QUOTE(pintualbab @ Feb 21 2011, 07:46 AM)
but i dont teach architectural communication...Art & Design So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE? Version 2, A guide to becoming an Architect.
Art & Design So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE? Version 2, A guide to becoming an Architect.
Feb 21 2011, 05:11 PM
10,672 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: shah alam - skudai - shah alam |
Feb 24 2011, 12:38 AM
QUOTE(BlueBean @ Feb 23 2011, 03:29 PM) How true is the bolded phrase? Cause art/creativity often being looked as "only the gifted/talented can excel" which is quite discouraging for those not so talented people. under constructivist philosophy, it's indeed true. talent and creativity can be nurtured. however, u might find urself fighting an uphill climb when faced with those who're trained/exposed earlier during childhood. hence people will often call them talented, and u're not.but given equal time, i believe that each person will be able to achieve some form of talent or ability. it's just a matter of which part are u good at particularly in architecture. creativity in architecture is extremely diverse! for example, one person could be very good at solving structural problems, while another is good at producing outstanding presentation drawings. creativity is specialized nowadays. it's hard to find somebody who're good overall. i started my studies with strong basics in arts and illustrations, and people call me talented. but after 6 years of studies, i still couldnt figure out about the electrical systems. but give me any perspective, i can complete one in under 2 hours. it's the same when it comes to styles. u could be extremely good at deconstructivism, while i personally prefer to channel my creativity at modernism a la le corbusier. when it comes to deconstructivism, people will call u creative, while on modernism, i might be. so it's all relative now. u can choose to be creative in whatever specialized area u want |
Feb 24 2011, 04:34 PM
QUOTE(bayleef10 @ Feb 24 2011, 06:28 AM) dun scare me la. i plan to take Arch, i took up drawing classes when i was primary, i enjoy drawing but it has been 2yrs i didn't draw. =_= ... well, this is where difference of opinions matters. tehtmc believes in nature, while i believe in nurture. it's this whole nature vs nurture thing which is a debate in education since like forever. |
Feb 25 2011, 09:47 AM
QUOTE(Mr. @ Feb 24 2011, 04:19 PM) what do bachelor of seni bina which architectural studies in UPM?and is it we have to interview before we can actually taken by the school? i dont understand ur 1st question. but for the 2nd question, yes, most architecture schools will interview u before being admitted.Added on February 25, 2011, 12:22 ami've just finish my STPM and taken my results. thanks if anyone can help. |
Feb 25 2011, 10:37 AM
QUOTE(Mr. @ Feb 25 2011, 02:06 AM) what i mean is the subject that they are studying. what do they have?because normally architect can only be chosen by science student. is there any difference in the the subject that study which the course that can taken by art student? as i know only the architectural course in UPM can be taken up by the art students. where did u hear that "normally architects can only be chosen from science students"? where do u think all the art stuffs come from? pure talent? (tehtmc, i know u will love to argue here Added on February 25, 2011, 10:07 amwhats is the content of interview?what they want know about? for part 1 degree, most of the stuffs are very similar between the schools. heck, even the part 2 is similar as well. it all spawned from the british RIBA format a long time ago. although it has evolved somewhat, the core is still the same because LAM is very similar to RIBA when it comes to education. but each school have its own specializations now. UPM is specializing in sustainability and green tech. and if i tell u about the interviews, what fun will it be for us (the interviewers)? |
Feb 25 2011, 12:16 PM
QUOTE(tehtmc @ Feb 25 2011, 03:14 AM) As far as I know, I reckon 80% of architects were from science background. (azarimy should know better from the students accepted by UTM). Yes, it depends on the emphasis of the architecture school whether it is more on the arts or the sciences. Some courses have a fair bit of science and maths content in them eg. structural design, building science, which the normal arts students would have difficulty. i can speak for UTM only at the moment, havent got the data from other IPTAs. we do view the subjects taken both in SPM and STPM, but our emphasis is only on maths and english. which means those who score STPM in arts have equal chance with those in science. but usually those who score in science score extremely well (between 3.80-4.00), while art streamers are about 3.50 average. which is why we usually see more science streamers.Having said that, the architect of the Taylor's Lakeside campus (NWKA Architects) wqs from the Arts background. |
Feb 25 2011, 05:12 PM
