4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Sony-Ericsson All new G900 and G700 from SonyEricsson, G for giraffe? 'G' is the new 'N'-series

wayfeel
post Jan 7 2009, 09:12 PM

Member of Elite Negotiators xD
2,114 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Jan 7 2009, 11:14 AM)

video recorded by G900  rclxms.gif
reminds me of robotech. nice firework display anyway rclxms.gif

kudos to the decent all rounder able G900 thumbup.gif
wayfeel
post Jan 8 2009, 07:04 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(tachlio @ Jan 8 2009, 04:57 PM)
Thanks bro,

Last night i go shop try the phone ady, very nice feeling maybe i never own such high end phone b4 (using 2100 only)

But shop told me that when the memory almost full it will lag right??

Also i read back previous thread that, this phone don had GPS so if we need to install Garmin we need buy GPS receiver right??

Some as i read is :
1. Alarm not on when you turn off the phone/silent
2. Battery run out fast only way is change brightness to lower value

So now in my mind got few phone
1. G900
2. 5800XM
3. N79 (don like N82)
imo, i doubt it'll lag, due to rather good system n architecture nowadays.

if ur so keen on havin GPS, myb u can consider more GPS able mobile, bigger screen may experience faster battery drain. FYI, the G900 can use a basic googlemap, even on WAP. gmm shows detail direction from 1point to another too.

batt dun run out fast ler. 2 days normal use sure no problem ler. low brightness is only an option to extract extended juice to 3 days n more only. im on low brightness, low to medium use (tens of smses daily, not many calls), charge since mon night, 3rd night now, 39% left. last night still watch abit avi, and wifi abit lyf lol

the G900 is a battery saver when full dim/idle mode as compare to switched off. i don't ever off my hp. emergency can happen anytime. not to forget the G900 is abit slow at startup. anything can happen in 1 minute. myb activate flight mode will save more juice.

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Jan 8 2009, 07:09 PM
wayfeel
post Jan 8 2009, 08:07 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(wayfeel @ Jan 8 2009, 07:04 PM)

im on low brightness, low to medium use (tens of smses daily, not many calls), charge since mon night, 3rd night now, 39% left. last night still watch abit avi, and wifi abit lyf lol

dunno why my battery suddenly show 45%, an increase?! i very surprised. ofc, i didnt charge it.
any1 experience tis b4? lol

but sometime i tink , not too reliable. got once, from 14% drop to 7% suddenly. but the 7% lasted half a day at office without calls etc

wayfeel
post Jan 8 2009, 08:46 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(masterzombie @ Jan 8 2009, 08:18 PM)
It has advanced technology that extracts energy from the air tongue.gif
loool now 37% again =.=....i wan get sthg tht the statusbar batt bar will show this figure oso. ive seen b4. except witout the %, just figure only atthe batt bar

Added on January 8, 2009, 9:09 pm
QUOTE(acaizegrete @ Jan 8 2009, 08:23 PM)
hi guys...

after been reading and following this thread for a very long time.. finally.. got the handphone myself... and charging it now...hehehe...

just wanna ask.. shud I update the software or use it first?

really need ur advice and info from all the experience user here...

p/s: this is my 1st smartphone ever... been using W800 since it comes out on 2005
good choice! ^^

older phones most recommend to charge ~8hrs, newwer phones ppl claim charge 2-3hrs can d. well i charged ~5hrs mine then.

sigh....im still on the FW 825....rly lazy update....so worried, especially when now all is good....id rather watch heroes than risk complication thru 'improper' self update lol

enjoy ur phone.

anyway, i think the independent lock key on the side is just brilliant! love it , no need press 2 keys just to lock/unlock dono other phone got or not. no slide for me. not the kind of fancy guy, im more practical. n this is practical. infact, its safe to say the G900 is a highly practical gadget, , and the size, slurp, its like doin it raw jk. the xm, well....the xm is a phone that is good to be admired and amazed at (thts why this wkend i wan go mobileshop play the 5800xm lol)...if use...idk, cant live without keypads....yeah im tht old n stubbon

sry tonit abit high...tmr fri ...omg....stairway to heaven...

