Chinese HS Versus SMK, Discussion on Pro and Cons

empire23
post Aug 13 2008, 09:40 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

I think the thread starter has already made the choice. If there's already a smidge of pre-bias, there's not much reason the discussion should go on. But i'll humour it anyways.

I came out of CHID after 2 years there, damn i didn't like the place, but of course being a lazy ******* didn't help, i hated going to school on saturday and i thought it was akin to sucking cocks. I personally don't like Mandarin, and believe it's only marginally useful. I spent most of my time in school there sitting in the library reading english books.

I believe the generalization of abhorrently bad english and introversion is a valid stereotype. Hell, most end up going to TARC (no offense to em of course), or Taiwan/China. The little who get out to other places have problems especially with language and communication, especially with reasoning based subjects. Yes, Yes, China rising fast, but remember you merely converse/read/write in Mandarin, you don't need to learn the whole extra bits of the language do you? Plus if you ask me, it's a tad bit overrated. For all China is, i still see them as a production hub rather than one of ideas.

At the end of the day you send your kids to Ind Chinese schools for culture sake above all in my opinion, because praticality wise it's just an extreme opposite of the normal shit national school system. On on hand sending them to your typical shit national school and they'll be idiots, send them to your typical chinese school and you'll get social idiots. All the chinese ed kids here in Australia here just hang out with their own gang, and you can see from a mile away that won't socialize with others that don't do mandarin, same with the very monocultural japanese. Even the Malays here are far more flexible with their social circle, muslim or not muslim.

End point, send your kids to somewhere more multicultural and open lah, although somewhere with a good emphasis on work ethic and study attitude.

Me? I'd just ship them off to military school or something.
kanzakicyn
post Aug 13 2008, 02:56 PM

449 posts

i think if ur child is not originally hardworking and has the heart to inprove contantly and with diciplin, sending him or her to chinese high school will bring very very BAD outcomes

cuz chinese HS, the good are the BEST, but the bad are the HOPELESS.

i mean the way they conduct the class there, they will concerntrate on the first few classes and ignore the last classes. And u will always have to compeate to get into first few class. The points are no longer round number, but in 2 digit DECIMALS.

This post has been edited by kanzakicyn: Aug 13 2008, 02:58 PM
Winston LYN
post Aug 13 2008, 06:30 PM

221 posts

Haiya...What most people said here is damn true. The countries that we are sending our children would be NZ, Australia, Amerika, UK, Ireland and many many English countries. And these are the countries that are very much developed and even Chinese speaking countries looking forward of hiring these graduates....

Well u are kind of stereotyping every SMK and Chinese HS products...not all of the outcomes are of that kind. Hehe it's just based on ur oppinion yo.

Me pulak....already explained in the previous post. oh hey Myk44 u are in IPTA now is it?
MyKy44
post Aug 13 2008, 10:56 PM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

QUOTE(kanzakicyn @ Aug 13 2008, 02:56 PM)
i think if ur child is not originally hardworking and has the heart to inprove contantly and with diciplin, sending him or her to chinese high school will bring very very BAD outcomes

cuz chinese HS, the good are the BEST, but the bad are the HOPELESS.

i mean the way they conduct the class there, they will concerntrate on the first few classes and ignore the last classes. And u will always have to compeate to get into first few class. The points are no longer round number, but in 2 digit DECIMALS.
Gosh.....
Obviously i'm not from Chinese School, so i dunno of the system. I shall refrain from commenting in this of cos.

QUOTE(Winston LYN @ Aug 13 2008, 06:30 PM)
Haiya...What most people said here is damn true. The countries that we are sending our children would be NZ, Australia, Amerika, UK, Ireland and many many English countries. And these are the countries that are very much developed and even Chinese speaking countries looking forward of hiring these graduates....

Well u are kind of stereotyping every SMK and Chinese HS products...not all of the outcomes are of that kind. Hehe it's just based on ur oppinion yo.

Me pulak....already explained in the previous post. oh hey Myk44 u are in IPTA now is it?
Yeah, in UTM now. I have no problem with them chinese dudes/doodads, just that sometimes their mentality totally pawn the crap outta me rclxub.gif

On a last note though, all though my english is slightly above average level, i'm not exactly proud that i dunno how to read/write in Chinese. Given the chance, i'd really go learn.
I'm doing my best now to learn Mandarin. And yeah, it has improved significantly since i entered Uni. smile.gif

This post has been edited by MyKy44: Aug 13 2008, 11:04 PM
kayexh
post Aug 26 2008, 03:20 PM

Dreamer,
I think it is better for you to send your child to Chinese HS, as all the system are controlled, no bias on Chinese vs Malay results, no superiority for bumiputera, no "so-called" sistem kota( sound like that) to put 50% malay and 50% chinese + indian in 1 class..

