Pickups & pedals for my guitar ?, BCRich Virgin

TSbLinKie
post Feb 10 2008, 12:51 PM, updated 18y ago

134 posts

hey guys ... noob guitar player here ...
i own a BCRich Virgin axe & was just wondering if i should change the pickups of my guitar ?
i primarily play punk & alternative-emo stuff as rhythm guitar ...
i know i know the virgin is more of a metal guitar but i'm not that into that kinda music ...
got this guitar cause my bro once went for lessons at the BCRich distributor Ironwood & got persuaded to get this axe ...
that was way before any of us knew anything about guitars & thought all guitars were the same =P

anyway back to the topic ... i prefer tones like billie joe of green day & deryck whibley of sum41, johnny ramone, & the 2 dudes from mcr ...
more bright & clear sounding yet distorted stuff ... haha dont really know how to explain !
anyone can give me any tips on how to get that kinda sound with my guitar ? pickups & pedals wise ...
i don't play much lead so i basically want a fat warm crunchy rhythm tone that won't get drowned out ...
much appreciated ... thanks ! =)

This post has been edited by bLinKie: Feb 10 2008, 12:52 PM
TSbLinKie
post Feb 10 2008, 04:12 PM

134 posts

thanks for the fast reply guys !
mmm i've done some research into the seymour duncan JB but i've never hear of the JB/Jazz combo ... what's the difference ah ?
as for my amp, i'm using a roland microcube primarily for practice la ...
i don't go gigging all that much & when i do, it's usually with rented amps & stacks so i don't think i'll be getting a new amp anytime soon la ...
but i'll look into the SD JB pickups ... how much are they retailing for & which stores carry them ?

and p/s it's not that i don't like metal, i'm actually quite into the more mainsream stuff like metallica, trivium & a7x ... i just don't play them all that much =P

oh yeah ... how bout pedals-wise ? what's the difference between overdrive & distortion pedals anyway ah ?
which would be better for me ?

This post has been edited by bLinKie: Feb 10 2008, 04:14 PM
TSbLinKie
post Feb 10 2008, 05:21 PM

134 posts

ohh okay ... 2 different pickups ... understood !
mmm yeah i've heard EMGs are abit too strong ...
will look more into the seymour duncans thanks =)

then what good decently-priced overdrive/distortion pedals do u sifus recommend pulak ?
is it better to get several pedals separately, or get one of those all-in-one guitar effect thingies ?
i saw 1 from behringer around 1.4k ... but since i rarely use wahs and such it seems abit not worth right ?
sorry for being so long-winded ... just would really like to know more =P

Added on February 10, 2008, 5:24 pmhaha said di earlier ... i love my BCRich & all but my bro was kinda "persuaded" (=conned) into buying it by his ex-guitar teacher ma ... so it's not exactly the sound i want ...
i like the fact that it sounds heavy ... but would like there to be more clarity and crunch if possible !

This post has been edited by bLinKie: Feb 10 2008, 05:24 PM
TSbLinKie
post Feb 11 2008, 01:46 AM

134 posts

agreed ... die chuggers ! lol ... yay for sex pistols ! steve jones forever rawr !
like i've said earlier ... i'm only using a roland microcube as practice amp ...
& most of the time when i have gigs or performances the equipment's mostly rented from wherever's cheapest so i don't have much say in the matter =(
that's why i wanna get a pedal that can bring my sound as close to ideal as possible, so using random amps won't fck my sound up !
punk rock still needs pedals la ... at least 1 overdrive or distortion don't u think ?

so it's agreed ... the jazz/jb combo is the best ? will start doing my homework on it ... 1 humbucker is around 3++ ? or 4++ ?
then both'll be almost 8 or 900 ? omfg have to stop eating for 2 months ... maybe 3 ...

@liew90kw
i'd sell it to u but i don't think u'd want it ... too many scratches & dings ...
it once got hit by a ceiling fan when i was lifting it over my head o.O
TSbLinKie
post Feb 11 2008, 02:30 AM

134 posts

erm okay ... that's kinda what i still dont understand ...
cause like now without pedals, when i want distortion i turn the gain on my amp up ... when i want clean, i turn the gain down ...
is that what u term 'amp distortion' ?
then if i get an overdrive, do i still use amp distortion ?
and what if i get a distortion pedal instead ? then amp distortion how ?

aaahhh ... my brain is imploding ... please save me !
& don't flame my noobie ass for asking noob questions =P

TSbLinKie
post Feb 11 2008, 02:48 AM

134 posts

okay so if i get an OD or dist pedal, then i just leave it on the clean channel la ?
i don't think my amp has a channel switch though ... i know what u mean by it la ... as in some amps have settings for 2 diff channels right ? then u can switch from A to B by just pressing something ... but i think smaller amps generally don't have ... correct me if i'm wrong >.<
but errr ... i'm still confused between OD and distortion pedals =(
TSbLinKie
post Feb 11 2008, 11:58 PM

134 posts

wow blacktrix ... i actually understood that ! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
so if i want to do switching from clean to distortion & back again i should use the distortion pedal la ?
since overdrive is more for further distorting the amp's distortion ... haha i think i just confused myself again shakehead.gif

the pups will have to wait awhile la ... i actually have a gig come early april but i don't think i can save up enough by then ...
can anyone just roughly let me know the price range of the 2 pickups ?
cause from what i see online ... they're around USD100 per piece, meaning 2 new pieces are rm7++ ?
normally ppl sell it 2nd hand for around how much ? rm100 ? 200 ? 300 ? just would like to know the range so i won't get conned so easily ...
i'm a sucker for sweet talk =(
TSbLinKie
post Feb 12 2008, 12:24 AM

134 posts

hmm cool !
thanks for the info han ... would love to drop by to get it too but ...
no cash at the moment ... sad =(
TSbLinKie
post Feb 12 2008, 06:42 PM

134 posts

yeah lo ... actually 2nd hand pickups don't differ much sound-wise from new ones do they ?

0.0176sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:45 AM