46 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Art & Design So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE? Version 2, A guide to becoming an Architect.

TSazarimy
post Apr 17 2008, 06:34 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(aprisis @ Apr 17 2008, 02:50 AM)
sorry for asking the inappropriate, but wats the difference between university and university college?
university college is college sized institution or a collection of college sized institutions, but could already offer degree and post-graduate courses (colleges couldnt offer post grad). so its between a college and a university. it doesnt have full facilities and expertise as a full university yet.

QUOTE(destroyer @ Apr 17 2008, 02:57 AM)
@azarimy, how much time do you take to finish from diploma until you get your part 2 degree? 7 years?
6 years (3 years diploma + 3 years degree). one tip: belajar rajin2 and score astronomical cgpa pointers so that u can be offered direct intake from diploma into degree without the need to practice for 1 year. so u can save 1 year.

Added on April 17, 2008, 6:38 pm
QUOTE(mrg18 @ Apr 17 2008, 09:38 AM)
Hey , i need an advice.I want to take up architecture so badly but my mum insists that i should take up aviation(pilot) but it seems the number of students taking up aviation has been increasing vastly from year to year.I know a pilot has a much more higher salary compared to an architect but the chances of getting to work for local airlines like MAS or AA are very slim.

I'm not sure which is the right choice for me but can someone at least tell me that being an architect is a better path for my future smile.gif
that's quite a different jump of field, i must say. i dont know any advice that i could give other than those i've already given throughout this thread. i especially dont know how to convince anyone against doing aviation. so u wanna take architecture, but tell me, why dont u wanna be a pilot?

This post has been edited by azarimy: Apr 17 2008, 06:38 PM
TSazarimy
post Apr 17 2008, 06:49 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Apr 17 2008, 10:44 AM)
i see...

I hope can secure place in politeknik for my architecture diploma. then only can ask you many and many tips. my parent already give me green light. InsyaAllah... i want to continue my study in architecture if i get the place in poli.

me attracted towards architecture because, it can give me drawing skills that i always wanted but couldn't do it well because no guide and practise. in architecture i can even apply it during working. yeah!!! smile.gif

can i work as part-time draftsman while studying my degree to save some money?

actually prefer studying without working so I can concentrate on study. juz asking so that if i have financial problem i'll be able to solve it myself.

Added on April 17, 2008, 6:45 pmpoliteknik application close today. so, hurry and apply for architecture!!!
well, if u're from poly diploma, i assume u've achieved draftmanship at blinding speed, so i suppose working part time should not be a problem for u. but architecture is simply not one of those courses that u could spend extra time doing other things. if u do, manage ur time properly.
TSazarimy
post Apr 17 2008, 07:32 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Apr 17 2008, 10:55 AM)
actually. wanna ask you something. been searching in the net. but couldn't find the most right answer.

what does draftsman do when working? is it drawing plan? or other job such as buat kopi for arkitek?

sorry3. really have no idea.
well, the job description is pretty obvious from the job title, isnt it?

draftpersons draft drawings. they are well versed in all technical drawings, design details and more importantly the architectural vocabulary. they communicate via drawings, so like in any language, a firm command in vocabulary is important. what they draw must really represent the real object to scale.

that is the primary job of draftpersons. they could also be architectural technicians, where they are also involved in site visits, checking up construction progress, dealing with ammendments of drawings with other consultants and authourities etc.

so what is the difference between the two? technicians are part 1 architects. in most offices they're also the draftpersons. however, big offices differentiate between draftpersons and technicians, but smaller offices only employ part 1 bcoz they can do both.

what do u need to become a draftperson? junior draftpersons (newbies, beginners) only need autocad certificate. after a week's induction course, u should be able to perform menial tasks in the office. senior draftpersons need a diploma. but a diploma holder could also apply as a junior technician. so it depends on what u can do...
TSazarimy
post Apr 17 2008, 08:47 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Apr 17 2008, 11:52 AM)
tanx a lot azarimy for the brief explaination.

well. azarimy. i'd like to ask you something from your own experience.

when you're freshly grad, you were given 2 projects to handle. am i right? if i'm not mistaken, you've mention it before.

do you mind sharing with us what type of project were you handling?

