10 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

US Iphone + Customs / SIRIM Problem

iamhellboy
post Oct 17 2008, 10:03 PM

hi....i also one of the victim to pay for SIRIM
my friend hv send me a 2nd hand iphone from singapore...the phone is stuck at kastam too....
i see here we need to tell the value of the phone is it?
My iphone without box,and is a second hand set,can i just say it worth 500 only,buy from my cousin?
or say the phone get problem....so i buy very cheap?
is it ok?anyone can help? blink.gif
wheelq
post Dec 19 2008, 03:28 AM

aiyo...
i won an Lg phone recently but i didn;t expect to face all such ridiculous hassle. mine was shipped via DHL but the sender declared it as mobile phone (dammit) so now stuck in Subang airport. i was thinking and calculating... SIRIM $250, Permit $200, travelling+petrol $80, 2 days leave $1000. might as well purchase an AP phone in Low Yat which probably cost me 1500. still wonder whether its worth the troubles...
miroddinz
post Jan 23 2009, 11:13 PM

19 posts

I know this thread is a lil old but since yellowsn0w is out im sure more people may consider getting 3g locked phones which are slightly cheaper from overseas. Well, i for one just ordered mine yesterday smile.gif.....only to find out about the thing called SIRIM AP+Sales tax+RM18

Well, i got some slight good news though. I read this thread people said iphone SIRIM AP would cost RM250-RM350. I personally called SIRIM today and they said its RM200. So its slightly cheaper smile.gif.

Tax i guess is 10%. The thing about declaring your item value with customs is if you state a high price and you bought it with insurance, then you are covered for that price. But if you state it for a low price trying to evade the sales tax, you may just lose your item on the way and get very little insurance coverage. So consider this first.

My case it was declared at $400. I actually bought it for $500(conversion at 3.7=RM1850..saving around 700-800 ringgit i suppose), 16GB iphone 3g black. Its still cheaper than the officially unlocked. I'm not that worried because the iphone dev team said yellowsn0w will soon come out of beta. Even now, with the "beta" word, from feedbacks from lowyat malaysian forumers, it seems to be working fine on our 3 main carriers...havent heard about Umobile lol.

Just thought i should share since im usually just a lurker. Hope this is helpful

Additional Edit: Oh yea, i will be trying to evade the SIRIM thing if i ever get stuck during custom check.

Im gonna say its "not" working lol. So there wont be any use paying for a SIRIM APPROVED when its not working right? I mean how can SIRIM approve it in the first place. Will ruin their reputation.

Instead of the usual procedure where people go to SIRIM first(to pay for the RM200 sticker) then to Customs in KLIA, i will go direct to customs and tell them its not working. I will ask them to open the box. I will pop in my SIM and guess what...it wont work no signal lol probably not even activated via itunes can say its bricked lol. Please correct me if im wrong but im 99% they aint really tech savvy.

Then i will say, seller said he found out not working but already shipped. So i will have to ship back to seller. Then just bagi duit kopi or what settle lo smile.gif

Note: I requested mine to be already activated via itunes. Hence, making the effect more convincing. You can even ask the custom officer to pass his sim if he wants to test to see if got signal. If cant call/sms whatsoever....its no longer considered a phone. So why should they ask you go to SIRIM lol.

I should prolly start a thread on how to buy Iphones from overseas since, yellowsn0w has created new open boundaries. Please give me feedback on whether i should start one. smile.gif

This post has been edited by miroddinz: Jan 23 2009, 11:31 PM
Kazachok
post Jan 23 2009, 11:44 PM

331 posts

smart.
really smart.
hope this works.
miroddinz
post Jan 23 2009, 11:51 PM

19 posts

haha yup wish me luck wink.gif. But if im luckier, it will just pass customs without it being stuck there.
latias93
post Jan 24 2009, 12:29 AM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

So many imposed fees.. pening kepala liao. I also was thinking of having my cousin ship me an iPhone..
davidgary73
post Jan 24 2009, 12:39 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(miroddinz @ Jan 23 2009, 11:13 PM)
I should prolly start a thread on how to buy Iphones from overseas since, yellowsn0w has created new open boundaries. Please give me feedback on whether i should start one. smile.gif
You can post it here as the thread below is made for iPhone Purchase Guide.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/871684

Maverick should be able to post it on one of the first few post.

