US Iphone + Customs / SIRIM Problem
Feb 28 2008, 06:31 PM
779 posts Joined: May 2006 |
Wow, hearing all these customs problems is making me very hesitant on asking my friend to post it back here. I think I'll just ask him to unbox it and take as if its his personal belonging. But I have to wait till May/June. It's the wait that's going to kill me.......
Apr 6 2008, 02:29 PM
QUOTE(limmin @ Apr 6 2008, 01:36 PM) Hi, Looks like you bypassed customs without getting slapped with taxes.. Congrats, though I better not jinx it, just keep your hopes down until the actual parcel arrives! Haha, good luck..Thanks for replying. Status: Out of Foreign Customs Your item cleared customs in MALAYSIA at 3:11 PM on April 4, 2008. Information, if available, is updated every evening. Please check again later. This is what the message i saw on the current page of the tracking. So is it really cleared? Thanks. Anthony |
Apr 6 2008, 03:06 PM
QUOTE(friends @ Apr 6 2008, 02:52 PM) i wonder if this works... Yeah, I don't see why there would be a difference. If you can get your friend from Spore to bring it back when he comes back, then you should be able to bypass customs. If you want a peace of mind, why not just get it from LYN? Using your method, delivery charges would have reduced the savings gap a lot. Online Purchase -> Ship to Singapore -> S'pore friend -> Send back to M'sia from S'pore Anybody knows if S'pore got taxed for electronics products purchased online from outside S'pore ? if this way... from S'pore to Malaysia, will it be taxed too ? And besides, you know that the phone you buy from LYN would definitely work. Touch wood la, but what if the iPhone you ordered from US has a faulty battery out of the box. It has happened before. So yeah, the decision is yours... |
Apr 10 2008, 06:12 PM
QUOTE(yaofong @ Apr 10 2008, 12:00 AM) I got a friend studying in US, i m thinking which of the following method will be more effective to avoid tax and sirim: I was in your situation once, and I just chose to wait for my friend to come back in May. But I got lucky and my friend's sis who is an air stewardess went to the US and I asked her to bring one back.1.unwrap the iphone and send to me 2.declare as gift The customs scan every package and they're not stupid. They know an iPhone when they see one. It's not impossible, but you would have to be really lucky to be able to avoid tax. Haha, control the temptation and wait it out la, the potential extra RM400 and all the hassle just isn't worth it. |
Apr 13 2008, 02:48 PM
QUOTE(skylancer @ Apr 13 2008, 05:04 AM) The tourist not have the tax discount?isnt it? If you pretend it's a personal belonging, then don't have to pay anything...So if iphone bring by tourist and come back to malaysia is it can have the tax discount? But the sirim sure cannot avoid,isnt it?that means all the ppl who bring in the iphone sure kena to pay the sirim? The sirim damn exp...350 i am only listen from my friends,if i am wrong pls dont marah me.:)THX |
Apr 16 2008, 02:21 PM
QUOTE(BlazingFrosty @ Apr 16 2008, 12:13 PM) erm.. as i knoe some of you here have buy iPhone from US before. Can i know how much do u pay for the delivery services and do you escape fromt he sirim and tax thanks.. You can think of a lot of creative ideas to fool the customs (declare it as something else/unbox it and ship) but there is still a huge risk at the end of the day and as been said a lot of times, the customs are no fools. Your best bet is to ask someone to bring back for you instead of shipping it. You can take a chance and ship it back but you would have to be really lucky. You can see from the forum threads that most people end up getting taxed etc. Of course, Malaysia being Malaysia, if you can somehow talk your way into giving the officer some incentive, then you can escape having to pay 300-400. The choice is yours... |
Aug 6 2008, 05:33 PM
QUOTE(yujin86 @ Aug 6 2008, 02:35 PM) Best method's the riskiest method, use regular air-mail, unregistered etc, from what I read in the other threads usually work but if the mail goes missing, then it's your loss..So in that sense, the best way is to just ask your bro to bring back for you when he comes back unless you wanna risk the SIRIM charges plus all the hassle in getting the procedures done... |
| Change to: | 0.0216sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:15 PM |