46 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Art & Design So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE? Version 2, A guide to becoming an Architect.

TSazarimy
post Mar 13 2008, 07:02 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(Jia0924 @ Mar 12 2008, 02:47 PM)
I understand , but i think most of the time , we do think of what the tutors had told us. We do think of that but our execuation may not be so good to show. it doesn't mean that we don't have that kinf of knowledge. I know architecture is always about how to express  and apply what we think on what we have done. This is what we are learning. But don't you think it would be better if tutors could let us finish words first and then just point out our weakness.For example .tell us  why we shouldn't show like that, how we could show that. Because what I think is tutors they sometimes, don't even know we have that kind of knowledge ,and then thier comments make us really in dilemma  by giving again some advices that we have actually thought about that , but this is still the result we got. Some how , i found taht those comments  really make us confused and don't know  what's wrong with our things.
Example, we may think a lot like ..".1. fact 2 fact 3 fact "to design a book
Every part of the book, we considered a lot and come out with a design . When presenting , we just got to say two sentences like " this book is designated for chilren and some parents, this is because in 1819 we ..." the tutor suddenly stopped you and said " i don't wnat to listen to u as i don't see what you ahve told " Don't you think it's really unfair to us. don't you think it's mean? Honestly some of my tutors were liek that, I met some , too.

You know, when tutor said " i think u should stop now, i don't want to listen to you , I don't see what you have just said  from teh thing you have shown" i really think tht this kind of comments are not really useful enough, don't u think so?It is just the same like  I could say " I hate your work , i don't see what you intedn to design" I really feel tht that is unfair .As in ,  Don't you think it would be betetr , if I let you finish your words, and I gave you comment like " I can understand , you do not have to finsih so long story but this part i don't think it shows clearly as i think it would be better if you could use some otehr methoid to show because to me now, this part is showing " ....."   " this kind of comment, don't you think it's mroe useful and make sense ? I MEAN to say that the comments should always come out with a reason and a suggestion " It would be only fair if it's like that
Not only our works have to convince them i think their comments somehow have to convince us as well.

Have a nice day~

Added on March 12, 2008, 10:53 pmAza, your example " the singing competition" makes sense . Thanks. I do like Simon .
THANKS smile.gif
I understand more about the tutors' teaching method now . Thanks .smile.gif
Anyway, Archi is  fun in the sense of learning to deal alot with the communication and thought , the way you speak , the way you act , the way you apply , i think . It's not like study and study . Yes, we do have to study but something tht you have found from the book doesn't really mean it can fix the current problem that you face.
u know, this whole issue between the tutor and the student in architecture/design studio have been debated in the academic world since 1960s. most popular is the protocols of quist and petra by Schon, where petra, a pragmatic, enthusiastic female student, found herself climbing a very steep hill when trying to go against petra, the very experienced yet self centred tutor. this protocol have been used as a reference worldwide, and a lot have been written about it.

yes, the academics do acknowledge the fact that there are such people in abundance, but it is currently the norm. we cant have pleasing tutors dominating the school, bcoz it will create a whole bunch of lame students who only study and study, but not improving themselves. to put it simply, we accept the existence of hard tutors bcoz we acknowledge the need of their harsh methods to become the hammer for most students.

maybe u should come to the bartlett where i used to study. the hard tutors are literally 95% of the line-up. so imagine if 10-12 of them decides to come to YOUR presentation... hehehe.

anyways, i do agree with clayclws. if u start noticing these issues early on, u will have ample time to tune and improve urself against such elements. this is not something u can teach. i mean, how do u lecture students about "how to become a good cyclist?" - you cant. each student MUST learn to cycle themselves, and then improve their technique as they go along practicing. there's no other way around it.

that's why architecture is known to adopt very practical teaching method. think about it. how many lectures do u have compared to the studio? about 50%, isnt it? in UTM we have 60%. that's huge compared to other courses which are 80% lectures and tests.

Added on March 13, 2008, 7:07 pm
QUOTE(*serenity* @ Mar 13 2008, 03:36 AM)

Anyway, why did you say 'put utm as the first choice or else they wont call u up for interview'? Does it make any difference to which uni I put as my first choice?

And may I know what kind of questions did they ask you?

Thanks smile.gif
because of overwhelmingly huge numbers of students applying for architecture in UTM, we have the luxury to only choose those who put UTM as the first choice for the interview. but this is not always so.

u see, last two intakes, there are lots of top achievers applying to UTM, and all of them put UTM as 1st choice. now, if u're a slightly less than spectacular and put 2nd or 3rd choice, there's a huge chance u wont even make it to the interview session.

what i'm trying to say is, it's not the system, but situation. if for example this year not many people put UTM as first choice, then we can go to 2nd, 3rd or even 8th choice, if we still couldnt find the best candidate. so it depends on those applying with u. few ways ontop of my head to help u boost ur chances:

i. convince them all to NOT apply for UTM.
ii. convince them to put UTM as 4th choice and above.
iii. kill them all off...