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Jan 8 2009, 09:14 PM
wayfeel
post Jan 9 2009, 08:12 PM

2,114 posts

for googlemap, use ur G900 to online goto http://google.com/gmm easy direction to download+install from there

at first, gmm is fun, not that i use it lol
use WAP/GRPS oso can GPS googlemap just charge on ur WAP/GRPS, i tried d...

for SE K750 oso can use googlemap ,my friend tried thru GPRS

Added on January 9, 2009, 8:16 pm
QUOTE(masterzombie @ Jan 9 2009, 08:07 PM)
I do that all the time...especially for the soft keys, because that is one part of the touchscreen you absolutely have to use. doh.gif
i wish it had the mechanical softkeys like the G700! the notepad button seem redundant to me. myb for different user

Added on January 9, 2009, 8:18 pm
QUOTE(tachlio @ Jan 9 2009, 08:11 AM)
G900 is about 1k, 5800 need 1.3k, n another phone i look for is N79 which also 1.3k
N79 pretty big isnt it. i wonder what's ur preference of N79 over the XM.

Added on January 9, 2009, 8:21 pm
QUOTE(felixx @ Jan 9 2009, 11:11 AM)
agreed 100% love keypad with touch screen coz i wonder what to do if touch screen broke or got problem.. biggrin.gif
touch wood lerzz.

the durability of the scrn surely is a matter of product quality but logically, touchscr intensive use mobiles r should be more prone to scrn failure than with those addition with keypad/board.

Added on January 9, 2009, 8:36 pm
QUOTE(panda-man @ Jan 9 2009, 01:30 PM)
hard to type sms. plus got no umphh when always touching the screen. hahah. but the problem wit G900 is that it looks like a normal phone and not a touch screen.
exactly!

its one forte of the G900, a low profile (compare to other models?) and an unassuming compact candy bar (normal phone) yet packs so much punch, n a painful one at that! lol.

like a mini cooper. manyak hose power orh! except the proc speed ofc lol

tho the G900 design not as wow oozing as the XM but the G900 is a classy design of its own class (pun intended). it is defnitly classic class; dark brown especially. sry im abit obsessive with this color.

the XM is defnitly cool muthafkr gadget to get too its like a hotchick as wife, but dont lament when she is a fuss.

eitherway is a good choice cuz all in all,all our phones r gonna get outdated and trashed by newer phones in the market anyway, so the only relevant decision is practicality and if its bearable enuf to bring around, for that 2 years lol.

Added on January 9, 2009, 8:48 pm
ohya, an update of my battery. last night as i told u guy ,about 37%...now is 16%, drop 21%. tonight's the 4th night (charged mon night).

today lighter usage a bit; tens of smses, no calls (use office phone ma! lol), some icons/apps customizing, and an hour of wifi-ing

i wan ask some one if u could elaborate about brightness option; handheld> on n auto with power save enable. not so clear about that. also under brightness handheld normal/dimmed?

is it if auto (the power save will be grayed out), meaning, automatic power enabled?

the help doesnt really differentiate btw auto (lights out 30sec later), and on (scrn turn blank 30s later).

just wan to understand so as to further save juice loooool

happy wekend!

Added on January 9, 2009, 8:54 pm

i made a google on xm review, and this came out

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/898360
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/897979

thought some1 should know

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Jan 9 2009, 08:54 PM
wayfeel
post Jan 9 2009, 11:26 PM

2,114 posts

few hundred kbs for a more than enuff searches with directions n checkpoints planted. idk if there's differences in amount of incoming data if choose satelite view, logically, it should consume more data. i use wap. i don really use gmm, it was just experimental n fun.

Added on January 9, 2009, 11:36 pm

tonight so quiet, all go party ar lol

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Jan 9 2009, 11:36 PM
wayfeel
post Jan 9 2009, 11:57 PM

2,114 posts

seem like only u n me, pandaman...ohhh how i wish u r a girl lol

now see the 5800xm seem on a selling spree, not quite a buyin frenzy as expected. nvr heard b4 AP going more expensive than original =.=" anyway, first batch of ANY product really field untested...hopefully theyll get their product imprved in no time. we're talking about nokia here, very rare manufacturing defect indeed...

Added on January 10, 2009, 12:28 am

this one almost about G900 size, just slightly longer
http://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_6208c-2621.php

sry dominate this topic with rubbish. i abit bored tonight, distant steady relationship bah...

don forget, answer my questions about brightness option when u guys kambak...

