6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Art & Design So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE? Version 2, A guide to becoming an Architect.

destroyer
post Apr 14 2008, 09:03 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

allright. does that mean that it does not have the same privileges as the diploma hold by UTM KL diploma holder in terms of going into degree? so even i've received diploma from UTM, but not studying it in UTM KL, i'll just have the same diploma as politeknik (in terms of getting the privileges to go into 3rd years in utm which only apply to UTM KL student). am i right?

my early sources told me that they will NOT be joining UTM KL's diploma into 3rd year. i've indicated this in page 1. i've just emailed the head-department, and we'll have to wait for his reply.

edited. sorry don't notice this

Added on April 14, 2008, 10:32 pm
QUOTE(destroyer @ Apr 14 2008, 06:56 PM)
I'd like to ask some question.

I've read an advertisement from newspaper for Unity College International course which is Diploma Teknologi Senibina. They said that their diploma is a "Collaboration Program With Universiti Teknologi Malaysia". does that means i'll be treated the same as UTM diploma students when applying for degree? can i jump straight into 3rd year or the diploma is just the same as politeknik diploma?

heres the link for UCI

http://www.unity.edu.my/v4/arch/Diploma_Te...i_Senibina.html
sorry, i think there's some mistake from my earlier question. i mean that. it is

can i jump straight into 3rd year degree in UTM with the "collaboration diploma"

or the diploma(from the collaboration uni) will be treated the same as politeknik diploma when applying for UTM degree

This post has been edited by destroyer: Apr 14 2008, 10:33 PM
destroyer
post Apr 15 2008, 09:02 AM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

Haha. tanx a lot Azarimy. I never thought that top uni like UTM will treat polytechnic diploma like that. hehe. because most of my family and friends don't want me to go into polytechnic because they said it's hard for polytechnic students to get a job and to continue their study. but you've clarifies that polytechnic diploma is not that bad. tanx again azarimy.

now waiting for 12may for polytechnic result.

edited: does polytechnic diploma recognized worldwide?

This post has been edited by destroyer: Apr 15 2008, 10:45 AM
destroyer
post Apr 15 2008, 07:39 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

so far, currently in malaysia, which school is number 1 in architecture? is it UTM? well... that's the reason i want to be in UTM. to get into among the best in Malaysia. azarimy, how much is the current tuition fee per sem in UTM architecture degree?

normally, how many part 2 degree do utm produce each year.

This post has been edited by destroyer: Apr 15 2008, 07:40 PM
destroyer
post Apr 15 2008, 09:46 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

from my survey and some reading, i've indicate that so far, architecture degree holder can work in, interior design, furniture design, landscape architecture, and of course as an architect.

if anyone know more field, just add in the list.

btw azarimy. regarding the naval architecture. can people with just architecture degree work as naval architect without taking another degree of naval architecture.

i've had a friend who switched after finishing his arch diploma into naval arch, both in UTM, and he seems to be doing well now. my bestfriend and his wife worked with simeUEP in pasir gudang, occassionally building stuff on oil platforms and marine structures, which is part of naval architecture. both him and his wife are architects, not naval architects though.

does your friends have degree in naval architecture or architecture degree? sorry. i cannot fully understand what r u saying. very2 sorry.

This post has been edited by destroyer: Apr 15 2008, 09:47 PM
destroyer
post Apr 16 2008, 07:52 AM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

Azarimy, i'd like to ask you for architecture programme under matriculation route. wanna ask. How much matric pointer i need to have to get into UTM architecture?

I already considering to go into politeknik. just wanna ask for matriculation route. how do they perform in their degree. which is better matric or politeknik?

matric= time wise.

politeknik= basic, technic, skill, and knowledge wise. include more matured thinking

I'm just asking in case my family force me to go into matriculation.

btw azarimy, when you finish your study, you'll be teaching degree student am I right. one more thing. can you provide route to get into academic field as you are. what is your salary when you start to work as lecturer after getting phd? can lecturer involve in building design project but he is currently a lecturer. will university allow it?

have you taken the part 3 exam? haha. out of topic. just asking.

This post has been edited by destroyer: Apr 16 2008, 08:31 AM
destroyer
post Apr 16 2008, 09:19 AM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

i see. right now, politeknik result will clash with matric registration day. hope i'll be able to get into poli. want to get into architecture as soon as possible.
destroyer
post Apr 16 2008, 08:53 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

Azarimy once said it cost around rm1600 per sem(degree) for tuition fee in ipta. might cost higher in IPTS

mybe cost will be slightly higher for computer/lappy purpose or model making.

mybe Azarimy can provide further explaination.
destroyer
post Apr 16 2008, 09:07 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

rm1600 per sem in IPTA.

in oberc i dunno. sure cost even higher. same applied to IPTS.
destroyer
post Apr 17 2008, 10:57 AM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

@azarimy, how much time do you take to finish from diploma until you get your part 2 degree? 7 years?

This post has been edited by destroyer: Apr 17 2008, 05:39 PM
destroyer
post Apr 17 2008, 06:44 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

i see...

I hope can secure place in politeknik for my architecture diploma. then only can ask you many and many tips. my parent already give me green light. InsyaAllah... i want to continue my study in architecture if i get the place in poli.

me attracted towards architecture because, it can give me drawing skills that i always wanted but couldn't do it well because no guide and practise. in architecture i can even apply it during working. yeah!!! smile.gif

can i work as part-time draftsman while studying my degree to save some money?

actually prefer studying without working so I can concentrate on study. juz asking so that if i have financial problem i'll be able to solve it myself.