This post has been edited by azarimy: Mar 13 2008, 07:07 PM
TSazarimy
post Mar 13 2008, 07:52 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(HBK90 @ Mar 13 2008, 11:43 AM)
Is it possible to change from diploma (taylors) to the new arch. degree in taylors?
what do u mean by "change"?

i. do u mean top-up? meaning finishing off 3 year diploma, and then do 1 year degree?

ii. or do u mean change ur current diploma into degree?

if the answer is ii, then several other question comes to mind. what is ur current status right now? what year are u in? what qualifications do u hold prior to ur diploma?
TSazarimy
post Mar 14 2008, 04:31 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Benjamin911 @ Mar 13 2008, 04:33 PM)
Azarimy, thanks for your earlier responses to my post regarding the diploma and degree matter...

Based on your this statement;
I am curious to know what is the "Studio" all about, does it only involves model making/arts & crafts or does it also involves the other respect of Architecture as well; such as the drawing designing aspect? What does the "Studio" actually includes?

I am just curious to know since apparently the "Studio" seems to take up a large portion of the Architecture curriculum. smile.gif

Thanks a lot in advance.

the studio could be referring to two things:

i. the studio facility (physical space); or
ii. the learning method (system of education)

lets not get in too deep, bcoz i could ramble long and hard about the studio, as it is quickly becoming my focus in my research.

the studio as a physical space is where students in design initiate, develop and produce designs. it has the characteristics of three common elements that we can find in schools: classroom + laboratory + workshop. it is a classroom bcoz it is where u learn, meet up with ur tutors and discuss matters that relates to virtually anything. it is a workshop bcoz it is where u experiment - exploring, finding, testing, solving etc. it is a workshop bcoz it is where u produce the end product through a process of rigor.

however, it could not be independently one of those either. it cannot be only a classroom bcoz learning is not tutor oriented, and most of the time students learn by themselves or amongst peers - something that does not happen in normal classrooms. it is not just a laboratory, bcoz it is also where students socialize, chat, lepak, do weird stuff, have unsafe unprotected liberal sex and so on. it is not just a workshop bcoz u dont just produce, u explore and develop a product that is merely an idea of the final design (as in the real building).

as a learning method, the studio is a self-centered education system, quite unlike the common classroom. designers are involved constantly in a dialogue - either amongst friends, tutors, experts or even to their own self, the drawings, designs etc. what goes on in the studio is a process commonly known as the design process. students engage the brief provided by the tutors from the beginning of the project, explore the brief, expand the ideas, seek the problems and issues, and solve them - and not necessarily in that order. it's a cycle of thoughts that will eventually dominate how the architect thinks.

this system is used in virtually everything in the life of the architect. hence why all architects has the ability to dissect or reverse engineer any designs given to them. it also deliberately increase ur IQ. if u dont believe me, u can take an IQ test right before u start architecture. by the end of ur studies, u'll gain a considerable increase definitely.

so what do the students do in the studio? everything. it's where u live. it's ur nest, ur incubator and ur launch platform. what is in the studio? everything. it can range between tables and chairs for each students, but more often is that students will bring their own furnitures etc to make it their home - sometimes even bed. u'll be spending atleast 70% of ur time awake in the studio throughout ur studies. so what does a studio look like? here are some examples in UTM:

the studio is both formal and informal space. it's very similar to working in ur own room, it's just u get to hangout with ur friends (or girlfriendS) at the same time. tongue.gif

and yes, it is also where u construct models, build sculptures, design and so on. do note that each cubicle is a space big enough for 4 students. the girl above apparently is dominating the entire cubicle for her.

and who says u can only study at the table? on the table also can, nobody's gonna stop u.

yes, it is where u sleep!

lepak, mabuk2, main gitar, engage in homo-erotic male-bondings etc... tongue.gif

and yes, it can be formal as well.

and finally, at the end of the day, it is also where u pin up ur handiworks to be scrutinized by the juries. this happens on a weekly basis, usually called a crit, tutorial, demo and so on. it is where put whatever u've done, and we'll talk whether u've achieved ur objectives or not, ur weaknesses and strength and what to do next.

this should give u an idea what the studio is, and how it is central to the life of the architect - from student till a master.
TSazarimy
post Mar 14 2008, 10:55 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Benjamin911 @ Mar 14 2008, 01:42 PM)
Wow Azarimy! I really do not know what to say... laugh.gif

First of all, thanks so much for putting in all those efforts to upload all those images and display them in here. I like to see photographs, because they speak a thousand words. Thanks for giving more insides about the "Studio".

The conclusion that I could draw from those is that;

Architecture education is really informal! biggrin.gif It is really interactive, flexible, and casual. I do not think that Architecture will be a relaxed course though! (The opposite will most probably be true instead!) brows.gif

interactive: yes. u learn primarily by doing rather than reading, listening to lectures and memorizing. to put it simply, it is more about what u put out rather than what u put in. in school, u put more into ur brain than u let out. in architecture, it's input, output, output, output.

flexible and casual: yes. bcoz there's no one way to output. u can do whatever u want to achieve an end product. more importantly, u are not restricted to a specific way to learn or study.