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Jan 10 2009, 12:28 AM
wayfeel
post Jan 10 2009, 02:32 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Jan 10 2009, 01:54 AM)

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/898360
read this if you cinsidering buy 5800XM...  thumbup.gif
this phone really got problem..as i monitor from it born until now..  biggrin.gif
last night i already read it, thts what i pointed out. i aint getting the xm, i already hv G900^^

wayfeel
post Jan 10 2009, 03:32 PM

2,114 posts

according to the G900 white paper (is it reliable?), claim got Lighting adjustment-
The camera has built-in compensation for bright
skies, which automatically adjusts the brightness of
landscape pictures. This avoids the dark and dull
pictures that automatic cameras sometimes give in
difficult lighting situations. It is especially effective
for outdoor photography on grey and cloudy days.

no wonder the dynamic performance in daylight shooting is really good

wayfeel
post Jan 11 2009, 05:02 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(~~5ive~~ @ Jan 11 2009, 01:45 PM)
The choice is yours....
Just inform you in case you didnt realise the lower price. biggrin.gif
Any generous G900 user who kindly can help me check?  brows.gif
mine got, prog name; Lunar Calendar. FW 825 AP either fr Hk/Sg, should be the former. i got it 980 weeks ago +2GB foc

Added on January 11, 2009, 5:08 pm
QUOTE(Dry Pillow @ Jan 11 2009, 09:16 AM)
So far in Kajang the best price I've found for the AP set G900 is RM1040 including 1GB card. Yes I'm getting AP. Is it a good deal? Should I go for it?
u should mati mati push for 2gb card lol....rly no difference in rrp for 1 v 2gb but quite world of difference when use

good deal or not, since u live in the neighborhood. thts the deal lo hehe....another concern is warranty period lo....some give pretty long eventho for AP.

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Jan 11 2009, 05:08 PM
wayfeel
post Jan 11 2009, 05:46 PM

2,114 posts

preloaded. y ask

Added on January 11, 2009, 6:15 pm
QUOTE(~~5ive~~ @ Jan 10 2009, 07:08 PM)

but from what i saw at the comparison of the picture....the g900 picture looks like a bit exposed....looks brighter which not that realistic...
personal opinion only biggrin.gif
myb some1 shot from a hacked, ahem i mean tweaked G900

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Jan 11 2009, 06:15 PM
wayfeel
post Jan 11 2009, 09:04 PM

2,114 posts

^what happen.
wayfeel
post Jan 11 2009, 10:01 PM

2,114 posts

does anyone manage to mod anything?

i wan ask is ALaunch_loc.RSC to mod ur 5 icons panel in standby mode?

what file name.xxx to look for to mod the 9 icons IN the main menu? cuz now i wan to mod tht 9 icons in the MMenu specifically, as they cant be changed manually as like ur panel icons

thx

wayfeel
post Jan 12 2009, 12:24 AM

2,114 posts

any1 know how to access to z:? can we do tht with swiss mgr 1.7?
thx

wayfeel
post Jan 12 2009, 01:04 AM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Jan 12 2009, 12:51 AM)
cannot be install back, because no installer inside (not so sure), but i dont really use it so i dont bother it..
re-update your firmware and the software will come back..
yes, turn off capabilities for CapsSwitch...and you can access by using Swiss Manager or X-plore.. thumbup.gif
QUOTE(masterzombie @ Jan 12 2009, 12:49 AM)
Yes, it's in the options somewhere "Show RAM drive".
Just tick it.
...u guys r like SE G900 24hrs customer support rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rly nice....i wud be as helpful too tongue.gif

thx alot!
wayfeel
post Jan 12 2009, 10:37 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(~~5ive~~ @ Jan 12 2009, 01:55 AM)
The power of internet  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

Btw, is there any differences between ap set and thorus set in terms of quality?
My friends said usually thorus set better...why yea?
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/495629/+80

kononnya, they say thorus/midland use better QC standard than others. but then again, i was thinking arent AP from other countries' authorised dealers also? so is it mean foreign authorized dealers r inferior than OUR authorised dealers? lol i don think so.

some claimed lastime sure got big difference in quality but nowadays, AP n ori almost very similar, if not the same. heck, i don even know how they came about, sure from the same mother n father ie SonyEricsson so their standard should be extrmely close since AP is NOT water set so not an issue. PERSONALLY, i tink theyr the same quality only the support quality different. and that itself commands premium alr.

