Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, PLEASE POST IT HERE !!! V3

KeV
post Oct 13 2008, 09:48 PM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

QUOTE(shawn-mode @ Oct 13 2008, 09:44 PM)
19 hours is most likely a scam, 9500 processor with Intel graphics 9 cell battery with extra 12 cell battery.
I dont need 19 hours mostly 6-7 hours which my Viao is only 5 hours. 9 hours is good enough especially during transit. Im a system manager @ gigolo brows.gif JK on the gigolo part.  wink.gif
E6400 since Oct 2006? I though it was just released in Malaysia.
Just get the base model M1730 with extended warranty and insurance since you will be bring it around.
Use it for these few years and upgrade when needed. I don't think a student should spent 12 on a notebook.
7 is good enough and the 5k you could save for future upgrade.  If I were you will just spend on a average gaming notebook. Save the money and buy a PC in KL and UK. Get both PC when you in both places.

I could not imagine on how you want to put the 17" 5kg notebook in the bag compartment in the airplane.
I seriously don't think it can fit unless your flying business class.
Im using it, extend the warranty and go for 2gb for XP and 3gb for Vista and you will be smiling on your purchase.
Well I did, and the build quality is better than Compaq and Dell for me.
my bad i confused it with i6400, as in inspiron, lol.
i bought a few more laptops today

1 x d430, 1 x d630, 1 x vostro 1200 and 3 x vostro 1000.

damn my dell addiction
KeV
post Oct 13 2008, 10:30 PM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

actually its all dfo unit, so its all worth it biggrin.gif

what we seek is the vista business license, that is downgradeable to xp pro. i hardly buy new, except the 1520 on my signature
KeV
post Oct 14 2008, 03:36 PM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

not sure in johor, but u can aim for compaq cq40
KeV
post Oct 14 2008, 08:58 PM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

QUOTE(frenccw @ Oct 14 2008, 08:48 PM)
Just being curious, how do you actually upgrade a laptop? For ex. i'm sure ppl would like to upgrade their graphics card but i know you can just buy them off the shelves and plug it in due to compatibility issues/size.
some u can upgrade, like ati radeon x1300 to x1400 cards, geforce 8400gs to 8600gt. it all boils down to the availability of the pci-e card. dell does sell parts like this seperately
KeV
post Oct 14 2008, 10:43 PM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

QUOTE(shawn-mode @ Oct 14 2008, 09:52 PM)
I'm not saying is very reliable but the support is good enough.
Dell Studio 15 with 3650 display and please take the extended warranty.
Go to the website and customize it according to your taste and budget.
After you got and estimation call the sales line for bargaining or you can go to Dell Shop Imbi Plaza
to get better deals.

EDIT.

My bad. Dell Studio only using 3450. In that case I would suggest Compaq CQ40 with 3450 at 2000 with extended warranty. If you want better performance take the Acer 6920 at 4200.
I mean the upgrade is selling the old notebook and using what he save to buy a new one.
Upgrades is not worth it in the notebook world. Usually people only upgrade RAM and hardisk.
the only pro-point of the studio 15 is that its using WLED screen instead of CCFL, so there would be no risk of dead pixels. they commented that the studio 15 really lacks on sound and thats really important for a gamer like me, lol

yeap, the 15 only comes with 3450HD, while the 17 comes with 3650HD
KeV
post Oct 14 2008, 11:21 PM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

QUOTE(hagiri_11 @ Oct 14 2008, 11:15 PM)
Bumping own post.. whistling.gif
maybe just get xps1530. they have promotion, lol rm50 to rm500 rebates biggrin.gif haha

like for example, if customise a laptop that costs rm5500, u end up paying rm5000 with the rebate coupon, lol

Added on October 14, 2008, 11:23 pm
QUOTE(frenccw @ Oct 14 2008, 11:09 PM)
Im surprised as a gamer you are still using your Inspiron as your gaming rig. How does it hold up to current games? (Not Crysis that's for the future) I not saying max details and highest resolution but playable without being ugly and losing too much of its charm. You know i've been bugging you a lot about video cards on laptops lol and for now it seems like im going for hp dv5 if the new line of xps does not come out here in time. Just wondering how my 9600gt card will hold with games like Diablo 3 just around the horizon...
im not very much a gamer, lol, just a casual gamer. i game once in a year at the very end of the year, mainly need for speed series, lol.
i know crysis only runs medium at best. im already 24 now, haha, hardly have time to game.

its much better than my old x1300. it was lagging and struggling with nfs carbon! haha so i wont say im a full time gamer, just a casual one.