BTW, is Architecture education strict on punctuality and attendance? (I guess not?) biggrin.gif

Does Architecture also have a strict timetable like in the other usual courses? (Where you will be having a fixed amount of time for a certain class/subject?) Or will the Architecture students be able to simply drop into, say the studio class/subject, anytime they wish to do their work? (Or would they be having a fixed timetable/time for, say the studio? - where they would have to arrive on time and depart on time?)

in contrast to contemporary beliefs, architecture works in a very tight schedule, and punctuality are held at absolute high. it is normal that we fail a student bcoz they're late for a crit or assessment. and it is even more normal that we fail a student for an incomplete work. it is about professional ethics of the architect, not just a student. it is easier if u see architecture education as being apprentice to an architect. the tutor is both ur boss and ur client. if ur client wants a job done by friday morning, u work like hell to make sure ur work is complete by friday morning, and attend the meeting at the designated time. failure to do so may mean the client would walk away, and u will not get paid for the work u've done. and since the currency of education is grades, then u will not get ur grades for late attendance or incomplete works. simple as that wink.gif.

architecture do have a more open timetable than most other courses. although u spend most of ur time in the studio, it doesnt mean u're required to do so all the time. usually each school will designate about 2 days a week specifically for studio events (class, lecture, crit, tutorial, talks, debates , field trip etc), and often takes the whole day. it doesnt mean u're gonna sit for a lecture the entire day. crazy ah?

it means everybody involved in the studio (tutors, students, external experts, seniors etc) are required to be present in the studio. usually tutors will follow the syllabus of what to do each week, but the syllabus are basically quite flexible. most of the time u will engage in talks about design, crits and casual debates either with ur tutor or ur peers. but u could also sit in the corner like a kera sumbang and do ur own work biggrin.gif. but u are required to be present during studio hours.

Any idea where are the technical studies usually held? (Building technology studies, building science studies, building structure studies, environmental studies, building construction studies, building material studies etc...as such.) I got the list from the Taylor's Diploma & Part 1 Degree Architecture program manual.

technical studies could be held either in class/lecture or in the studio, or both. what u have listed are a list of subjects, including the studio. ofcourse, in this list u cant see the percentage given by each of those subjects. but the studio, combined, will take about half of the entire education, and the rest are all the subjects. how each subjects especially technical studies depend on each school and their curriculum.

Mann..., Architecture is really seriously a combination of Arts/Culture & Science/Technical studies! cool2.gif

One's brain can go "Berserk" trying to tackle Arts and Science at the same time!! (No wonder every single one when asked would say that Architecture education is tough, and those were from the adults!)

Nevertheless, I was not discouraged by all of those "scary" statements, I knew what I wanted! cool2.gif

BTW, other than the Diploma in Architectural Technology, and the Bachelor (Hons) Of Science in Architecture, Taylors also seems to have a Foundation in the Natural & Build Environments...

If the Diploma and the Part 1 of the Architecture program can already be like that, I really wonder how is the Part 2 in the University of Melbourne going to be like...The Bachelor/Masters of Architecture. blink.gif
so now u know biggrin.gif.

but believe me, by the end of first year, u'll realize that the stuff u learn in architecture are hardly anything bizarre. culture and history are technically like sejarah, but u focus on architectural history and how culture affects it. structures are basically applied physics (moments, load, pressure, tensile strength bla bla bla). behavioural studies are basically something u can just read and observe, but properly structured. it's not hard at all. rationale and logic applies all the time, mind u wink.gif
TSazarimy
post Mar 15 2008, 05:54 AM

10,672 posts

history and theory of architecture ties directly to the evolution of the world. for example, world war II paved way for modernism. what does modernist architecture look like?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Modernism

u see this quite a lot in malaysia especially 50s-70s. the parliament, masjid negara, hospital besar KL are all modernist architecture. where does it come from?

before WW2, the art&craft movement generally dominates architecture spawning off from renaissance and all the artsy fartsy european movements. these art movements are quite reluctant to embrace technology and mass production - they believe architecture, as the mother of all arts, should be made by hand - all of it! means u must lay bricks layer by layer, sculpt the columns bit by bit and all that. it takes too long to produce a building, but each are beautiful, no doubt.

then WW2 happened, and all hell broke loose in europe.

in the aftermath, people realize they dont have any expertise in construction, but they need buildings fast. so mass production began and modernism took over. it eventually catches on with mass printing and mass communication, allowing the entire world to embrace modernism.

the rest is history.

i'm a modernist, and it is not dead tongue.gif.
TSazarimy
post Mar 15 2008, 06:20 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(yuexia @ Mar 15 2008, 08:37 AM)
Hai~ sorry to interrupt your, um, conversation like this (=.=) but i need to ask: from what i've read in the first page, concerning the paths to becoming an architect, i gathered that you can switch from civil engineering or interior design to archi? is it true? and as Azarimy said, the transferring of courses is handled on a case-by-case basis, does it mean you have to attend interviews and such?

