6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Art & Design So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE? Version 2, A guide to becoming an Architect.

destroyer
post Feb 10 2008, 08:00 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

wow azarimy. you're so "nice". is it true that architect is dying in malaysia or you were just kidding?
destroyer
post Feb 11 2008, 07:09 AM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

well. i was thinking about taking asasi alam bina at UM.

1.how long is the duration? 6 or 7 year. already read ur guide. asasi take 2 year or 1 year?

2.what is the difference with diploma?

3.accomodation in UM. can i stay there till i finish degree?

This post has been edited by destroyer: Feb 11 2008, 07:38 AM
destroyer
post Feb 11 2008, 08:05 AM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

as an architect, i'll say: no, malaysia is dying. u should go find job in some other sector. (the lesser architects out there, the more jobs for me

azarimy. from ur statement above, do u mean it that malaysia is dying or you juz being evil ?
destroyer
post Feb 11 2008, 08:30 AM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

i dun know. but i think you're juz joking rite? hehe. based on all the answers, i think they will still demand architect after 6-7 years.
destroyer
post Feb 11 2008, 06:39 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

right now am very confused. Have 3 choices. I need ur guys opinion.

1. go for utm diploma <--my father don't recommend this bcoz he afraid that i won't continue my degree after finish study.

2. go for Uitm degree <-- i'm curious about UiTM bcoz in kuala pilah, the Uitm there have to come 2 my school 2 use the school lab. maybe lack of facilities. and will employer look at their grads?

3. take the asasi alam bina at UM <--don't know much bout this. need more source.heh. dun have to go through interview.

im in dilemma . help me. i need ur guys opinion on which course should i choose.
destroyer
post Feb 11 2008, 08:27 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

tanx azarimy. UiTM pilah come 2 my school bcoz they dun have their own lab. so i'll take UiTM if my score isn't good and will take UM if i score good. i'll inform u my spm rsult. that way. u can give better opinion.

right now am practicing my art. arghh. anybody have a guide on how to draw better. i can make sum sketches. but it suck.
destroyer
post Feb 20 2008, 09:02 AM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

Actually, i want to make a statement. i am in dilemma but now i've solve it. I was a spm leaver and now in dilemma in choosing course for my future. After a lot of thinking, i finally will choose architecture. I was attracted with engineering, actuary, and architecture. I was attracted 2 actuary because of the high pay when working. But, mathematics is really not my stuff. Then i don't want to choose actuary because i dun want to spend my working life in misery because of something i'm not interested (if i ever pass the course). So i go back to my first choice which is architecture and engineering. But now i'm kinda stuck between this two. During in high school, i choose technical science stream. Manage to get good grades in my engineering drawing which my marks is always 90+. But i'm not good in drawing/art. i'm interested in art lyk anime,manga,n many more. just that i can't draw well.So, i kinda stuck to engineering because engineering is one of my choice too. But, i always thinking if malaysia is flooded by engineer. I wanted to be automotive engineer. but in malaysia there is no R&D going on for foreign company. They only do assembly. I'm interested to get involve in making, designing, and anything on clean/environmental friendly car. So i want to ask your guys opinion. I wanted to create something not just sit in the office and do some quality checking. I wanted to use anything i've learn so that all my hard work learning wouldn't wasted just like that.

1. Architecture: i'm good in engineering drawing, and engineering technology. Interested in anything that include building, or something that i create for other people benefit. But, i can;t draw. i have interest in drawing and art.
So, i want to ask:
a)what is the worldwide demand for architects in the next 5-10 years?
b)can i really put my skill on the creation or just be someone puppet/robot when i'm working?
c)the most important, do you think architect salary in malaysia is underpaid or nice?
d)job chances for working oversea? i want to exchange idea with other people.

2. Mechanical/automotive engineering: i'm also quite good in my engineering technology. My dream is to build something which can be useful in human life and the earth.
So, i want to ask:
a)what is the worldwide demand for mechanical/automotive engineering in the next 5-10 years?
b)can i really put my skill on the creation or just be someone puppet/robot when i'm working?
c)the most important, do you think mechanical/automotive engineer salary in malaysia is underpaid or nice?
d)job chances for working oversea? i want to exchange idea with other people.

Please help me. i'm in dilemma right now.

Edited: I can draw, just not very good at it. Can i improve my skill since i'll be 18 this march?

This post has been edited by destroyer: Feb 20 2008, 04:39 PM
destroyer
post Feb 20 2008, 04:38 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

a little correction bout my statement.

I can draw, just not very good at it. Can i improve my skill since i'll be 18 this march?
destroyer
post Mar 28 2008, 12:24 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

Excuse me fellow seniors, i'd like to ask something.

Will i be called for interview if my choices during UPU application is as follow.