but buying AP from unreliable seller vs reliable seller, that difference way BIGGER than AP vs Ori LOL

fyi, my AP dealer gave me 18months warranty full body, i tink in that AP better than Ori lol

Added on January 12, 2009, 10:38 pm
QUOTE(cOMMANDER pRASNTH @ Jan 12 2009, 02:16 PM)
this is what the forum is all about - by people for people ! :-)
we are one big happy family rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Added on January 12, 2009, 10:41 pm
QUOTE(sthon @ Jan 12 2009, 11:50 AM)
Just a compliment to the phone is the notes scribble feature.
Maybe many of you have already know it, but I just tried it.
I was drawing a map direction on the notes & suprisingly it can be converted to image & then I could send it to any other phone using MMS.
That was really useful to me at that time.

Added on January 12, 2009, 12:04 pm
ok thanks , got it
AT FIRST, i still complain about the redundant notepad softkey instaed of rec/hang up calls! then i gave it a shot. jot down all the things to do there is more fun n productiv than making new task! yes, u r right, can draw brief map and all other tonnes of stuff u can think of also chores, errand, or even ur cinema booking numbers or 4D idea! its invaluable tool for me now im x1000 more produktive than i used to/could hv been. NOW, i even remind my family members their appointment! just because i wan to scribblle!

but yeah, i still crave a rec/hang call softkeys like the G700 ones!

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Jan 12 2009, 10:41 PM
wayfeel
post Jan 12 2009, 10:53 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Jan 12 2009, 08:48 AM)
you mean like this??
[attachmentid=758566][attachmentid=758567]
in business standby, the five panel icons, four can manually replaced by custom icons right (?) except for main menu icon which cannot be manually change. so which file should i look for ie is it ALaunch_loc.RSC to change the main menu icon (say xboxicon)?

then what file to look for to only change the 9 icons without changing the panel icons (xbox)?

if u get what i mean lol thx

wayfeel
post Jan 12 2009, 11:17 PM

2,114 posts

reach topic limit yet?

Added on January 12, 2009, 11:22 pm
QUOTE(wayfeel @ Jan 12 2009, 10:53 PM)
in business standby, the five panel icons, four can manually replaced by custom icons right (?) except for main menu icon which cannot be manually change. so which file should i look for ie is it ALaunch_loc.RSC to change the main menu icon (say xboxicon)?

then what file to look for to only change the 9 icons without changing the panel icons (xbox)?

if u get what i mean lol thx
i tink i get it d. .RSC files should be the 5 panel icons e.g. ALaunch_loc.rsc refers to main menu icon n .mbm files r the 9 icons for those into abit of modding.

Added on January 12, 2009, 11:31 pm
anyone install any sound mod packs out there? wan ask ask first, i sked too loud will wreck my speaker...and is the sound as good improvement as they hyped it is....

so many sound packs outside, dono which one is the best or do they overlapped

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Jan 12 2009, 11:40 PM
wayfeel
post Jan 13 2009, 06:21 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Jan 13 2009, 09:21 AM)
ah this wifi problemo again. you gotta fill in the ssid yourself and connect i think. i did that last time and it worked. i think we really need to make a FAQ front page. how to do huh.
howd u know whats the ssid? a good guess is the name of the operator is it eg starbucks like that? so ,means sometime it wont work if it isnt the same name ya

QUOTE(panda-man @ Jan 13 2009, 09:52 AM)
can we launch our own thread and do the FAQ? and maintain it? or you need a moderator?
i tink no need permission or moderator involvment. simply need is some1s time and effort

wayfeel
post Jan 13 2009, 08:12 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Jan 13 2009, 06:53 PM)

yeah lah. i will try make up some kinda list thing. maybe can make a more informative thread. i feel sorry telling people to "READ OVER THE PREVIOUS PAGES!" when its already 120+ like that. hahahahaha.
heh heh cant be helped ler, nobody over the top in worshipping the G900 enough to make a shrine topic for it , well some1 in P1i did for theirs. we almost can use the mods/themes/hacks there also actually , i benefitted quite alot from there.

there u go

§ Sony Ericsson P1i § V4 The Ultimate™

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/752052

btw, if the P1i so big also is ultimate....then the G900 so darn slim n compact, and slightly more powahfuh....then ours must be The Godly! hehheh

anyway, wan ask some1 any way we could listen to radio without earphone attached? thru speaker i mean

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0579sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:46 PM