This post has been edited by KeV: Oct 14 2008, 11:23 PM
KeV
post Oct 15 2008, 12:14 AM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

QUOTE(shawn-mode @ Oct 15 2008, 12:11 AM)
You need Acer 6920 with extended warranty for that.
The best bang for your buck.
lol i really have no luck with acer shawn, all acers in my company died, even a a celeron 2.4 lappy died, lcd just went bad.

KeV
post Oct 15 2008, 03:06 PM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

get compaq cq40 with integrated ati radeon 3450hd if ur into gaming

rm2099
KeV
post Oct 16 2008, 09:57 AM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

actually my cousin's gf nec failed on her after 2 years. usb port died and was not functioning. then the wi-fi died as well. it was a 2 year old versa laptop
KeV
post Oct 16 2008, 10:14 AM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

all laptops have issues, its undeniable for any manufacturer. even cars have issues too
KeV
post Oct 16 2008, 01:52 PM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

QUOTE(Julie28 @ Oct 16 2008, 01:33 PM)
Someone plz advice me on which laptop I shud buy?

My preferences are good graphics and sound (want to watch movies), high speed & large RAM capacity (want to install large size softwares), light and not bulky (for mobility), screen is 15" (wide enuf for watching movies), combination of black (90%) and red color (10%) (red looks cool), price less than RM4000, and high durabilty.

Please assist. Thanks in advance.  smile.gif
DELL XPS 1530 comes with those colors.

try custom configure on dell.

http://configure.ap.dell.com/dellstore/con...R511011MY&s=dhs

BUILD MY DELL
Processor
Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor T8300(2.4 GHz, 3MB Cache, 800 MHz FSB) edit
Operating System
Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium 32 bit SP1 Edition (English) edit
Vista Transfer Cable
None edit
Display
15.4" Widescreen WXGA (1280x800) TFT Display with TrueLife™ edit
Optional Notebook Colour Kits
RED LCD Display with integrated 2.0 mega pixel web cam edit
Memory
3GB (1X1GB+1X2GB) 667MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM edit
Hard Drive
320GB SATA Hard Drive edit
Optical Drive
Internal 8X DVD+/-RW Combination Drive with dual layer write capabilities edit
Video Card
256MB NVIDIA® GeForce® 8600M GT edit
Audio Solution
Integrated Stereo Sound edit
Wireless Network Card
Intel® 4965AGN Wireless-N Mini-Card edit
Bluetooth Module
Dell™ Wireless 355 Bluetooth Module edit
ACCESSORISE MY DELL
Great Deals on Dell Printers
None edit
Carrying Cases
No Case edit
Batteries
6-cell Lithium Ion Primary Battery edit
Power Options
90W AC Adapter edit
More Accessories
None edit
External Backup & Storage
None edit
TV Tuner & Remote Control
None edit
MY DOCKING SOLUTION
Keyboard
Dell™ Keyboard with Touchpad (English) edit
Mouse
Dell™ Bluetooth Travel Mouse edit
PROTECT MY DELL
Dell Services: Hardware Maintenance
1-year XPS Premier Service with 1-year CompleteCover edit
Dell Services: Installation, Education and More
None edit
CHOOSE MY SOFTWARE
Software
Microsoft® Works 9.0 (Does Not Include Microsoft® Office 2003/2007 Software)(English) edit
Security Software
McAfee® Security Center™ - 15 Months OEM (English) edit

rm4299 after discount

This post has been edited by KeV: Oct 16 2008, 02:18 PM
KeV
post Oct 16 2008, 02:04 PM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

maybe u should consider hp pavilion or toshiba laptop, yorie?
KeV
post Oct 16 2008, 06:04 PM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

QUOTE(Faivon @ Oct 16 2008, 04:54 PM)
Hey guys, I need a recommendation on laptop. I actually am moving from Malaysia to Singapore and I want to buy my new laptop on Singapore but before that, I need recommendation on the laptop itself.