I just got my STPM result and am trying to choose my courses. since there are only so many IPTAs that are accredited by LAM, I still have 4 or 5 choices to fill in. For now I am considering choosing UM and UKM's Civil, and also USM's ID. So that If i really couldn't get through the interviews (If i do get called to attend, that is) at least I can do one year Civil then apply for transfer... Any advice? (My bro says, 'Just leave the other choices blank! Show 'em you really really Only want to be an Architect! =.=)
as i've said before, u can change courses, but it is dealt on a case-by-case basis. it means u will need to bring whatever u've achieved to the new school, and they will determine whether a transfer is possible. transfer here means u stop wherever u are and continue at a new school to pickup wherever u've left off. changing courses are not "transfers". u can only transfer from one school to another school within the same course and the same certificate. so careful when using that term wink.gif.

to be honest, it is easier to change courses within the same faculty. for example, if ur target is architecture in UTM, it is best to look for other courses under the same faculty (faculty of built environment) like landscape architecture, QS, planning or building const. changing courses within the faculty is dealt by the dean, and does not require involvement from university administrations other than the registrar. changing courses of different faculties within the same uni involves atleast two deans, several head departments and a whole bunch of people. and changing from one university to the other involves a alot more people.

so u can imagine the difficulty of changing courses.

the best option is to finish what u're studying before changing. the most suitable way is to start with diploma, bcoz with a diploma ur option to change/switch courses is very, very easy. but i do see that u already have STPM, so it might not be an option. best case scenario, if u're holding an engineering degree, u will start ur architecture part 1 at 2nd year. that's the best promise i can give u. i wouldnt dare say u can start at anything higher than 2nd year. interior design, maybe. but not engineering.
TSazarimy
post Mar 15 2008, 09:48 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(yuexia @ Mar 15 2008, 11:57 AM)
sorry. right. will use 'transfer' and 'change' more carefully next time. thanks for the correction and informations  smile.gif

well. then i guess i'll have to ditch civil...never really thought of myself as an engineering person anyway  sweat.gif hmm..i've looked at UTM's available programmes quite a few times already, and from what i know, they don't have interior design, right? that ia actually the next thing i think i would like to do, after archi. landscape arr...but i don't have 'green fingers'. never plant anything in my life so far  blink.gif  don't think it suits me.

no, UTM does not offer ID. it is in the plan to offer ID as well as graphic/multimedia design, but we're talking atleast 5-10 years time.

i guess the question about landscape have already been answered by ur previous post wink.gif.

another question. i know you (i mean Azarimy) dont really approve of studying arch in a non-accredited school (i.e. UKM, UPM); but then...who goes there to study? i'm yet to know anyone who studies at non-acc schools.. Is it very difficult to pass PAM I and II? besides preparing your portfolio, are there any tests? interviews? i'm asking this because i don't know whether i should put UKM and UPM as my choices or not. Does anyone know anything about arch fac in those schools?

thank you~!  biggrin.gif

why do anyone would wanna go there? first of all, the competition is less fierce, meaning easier to get in. schools like UKM and UPM are working hard for their accreditation right now, so if u join in this year, u should be able to graduate with atleast a part 1 within 3 years. i'm 80% positive on this especially for UPM.

why would anyone gamble going to an unaccredited school? well, atleast u're still studying architecture rather than some other course that u might not like. it's easier to take the exam later than not at all, isnt it? biggrin.gif.

TSazarimy
post Mar 16 2008, 12:57 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Benjamin911 @ Mar 15 2008, 03:17 PM)
I remembered hearing from you that a graduated student from an unaccredited school can always seek out the accreditation process himself/herself individually in the future, am I right?

it was a rhetorical question...

so yes, there are ways to seek accreditation individually.

BTW, how does one show ALL of their works during the accreditation process? Do you take photos of all the works that you have done since day one, or what?

How does one compile a portfolio of ALL the works that he or she have ever done in the Architecture school?

How about those assignments that had involved teamwork? (Such as a HUGE model for example...)
for drawings, usually they require original works only, so u're gonna have to compile everything into a portable portfolio. u could also reproduce it into a smaller scale, but u are still required to have the originals available for verification. some of my friends reproduced everything in A3, and kept the originals in several folio bags.

for models, u can take photos.

for assignments and project reports, u are required to have the original available.

TSazarimy
post Mar 16 2008, 07:34 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(HBK90 @ Mar 16 2008, 06:20 AM)
may i know what's the difference between Bach. of Environment and other B.Sc.? They're still part 1 right?

Added on March 16, 2008, 3:10 pm

what does LAM/PAM exemption examination means? hmm.gif
the only difference between the two degrees are the title and probably the focus of the curriculum. other than that, they should be equal to part 1.

do u mean LAM/PAM examination exemption? coz exemption examination doesnt quite make sense to me.

examination exemption is what LAM accredited courses award u. part 1, 2 and 3 are 3 levels of licenses in the architecture profession. normally, individuals who wants to be an architect must obtain all three licenses to practice in malaysia. and u can obtain these licenses through LAM examinations.

but, there are ways to skip the examinations for part 1 and 2. u can do this by going through 2 accredited degree courses. first for part 1 (3 years) and 2nd for part 2 (2 years). passing the degrees would mean u're exempted from taking the part 1 and 2 examinations.
TSazarimy
post Mar 17 2008, 12:08 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Benjamin911 @ Mar 16 2008, 03:24 PM)
Are the PART 1 & PART 2 exams a problem? (After all, the PART 3 exam is inescapable anyway.)

