 1:34 pm, JEFFERSON CITY, MO 65109
I noticed that there is missing a Into Foreign Custom... Does the Out of Foreign custom means my item was cleared from Custom??
Please Advice..
Thanks....
Moonflown
Apr 6 2008, 12:36 PM
But I didn't saw it's clear from Malaysia custom Maybe it haven't reach Malaysia yet.
limmin
Apr 6 2008, 01:36 PM

Thanks for replying.
Your item cleared customs in MALAYSIA at 3:11 PM on April 4, 2008. Information, if available, is updated every evening. Please check again later.
This is what the message i saw on the current page of the tracking.
So is it really cleared?
Anthony
blackchides
Apr 6 2008, 02:29 PM
QUOTE(limmin @ Apr 6 2008, 01:36 PM) Hi, Thanks for replying. Status: Out of Foreign Customs
Your item cleared customs in MALAYSIA at 3:11 PM on April 4, 2008. Information, if available, is updated every evening. Please check again later. This is what the message i saw on the current page of the tracking. So is it really cleared? Thanks. Anthony Looks like you bypassed customs without getting slapped with taxes.. Congrats, though I better not jinx it, just keep your hopes down until the actual parcel arrives! Haha, good luck..
friends
Apr 6 2008, 02:52 PM
i wonder if this works... Online Purchase -> Ship to Singapore -> S'pore friend -> Send back to M'sia from S'pore Anybody knows if S'pore got taxed for electronics products purchased online from outside S'pore ?
if this way... from S'pore to Malaysia, will it be taxed too ?
blackchides
Apr 6 2008, 03:06 PM
QUOTE(friends @ Apr 6 2008, 02:52 PM) i wonder if this works... Online Purchase -> Ship to Singapore -> S'pore friend -> Send back to M'sia from S'pore Anybody knows if S'pore got taxed for electronics products purchased online from outside S'pore ? if this way... from S'pore to Malaysia, will it be taxed too ? Yeah, I don't see why there would be a difference. If you can get your friend from Spore to bring it back when he comes back, then you should be able to bypass customs. If you want a peace of mind, why not just get it from LYN? Using your method, delivery charges would have reduced the savings gap a lot. And besides, you know that the phone you buy from LYN would definitely work. Touch wood la, but what if the iPhone you ordered from US has a faulty battery out of the box. It has happened before. So yeah, the decision is yours...
Moonflown
Apr 6 2008, 06:40 PM
QUOTE(blackchides @ Apr 6 2008, 03:06 PM) Yeah, I don't see why there would be a difference. If you can get your friend from Spore to bring it back when he comes back, then you should be able to bypass customs. If you want a peace of mind, why not just get it from LYN? Using your method, delivery charges would have reduced the savings gap a lot. And besides, you know that the phone you buy from LYN would definitely work. Touch wood la, but what if the iPhone you ordered from US has a faulty battery out of the box. It has happened before. So yeah, the decision is yours...  Well the main reason people dont wanna buy from LYN is because it's quite expensive compared to US. But if you got relatives or friends coming back from US then ask him bring one for you, that saves a lot.
Choongster
Apr 6 2008, 06:41 PM
QUOTE(Moonflown @ Apr 6 2008, 06:40 PM) Well the main reason people dont wanna buy from LYN is because it's quite expensive compared to US. But if you got relatives or friends coming back from US then ask him bring one for you, that saves a lot. to be exact you save about 400 ringgit .. got mine from the US ... after conversion 1450 .. cheapest in lyn .. i think is 1850 ..
gidlcin
Apr 6 2008, 06:49 PM
well as i calculated and gonna bring in some iphone to sell this may... calculated, each unit i can earn max, RM400 but bare in mind, i might get airport tax(if got caught) anytime cause risking my friend to bring in 10 unit (RM16k) i need to pay him on hand first and also my friend wan RM50 for each unit (cause he help me bring in ma) and at the end, 1 unit i earn RM250~300! =_= so... save ur trouble and let us(sellers) help u to take all risk
limmin
Apr 6 2008, 07:05 PM

Just to share my opinion. If you were to get from US, you might consider the refurbish unit from AT&T, one unit cost around USD250 only for 8GB. But not always available, need to keep track for it. If you can get that, then can earn. You will still get 1 year warranty from AT&T.... Just a suggestion...
Moonflown
Apr 6 2008, 07:12 PM
If you get refurbished unit and sell it as "brand new" price then it's something that's against ethics.
c_calvin
Apr 6 2008, 07:18 PM
the packaging for the refurbished unit is different so no worry, u cannot sell it as a brand new set
limmin
Apr 6 2008, 07:34 PM

You can check it out, there are a lot of Refurbish units managed to sell around USD450 - USD500 on ebay site... So I dun think people care whether it is a refurbish or not. Dun sell la at RM1850 for refurbish.. maybe discount RM200-300? Will incresae the profit margin. Yeah, the packing is white colour and with AT&T logo.. but the package comes with all the acc.. same with the new set.
kikikukiki
Apr 9 2008, 02:47 PM
From my personal experience... To cut a long story short... Proper procedure is as what most people would have experienced if you received a letter that your beloved iPhone "kena tahan". Sirim "kena" pay... RM18 for EDI gotta cough out as well, but tax is nil. Don't be fooled by POS Malaysia that you need to pay 10% sales tax if you declared the item as a PDA/Phone - They are not stupid anyway, they know what an iPhone is... Don't believe me... ask them to read their bible and proof to you that you need to pay what is called "Sales Tax".
The cheap and dirty way... The Kastam officer will take out his/her calculator and tell you that you need to pay 10% *ahem!* tax. Want to kowtim or not it's up to you. If dun want... refer to above.
yaofong
Apr 10 2008, 12:00 AM

I got a friend studying in US, i m thinking which of the following method will be more effective to avoid tax and sirim: 1.unwrap the iphone and send to me 2.declare as gift
blackchides
Apr 10 2008, 06:12 PM
QUOTE(yaofong @ Apr 10 2008, 12:00 AM) I got a friend studying in US, i m thinking which of the following method will be more effective to avoid tax and sirim: 1.unwrap the iphone and send to me 2.declare as gift I was in your situation once, and I just chose to wait for my friend to come back in May. But I got lucky and my friend's sis who is an air stewardess went to the US and I asked her to bring one back. The customs scan every package and they're not stupid. They know an iPhone when they see one. It's not impossible, but you would have to be really lucky to be able to avoid tax. Haha, control the temptation and wait it out la, the potential extra RM400 and all the hassle just isn't worth it.
rx330
Apr 10 2008, 07:26 PM
can nybody just purchase the iphone in US? even tourist?
skylancer
Apr 13 2008, 05:04 AM

The tourist not have the tax discount?isnt it? So if iphone bring by tourist and come back to malaysia is it can have the tax discount? But the sirim sure cannot avoid,isnt it?that means all the ppl who bring in the iphone sure kena to pay the sirim? The sirim damn exp...350 i am only listen from my friends,if i am wrong pls dont marah me.:)THX
Moonflown
Apr 13 2008, 11:38 AM
Those tourist just need to go through custom.