football moments brings tears 2 your eyes

kobe8byrant
post Feb 14 2008, 04:07 PM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Feb 14 2008, 03:03 PM)
I'm curious to hear from posters who have shed tears when 'their' national sides lose; why is it you do so? This is not a challenge, I'm really curious to know where the emotional attachment comes in.
Well if you were referring to me, I felt sad for Seaman, not England. Last World Cup and he'll be remembered for Ronaldinho's free kick? Gotta feel sad. And you have to feel for my wallet especially when Owen scored and then ........sigh..laugh.gif
Duke Red
post Feb 14 2008, 04:13 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Feb 14 2008, 04:07 PM)
Well if you were referring to me, I felt sad for Seaman, not England. Last World Cup and he'll be remembered for Ronaldinho's free kick? Gotta feel sad. And you have to feel for my wallet especially when Owen scored and then ........sigh..laugh.gif
Wasn't referring to any one poster in particular. It's just I for one am not emotionally tied to any other nation, not enough to cry tears of joy or victory for them anyway. I'm asking because I want to understand the psyche of those that are, emotionally involved with another nation I mean. I can however see myself being sad or happy for them but then again, there are many more things to be sad or happy about, things that don't directly concern me I mean. I don't gamble on games but I do understand the pains of having to part with your money. God knows I parted with a fair bit of mine over the CNY period smile.gif
Haza_izzz
post Feb 14 2008, 05:16 PM

Haters gonna hate, potatoes gonna potate
1,269 posts

Mac vivan foe ... nuff said...
Ken
post Feb 14 2008, 06:27 PM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

QUOTE(nando @ Feb 14 2008, 01:51 PM)
Martin Tyler (as Riise was taking freekick against MU in a EPL match couple of seasons back): Riiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!
Andy Gray (talking about Barthez): you dont try to save that..you just collect the ball from the net and carry on...
vs Olympiakos
Martin Tyler: GERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARDDD
Andy Gray: oh you beauty........................you beauty....
ya, i like martin tyler ... the riise 1 really classic ... riiiiseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee haha laugh.gif

Added on February 14, 2008, 6:29 pm
QUOTE(Duke Red @ Feb 14 2008, 11:37 AM)
9) When Robbie Fowler visited Thailand with the team, he was appointed an ex-military captain as a body guard. The bodyguard (can't remember his name) told Robbie that he'd visit Liverpool one day. 2 years later, he saved up enough money and went to Melwood to see the team train. After training he called out to Robbie who recognised him and even remembered his name. Robbie took him out to dinner with the lads and paid for everything during his duration of stay. The fans will always be remembered.
I'm a soppy sap.
this was touching thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Ken: Feb 14 2008, 06:29 PM
giotto
post Feb 14 2008, 09:44 PM

3,051 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Feb 14 2008, 04:13 PM)
Wasn't referring to any one poster in particular. It's just I for one am not emotionally tied to any other nation, not enough to cry tears of joy or victory for them anyway. I'm asking because I want to understand the psyche of those that are, emotionally involved with another nation I mean. I can however see myself being sad or happy for them but then again, there are many more things to be sad or happy about, things that don't directly concern me I mean. I don't gamble on games but I do understand the pains of having to part with your money. God knows I parted with a fair bit of mine over the CNY period smile.gif
Well if Malaysia were playing in the same level as Brazil/Holland/Italy/France and they lost an important finals game, i do think i might shed a few tears of sadness or if they were to win World Cup one day, i might shed tears of joy. And thats simply because its my nation and i'm patriotic. Other than that, no real reason to feel sad or extra happy when other nations win/lose.

But generally i still do see some patriotism when Malaysia plays in any football/futsal game. The most recent futsal game in Stadium Negara proves so as we were cheering quite madly when Malaysia beat England. Even a few years back when Man Utd visited us and played a game with us and though majority of the crowd are Man Utd fans, we still cheered like mad when we had few chances to score. I've also watched the Brazil game and i must say the crowd was going crazy each time we stopped Brazil from scoring, so i wouldn't say we're not patriotic enough.
Duke Red
post Feb 15 2008, 10:58 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(giotto @ Feb 14 2008, 09:44 PM)
But generally i still do see some patriotism when Malaysia plays in any football/futsal game. The most recent futsal game in Stadium Negara proves so as we were cheering quite madly when Malaysia beat England. Even a few years back when Man Utd visited us and played a game with us and though majority of the crowd are Man Utd fans, we still cheered like mad when we had few chances to score. I've also watched the Brazil game and i must say the crowd was going crazy each time we stopped Brazil from scoring, so i wouldn't say we're not patriotic enough.
England in Futsal is like Malaysia in football lah smile.gif

The only sport that gets me going is badminton.
Ken
post Feb 15 2008, 10:59 AM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

i think those who play futsal in england are those rejected stock by the football club ...
TSskylinegtr34rule4life
post Feb 15 2008, 01:17 PM

13k elite :P
13,340 posts

or just a bunch of amateurs who cant qualify 2 play in U15 club team reserve laugh.gif rclxms.gif
nando
post Feb 15 2008, 03:01 PM

Was Nando Morientes, Nando Torres, now is Nandos Chicken
1,650 posts

only one team in EPL (at that time, First Division) had this distinction of having the title grabbed from their very hands at virtually the last kick of the season...