QUOTE(JayRainbow @ Feb 25 2011, 08:20 AM) hi... i just get my stpm result... cgpa 3.00 only T.T i. u do have a chance. but with 3.00, it's gonna be a bit slim. but it all depends on who else is applying alongside u this year. if everyone has 3.50 under their belt, u know u'll have no chance at all. so start spreading rumors... lol.i am chinese from science stream ( PA, CHEM, PHY, MATH T) i wish to apply architecture course... do i hv chance with cgpa of 3.00 only ? i been learning drawing and colouring since small till age of 12... during secondary sch, i been choosen as "ketua keceriaan kelas" from form 4-6... does it help ? i love drawing and design alot... erm, i heard dat ipta dat gud for architecture is utm, um and usm... how about upm and ukm ? pls gv me sum advise ... thx alot ii. some basics in art is good. but if ur skill is still at 12 years old, dont bother. iii. ketua keceriaan kelas helps a bit, i guess. but decorating classes is the diet-coke of design. u're gonna need a little bit more. |
Feb 26 2011, 01:36 PM
QUOTE(JayRainbow @ Feb 25 2011, 09:39 AM) going to be a bit slim...? damn it =.= on the other hand, competition winnings do count alot. the higher the participation, the better it will boost ur chances. district level is considered good already. but anything within ur own class or tingkatan will almost count for nothing headache about it... i been won many comp for drawing and colouring... i was once a champion for daerah level... i hv a file full with art certificate... good if k.keceriaan does help me even abit... i really interested in architecture.... how how how anyway, heard dat ipta dat gud for architecture is utm, um and usm... how about upm and ukm ? in regards of architectural schools, it's safe to stick to accredited schools. UTM, USM, UM, UiTM, UIAM, UPM and UKM are all good options. QUOTE(Mr. @ Feb 25 2011, 12:37 PM) do ppl who have strike prizes and and certificate will be consider 1st? u have to understand it's not about who will be considered first or later. we will have to weigh everything during the interviews. and it's not just that, we will look at ur personality and character as well. sure, 15 minutes of interviews wont be enough for us to judge who u really are, so we are just looking at outstanding people. imagine american idol. talents + interesting personalities will almost always get picked. same here.you are right.if you are telling me what you need what is the interview for. do they have limited seats in UPM? i have a lower pointer. but i wanted to take up architecture. what are the other choices beside UPM for art student who wanted to study architect? |
Feb 26 2011, 04:49 PM
QUOTE(JayRainbow @ Feb 26 2011, 05:45 AM) thx alot... portfolios should include selected works u've done over the years that showcases the diverse skills that u have. the more diverse, the better. but if u only focus on one, make sure it's really, really good. portfolios can be open or thematic, not limited to buildings or architecture. it can be of any subjects u prefer, and/or any media.my portfolio should include what ? drawing ? building drawing ? @.@ so upm and ukm finally been accredited sch ? i hope i could enter a good local uni for architecture with gud lecturer for dat... lolx... UPM and UKM have been accredited for almost 2 years now. QUOTE(celyn6129 @ Feb 26 2011, 08:35 AM) 1. I want to ask about what subjects should i take for A-level if i wan to study architecture in Taylor ? 1. as far as i know, u can take any A-levels subjects u want. 2. After A-level if i stop study for about 2 or 3 years, can i continue study architecture course in Taylor ? Is i am old to study architecture (Hons) at 23 years old? Thanks for help!! 2. although there's no age limit to study architecture, each school have the right to impose age limits. please check at their websites for specific regulations. |
Feb 26 2011, 06:51 PM
Feb 27 2011, 05:47 PM
QUOTE(JayRainbow @ Feb 26 2011, 12:16 PM) ok thx alot, i will work out my portfolio... 1. 2 interviews. but this depends on how UPM prioritizes the interview system. 1. erm, if i apply architecture and landscape architecture for upm... i will attend 1 or 2 interview ? 2. and landscape architecture hv demand in future ? 3. and if i get landscape architecture for utm or upm, can i appeal to transfer to architecture ? 4. and wat requirement for my laptop should be ? i gonna buy a new laptop... sori dat i asked so many question... it's my future... 2. well, at the moment it still looks promising. 