Added on April 17, 2008, 6:45 pmpoliteknik application close today. so, hurry and apply for architecture!!!

This post has been edited by destroyer: Apr 17 2008, 06:45 PM
destroyer
post Apr 17 2008, 06:55 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

actually. wanna ask you something. been searching in the net. but couldn't find the most right answer.

what does draftsman do when working? is it drawing plan? or other job such as buat kopi for arkitek?

sorry3. really have no idea.
destroyer
post Apr 17 2008, 07:52 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

tanx a lot azarimy for the brief explaination.

well. azarimy. i'd like to ask you something from your own experience.

when you're freshly grad, you were given 2 projects to handle. am i right? if i'm not mistaken, you've mention it before.

do you mind sharing with us what type of project were you handling?

does architect have heavy workload? from what i read around, architect must be willing to work near deadline. is it true?

sorry for asking you a lot of question. just wanna know your experience.

This post has been edited by destroyer: Apr 17 2008, 08:42 PM
destroyer
post Apr 17 2008, 08:56 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

i see. the story getting more touching when it reach the last part. very sad.

fauzan left the office bcoz he and his wife was offered at sime UEP

this part like titanic story. huhu.

i never expect that most lecturer UTM have their own architecture firm. might just seek job from lecturer.

nice story azarimy. thank you very much for giving very long n interesting story for us the inspiring future architect.

This post has been edited by destroyer: Apr 17 2008, 08:56 PM
destroyer
post Apr 17 2008, 09:59 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

do you get 1st class degree for architecture azarimy?

what is your pointer for diploma?

This post has been edited by destroyer: Apr 17 2008, 10:02 PM
destroyer
post Apr 17 2008, 10:31 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

gosh. your result make me scared of taking architecture. not because it is bad. just afraid that i might get a lot worse than you.

afraid i might be left behind...

but i think i'll just try my best in pursuing architecture.

This post has been edited by destroyer: Apr 17 2008, 10:44 PM
destroyer
post Apr 18 2008, 12:30 AM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

I see. so that's how it is done. sorry bcoz i'm very2 noob in architecture. because there is none in my family or relative went into architecture filed or study. i might be the first. me need to do more reading to architecture.

azarimy...

give us some WOW factor regarding architecture to keep our spirit up.

btw, since you got experience with UTM. what is the percentage of UTM architecture student grads that secure job 6months after graduate with 2nd class degree?
destroyer
post Apr 18 2008, 05:00 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

QUOTE(aprisis @ Apr 18 2008, 04:18 PM)
so its quite unlikely that i will menganggur after graduating?  unsure.gif
i think so. but azarimy once said that architecture world only crave for the best.
i think as long as we have passion towards architecture, we can be among the best.
moreover architect grads have wide job scope. you can work as interior designer, architect, n many more.

lets wait for what azarimy going to say because he have the experiences and knowledge. i'm just giving opinion from what i read around.

@azarimy, i would like to ask you regarding the $1.8m renovation project that you handle.

when we charge architecture fee for the renovation project,it is the architect that will get the commission/fee it or the firm will get the fee? if the architect get the fee/commission, how the firm going to get profit?
how many percent architect fees will be charge for renovation project?

This post has been edited by destroyer: Apr 18 2008, 05:01 PM
destroyer
post Apr 18 2008, 05:34 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

QUOTE(mrg18 @ Apr 18 2008, 05:18 AM)
First of , i don't think malaysia will be demanding for pilots for the year to come because there are MANY students who have taken up aviation which means being assured of a job as a pilot would not be easy for me.MAS currently has 500 candidates waiting to fly a plane and don't put too much hope on getting a place with an airline because only 12 graduates gets picked out of hundreds.(correct me if i'm wrong)
Other than that ,  let's say i've just graduated from flying school and have sent my application letter to an airline , i will have to wait for weeks or worse months for them to return my letter.Even if they do reply i will need to go for an interview and if i fail , there goes another waiting process.Lots of my friends pulled out from becoming a pilot because of this , as well as me.

After much thinking , i then thought of pursuing my childhood ambition on becoming an architect.Well , i will be able to experience college life if i were to taking up this course , otherwise i'll be dressed up in uniform, studying in a school far away from home and full of male students LOL.
ad far as i know. it takes about 1 year from all 6 stages of selection process to get into MAS/AK cadet sponsorship program. if you want to study in private flying academy such as MFA, you've to wait for ages to get a place in their school. better pursue architecture 1st, then after get da offer you can pursue the piloting. btw, have you place rm10k deposit for placement in flying school?

don't be... yang dikejar x dapat, yg dikendong berciciran.

just go for architecture first, after you get the offer for pilot, only then you make choice.

destroyer
post Apr 18 2008, 05:46 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

gosh...

how can architect survive the living cost for the next 10 years if they only get rm2.2k after 7 year of study?

do boss give special bonus or incentive to architect who were involved in the project for each project finished?

what is the normal increment of an architect per year?

This post has been edited by destroyer: Apr 18 2008, 06:08 PM
destroyer
post Apr 18 2008, 07:57 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

normally, how much do we need to open our own architecture firm? and what is the advantages of owning our own firm?

5million?

me should be focusing on studying 1st. but i guess it's not wrong to gain more info regarding architecture.

This post has been edited by destroyer: Apr 18 2008, 08:04 PM

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0669sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 05:23 AM