Cheers

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Jan 24 2009, 12:40 AM
miroddinz
post Jan 29 2009, 12:17 AM

19 posts

Awesome news guys biggrin.gif ! Really made my CNY!!
Out of Foreign Customs, January 28, 2009, 8:22 pm, MALAYSIA
Into Foreign Customs, January 28, 2009, 8:05 pm, MALAYSIA
Arrived Abroad, January 28, 2009, 3:59 pm, MALAYSIA
International Dispatch, January 25, 2009, 6:16 am, FOREIGN CENTERJERSEY CITY NJ 099
Electronic Shipping Info Received, January 22, 2009

It cleared Customs!
g3n0c1d3
post Jan 29 2009, 08:32 AM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

hohoho....
wht i did to clear frm custom and SIRIM
post it via parcel and declare it as a gift...

risky.... but... im holding my iphone now.... biggrin.gif
Stamp
post Jan 29 2009, 10:31 PM

4,864 posts

I bought my iphone 3g 16gb from ebay USA and the seller shipped to me, declaring the shipment as a used 'electrical gadget' with value of USD50. He also shipped a turbo-sim to unlock the phone.

POS Msia at Sepang handled the custom clearance for me at a fee of about RM50, but I had to get an AP Permit from SIRIM in Shah Alam, which cost me RM200. And I wasnt taxed.

Then POS Msia sent the shipment to a Pos Laju outlet in Cheras. I went there to pick up the package.

The total cost of getting the phone? RM2600 all costs inclusive.

Was it worth all the trouble? Yes and No.

Will I do the same thing again? No....I'd rather pay extra for an officially unlock iphone from singtel. hehehehehehe... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Stamp: Jan 29 2009, 10:33 PM
miroddinz
post Jan 29 2009, 11:01 PM

19 posts

haha i guess im considered lucky then.
Mine was declared as "phone" with value of 400USD. Why so high declaration you may ask? Coz i bought insurance for shipping...later get lost on the way all the money gone lo. haha.

Lucky enough, it cleared customs LOL! Despite the word "phone" clearly written.

Total cost me: RM1960 plus shipping+insurance.

So i guess its worth it lo lol...but then again...still at post office..Tmr going to collect coz inssured items wont be sent with post man but held at the post office for personal collection.
So whether its worth it...will have to see tomorrow smile.gif...Can't wait!!
jonrwg
post Feb 6 2009, 02:03 PM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(miroddinz @ Jan 29 2009, 11:01 PM)
haha i guess im considered lucky then.
Mine was declared as "phone" with value of 400USD. Why so high declaration you may ask? Coz i bought insurance for shipping...later get lost on the way all the money gone lo. haha.

Lucky enough, it cleared customs LOL! Despite the word "phone" clearly written.

Total cost me: RM1960 plus shipping+insurance.

So i guess its worth it lo lol...but then again...still at post office..Tmr going to collect coz inssured items wont be sent with post man but held at the post office for personal collection.
So whether its worth it...will have to see tomorrow smile.gif...Can't wait!!
400USD? urs is 8gb?

Added on February 6, 2009, 2:11 pm
QUOTE(miroddinz @ Jan 23 2009, 11:13 PM)
I know this thread is a lil old but since yellowsn0w is out im sure more people may consider getting 3g locked phones which are slightly cheaper from overseas. Well, i for one just ordered mine yesterday smile.gif.....only to find out about the thing called SIRIM AP+Sales tax+RM18

Well, i got some slight good news though. I read this thread people said iphone SIRIM AP would cost RM250-RM350. I personally called SIRIM today and they said its RM200. So its slightly cheaper smile.gif.

Tax i guess is 10%. The thing about declaring your item value with customs is if you state a high price and you bought it with insurance, then you are covered for that price. But if you state it for a low price trying to evade the sales tax, you may just lose your item on the way and get very little insurance coverage. So consider this first.

My case it was declared at $400. I actually bought it for $500(conversion at 3.7=RM1850..saving around 700-800 ringgit i suppose), 16GB iphone 3g black. Its still cheaper than the officially unlocked. I'm not that worried because the iphone dev team said yellowsn0w will soon come out of beta. Even now, with the "beta" word, from feedbacks from lowyat malaysian forumers, it seems to be working fine on our 3 main carriers...havent heard about Umobile lol.

Just thought i should share since im usually just a lurker. Hope this is helpful

Additional Edit: Oh yea, i will be trying to evade the SIRIM thing if i ever get stuck during custom check.

Im gonna say its "not" working lol. So there wont be any use paying for a SIRIM APPROVED when its not working right? I mean how can SIRIM approve it in the first place. Will ruin their reputation.

