Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, PLEASE POST IT HERE !!! V3

zHo3
post Jun 24 2008, 12:31 AM

Knowledge is power, guard it well
709 posts

QUOTE(GemKing @ Jun 23 2008, 07:52 PM)
Hello, i'm a college student seeking for a laptop that best suits me. As for me, i prefered a laptop that i can use it for gaming purposes. But i'm not a hardcore gamer. What i want actually is a pretty laptop that i can use it to play online games smoothly with no lagging. So graphic is not the main point here. But i still want a good graphic card. Could you guys suggest me which one should i pick between this brand as i am really confuse right now. rclxub.gif

1.Brand
• Dell XPS M1530 Product RED
• Sony Vaio FZ35G
• Any other brand also will do

2.Budget
• RM5500 - since my dad promised to give me RM4500 if i do well in                                                                              my studies, and yes i did! rclxm9.gif and another RM1000 is my own money that i saved from my pocket money since last April. icon_idea.gif

3.Specs
• Big RAM, good graphic card, best performance and nice design.
• Errm question, well yes i'm finding a laptop that fits for a gaming purposes, but i will be spending my time most on  the online games such as MapleSea and Ragnarok Online, so sometimes there will be lagging in the game, was that because of the RAM so small or just the connection? Is there a way to avoid it because i really hate it when it's lagging .

4.Size
• Doesn't really matter.

Thank you very much. notworthy.gif
wowo.. i think the M1530 is good enough.. go play with the specs.. sure can get a powerful one.. the sony range.. designs are nice but the specs ok only but for a very expensive price. shocking.gif
zHo3
post Jun 29 2008, 05:42 PM

709 posts

QUOTE(bjbjbj @ Jun 29 2008, 05:00 PM)
hi guys i need help in buying laptops.

1. Brand. - perhaps brand doesn't matter if the performance is so damn good for gaming (cs source) and photo editing apps like photoshop, illustrator and any multimedia apps. is hp good?
2. Budget. - around 6-7k
3. Specs. - gaming. doesnt matter intel or amd.
4. Size. - bearable

thanks  icon_rolleyes.gif
6-7k? rich man.. lol. can go for dell XPS M1530. upgrade the specs.. hp laptops have only average specs but expensive price.. or u can go for asus also.. the gaming series.. nod.gif
zHo3
post Jul 1 2008, 10:50 PM

709 posts

dell also got their new studio laptops.. both also quite ganas.. biggrin.gif

and their using ATI HD3650? dunno whether it's better than 8600GT hmm.gif
zHo3
post Jul 2 2008, 02:47 PM

709 posts

QUOTE(camel90 @ Jul 2 2008, 05:51 AM)
roughly how much are those new line up fr0m dell? N0t m0re than 4k? When is the expact date for them to be 0n the market? hmm.gif
lol. sad to say.. the base price for the studio 15 is 4199 and the studio 17 is 4799.. so exceeded the 4k limit.. shocking.gif

most probably now can buy adi.. i think..
zHo3
post Jul 3 2008, 07:37 PM

709 posts

QUOTE(faidz85 @ Jul 3 2008, 03:00 PM)
How does 8400GS fair with 2400XT?

What brand is 4920G?
hmm.. 8400GS and 2400XT arh.. i checked out the notebookcheck website.. compared the two.. seems that the 3Dmark for the ATI is higher and less FPS in games like doom etc etc.. and the memory and clock speed is faster than the 8400GS.. nod.gif

*4920G is acer brand..
zHo3
post Jul 6 2008, 02:36 PM

709 posts

QUOTE(JTxj @ Jul 6 2008, 02:14 PM)
Hmm.. check out the Dell XPS M1530. It's a very popular and possibly most affordable choice.
HP also deserves a look but I'm not well-knowledged with their products.