1. Brand.
Either DELL, Sony or ASUS
Please tell me pros and cons of each brand, thank you smile.gif

2. Budget.
Well, I check around price in Singapore, they're around $2000 but on Malaysia I guess it's around rm.3500+

3. Specs.
- At least 2 GB RAM (4 GB is preferable)
- Graphic Card Geforce Series 8+ (I dunno about ATI Radeon, heard it is good?)
- Intel Core 2 Duo (I dunno the clockspeed, need recommendation)
- DVD RW
- Webcam and Microphone provided (Reasonable quality as I'm going to use them frequently)
- HDD doesn't matter, I have my External HDD to take care of that! XD
- Battery: At least can stand out for 2 hours
- Should have a good cooling system as I will be using it a lotttttttttt (Always switch it on whenever I'm at home? haha)

4. Size.
- Screen size at least 15'' please, my eyes can't stand 14'' below
- Weight doesn't matter but please don't recommend too heavy, lol!  laugh.gif

5. Software
- Actually I want Windows XP, but there is none on the market anymore so I guess I'm aiming for Windows Vista Business (I heard it's downgradable to Win XP?)

- It would be better if the laptop has a color variety .. I want a colored laptop~
- I will mainly use the laptop for...various stuff, mostly gaming and secondly work I guess..
- Since I will buy the laptop in Singapore, I heard Sony and Asus has a service center there so it would be favorable to buy either Sony or Asus there but any arguments on this?  smile.gif
- Mostly my friends have no problem with DELL but I heard from my cousin that DELL gets broken easily? I didn't include ACER because most of my friends state that ACER gets broken easily.

Guess that would be all, thanks! biggrin.gif
i think dell xps 1530 would do well and there is a rebate if u customise above rm4000, ull get rm300 back!

else you can consider dell studio 15, its a good choice too,

about the windows vista business deal, only laptops that has drivers with xp will work. same reason why i bought my 1520 in the first place, it has xp drivers.

i had dell that had bad pixels on the day it arrives but dell exchanges me one-to-one. i had problems with acer too. but my previous dell was solid with me, only the specs were dying off, lol

KeV
post Oct 17 2008, 12:27 AM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

QUOTE(yorie @ Oct 16 2008, 08:30 PM)
Got think b4 Toshiba Qosmio F50 roughly 6K+ with 400GB HDD(estimation from currency conversion) kaka...HP Dv-5 but also 6k ler...if got 6k i rather choose toshiba tongue.gif
theres a toshiba factory clearance in toshiba factory this saturday and sunday. u might be able to pick up some good deals. laptops start at rm999 pricing. check out the star news paper for the ad

Added on October 17, 2008, 12:27 am
QUOTE(Faivon @ Oct 16 2008, 11:36 PM)
@KeV: How is it compared to Sony Vaio CR (VGN CR353G)

DELL XPS 1530 / DELL Studio 15 vs Sony Vaio CR?

Thanks btw! biggrin.gif

im not sure about the sony, but im sure sony's are way overpriced.

This post has been edited by KeV: Oct 17 2008, 12:27 AM
KeV
post Oct 17 2008, 07:06 AM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

yeah, its the one in hicom, in teledynamics
KeV
post Oct 17 2008, 10:33 PM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

QUOTE(frenccw @ Oct 17 2008, 10:27 PM)
Dont la sound until u so old.....i only one year younger leh so depressing. I just went lowyat to check out hp pavilion dv5 none of them seems to have a unit out on show so frustrating. Can't even see how it looks like  shakehead.gif
hhaha, also to note, some ppl from inspiron 1520 thread, alexnvidia, managed to clock the geforce faster than the xps ddr3, interesting aye
KeV
post Oct 18 2008, 12:51 PM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

yeah xps is getting old and bound for replacement.

but the new centrino 2 doesnt give much benefit other than low voltage consumption and the 9600gt is slightly faster than the 8600gt
KeV
post Oct 20 2008, 10:45 PM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

which series of dell inspiron are u interested, whats ur budget?
KeV
post Oct 27 2008, 07:03 PM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

actually u can consider the dell latitude e6400 with centrino 2 and nvidia quadro nv160m biggrin.gif
KeV
post Oct 30 2008, 04:53 PM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

dell studio 15 or dell xps, it seems ur budget is pretty good for gaming machines

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0209sec    1.00    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:17 PM