Liverpool vs Arsenal, Anfield, somewhere late 80's early 90's i think.......

losing 1-0...we just need to avoid losing 2-0 AT HOME and the title is home safe and dry..
and then...one... last attack by Arsenal, they scored....
the commentator, legendary late Brian Moore famously said this when the ball was loose in front of the Anfield goal and Michael Thomas was seen running to hit it `ITS UP FOR GRABS NOW'!

darn....for 1 whole week, no mood to go to school, talk to girls, do anything.....

This post has been edited by nando: Feb 15 2008, 03:02 PM
madmoz
post Feb 16 2008, 11:01 AM

4,250 posts

Beh, we got our revenge though. We bought Mr Thomas and benched him good wink.gif
matyrze
post Feb 16 2008, 09:37 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

marc vivian foe, antonio puerta, miklos feher..
d scene n spirit during dis year 's super cup milan-sevilla..
n d 1 minute silence b4 man u-man city(but im all happy again after 2 hours brows.gif )..
Jonno
post Mar 10 2008, 10:01 PM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

Just found this thread, agreed with largely of both of my fellow red...

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Feb 14 2008, 11:37 AM)
1) Hillsborough. Although I never knew the victims personally, it was an overwhelming experience to stand in front of the memorial and see those 96 names.
2) Istanbul, especially the rendition of "You'll Never Walk Alone" at half time. Watched "One Night in May" again.
3) Titi Camara playing, scoring and then dropping to his knees in tears at the Anfield Road End, on the very same morning his father passed away. There's commitment for you
4) The return of God to Anfield
7) Reading stories of Shankly and how he touched the hearts of Liverpool fans
QUOTE(JonC @ Feb 14 2008, 12:00 PM)
1 - Hillsborough
2 - Istanpool  wink.gif
For me, it has to be Hillsborough, like JonC said many a times, you don't go to a football match and come back in a body bag... Especially after hearing the stories of someone who WAS at Hillsborough... cry.gif cry.gif

Istanbul for sure, still cannot finished the DVD, watched it half way each and every time and started balling me eyes out... I am more soppy than Duke...

tenno
post Mar 11 2008, 07:22 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

1999, I was playing in goal for my Kamsis Ibrahim Yaacob in UKM in our SUKEM (Sukan UKM). Semi finals, we were up against the favorites. We were down one pretty early in the game, then we had to defend against their siege for much of the game. My team defended heroically, I had to make like, a save every 2 minutes or so. Then with 5 mins left, we equalized. During the extra time we had to defend like mad again. Then in the penalty shoot out, I saved one shot & we won the game & moved on to the finals. It was our first final in quite some time & during the group stages nobody gave us a second glance. It was very emotional for me. To contribute in such a way.

BTW, we lost the final 0-3. Not much can be done. Only satisfaction to be had.... rclxms.gif
arrowhead
post Mar 11 2008, 08:15 PM

840 posts

Long time ago I was defending an attack and this guy unleashed a shot and it hit me in the doink and THAT brought tears to my eyes...
slyyoung
post Mar 11 2008, 10:22 PM

'sup.
1,154 posts

QUOTE(arrowhead @ Mar 11 2008, 08:15 PM)
Long time ago I was defending an attack and this guy unleashed a shot and it hit me in the doink and THAT brought tears to my eyes...
I thought it should be from sitters 1 yard from the goal that you routinely miss? tongue.gif
Jonno
post Mar 13 2008, 12:00 PM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

QUOTE(slyyoung @ Mar 11 2008, 10:22 PM)
I thought it should be from sitters 1 yard from the goal that you routinely miss? tongue.gif
You mean like the video clip below? whistling.gif tongue.gif doh.gif

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Mar 12 2008, 05:05 AM)
Guys, may I present.. one of the exciting moment during the game against SJFC.

Others are rubbish. sad.gif
kenlimfornication
post Mar 13 2008, 05:19 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(arrowhead @ Mar 11 2008, 08:15 PM)
Holy mama, I almost shat my pants in the office reading this. You're funny!
SUSLiverpoolgangsta
post Mar 13 2008, 10:20 PM

221 posts

OF COZ WHEN LIVERPOOL WON CL AT ISTANBUL 2005 FOR ME... rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by Liverpoolgangsta: Mar 13 2008, 10:22 PM
teeque
post Mar 13 2008, 11:23 PM

MyRAWKer
638 posts

my 2nd would be st. ettiene '81.

but strangely, heysel proved more emotional to me than hillsborough, dunno why...
arrowhead
post Mar 18 2008, 01:59 AM

840 posts

QUOTE(Jonno @ Mar 13 2008, 12:00 PM)
You mean like the video clip below?  whistling.gif  tongue.gif  doh.gif
Good lord!!! That vid needs to be banished from the Internets.
It actually looked much worse on video that it really is. Seriously, guys...

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0230sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:04 AM