Instead of the usual procedure where people go to SIRIM first(to pay for the RM200 sticker) then to Customs in KLIA, i will go direct to customs and tell them its not working. I will ask them to open the box. I will pop in my SIM and guess what...it wont work no signal lol probably not even activated via itunes can say its bricked lol. Please correct me if im wrong but im 99% they aint really tech savvy.

Then i will say, seller said he found out not working but already shipped. So i will have to ship back to seller. Then just bagi duit kopi or what settle lo smile.gif

Note: I requested mine to be already activated via itunes. Hence, making the effect more convincing. You can even ask the custom officer to pass his sim if he wants to test to see if got signal. If cant call/sms whatsoever....its no longer considered a phone. So why should they ask you go to SIRIM lol.

dude... i learn new thing today.. thumbup.gif
nice skill ya.. laugh.gif

if my cousin get the phone straight from apple store, will they activate for you?

This post has been edited by jonrwg: Feb 6 2009, 02:11 PM
websubmit
post Mar 25 2009, 08:34 PM

Hi all,
I dont know that Im in the right topic a not.
I have one unit of iphone post from US. Now already arrived at KLIA pos malaysia. They said the item need Approval Permit to claim back the phone. To get th Approval Permit I must call sirim sqa at Shah Alam
I call up the check and they need me to call sirim sqa at Shah Alam. So, after this I make a call to sirim and need to fill the form and pay RM200 for the approval. After get the approval from sirim then submit to pos KLIA or Custom KLIA.

Im here to ask is that the step to claim back from the custom?

Im new in iphone. Why so many thing need to follow? If some sifu over here can advice me, Im very appriciated! icon_question.gif

nokia2003
post Mar 25 2009, 08:39 PM

5,786 posts

ermm, this scenario is beyond the iPhone/grasp of subforum to be honest.

the question which you are asking, involves the local custom and SIRIM.

i reckon that you might find a better answer in the mobile phone section where the peeps there are more experienced when it comes to parallel imports.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Mar 25 2009, 08:44 PM
maiself
post Mar 25 2009, 10:07 PM

Pro Surfer
1,346 posts

QUOTE(websubmit @ Mar 25 2009, 08:34 PM)
Hi all,
I dont know that Im in the right topic a not.
I have one unit of iphone post from US. Now already arrived at KLIA pos malaysia. They said the item need Approval Permit to claim back the phone. To get th Approval Permit I must call sirim sqa at Shah Alam
I call up the check and they need me to call sirim sqa at Shah Alam. So, after this I make a call to sirim and need to fill the form and pay RM200 for the approval. After get the approval from sirim then submit to pos KLIA or Custom KLIA.

Im here to ask is that the step to claim back from the custom?

Im new in iphone. Why so many thing need to follow? If some sifu over here can advice me, Im very appriciated!  icon_question.gif

just read through this topic.. u will find the answer.. its already stated.. just read it through
djfs83
post Jun 13 2009, 07:13 PM

23 posts

i bought an iphone from ebay, i open the iphone box infront of the officer, and guess wat... he told me this is a fake iphone!! and it really is a look a like iphone! i dun need to go to sirim, just pay him rm100 to take the phone.

got escalate this dispute to a PayPal claim, the seller told me that this suppose to a an original that he order his supplier to sent to me.........

i think i am a bit off topic right now, but is there any one counter this problem b4. please give me advice. thank you

wassap
post Jun 22 2009, 09:05 PM

my preciousss~~
1,151 posts

i read most of the pages. most are phones ship from uk or us. any idea about phone shipping in from aus? the same tax and sirim applies?

i thought sending as gift we dont have to pay tax?
nokia2003
post Jun 22 2009, 09:11 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(wassap @ Jun 22 2009, 09:05 PM)
i read most of the pages. most are phones ship from uk or us. any idea about phone shipping in from aus? the same tax and sirim applies?

yes. even if it was from afghanistan

QUOTE(wassap @ Jun 22 2009, 09:05 PM)

how i wish Jabatan Kastam Diraja Malaysia (JKDM) was that silly...
wassap
post Jun 22 2009, 09:25 PM

my preciousss~~
1,151 posts

even if shipped with fedex, dhl, ups? dang.... so there is no way we can escape then.
IODATA
post Jul 8 2009, 01:13 PM

35 posts

if bringing in phone by travel ? Will the custom tax us if bring in more then 1 iphones ?

10 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0253sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:20 PM