The most important , Chinese HS stress on the performances of the student in every single subject (malay perhaps is not in the list)..

**p/s: students from Chinese HS have good command in English, Chinese and Mathematics is definitely their best subject.

Recommendation : Chung Hwa Independant High in Titiwangsa

ccm123
post Aug 26 2008, 05:43 PM

579 posts

Hmm I just graduated from A SMK school not very long ago. And I reckoned its the best time of my life, the education system was still alright.

I'm not particularly sure about the Koata system or whatever, because in my class there's only 2-3 malays biggrin.gif but I forget to mention that my class was the so called "best class"

TSdreamer101
post Aug 26 2008, 07:14 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(ccm123 @ Aug 26 2008, 05:43 PM)
Hmm I just graduated from A SMK school not very long ago. And I reckoned its the best time of my life, the education system was still alright.

I'm not particularly sure about the Koata system or whatever, because in my class there's only 2-3 malays biggrin.gif but I forget to mention that my class was the so called "best class"
ccm123,

Name your school or part of the country. East Malaysia has the protection of immigration law and geography. Most of the worst and lousiest teachers do not want to work there. Klang valley has no such advantage.

Dreamer
haya
post Aug 27 2008, 11:20 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(kayexh @ Aug 26 2008, 03:20 PM)
Dreamer,
I think it is better for you to send your child to Chinese HS, as all the system are controlled, no bias on Chinese vs Malay results, no superiority for bumiputera, no "so-called" sistem kota( sound like that) to put 50% malay and 50% chinese + indian in 1 class..

The most important , Chinese HS stress on the performances of the student in every single subject (malay perhaps is not in the list)..

**p/s: students from Chinese HS have good command in English, Chinese and Mathematics is definitely their best subject.
QUOTE(ccm123 @ Aug 26 2008, 05:43 PM)

A sign of the times, when everyone knows about the quota system, but no one can spell it, or be bothered to look up how to spell it, for that matter.

I'm not certain for secondary schools, but for SJK© primary schools, there is an unoffical quota for non-bumiputera's. For some history, this policy came in 1996, when my class, which up to that point was literary 100% ethnic Chinese, suddenly had 6 bumiputera (I don't use the word Malay, for the simple reason some of them were't) students.

Like everything else about Malaysia, the "quota" for bumiputera's in SJK© is opaque; no one knows the number. All we know, there are some non-ethnic-Chinese there that somehow come in.

That said, sometimes it is because their parents want them to learn Mandarin. Like it or not, this century will belong to China. We have already thrown out the advantage of a English speaking workforce in 1970; are we going to make the same mistake twice?

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 26 2008, 07:14 PM)
ccm123,

Name your school or part of the country.  East Malaysia has the protection of immigration law and geography.  Most of the worst and lousiest teachers do not want to work there.  Klang valley has no such advantage.

Dreamer
I beg to differ. As a forgotten East Malaysian, my personal experience is that some of the worst and most incompetent teachers are from the "west". Of course, pulling teeth is easier than getting them to cross the sea. And immigration law? Once the MyKad came out it convinently doubled as a passport to go to the eastern states (and Brunei).
empire23
post Aug 27 2008, 01:17 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(kayexh @ Aug 26 2008, 03:20 PM)
Dreamer,

Recommendation : Chung Hwa Independant High in Titiwangsa
Good command in english is definitely pushing it.

And CHID isn't in Titiwangsa either.
labview1958
post Dec 30 2008, 01:40 PM

I am trying to write chinese using PINYIN after giving up on chinese characters. Is it the right way to go.
MisterCrono
post Dec 30 2008, 02:25 PM

Non-halal troll
635 posts

what Ts said is very true .. what we as non bumi dont really have the benefits of studying in SMK , some things i just dont understand ... like what Ts said, too much islamic , i strongly agree .. back in my high school, the pendidikan islam teacher teach me pendidikan moral , she keep adapting her muslim thingy into the syllabus and we all felt like it is really unfair for us .. we ended up complaining to headmaster but there is NO effect at all..

and for those people who apply for matriculation college and U .. it is just like ... it is darn hard for us non bumi ... unless u got straight As ... and even u got good result in STPM , ive my friend , who took engineering, architecture, business and the last choice environment science ... most of their last selection will be offered by the government U ..

is government purposely makes our life more miserable , i mean for those poor non bumi student?

in the future, i defenitely will send back my childs to chinese Hs, not SMK, not being racist, but for the GREATER GOOD. no offend smile.gif