The respective exams would only be taking up to a day am I right? (If that is the case, then I really cannot see any problems in taking the exams.)

[Plus the fact that those with the RIBA, RAIA or equivalent qualification will not have to sit for the exams if they are up to the mark.] (When they satisfy the requirements; which should not be a problem if you are serious in your study.)

BTW, according to the manual, Taylor's students taking the Bachelor of Science [HONS] [Architecture] will be subjected to accreditation by the Board of Architects Malaysia.

If my guess is correct, that means all Taylor's Architecture students will be accredited by the Board of Architects Malaysia (LAM-PAM), if they satisfy the requirements; which should not be a problem if the student study accordingly. nod.gif
ok, on the bolded part, that's what we call "sugar coating".

what the sentence means is that after u finish BSc architecture, u will have to sit for LAM part 1 exam. it's not automatic accreditation. there's only two ways to gain accreditation of part 1: u finish ur degree in an accredited university, or take the exam individually.

what the sentence imply is probably a centralized application for the exam. meaning after ur batch finishes the degree, the school will organize LAM to come over the school at conduct examination all in one go rather than each students apply individually.

it was worded that way to gently tell the prospective students that they are not fully accredited, but didnt want to put the students off from studying there. if u look into other schools like UCSI, LUCT and twintech, u can find similar phrases wink.gif.
TSazarimy
post Mar 17 2008, 03:56 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Jack88 @ Mar 16 2008, 07:27 PM)
Hi. I'm just getting my STPM result (GCPA3.67) and i wonder if I perform badly during interview, will it jeopardize my chances to get in UTM Bachelor of Architecture?
And what is the differences between civil engineering and architecture besides
one is planning while one is responsible for building? Any example??
i. yes, it will. architecture is not all about top achievers. we've rejected a couple of 3.70s before just bcoz their absolute inability to draw, and have very low self-confidence/unable to speak properly.

ii. huge differences that it is practically two different field altogether.

architecture is about design, merging arts and science together. u not only plan, but u take into consideration construction, technology, social welfare of the users, usability, practicality and everything in the building.

civil eng. is the science of construction. they dont do designs, they dont really care about the clients' needs, but concentrate primarily on making the building buildable through science of engineering. so the buildings are designed by the architects, while all the calculations are done by the engineers.

architecture and civil eng. cant live without each other. it's like the difference between a tailor and fashion designer. a fashion designer designs the attire, while a tailor builds it. another example would be a writer and a publisher. a writer writes the story into a book, while the publisher prints and publish them. so can one person be both? ofcourse.
TSazarimy
post Mar 18 2008, 01:12 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Jack88 @ Mar 17 2008, 11:47 AM)
Is UTM better than USM and other universities because only UTM can offer degrees that lead to LAM accredited Part 2 architecture while others cannot??
no.

UTM's degree is 5 years, that awards u with both parts 1 and 2 with a single degree.

USM, UM, UiTM and other universities splits the course into two separate degree. 3 years for part 1 and 2 years for part 2, totaling to 5 years, exactly the same with UTM.

so it's neither better or worse. it caters for different needs or preference of the students. if u go to UTM, u dont have to worry about graduating and continuing for the 2nd degree, and u will become an architect after just a single degree. the disadvantage is that u dont have any breaks - it's full five years of studies. separate degrees offered by other universities allow u to take a breather after the first 3 years, maybe work for a year as an architect's assistant and gain more practical knowledge before joining part 2. the disadvantage is that it may take longer, and the intake for part 2 is usually more strict than part 1.

Added on March 18, 2008, 1:19 am
QUOTE(BurgaFlippinMan @ Mar 17 2008, 02:24 PM)
btw, just curious. What happens if you get the interview at a local uni but fail it? no more going to local universities?
no.

it simply means u will fail the interview for that particular application. meaning u can still apply again next year again and again. do note that if u apply to several other courses with interview filtering in a single application (u have 8 choices in UPU), u may be interviewed by up to each and every course u've applied (assuming ur score is nothing less than extraordinary). it is quite normal that u get called for 2-3 interviews from different schools, like some of our friends here have experienced.

so if u fail a particular interview, it doesnt mean u will fail the others or the subsequent interviews u will have in ur life biggrin.gif. like i said, if u fail, try again.

This post has been edited by azarimy: Mar 18 2008, 01:19 AM
TSazarimy
post Mar 18 2008, 01:24 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(HBK90 @ Mar 17 2008, 01:07 AM)
I've been told thr's a taylors foundation in natural and built environment coming on july and it's 1 n half year long!

i've asked them is it possible to switch to taylors new degree after i finish foundation in other recognized (not accredited) uni and they say should be no prob but hv to match the subs.

what if some subs are not matched? or taylors hv extra subs? what will happen? smile.gif
two things can happen:

i. u will need to take a short foundation course (maybe 1 semester) to finish off the extra subjects. or

ii. u will start 1st year of the degree, but u will have to take several subjects from foundation (meaning u will have extra load during 1st year).