does architect have heavy workload? from what i read around, architect must be willing to work near deadline. is it true?
i was given:

i. a bungalow renovation in PJ for an entrepreneur who was a close friend of my boss. his bungalow was already big enough, but he just got another lump of money, his children are growing, so he decided to expand. he barely had enough space for his two mercedez. the space was quite limited bcoz his bungalow already filled in most of the compound. although it's just a bungalow renovation, it costs about RM1.8mil for that only. i turned a typical featureless bungalow into a bali resort.

i handled from the very beginning, discussing with the client, putting up presentations of proposals, amendments, redesigning and reproposals. bcoz of my inadequate knowledge in supplies and costing, my boss occasionally accompany me during such meetings to help me on those aspects. i went to lepak at the client's house a few times, trying to get a feel of it. sometimes we conduct on site discussions as well. finally i built a model to show the client what it would look like, and he agreed.

in the drawing production stage i was less involved bcoz i went into the next project. i finally let go the project to another architect (part 3) in the office bcoz my boss wanted me to concentrate on the next project. when i left the office to join UTM the project was already 80% done. i didnt get to see the final product, only saw pictures.

ii. the next project was quite a controversial one. it was a mixed development - a commercial complex podium with two apartment towers on top of the podium. that's not the controversial part. the controversial part is that currently on site was a 4-block low cost PKNS flats. people dont wanna move from the site. there had been protests. the site is right behind LRT jelatek in keramat. the flat is still there, bcoz the project got postponed indefinitely. with keadilan taking over selangor, i doubt the project will ever see the light of day.

the project belonged to PKNS. when i came in, it's already been in proposal since 1996. i realized the reason i was brought in is bcoz no one could stand the head architect of PKNS (en. halim). he was a mean prick especially when it comes to design. he even called the office, asked to specifically talk to me, simply to bash my design. WTF! but my boss already knew that i'm not the kinda guy who'd take it up the ass, so he let me do whatever i need to do to get better. with a help from my close friend fauzan who is also working in the office, we went down to UTM, discussed with several lecturers on the best design, and cooked up a good presentation.

in the end, the PKNS people were quite impressed with the design (especially since two very young kids taking over from the big boys in the office). truthfully, my boss already fed-up with PKNS. he wanted to move on. the project has been stuck at design stage since 1996! it's already 5 years! but we finally convinced them. my boss was impressed. we started to work on the project seriously when PKNS finally got the red light from above for that project. so it was postponed indefinitely.

those two projects overlapped quite a lot. i was juggling between the two when finally my boss decided i should concentrate on the keramat complex. at some point, i slept at the office just to finish the proposal. during that time, we dont get overtime pay (bcoz of 1997 recession was still in effect). our boss' principle was simple. u work at ur own time based on deadline. whether u wanna come to the office or not, it's up to u, as long as the job gets done by the end of the day. that's what we did.

when we're more free, we help others on their projects as well, especially site or construction visits. my boss was quite disappointed when i told him i'm going fulltime with academia. but since he was a lecturer in UTM too, he understood my drive. fauzan left the office bcoz he and his wife was offered at sime UEP. he's the one i mentioned previously who worked as a naval architect. now he's back in KL preparing for his part 3.
TSazarimy
post Apr 17 2008, 09:35 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(aprisis @ Apr 17 2008, 01:14 PM)
u were given projects right after u graduate without the need to get urself a job 1st?  unsure.gif
what do u mean "without the need to get a job first"?

ofcourse we've got to be employed by an office first biggrin.gif. fauzan and i was offered a job even before we graduated. so right after we finished studying, we joined the office straight away. only i did so at part-time basis (i was teaching part-time in UTM at the time).
TSazarimy
post Apr 17 2008, 10:20 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(aprisis @ Apr 17 2008, 01:58 PM)
u must be some prodigy to be offered a job even before u graduated  shocking.gif

and here i am thinking if i wound end up jobless if i take the course  sweat.gif  tongue.gif
nope. it happens all the time, especially for established schools. remember, most of my lecturers have their own firms. my boss and two of his associates were all ex-lecturers of UTM. the associates are now in UM (PM saari omar and mr. asrul mahjuddin). all were my lecturers. so all u need to do is exhibit ur qualities (short of bodek, coz i dont do bodek), and they will pick u right before u graduate.

this is why u WANT to go to established schools, bcoz the contacts the lecturers could give u.