1) diploma sains aktuari <---- heh, although it is my first choice but i'm not eligible to enter their program.
2) diploma kejuruteraan mekanikal UTM < they'll only choose top student.
3) diploma senibina UTM
4) diploma kejuruteraan elektrik perhubungan UTM.

basically, will i be called for interview for architectural since it is 3rd in my choice? i'm think i might not be getting the first 2 choice. any chances for me to get called for interview for architectural?

btw, here is my SPM 2007 result,

A1= BM, BI
A2= Sej, Pendidikan Islam, Math
B3= LK, TK, EST
B4= Chem
C5= phy, add math

i came from SBP school. is it true that student from sbp will be given priority? as far as i know, they only get priority for matriculation.

heh, not doing well for my spm. any chances for interview. btw, azarimy once mention that i might be called for interview, juz wanna ask from different people opinion.
destroyer
post Mar 29 2008, 07:31 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

hello. i would like to ask something.
i would like to apply diploma seni bina for politeknik. So, i would like to ask students or lecturer in architecture. I would lyke to ask you have you meet any student from politeknik diploma? how do they perform? because i heard thet politeknik student don't perform well in their degree. how bout politeknik students for architecture?

Edited: any other experienced stuedent or lecturer can give their opinion?

This post has been edited by destroyer: Mar 29 2008, 07:38 PM
destroyer
post Mar 29 2008, 08:20 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

Tanx a lot azarimy. heh. at first i want to enroll into their aircraft maintainence programme. now you burn my spirit up. i think i'll apply for architecture diploma in politeknik. since i do not have good drawing skills, enrolling into politeknik maybe can help improve my skills.

although it may take longer to achieve part 2, but i dun care much about it. i'm more concern on how will i perform during work.

tanx a lot azarimy. i really appreciate your help.

btw, do i need to attend interview for architecture course in politeknik?

btw, tanx a lot azarimy. i was almost give up on architecture because i am not very good in my basic art. but your talking really burn my spirit.

This post has been edited by destroyer: Mar 29 2008, 08:23 PM
destroyer
post Mar 29 2008, 08:56 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

btw, is it easy to enter degree in UTM if i'm using my polytechnic diploma? is there any discrimination towards poly students in U?

how much polytechnic diploma pointer do i need to enter UTM architectural degree? do i still need to attend interview for degree?

btw, do architectural diploma in polytechnic require me to go through interview?
destroyer
post Mar 29 2008, 10:01 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

so that's mean after i get my diploma, i have to get a working experience for entering UTM degree?

u will need at least 3.50 to stand a chance, preferrably with 1 or 2 years experience, and u will still need to attend the interview.

does this apply only to poli student or to all diploma holder who is trying to apply for architecture degree? sorry for asking a lot of question?
destroyer
post Mar 29 2008, 10:11 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

owh. i see. tanx azarimy.

normally, diploma grads will go for draughtman position or architect assistant?
destroyer
post Mar 29 2008, 10:28 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

btw azarimy, do we need to attend interview for architect diploma in politeknik?

yeah. btw, i really thank you very much for helping me. you help me a lot.

i've came across an article somewhere in newspaper that architecture grads all manage to get job. it is the same level as doctor. 100% grads manage to get job.
destroyer
post Mar 29 2008, 11:40 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

all right, i'll give them a call this Monday.

Btw, from ur experience, do u remember mostly, the polytechnic student studying in UTM for degree come from which poly?

just asking. tanx in advance
destroyer
post Mar 30 2008, 12:25 AM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

yeah, rite now am searching or the right poly to study. i'm worry a bit about the lecturer. heh. but i don't expect myself to just live by spoon fed till i grad.

btw azarimy, you're continuing ur study in UK under sponsorship or self-sponsor?
destroyer
post Mar 30 2008, 12:49 AM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

hah. i believe that u r not from wealthy famly, but i don't believe that urself r not wealthy. hak3.

who sponsor you to study in UK? mind sharing how you get there?
destroyer
post Mar 30 2008, 10:47 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

heh. just fill up the polytechnic application form. i choose architecture as my first choice.

btw, is it important for diploma student to get a laptop? because i'm thinking of only buying laptop when doing my degree. i've read the 1st post and it is recommended for architecture student to have a laptop. juz that do diploma student use much of a laptop?

This post has been edited by destroyer: Mar 30 2008, 10:48 PM
destroyer
post Mar 30 2008, 11:18 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

heh. just fill up the polytechnic application form. i choose architecture as my first choice.

is it important for diploma student to get a laptop? because i'm thinking of only buying laptop when doing my degree. i've read the 1st post and it is recommended for architecture student to have a laptop. juz that do diploma student use much of a laptop?

just wanna tell. i'm one of the contestant for last year national bridge competition in UTM. yeah, me n my team enter the competition. is it categorized more into architecture or civil engineering?

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:36 AM