Added on March 18, 2008, 1:30 am
QUOTE(BurgaFlippinMan @ Mar 17 2008, 05:20 PM)
Thanks. But what I meant was like say I put down UTM Architecture in choice 1 and some course which doesnt require an interview in choice 2. Is it possible to get called for the interview AND be accepted for choice 2?
yes.

when u apply, UPU will send out ur application to all 8 choices. each will decide through the selection process, and will give the verdict back to UPU. from here UPU will observe who said yes and no, and only send u the highest choice that said yes.

the interview is part of the selection process, and each does not interfere with another school's interview. example: if u fail UTM interview (1st choice), u may still be offered UM (2nd choice).

This post has been edited by azarimy: Mar 18 2008, 01:30 AM
TSazarimy
post Mar 19 2008, 01:22 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(LuLu90 @ Mar 18 2008, 05:07 PM)
I got 6A's for my SPM.. i think dat is considered as moderate result.. which is not so good T_T

If i complete a 3 yrs diploma in ALFA n passed the part 1 LAM exam, izzit possible 4 me 2 continue part 2 in local uni's? If yes, what r my chaneces of getting in? What will happen if i fail de LAM exams? wacko.gif
unfortunately, 3 years diploma will never enable u to sit for a LAM part 1 exam. u need a 3 year degree to gain equal qualifications to enable u to sit for the LAM part 1 exam. simply put, u need at least 3 years after STPM or 4 years after SPM for architecture education to be eligible to sit for part 1.

but if through which ever way u actually managed to sit and pass the LAM part 1 exam, yes, it is very possible for u to continue part 2 in any local universities.

if u've taken the exam but failed, take again. and take again until u pass, however long it takes, or until u quit wink.gif.

Added on March 19, 2008, 1:24 am
QUOTE(*serenity* @ Mar 18 2008, 03:47 AM)
I would like to ask, if i am offered another course besides architecture in a local uni and i accept it for the time being, will i be able to change course after one semester or will i need to wait for a year or it depends on the procedures? How long does it normally take?

Thanks smile.gif
like justin's said, it's very unlikely. and even if u wanna change, it's a helluva process.

ultimtely, it depends if the target course would wanna accept u or not wink.gif.

Added on March 19, 2008, 1:42 am
QUOTE(Navigator(R) @ Mar 18 2008, 06:46 AM)
Hi, i'm Sastera Student STPM 2007 . my result mixed to 2.84 T__T , so bad coz i alwasy get 3.00 above normaly at school . so here what i got

Pengajian AM = 3.00
Pendidikan Seni = 3.00
Ekonomi = 2.67
Geografi = 2.67
Bahasa Melayu = 2.67

Total is 2.84

my Kokorikulm i got 83.45% , MUET is ben 3 , and got 1 special sijil "HeadBoy"
hmm..
this what i applying in UPU

Pilihan 1 * - KH03 SAINS SENI BINA# - UKM
Pilihan 2 * - PH11 BACELOR REKA BENTUK (SENI BINA) -UPM
Pilihan 3 * - MH03 SAINS SENIBINA -UM
Pilihan 4 * - KE00 EKONOMI - UKM
Pilihan 5 - PE00 BACELOR EKONOMI - UPM
Pilihan 6 - MP06 PENTADBIRAN PERNIAGAAN -UM
Pilihan 7 - MS69 SAINS (GEOGRAFI) -UM
Pilihan 8 - KA18 SAINS SOSIAL (GEOGRAFI) -UKM

i was hopping to take S.SENI BINA.
is't i still got chance for it?

or which one more suitable for me by looking for my result.?
looking at ur results, i cant say for sure whether u r competitive enough to secure a place in an IPTA, but it shouldnt stop u from applying. i just question why u put UKM and UPM's architecture as top choices as both of them are not accredited by LAM (lembaga akitek malaysia). u should sort out to atleast put UM, USM, UTM or UiTM (if applicable), bcoz those are the accredited schools.

headboy (ketua pelajar/pengawas?) should be a great boost to ur application, especially during interviews.

so yes, architecture might be for u, assuming u will upgrade/brush up ur art skills for ur portfolio, ofcourse wink.gif.