QUOTE(destroyer @ Apr 17 2008, 01:59 PM)
do you get 1st class degree for architecture azarimy?

what is your pointer for diploma?
nope. just a lame-ass 2nd class upper.

i got 3.45 during my diploma.
TSazarimy
post Apr 18 2008, 12:04 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Apr 17 2008, 02:31 PM)
gosh. your result make me scared of taking architecture. not because it is bad. just afraid that i might get a lot worse than you.

afraid i might be left behind...

but i think i'll just try my best in pursuing architecture.
to tell u the truth, i'm not one of them who would give more time studying that just what's needed to get me to become an architect. i'd rather enjoy my life being a student of architecture, win a few competitions, a couple of dean's list and a best designer award; join student events, performances and movements to change certain policies; and so on.

i've never really paid attention in class unless i wanted to. to me, there are other things a university student should concentrate on other than studies. my father himself was one of anwar's followers during the 70s UM student revolutions. so i understood very well what university students should do. i've shown the school that i could win a dean's list or bag a best designer award if i wanted to. so now i want to spend time doing other things that doesnt relate to academics.

these are the stuff that UTM chose upon when they offered me to join the staff. it's not bcoz of my academic achievements. there are other top scorers already selected based on their academic achievements. what i'm saying is that, academics is NOT everything in architecture. the world is big. literally.
TSazarimy
post Apr 18 2008, 05:02 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Apr 17 2008, 04:30 PM)
I see. so that's how it is done. sorry bcoz i'm very2 noob in architecture. because there is none in my family or relative went into architecture filed or study. i might be the first. me need to do more reading to architecture.

azarimy...

give us some WOW factor regarding architecture to keep our spirit up.

btw, since you got experience with UTM. what is the percentage of UTM architecture student grads that secure job 6months after graduate with 2nd class degree?
wow factor? hmmm... everything's wow about architecture to me. keep reading this thread, i'll occasionally pop a few pointers, tips, creative stories and so on to keep u interested tongue.gif.

most UTM architecture students will graduate with 2nd class degree. it's too hard to get 1st class bcoz the university set the A grade too high (85-100), compared to other universities. for example, UM is set at 75-100. so only about 1-2% would get a 1st class degree every year. on the other hand, no one will graduate with 3rd class either, bcoz we (the school of architecture) would rather fail them until they upgrade themselves, or until they quit. so no 3rd class graduates here.

with that said, about 80% graduates would be able to secure a job 6 months after graduating, and 100% a year later (not including those continuing to study). most of the later group were not bcoz they couldnt find a job. most of them prefer to rest, lepak2, travel and do other stuff. yes, architecture sometimes take a lot out of u that u need one year break LOL.

QUOTE(:+:[J]erR[y]:+: @ Apr 17 2008, 05:14 PM)
Got question...

I'm not good in arts (hmm.. drawing)
I always want to become an architect...
I'm quite interested on designing something although my drawing is not that good..
Should I proceed for architecture?
and...

refer to the FAQ in the 1st page. u can find the answer in the first 2 posts.
TSazarimy
post Apr 18 2008, 05:11 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(mrg18 @ Apr 17 2008, 09:18 PM)
First of , i don't think malaysia will be demanding for pilots for the year to come because there are MANY students who have taken up aviation which means being assured of a job as a pilot would not be easy for me.MAS currently has 500 candidates waiting to fly a plane and don't put too much hope on getting a place with an airline because only 12 graduates gets picked out of hundreds.(correct me if i'm wrong)
Other than that ,  let's say i've just graduated from flying school and have sent my application letter to an airline , i will have to wait for weeks or worse months for them to return my letter.Even if they do reply i will need to go for an interview and if i fail , there goes another waiting process.Lots of my friends pulled out from becoming a pilot because of this , as well as me.

After much thinking , i then thought of pursuing my childhood ambition on becoming an architect.Well , i will be able to experience college life if i were to taking up this course , otherwise i'll be dressed up in uniform, studying in a school far away from home and full of male students LOL.
i'm not sure how pilot/aviation does their selection, but if ur statement is correct, it would seem that it is quite a strict selection for a very small number of place. but then again, so is architecture. UTM had to select only 60-80 students out of 1500-2000 applicants each year, UM has an even smaller odds. but u do have a lot of options to study architecture, as well as working after u've graduated.

the way i see it, u could make a deal with ur parents like so:

take up architecture while waiting for the interview for piloting. i mean, u cant exactly be doing nothing while waiting, can u? if they take months to issue a call, then u'd better be spending that time studying for something else as a fall back. so why not take up architecture while waiting? convince ur parents that u will still go for the pilot interview when the call comes through. and if it doesnt, u will still have an equally prestigious profession waiting ahead of u. (ofcourse, u could chose NOT to go for the interview even when they called for u hehhee).
TSazarimy
post Apr 18 2008, 05:38 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(aprisis @ Apr 18 2008, 08:18 AM)
so its quite unlikely that i will menganggur after graduating?  unsure.gif
very unlikely, unless u chose to be so. most of the students would secure a place by the time they did practical training.