This post has been edited by MisterCrono: Dec 30 2008, 02:26 PM
blankQ
post Dec 30 2008, 11:17 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(MisterCrono @ Dec 30 2008, 02:25 PM)
what Ts said is very true .. what we as non bumi dont really have the benefits of studying in SMK , some things i just dont understand ... like what Ts said, too much islamic , i strongly agree .. back in my high school, the pendidikan islam teacher teach me pendidikan moral , she keep adapting her muslim thingy into the syllabus and we all felt like it is really unfair for us .. we ended up complaining to headmaster but there is NO effect at all..

and for those people who apply for matriculation college and U .. it is just like ... it is darn hard for us non bumi ... unless u got straight As ... and even u got good result in STPM , ive my friend , who took engineering, architecture, business and the last choice environment science ... most of their last selection will be offered by the government U ..

is government purposely makes our life more miserable , i mean for those poor non bumi student?
in the future, i defenitely will send back my childs to chinese Hs, not SMK, not being racist, but for the GREATER GOOD. no offend smile.gif
agree.
Plus in SMK, non-bumi have to follow a silly rule. I think this only apply to my school. We must wait for them to finish their prayers before we are allowed to go home. Ha....I still find that's funny after I graduated. sweat.gif
onimusha_m16
post Dec 30 2008, 11:19 PM

Mr Bean
1,239 posts

QUOTE(marine88 @ Aug 13 2008, 01:35 AM)
i think u guys never heard b4 or even know there is a kind of S.M.J.K schools in our beloved Malaysia.......... blush.gif  flex.gif  blush.gif  flex.gif
I support this !! rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
John Lennon
post Dec 30 2008, 11:21 PM

91 posts

"Chinese school got lot of PIBG support,but lack of support in National HS."-John Lennon
seiken
post Dec 30 2008, 11:55 PM

216 posts

Look, I'm not trying to generalize, but I would like to know if any of the SMK-ed chinese had his Mandarin/[insert other dialect here] belittled by the chinese-ed chinese...

Throughout my whole secondary school life I experienced a lot of these:
"Explain to you for what? You also won't understand la...the chinese language is too hard for you..."
"Wah, you know how to read chinese one ah? I thought you can only read bla bla bla..."
"huh, you wanna join us at Red Box karaoke? You can sing chinese songs meh?"

I may be SMK-ed, but at least I can read some simple chinese characters...probably better than some of my SMK-ed peers...geez...

Another thing that I noticed was my chinese-ed friends, whether during my secondary schools years or in the university, LOVES entertainment news...that's the first thing they look out for when reading chinese newspapers...some of them were totally ignorant of what's happening in the country. I was so shocked when one of my friends pointed at a Nicol David billboard and asked me who is she...(nothing to do about being a chinese-ed here btw)
zariqcools
post Dec 31 2008, 12:13 AM

Kerr
711 posts

both sux!
k thx bye.
khaishin
post Dec 31 2008, 12:55 AM

happyQ
613 posts

QUOTE(seiken @ Dec 30 2008, 11:55 PM)
Look, I'm not trying to generalize, but I would like to know if any of the SMK-ed chinese had his Mandarin/[insert other dialect here] belittled by the chinese-ed chinese...

Throughout my whole secondary school life I experienced a lot of these:
"Explain to you for what? You also won't understand la...the chinese language is too hard for you..."
"Wah, you know how to read chinese one ah? I thought you can only read bla bla bla..."
"huh, you wanna join us at Red Box karaoke? You can sing chinese songs meh?"

I may be SMK-ed, but at least I can read some simple chinese characters...probably better than some of my SMK-ed peers...geez...

Another thing that I noticed was my chinese-ed friends, whether during my secondary schools years or in the university, LOVES entertainment news...that's the first thing they look out for when reading chinese newspapers...some of them were totally ignorant of what's happening in the country. I was so shocked when one of my friends pointed at a Nicol David billboard and asked me who is she...(nothing to do about being a chinese-ed here btw)
Hm..

I'm considered a decent student from SJKC > SMK.
My english is not so good if compared to you all but I'm trying my best to improve my english.
I'm from a mandarin background ,
all of my relatives speak in mandarin or other dialects.
As a result, I do not have many chances to speak in english in such environment.
So, I can't speak so fluent in english, as I speak less.

Regarding your post, u said that chinese-ed students loves entertainment news.
Actually this does happen for SMK-ed students too.
Most of my friends will certainly look for Entertainment News ONLY!
They really do not care about issues surrounding them,
but dreaming to meet this idol, that idol, oh my god!
When the teacher is not around, then discuss about the scandals of idol
or hows the storyline for a certain drama..