This post has been edited by azarimy: Mar 19 2008, 01:42 AM
TSazarimy
post Mar 19 2008, 05:43 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Lon3LyJay @ Mar 19 2008, 04:19 AM)
hello guys,

i've got some questions here, and it has been surrounding me for quite some times here....

what's the differences between the IR and AR?
i know that, AR is more into designing and environmentally and IR is more into calculating and logically.. but when come in to housing development project, where those houses are not so depending on design (my dad's company is developing low-mid income housing)
i wants to know the POWER, QUALIFICATION, PERFORMANCE, CAPABILITY and JOB AREA between them.

can AR do IR job? or Via versa..
why i ask this? because in my dad's company, AR is juz design something out and sign to certify it, but still need to go through IR instead of everything, and IR can do AR job whether those houses are stable and those construction work is working under good performance, they even fight against those design plan designed by AR, where those plan sux much.. and IR have the right to change the drawing into more qualified plan and stable structure... (well indeed the AR hired by my dad's company really sux...)

for my point of view... IR is more powerful and capable than AR. hmm.gif  doh.gif
correct me if im wrong...
engineer doing architects job? sure, they sure would like to think they can.

there are hundreds of different things that could not be handled by an engineer simply bcoz they're not trained in it. one of it is the architect-client relationship. in construction, the architects are more similar to lawyers, protecting the needs and interests of the client from conniving thieves. this does not relate to design at all, which engineers are simply not qualified to do. if anything should happen to a project, dealings through an architect is protected by law, hence the client is legally safe. if the client did ever skip the architect and straight to the contractor for the example, it will expose them to all sorts of legal lawsuit.

it's not just what the architect can do, it's about what the profession offers legally. that's just one example.

in ur dad's company, it does seem that the IR are doing more than their job specifies, which is quite unprofessional of them. engineers only have right to suggest a change in the design, but it is still up to the architects' decision to do so. the architect has the ultimate final say as to agree or disagree with the engineer. if he is unsatisfied, he could just fire the engineer and get a different opinion, simple as that. remember that the engineer may suggest that the structure is unsound or very uneconomical, but in no way is the engineer qualified to say a design sucks. u dont wanna piss off an architect, bcoz architects talk - ALOT. if one architect bad mouths u, be sure the architects in the immediate vicinity will know about it wink.gif. and this is well within the architect's professional code of conduct.

simply put, although there are certain areas that the architecture and engineering profession overlaps, there are more areas that they dont, and u cant assume that an architect can do engineers job or vice versa, unless they are qualified (by certification or professional accreditation) to do so. if u're interesting in becoming both, there are architecture-engineering degrees (double major) being offered in UK schools.

TSazarimy
post Mar 20 2008, 06:17 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Benjamin911 @ Mar 20 2008, 09:36 AM)
BTW, how come some of the Degrees from various Universities either look Artistic (Arts type), whereabout some look Scientific (Technical type)?

For example;

University of Strathclyde, Scotland: Bachelor of Science (HONS) (Architectural Studies) - 2 years.

Robert Gordon University, Scotland: Bachelor of Science (HONS) (Architectural Technology) - 2 years.

Northumbria University, England: BSc (HONS) Architectural Technology - 2 years.

The rest are the Bachelor (BSc), or the BA, or the Masters of Architecture. (BTW, what is the difference between the BA and the BSc type Degrees?)

Part 1 type degrees;

The University of Melbourne: Bachelor of Environments - 1 year.

University of New South Wales: Bachelor of Built Environment (Architectural Studies) - 1 year.

Queensland University of Technology: Bachelor of Built Environment (Architectural Studies) - 1 year.

Deakin University: Bachelor of Arts (Architecture) - 1 year.

University of Newcastle: Bachelor of Design (Architecture) - 1 year.

University of Technology Sydney: Bachelor of Arts in Architecture - 1 year.

University of Tasmania: Bachelor of Environment Design - 1 year.

Victoria University of Wellington: Bachelor of Arts in Architectural Studies - 1 year (2 Trimesters)

What are the differences between the Arts and the Science type Architecture Degrees?

Will I get to learn the more technical stuffs in those Science type Degrees? (Or are all of the Degrees learning the same thing with just the difference in the names only?)
u're confusing urself between degree specializations and degree types. degree specialization is the title of the course, for example "architectural studies" or "architectural technology". degree types are the categorization of the degree based on the family of faculty that the school belongs to in the university's tree. architecture could be either arts or science, bcoz these are the two primary category in the world of knowledge. a university may put architecture into an arts faculty, while another puts them in a science faculty. some even have specialized into a built environment faculty.

there's no big difference in degree types, other than how they're managed by the university administration. what u should look for is the degree specialization if u seek to learn specific things in ur degree.

architectural technology obviously leans heavily on applied technologies in architecture, while architectural history is more on theory, philosophy and history.

Added on March 20, 2008, 6:23 pm
QUOTE(ameko4 @ Mar 20 2008, 04:15 AM)
hello~

i just gradute from stpm and interest in taking architecture course in usm,upm and ukm.
As i know fron page 1,that both ukm and upm are currently unaccredited by LAM, and is only 3 years course.
May i know wat the path i can take to continue my part 2 in local uni?
is it necessary to have working experience to continue part 2 in usm,upm as well as ukm?
i. accredited part 2 in malaysia is available at UTM, UM, USM and UiTM, while unaccredited part 2 is available at UPM, UKM and UIAM. do note that all part 1 courses are 3 years, and part 2 courses are 2 years. one exception is UTM, which combines both courses into one degree of 5 years that awards part 1 and 2 in one go.

ii. work experience is only necessary if u did not obtain good enough results to continue straight into degree. UM for example only allows those with exceptional results in part 1 to continue straight into part 2 without any industrial experience.