3. u can, however chances are slim. meaning, it depends if the course actually have vacancy for u to transfer into. each course have a maximum operating number. for example, UTM 1st year architecture maxes out at 30. highly unlikely that any of those 30 would back out. but in the event that they do so, u will have to compete with the 2nd intakes for that spot. 4. depending on schools and syllabus. for UTM, any laptop is good enough for 1st years. ur real computing needs will come at the end of 2nd year. so better save money to buy a more powerful laptop then rather than in 1st year. QUOTE(coollove @ Feb 26 2011, 01:35 PM) I wanna ask something,is tat compulsory for architecture students in public unis tat take part in architecture workshop to attend,or it is depend on our uni itself? that time we are still on semester break and for those who live far away especially sabah and sarawak will need to take flight to gt to utm and go back again after the event because the next semester start on sept right?..thanks.. no. individual student participation is purely voluntary. QUOTE(bayleef10 @ Feb 27 2011, 03:33 AM) hi, i wanna ask bout portfolio for Arch. i'm a spm leaver and planning to do Arch. but when i asked utar about foundation in arts for Arch she told me that i hav to prepare a portfolio, and i didn't ask ehr what should my portfolio contain. so what should i hav in my portfolio? then i surfed the net n some said that if i include an autoCAD works then i'll b in great advantage of enrolling to Uni/College. is it true? it's extremely hard to showcase creativity or artistic skills in autocad. even established architects will not use it |
Feb 27 2011, 10:22 PM
QUOTE(bayleef10 @ Feb 27 2011, 01:10 PM) whatever u think showcases ur diverse skills.if u cant or never done a pencil sketch before, it's not recommended putting those in as they wont be impressed at all. showcase skills u're most comfortable with, not what u think they wanna see. |
Mar 1 2011, 09:01 AM
QUOTE(yen2009 @ Feb 28 2011, 01:33 PM) Hey lecturers, I want to ask about course fee range for local universities. local PUBLIC university or local PRIVATE university? diploma or degree? including part 2 or not?Just a range, any university as my own reference in case I am going to fully pay on my own. EDIT: SPM graduated, not going to take STPM. QUOTE(bayleef10 @ Feb 28 2011, 01:41 PM) lol thanks QUOTE(Envoy @ Feb 28 2011, 06:48 PM) some universities have partnership in terms or research, but not where u'll get credit exemption so that u could study there (a la twinning). |
Mar 1 2011, 10:54 AM
QUOTE(bayleef10 @ Mar 1 2011, 02:15 AM) erm, i heard my seniors told me tht arch is very hard, is it true? >< i'm a science student, didn't take PSV or kejuruteraan lukisan well, it is hard, i will not lie to u. but it's not without reward. some courses just push u to the point of exhaustion with grades as the sole reward. in architecture, rewards come in many ways:i. outstanding, groundbreaking works will set u above the crowd. u'll become the talk of the town, and becomes the central figure in class, even if u only achieve C- for that design. ii. people will look at ur character and personality rather than just academic alone. meaning architecture pays attention to WHO YOU ARE. iii. winning competitions reward u with prestige and social booster. and numerous others. meaning, it is definitely a hard course to study, but it's the rewards that makes u wanna come back and do it again and again and again. trust me, even currently underpaid, most fresh grad architects in malaysia are still willing to work because of the reward and satisfaction of design! and remember, a lot of us (me included) are from pure science, and never took any art in school, let alone technical/engineering drawings. |
Mar 1 2011, 11:36 AM
do be aware that architecture courses normally include art classes in 1st year. if u think u could brush up ur skills during that time, dont waste ur money paying for additional art classes. but of course, go ahead if it's free
Mar 1 2011, 02:00 PM
QUOTE(bayleef10 @ Mar 1 2011, 04:54 AM) i would say the emphasis are equal. when u do geometrical drawings, these fall under maths, not art. dividing a circle into equal portions of 11 surely requires ur skills in mathematical calculations rather than ur ability to produce beautiful pie cuts, right?but if u're worried about engineering calculations, then u can relax. if we DO do the engineering calculations, we'll put engineers out of business. surely they wouldnt like that hehe. |
Mar 2 2011, 11:48 AM
QUOTE(bayleef10 @ Mar 2 2011, 02:25 AM) LOL my fren scared me to death by saying that math is more important than drawing skills. huh? simple maths? if it has anyting to do with addmath i think i can fail =_= my addmath sucks bt my modmath is gud LOL well, functions in maths and functions in buildings are two VERY DIFFERENT concepts Added on March 2, 2011, 10:27 amthen my fren told me that his fren has to master function to prevent buildings from collapsing ....... i can assure u, the most complex maths u will ever encounter in architecture is geometry. there's nothing of addmaths are required in architecture. u're definitely gonna need a bit of physics, but nothing some logic and a little maths cant cure. |
Mar 2 2011, 02:36 PM
Mar 6 2011, 11:24 AM
QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Mar 5 2011, 06:05 PM) Hello, answers to ur questions could be found in the 1st page. for further enquiry, dont hesitate to ask.My relative is interested in studying Architecture. Which education institution is the best for her? She just finish her SPM and now waiting for the results. Please kindly let me know about the duration of the course and its fees. Thank You. |
| Change to: | 0.3268sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:54 AM |