start with toro brothers riff when u think ur good enuf move out
metal is more nice when the beat is faster u ll start to feeeeeeeelllll THE HEAT!!!!!!!!!!!!
Pickups & pedals for my guitar ?, BCRich Virgin
Feb 11 2008, 12:22 AM
874 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
start with toro brothers riff when u think ur good enuf move out
metal is more nice when the beat is faster u ll start to feeeeeeeelllll THE HEAT!!!!!!!!!!!! |
Feb 11 2008, 01:17 AM
2,283 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
Don't play metalcore.Play metal like slayer,megadeth,black label society,anthrax,black sabbath and stuff like that.People who find chugging and powerchords are metal should burn in hell!XD,ok la not so serious la.
Haha,this thread is kinda getting off topic,so I'll get back to the topic.What amp do you have actually?IMHO,the amp plays the most important role in defining tone.If you wanna get a new set of pups,prolly the great jazz/jb.It's one heck of a versatile pair to me.And for pedals...nah,I don't think you'll need em.Punkrock right? |
Feb 11 2008, 01:46 AM
134 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
agreed ... die chuggers ! lol ... yay for sex pistols ! steve jones forever rawr !
like i've said earlier ... i'm only using a roland microcube as practice amp ... & most of the time when i have gigs or performances the equipment's mostly rented from wherever's cheapest so i don't have much say in the matter =( that's why i wanna get a pedal that can bring my sound as close to ideal as possible, so using random amps won't fck my sound up ! punk rock still needs pedals la ... at least 1 overdrive or distortion don't u think ? so it's agreed ... the jazz/jb combo is the best ? will start doing my homework on it ... 1 humbucker is around 3++ ? or 4++ ? then both'll be almost 8 or 900 ? omfg have to stop eating for 2 months ... maybe 3 ... @liew90kw i'd sell it to u but i don't think u'd want it ... too many scratches & dings ... it once got hit by a ceiling fan when i was lifting it over my head o.O |
Feb 11 2008, 02:09 AM
2,650 posts Joined: May 2005 |
you should be able to find 2nd hand jb/jazz pickups.. very common
i think this is gapster's department |
Feb 11 2008, 02:15 AM
QUOTE(bLinKie @ Feb 11 2008, 01:46 AM) agreed ... die chuggers ! lol ... yay for sex pistols ! steve jones forever rawr ! Use amp distortion lor...get an overdrive,sex pistols not say use the blardy ganas mia distortion.Nah,I don't think the pups are so expensive right?like i've said earlier ... i'm only using a roland microcube as practice amp ... & most of the time when i have gigs or performances the equipment's mostly rented from wherever's cheapest so i don't have much say in the matter =( that's why i wanna get a pedal that can bring my sound as close to ideal as possible, so using random amps won't fck my sound up ! punk rock still needs pedals la ... at least 1 overdrive or distortion don't u think ? so it's agreed ... the jazz/jb combo is the best ? will start doing my homework on it ... 1 humbucker is around 3++ ? or 4++ ? then both'll be almost 8 or 900 ? omfg have to stop eating for 2 months ... maybe 3 ... @liew90kw i'd sell it to u but i don't think u'd want it ... too many scratches & dings ... it once got hit by a ceiling fan when i was lifting it over my head o.O |
Feb 11 2008, 02:30 AM
erm okay ... that's kinda what i still dont understand ...
cause like now without pedals, when i want distortion i turn the gain on my amp up ... when i want clean, i turn the gain down ... is that what u term 'amp distortion' ? then if i get an overdrive, do i still use amp distortion ? and what if i get a distortion pedal instead ? then amp distortion how ? aaahhh ... my brain is imploding ... please save me ! & don't flame my noobie ass for asking noob questions =P |
Feb 11 2008, 02:38 AM
if you want clean tone, just switch it over to the clean channel!
look for a button that says channel select or something along those lines. if you get an overdrive/distortion, you can switch it to clean channel because having it on distortion channel will make it really noisy |
Feb 11 2008, 02:48 AM
okay so if i get an OD or dist pedal, then i just leave it on the clean channel la ?
i don't think my amp has a channel switch though ... i know what u mean by it la ... as in some amps have settings for 2 diff channels right ? then u can switch from A to B by just pressing something ... but i think smaller amps generally don't have ... correct me if i'm wrong >.< but errr ... i'm still confused between OD and distortion pedals =( |
Feb 11 2008, 03:53 AM
Yep,just leave it clean or be brootal like Zakk and use both amp and pedal distortion to play.