QUOTE(destroyer @ Apr 18 2008, 09:00 AM)
i think so. but azarimy once said that architecture world only crave for the best.
i think as long as we have passion towards architecture, we can be among the best.
moreover architect grads have wide job scope. you can work as interior designer, architect, n many more.

lets wait for what azarimy going to say because he have the experiences and knowledge. i'm just giving opinion from what i read around.
@azarimy, i would like to ask you regarding the $1.8m renovation project that you handle.

when we charge architecture fee for the renovation project,it is the architect that will get the commission/fee it or the firm will get the fee? if the architect get the fee/commission, how the firm going to get profit?
how many percent architect fees will be charge for renovation project?
the firm will get the fee. it's always the firm. architects are paid monthly salary, the boss included. i dunno much about business, but technically to sustain a business firm, u (the architect) cant take ur earning directly from profit. u set a monthly salary for urself even if u're the boss.

for renovation projects, it's about 9-11% depending on complexity. i cant remember how much we were paid for the renovation project. i wasnt part of that project anymore when they discussed the fees.
TSazarimy
post Apr 18 2008, 07:47 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Apr 18 2008, 09:46 AM)
gosh...

how can architect survive the living cost for the next 10 years if they only get rm2.2k after 7 year of study?

do boss give special bonus or incentive to architect who were involved in the project for each project finished?

what is the normal increment of an architect per year?
well, u cant expect to have a lifestyle of an architect already working 10 years right after u graduate. do the calculations: most people are spending waaay to much than what they earn, just so that they could busk in the professional elite lifestyle. throw away the stuff u dont need, u'll get by easily with RM2200.

i started with RM1900. i saved and managed to send RM700 per month to my girlfriend (now wife) studying in the UK for a year. on top of that i was still able to save money to get married. i can do alot with RM3500 i'm getting right now. there are ways to survive, and architects are supposed to be the best of the survivors.

anyways, if u're working in a firm, u dont usually get an incentive or bonus based on projects, but they do give bonus per year, usually before hari raya or chinese new year, just like any other firms.

architects get an increment of about RM300 to RM500 per year depending on performance. in extreme cases like my friend ramesh (who is now already forming his own firm after teaching part time in limkokwing), he started at about RM2000+, and had an exponential increase of salary. by 5 years he was paid more than RM5000 per month, and almost made partner. but then he quit and joined limkokwing, acquired enough contacts in 2 years, and now is setting up his own firm. and he graduated the same year as i did.

the other way is, firms always look for experience first, skills second and academic achievements last. so wht most people do is to job-hop for 2-3 years. when u join ur first office, just take whatever salary u can get (even if its lower than others), but grab as much experience in a year as u can. after 1 year, hop to another office. by then u've already had 1 year experience, and not a fresh grad anymore. ur salary would differ as much as RM300-500 during this hop. then after a year at the 2nd office, hop again. now u've got 2 years experience. this is another RM 300-500 increase of salary.

but remember, 2-3 job hops are acceptable especially if u're a noob. but if u do it too often (say, 4-5 times in 3 years) or at a yearly basis, firms might not wanna take u in at all. why employ someone who's gonna hop again in a year? firms talk, u know wink.gif. trust me. boss in one firm knows the boss in the other firm. and they talk. alot. especially if they used to date.

QUOTE(aprisis @ Apr 18 2008, 09:54 AM)
but i thought architects could work pass the retirement age? that time will they still be under a firm or?
simply put, architects dont retire, bcoz they're not bound under labor laws per se. architects have its own professional code of conduct. there's no difference between working for someone or having others work for u at 55. well, the pay might be different, but there are senior architects who still work for others.

u see, to open a firm of ur own, u need 2 things: a long list of contacts and a huge sum of money. the first is easy to get, but even working 50 years u might not be able to acquire the 2nd.
TSazarimy
post Apr 18 2008, 08:20 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Apr 18 2008, 11:57 AM)
normally, how much do we need to open our own architecture firm? and what is the advantages of owning our own firm?