The only other contenders would be
-Apple notebooks if you dont mind lack of games.
-Alienware if you must have the best of the best.
lol. i also would say go for the XPS M1530. good design.. good performance.. good price also.. laugh.gif

hp's laptops are a bit pricey because their specs are not to say very good..

lol. sadly alienware cannot ship to malaysia. noooo... shocking.gif
zHo3
post Jul 8 2008, 02:33 PM

709 posts

QUOTE(lulstastic @ Jul 8 2008, 02:09 PM)
need laptop urgently, something within 1-2k preferably a good brand, for very basic usage, stuff like surfing, typing stuff, msn, skype, maybe to burn stuff once in a while

so yeah, need i withing this week.

thanks in advance.
oo.. maybe can try the hp compaq series.. got mine for less than 2k.. just for normal usage though.. or u can try acer.. but i heard the quality is terrible.. hmm.gif
zHo3
post Jul 15 2008, 07:04 PM

709 posts

QUOTE(wing68 @ Jul 15 2008, 02:48 AM)
Brand- Any(Beside Acer, BenQ, Twinhead)
Spec - Display card Geforce NVIDIA®  8600-8400M GT graphics
Budget- Less than 7k
Size - 17 inches
hmm.. perhaps XPS M1530 or the new Dell Studio 17 but it's ATI..

or u can go for the ASUS gaming series.. biggrin.gif
zHo3
post Jul 17 2008, 06:51 PM

709 posts

QUOTE(Congy @ Jul 17 2008, 06:44 PM)
Hi all, I need a recommendation here !

size: 14"
weight: around 2kg
budget: RM 2.5k
purpose: Student.
Preferable Brand : HP, Asus, Toshiba, Compaq
hmm.. maybe can take a look at the compaq presario series.. got mine for 1.5k during pc fair.. =D

are u using it for normal usage?
zHo3
post Jul 24 2008, 01:40 PM

709 posts

QUOTE(Chuanmok @ Jul 24 2008, 12:41 PM)
I wanted to buy a acer 4920G but i was told that the sound is not as good as in advertisement. It has no surrond and all that.. some more the quality really not very standard.. which 1 shud i go for?? No one reply my thread in page 51 yet so far... i need your recommandation so badly coz i'm about to buy a laptop  this few days
i think all laptop's sound system are not that good.. buy external speakers if u can.. well.. if u're not going for acer.. can try other brands like.. asus, hp or dell
zHo3
post Jul 24 2008, 10:32 PM

709 posts

QUOTE(-celest- @ Jul 24 2008, 04:45 PM)
I need some recommendations:

1. RM4k and below
2. for assignments purposes only
3. light weight and not bulky

thx!
hmm normal usage.. can try acer.. or dell inspiron and vostro series or hp compaq.. not for the gaming people.. nod.gif
zHo3
post Aug 4 2008, 08:01 PM

709 posts

QUOTE(xXCanyXx @ Aug 4 2008, 06:38 PM)
Looking for advice on Dell Xps 1530:
T9300 processor, Geforce 8600GT, 3Gb Ram(after free upgrade), 15.4 wxga Truelife, 2.0 Webcam, 320G Sata with Vista home premium.
~For Rm 4499
Good deal? Any nice freebies offered for those who attended Kl pcfair? Any other comparable laptop around this price? Plan to buy it this week at PISA pcfair.
chunted!! the specs are good enough.. hmm.. pc fair.. i asked for the XPS M1530 also.. then the lady said.. 'if u buy this one ah.. got 100 ringgit discount!! very good deal u noe..!!' laugh.gif
zHo3
post Aug 4 2008, 11:36 PM

709 posts

QUOTE(hyperair @ Aug 4 2008, 11:10 PM)
Hello there.

I'm thinking of getting a laptop, but I can't make up my mind or cannot find a suitable one that fits the information specified below, so I'd appreciate any help I could get. So far, the one that's caught my eye the most is the Dell Inspiron 1420, but it has a Broadcom wireless card in it, which I'd rather avoid.