This post has been edited by azarimy: Mar 20 2008, 06:23 PM
TSazarimy
post Mar 20 2008, 08:09 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Benjamin911 @ Mar 20 2008, 10:57 AM)
Oooo, I see...Thanks.
So, does the names of the Diplomas and the Degrees really indicate their focus/concentration?

For example, does a Bachelor (HONS) of Arts (Architecture) focus more on the Artistic aspects of Architecture and a Bachelor (HONS) of Science (Architecture) focus more on the Scientific aspects of Architecture?
no. u dont understand what i've said.

lets take an example: Bachelor of Arts (Hons) in Archtiectural Studies

Bachelor of Arts = degree type
Hons = degree achievement/distinction
Architectural Studies = degree specialization.

degree type does not indicate specialization. it is just how each university categorizes the degree system organized through each faculty. in this world, there are two primary fields: arts and science. hence why most courses u see out there starts either with BSc or BA. but there are other fields that doesnt really belong into these two fields like business, and there are others that are both like design. so how each university categorizes the degrees does not reflect on what u will learn.

my wife graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in Architectural Studies, but have a substantial amount amount science/engineering subjects that outweighs the art subjects. whatever category ur degree is in, it does not reflect specifically what u learn. as u can see, this is one of things that common rules doesnt apply in architecture wink.gif.
TSazarimy
post Mar 21 2008, 01:57 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Benjamin911 @ Mar 20 2008, 04:33 PM)
OK thanks a lot, I understand it now.

However, do you have any idea on why the Taylor's school of Architecture entitled their Diploma;

Diploma in Architectural Technology when their Part 1 Degree is entitled Bachelor of Science (HONS) (Architecture)? In this case, is the Taylor's Diploma concentrating on Architectural Technology? (Or is it just another Science field name as well?)

BTW, just for information only, the University of Portsmouth, England entitled their degree as BA (HONS) Architecture. (It is a Part 2 Degree.)

Thanks for enlightening me that BA means Bachelor of Arts and BSc means Bachelor of Science. (Earlier I did not know that.)
now u're getting it.

diploma on the other hand does not have any certificate types. all diploma are diplomas. no diploma of science in architecture or whatever. so taylor's diploma "Diploma in Architectural Technology" should be read as:

"[certificate type] in [field of specialization]" = "[diploma] in [architectural technology]"
TSazarimy
post Mar 23 2008, 04:49 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Benjamin911 @ Mar 21 2008, 03:43 AM)
OK.
OK, I am glad to hear that the Taylor's Diploma in Architectural Technology is indeed concentrating, or focusing in "Architectural Technology"; and that the title is not just a name.

Since that is the case above..., I am now also curious about the Taylor's Bachelor [HONS] of Science (Architecture), whether is it also concentrating/focusing in "Architectural Technology"; thus being certified, or classified as a BSc.

Regards.

to tell u the truth, dont rely too much in the name. in malaysia, only part 2 degrees could use the title Bachelor of Architecture. any other degrees must use other names, hence why u have BSc in Architectural Studies, Architectural Science, Architectural Technology and so on. it may give u an idea of the emphasis that they have, but it's not necessarily must emphasis on that.

to really determine the school's emphasis, look into its subject list, and figure out the weightage of each subject. from there u can see roughly what the emphasis of the school really is.

A question just pop up in my head just now;

Can the Architect also plan and design the road system? (Or is that the job of the Civil Engineer?) 

Thanks a lot in advance.

---
yes, they can. part of the training in malaysia is urban design, where the student is trained to develop a large scale project, normally about the size of a small town (pekan). this is ofcourse conducted in groups. but the architect is not fully qualified to endorse road system alone. they must work with the planners. however, if they want, they could specialize in urban design and town planning with masters that would give proper qualifications to do just that.

road system is normally the work of the town/regional planner or road/transport/traffic engineer.
TSazarimy
post Mar 23 2008, 10:08 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Little Fang)
helo azarimy! im new here. i get to know this forum from my friend. im glad u share all infos bout architecture here . i get to know clearer bout it.
i juz finished my stpm n would like to know more bout d courses.

btw, can u explain a little bout landscape architecture? does its scope as big as d ordinary architecture? how bout d work load?
if i like plants, m i suitable for taking this course?
n i heard tat LA salary is quite low .

thanks !
regards.

hello little fang,

landscape architecture is more of an environmental designer rather than what most people would think - a glorified gardener.

landscape architect is something between a designer and a botanist, where they have the essential design skills just like an architect, interior or graphic designers, but at the same time have substantial knowledge in botany and sociology with some basic construction knowledge.

and yes, u do get to learn all the scientific names of plants, its properties and characteristics, and how to apply them in ur design. if architects play around with materials such as concrete, steel, timber and what not, landscape architects play with plants and all that.

salary wise, landscape architects are paid about the same with interior designers - slightly less than an architect. workload is about the same, although landscape architects do learn an entirely different deal from what architects learn. so it's quite hard to say if the workload is REALLY the same or not.

46 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0751sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:16 AM