5million?

me should be focusing on studying 1st. but i guess it's not wrong to gain more info regarding architecture.
about RM500k to RM1mil for a small office with 3-5 members.

the main advantage is u're ur own boss, and u get to steer things to go the way u wanted to. as an architect, this is a very important aspect. my previous boss allowed me to do whatever i deem necessary, hence he's a good boss in terms of letting their employees flourish. but not many bosses are like that. if u think u want a design to be in someway, ur boss would want things to go his way too, and he has bigger ego than u. so many, if not all, architects would eventually end up in their own firm, or become a partner in an already established firm.

also, having the office with ur name on it is cool, no? if u ask me, i wanted to open a multinational design firm like ZDR (zaini dubuz richez, pronounced zaini duboa righz), a KL+paris+new york architecture firm. i did my practical training at ZDR for a while. awesome environment, but too much testosterones in the office. even the women were butch. that's the truest sense of a design firm i've ever been in. if i were to open my own office, it'll be between that environment and google headquarters.

there are lots of other advantages and disadvantages of opening ur own office. dont worry about it, lets move step by step.
TSazarimy
post Apr 18 2008, 09:10 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Apr 18 2008, 12:42 PM)
when you're working as an architect, do you think architect is more stressful compared to engineer, doctor or accountant?

i don't mind working with starting pay such as rm2k. as long the working condition is comfortable and not so much pressure (that will eventually wearing me out slowly).

your working day seem interesting to me. i hope if i become architect, i'll get the same boss as you did. no pressure. as long as i finish my job and do it right then it's ok. and some appreciation will be nice.

do you mean that there aren't many hot chicks going into architecture field? haha. some hot chick during working will be ok. when studying, it'll be a big no no. afraid will get distracted.
heres some article regarding zaini.

http://www.ytlcommunity.com/commnews/shown...asp?newsid=8688
i dunno. it depends really. each job has its payoff for all the stress and pressure u'd endure. an architect gets satisfaction when their design gets built. even better if it wins recognition or award. but simply being built is good enough.

doctors get satisfaction from curing people, or atleast prolonging a life. dr. house only cares about solving the problem, so he doesnt count tongue.gif. the same is about engineers and accountants.

architects get addicted to stress and pressure, bcoz that's when the adrenaline starts pumping. u work long and hard to produce a design, and all those stress are paid off when u've completed the job. and then u get into another project, and the cycle starts all over again.

a job is stressful if the payoff isnt as great as the stress or pressure. accountants are probably the most stressful of all, as their payoff is only in money. architects perhaps is the best stress:payoff ratio, as we get paid, the design gets built, and later we get the recognition and satisfaction of the client.

there are alot of hot chics in architecture. there's even more lingering around architects hoping to get a piece of designer action, if u know what i mean. moreover:

TSazarimy
post Apr 19 2008, 12:32 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Apr 18 2008, 01:37 PM)
WOW!. i never thought that architect is very hot.

yup. one thing that make architect look hot. when they are working on their design. the concentration of getting the job done(for example designing) make women melts.

haha. by being an architect will make me achieve my dream. to be the hottest bachelor. haha. juz kidding.

Added on April 18, 2008, 11:06 pmbtw. when i have obtain PAM part 2, can i sit for RIBA exam in order to practice oversea?
well, u could. but it depends on where u wanna practice.
TSazarimy
post Apr 19 2008, 05:42 AM

10,672 posts

one might argue that sexy is a subjective thing. but when u get a rather large collection of people saying the same thing, it must count for something wink.gif.

talking to a few non-architect friends of mine, they generally agree that architects have a certain appeal to them (male or female alike). mostly it's about the high level of confidence throughout, and primarily the alpha male factor applies as well. like the article i've shared earlier, one of the appealing factor about architects is their calmness under pressure. but to me, doctors and lawyers have similar traits as well.

however there's another element that should be considered as well: architects are masters of both arts and science. so they dont really belong in either one of them, but at the same time consist of both.

but all in all, it boils down to the high level of confidence. that's the only thing i find common with everyone i met.
TSazarimy
post Apr 20 2008, 01:22 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Apr 19 2008, 09:16 AM)
I would like to ask something. It have been a long time since i first post in this thread. So, i would like to ask something really2 important.