Brand: No preference
Budget: below RM3000, cheaper better.
Specs:
CPU: Intel Centrino Duo 2.0 GHz or higher, or AMD of similar spec (preferably Intel)
RAM: 2GB DDR2 or higher
HDD: 160GB or higher
GPU: Anything Intel.
Wireless: 802.11b/g, preferably Intel
Optical drive: Something with DVD and CD burning capabilities
OS: None, FreeDOS, some Linux distro, or if cannot, Windows will be fine (The cheaper the better, I intend to wipe it out and replace with Ubuntu)
Webcam: present
Screen Res: The higher the better
Size: 14.1" or 15.4"

Thanks in advance.
hmm.. since u dun mind about the graphics.. got many choices for u lo.. acer, dell, hp(compaq), ftec, msi.. all also can.. biggrin.gif and.. wat bout the broadcom in the inspiron? wat's dat?
zHo3
post Aug 19 2008, 02:34 PM

709 posts

QUOTE(spikeee @ Aug 19 2008, 11:03 AM)
Hey guys i'm looking at the ACER A0A110-A for my girlfriend. Just for Uni work and internet.

Intel Atom, very small. What do you guys think?
well. size doesn't matter.. LoL. but if for normal usage.. and internet.. the atom will do just fine.. because no need so terror processor to do work except gaming lah.. laugh.gif
zHo3
post Aug 20 2008, 09:35 PM

709 posts

I personally like the looks of both of these models, and esp like the keyboard of the Sony. The Hp has better specs but i hear heat issues esp on load, is this going to be a problem?

I'm planning to bring this laptop to UK , going to do some basic word processing, presentations, video editing and some casual gaming - would like to be able to play the likes of Fifa2008 or even 09 later, Team Fortress 2 and CoD 4 .. (i don't mind gaming on med settings as long as its smooth)

Which would be better ? Warranty and tech support would be quite important for me as well.. esp in the UK.

thanks and cheers!

[/quote]

well.. compared the sony and hp.. the hp has better specs such as the graphics, hard drive.. but i think sony has better build quality and nicer design.. dat's why it's costly to get one.. according to wat u said.. u would like it for casual gaming.. so, the sony's graphics will be a slight problem.. hp has an average graphic card.. sufficient for ur games in medium settings. so.. imo.. the hp is better than the sony unless u really mind about the build quality.. biggrin.gif
zHo3
post Aug 21 2008, 11:03 AM

709 posts

QUOTE(chronic_blade @ Aug 20 2008, 09:51 PM)
so you're saying that the sony is sturdier than the HP ? thanks for replying btw  =D
i've tried the sony laptops before.. and.. u can actually feel the good build quality.. currently i'm using hp.. so far no problem.. just moderate quality like the cover etc etc..
zHo3
post Aug 21 2008, 11:12 PM

709 posts

QUOTE(henrytan_my @ Aug 21 2008, 04:11 PM)
build quality , i think HP and sony almost the same! but the design, i would go for Sony.
anyway, we are not always look at the cover, right? hehe
lol. ya hor.. correct correct.. also can just buy those laptop covers with design. lol.
zHo3
post Aug 23 2008, 12:47 PM

709 posts

QUOTE(minami_ke @ Aug 23 2008, 12:39 PM)
Hi guys,
Getting a new laptop next week
So I'm asking for a good (list?) gaming laptop for my Games Design studies.
Budget around RM6+-. I prefer 15 inch since I move around from time to time. But I wouldn't mind a 17 inch.

And, those who owns laptops with Vista. Does it cause any problem like program installed  not running properly, missing .dll files, and so on. I'm worried about it. I'm asking since laptops now these days installed with Vista.

I appreciate any recommendations and advice.
weh hey hey!! good budget.. go for the dell XPS M1530!! very good laptop with high performance.. or u can go for asus series.. i forgot which ones.. i think F9 or F8 i think.. about the vista part.. i have no idea.. lol. because i'm still using XP. laugh.gif
zHo3
post Aug 24 2008, 04:58 PM

709 posts

QUOTE(henrytan_my @ Aug 23 2008, 05:38 PM)
Frankly speaking, I will wait for HP DV5 serie!!!
I cant wait so i am going to buy in Hong Kong!
Anyone have any idea if HP offer international warranty?
dv5 series? when's it coming out? powerful ah? laugh.gif
zHo3
post Aug 26 2008, 06:24 PM

709 posts

QUOTE(-Michy- @ Aug 26 2008, 03:38 PM)
Will it fit my budget? yawn.gif And when you say small screen, how small?
about 11.1" laugh.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0235sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:43 AM