I think this does happen among our students nowadays.
I'm feeling very fortune that I'm not one of them.
Yet, we cant say that they are totally wrong or useless,
as a student, we shouldn't act so.(just personal opinion tongue.gif )

For your friend whom do not who's Nicol n David..
I think..it's rather..funny? or pathetic? rclxub.gif

I'm wholly agree with one of the poster above,
saying that from the education of chinese HS,
it is either the best or the worst .

To sum up,
there are pros and cons in every type of HS.
Depending how you educate your child.
This is rather important too.
alexlim_88
post Apr 6 2017, 02:03 PM

83 posts

Same here. I was in SRJKC to SMK. Now I'm still feel grateful that I continued taking Mandarin subject from form 1 - 5. Best decision at that time when I was a student. Helps me develop as a more "complete" person who are able to read, write and speak mandarin not just in daily life but helps me a lot in my career - IT and game dev work.

I can say our country education is the suckest (if this word exists). My opinion is you should go to SJKC, and then HC doesn't matter as long as you pick the Chinese subject.

Then you should/must choose correct and good college / University. Trust me, I studied Software Engineering in local Uni UMS and still thinking it sucks big time. People said all uni are same la.. just study hard and you'll be great in career also ma... I would say NO. It's DIFFERENT, observing from 10 years of my working life.

Most of my lecturers and study fields sucks. Most of them are receiving high paid and basically do nothing to help you in academy and learning curve.

The only great things are the study environment and many events organised by students themselves (pesta angpaw, pesta cahaya, pesta tanglung etc..) which helps us to improve social skills and makes a lot of friends from different faculties ( You know what I mean brows.gif). Unlike non-gov uni and colleges, you just have a particular gang and those are people you only know during campus life.

In nutshell,
Study in SJKC to get your basic yet most important academy skills. (Maths and sciences and Mandarin). Doesn't matter you pick Arts afterwards. Having good maths and science in primary school helps you to improve in logical thinking and building your learning skills when you were young.

Any SMK or Chinese HC - doesn't matter. Picking extra Mandarin subject is a big plus in building your career. Trust me.

You must know what you want to become and work for it for the rest of your life else you wake up go work repeat everyday like a zombie. You should pick a good Uni / college. Sad that in our country that middle-class smart students hard to deserve good education because of the quota, no gov scholarship etc.. Again, fuck this gov.

Hope my opinion help you.
yellowpika
post Apr 6 2017, 05:06 PM

夢を追いかけている
1,631 posts

QUOTE(alexlim_88 @ Apr 6 2017, 02:03 PM)
Same here. I was in SRJKC to SMK. Now I'm still feel grateful that I continued taking Mandarin subject from form 1 - 5. Best decision at that time when I was a student. Helps me develop as a more "complete" person who are able to read, write and speak mandarin not just in daily life but helps me a lot in my career - IT and game dev work.

I can say our country education is the suckest (if this word exists). My opinion is you should go to SJKC, and then HC doesn't matter as long as you pick the Chinese subject.

Then you should/must choose correct and good college / University. Trust me, I studied Software Engineering in local Uni UMS and still thinking it sucks big time. People said all uni are same la.. just study hard and you'll be great in career also ma... I would say NO. It's DIFFERENT, observing from 10 years of my working life.

Most of my lecturers and study fields sucks. Most of them are receiving high paid and basically do nothing to help you in academy and learning curve.

The only great things are the study environment and many events organised by students themselves (pesta angpaw, pesta cahaya, pesta tanglung etc..) which helps us to improve social skills and makes a lot of friends from different faculties  ( You know what I mean brows.gif). Unlike non-gov uni and colleges, you just have a particular gang and those are people you only know during campus life.

In nutshell,
Study in SJKC to get your basic yet most important academy skills. (Maths and sciences and Mandarin). Doesn't matter you pick Arts afterwards. Having good maths and science in primary school helps you to improve in logical thinking and building your learning skills when you were young.

Any SMK or Chinese HC - doesn't matter. Picking extra Mandarin subject is a big plus in building your career. Trust me.

You must know what you want to become and work for it for the rest of your life else you wake up go work repeat everyday like a zombie. You should pick a good Uni / college. Sad that in our country that middle-class smart students hard to deserve good education because of the quota, no gov scholarship etc.. Again, fuck this gov.

Hope my opinion help you.
What does study field mean? hmm.gif

I'm also a SRJK©>SMK product here too and currently studying in a national university(the top in M'sia). Agree with you that the lecturers suck(mostly lah, as there a still a few good ones)... I had to be independent and self-study on your own most of the time.. sweat.gif

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0268sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:17 AM