Wait for someone to explain the difference between OD and distortion lah,I think OD is preferred for tube amps to push the tubes to max power and it sounds natural.XD Yeah,I don't really understand the difference too. |
Feb 11 2008, 10:52 AM
i even use my retrifier for playing matt's tone
cube dist is good enuf i think go for pickups if ur guitar's pickups are badly spoil oledi if not just get multi efx i think how much sd jazz/jb second hand?! i want |
Feb 11 2008, 02:57 PM
13,063 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Toronto |
Overdrive's gain isn't as high as a Distortion..... generally that's the case.
For example....... the Boss SD-1 (Super Overdrive) and Boss DS-1 (Super Distortion). The Boss-SD-1 can be used on the clean channel for a light crunch sound, maybe something like for blues or whatnot. The DS-1 on the clean channel is powerful enough to play hard rock songs already. HOWEVER..... the SD-1 when used on the Dirty-Channel, can push the amplifier to near explosion! (For evidence of this, listen to Zakk Wylde's Black Label Society.... he pushed the already powerful JCM800 to the max with the SD-1 and then later, the MXR ZW-44, which is a suped-up version of the SD-1). The DS-1 however, when used on the dirty channel, is waaaaaaay to grainy to play anything and not used on that way. In other words, an Overdrive is more likely to enhance your own amp's distortion, and the DS-1 is used on it's own (ie: Clean Channel) for it's own tone.... |
Feb 11 2008, 08:32 PM
micro cube is sooo popular here
us think roland cube is crap lols |
Feb 11 2008, 11:36 PM
1,399 posts Joined: Sep 2004 From: KL PJ |
wow
+1 for the JB/Jazz combo however i do have a pearly gates bridge unit lettin go u can check out the details at the Seymour duncan website however, i do suggest gettin a pedal 1st den to start off wit pups |
Feb 11 2008, 11:58 PM
wow blacktrix ... i actually understood that !
so if i want to do switching from clean to distortion & back again i should use the distortion pedal la ? since overdrive is more for further distorting the amp's distortion ... haha i think i just confused myself again the pups will have to wait awhile la ... i actually have a gig come early april but i don't think i can save up enough by then ... can anyone just roughly let me know the price range of the 2 pickups ? cause from what i see online ... they're around USD100 per piece, meaning 2 new pieces are rm7++ ? normally ppl sell it 2nd hand for around how much ? rm100 ? 200 ? 300 ? just would like to know the range so i won't get conned so easily ... i'm a sucker for sweet talk =( |
Feb 12 2008, 12:09 AM
2nd hand should be about rm230-250 each
Feb 12 2008, 12:11 AM
1,205 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
ok u might be glad readin this:
i just went to bentley this afternoon. the JB/Jazz combo (sold under the name of "hotrod humbucker") is only RM590. if u don get also i will get. |
Feb 12 2008, 12:24 AM
hmm cool !
thanks for the info han ... would love to drop by to get it too but ... no cash at the moment ... sad =( |
Feb 12 2008, 05:38 AM
1,000 posts Joined: May 2007 From: KL |
QUOTE(blacktrix @ Feb 11 2008, 02:57 PM) Overdrive's gain isn't as high as a Distortion..... generally that's the case. nonono, not enuff. muz modded 1 only enuff. For example....... the Boss SD-1 (Super Overdrive) and Boss DS-1 (Super Distortion). The Boss-SD-1 can be used on the clean channel for a light crunch sound, maybe something like for blues or whatnot. The DS-1 on the clean channel is powerful enough to play hard rock songs already. HOWEVER..... the SD-1 when used on the Dirty-Channel, can push the amplifier to near explosion! (For evidence of this, listen to Zakk Wylde's Black Label Society.... he pushed the already powerful JCM800 to the max with the SD-1 and then later, the MXR ZW-44, which is a suped-up version of the SD-1). The DS-1 however, when used on the dirty channel, is waaaaaaay to grainy to play anything and not used on that way. In other words, an Overdrive is more likely to enhance your own amp's distortion, and the DS-1 is used on it's own (ie: Clean Channel) for it's own tone.... |
Feb 12 2008, 03:18 PM
15,903 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Miri |
Feb 12 2008, 03:32 PM