Do you guys think i can be a good architect?
QUOTE(destroyer @ Apr 19 2008, 04:41 PM)
forget about my last question. already made up my mind. actually the prob is mine to be solved by myself.

i'll go for architecture diploma if i got politeknik. huhu. don't want to think any longer. and hope i make the right choice.

if got matric then i'll go for engineering since I will not be able to stand a chance to enter architecture during interview process. cannot afford IPTS.
in my experience, the making of a good architect comes from all sorts of reasons. there's no one sure fire way to excel or fail. but one common element that u need is passion. as long as u've got the drive, i'm pretty sure u're in the right track wink.gif. all the best!

QUOTE(*serenity* @ Apr 19 2008, 01:52 PM)
hi

i would like to find out if i study in limkokwing for its part 1 equivalent, must i take the PAM exam since it is using curtin's degree?

refer to schizo's post, which are generally correct.

Added on April 20, 2008, 1:30 am
QUOTE(Benjamin911 @ Apr 19 2008, 02:44 PM)
According to the list, the University of Melbourne is also accredited by LAM - PAM in both Part 1 & Part 2. Is that true?

Considering that LAM - PAM does not accredit twinning programs, LIMKOKWING & Taylor's Architecture students will still have to sit for the LAM - PAM's Part 1 & Part 2 exam in the future am I right?
yes for both questions.

QUOTE(schizophrenic @ Apr 19 2008, 02:52 PM)
we shall wait for azarimy to reply on this. Besides, I do not know what LAM meant when they say 'non-recognised local institutions'. Does this mean accreditation by LAM or MQA? I would assume that it is LAM. If that is so, I do not know if they recognise institutions instead of their individual programmes. Either way, I am still unsure if LKW would fall under either category so as to escape the provision I pasted above.
I do not know how it works for LKW (curtin degree) because the statement made by LKW appears ambiguous.

LAM is referring that it does not recognize the programme, not LAN/MQA. and they recognize individual programmes (part 1 or 2). usually most schools have both programmes recognized, so LAM would issue a canvassing statement that it recognizes the school. for UIAM, for example, only their part 1 programme is recognized. they still need to work for part 2.

none of LKW degree/diploma is accredited by LAM.

In a way they are saying that it is equivalent with the Part 1 (though they did not state Part 1 in Aus or Malaysia, however it seems safe to assume it is the Part 1 for LAM). However, what do they mean by equivalent or equivalent in what sense? They did not expressly say that students will be exempted from the Part 1 test as required for those who did not obtain their recognised/accredited degree in the main campus.

equivalent means "with that degree, u can take the Part 1 (or Part 2, whichever applicable) examination". u see, diploma is sub-part 1. so if u take diploma, in almost no way would LAM allow u to take part 1 exam, bcoz u're considered not qualified. it's like trying to take the exam with SPM.

so instead of using the word non-accredited Part 1 degree, they use the word "equivalent to part 1 degree". such degrees does not get any exemption from LAM exams.

This post has been edited by azarimy: Apr 20 2008, 01:31 AM
TSazarimy
post Apr 20 2008, 03:39 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(schizophrenic @ Apr 19 2008, 06:25 PM)
I have just sent Lim Kok Wing an email seeking a clarification on this matter. I am not hoping a favourable reply as the matter has been clarified by azarimy but it is still better to hear what LKW has to say about this.

If a graduate from LKW with the Curtin degree decides to continue with his Bachelor of Architecture in Curtin which is recognised by LAM as a part 2 qualification, then must the graduate take a part 1 examination conducted by LAM in order to register as a graduate architect or will the Part 2 qualification extends recognition to the Part 1 qualification as well?
i cant give definitive answer, as i've got atleast 3 different answers given to me.

but here's what i'm sure of:

u cant get part 2 without part 1.

so now we have two scenarios:

i. u do diploma in LKW, then curtin part 1, and eventually part 2. since that's considered twinning, LAM wont recognize it, regardless if u get part 2.
ii. u do part 1 equiv. degree in LKW, then part 2 in curtin. still, ur part 1 is not recognized.

so what happens if u have a part 2 but not part 1? i have no definitive answer.
TSazarimy
post Apr 20 2008, 10:03 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Apr 20 2008, 01:46 AM)
I've been reading around for architecture. there are a lot people complaining about assignment to be done. But i don't mind to do many assignment as long  I can make it right.

Normally, for diploma students, what assignment do they usually have in the first year or first sem? those who already have experience studying architecture or right now studying architecture are encouraged to reply. thanks in advance. I studied "lukisan kejuruteraan" subject during my spm years. will it be applied in architecture?

i. in architecture, u only have assignments for other subjects than design. but these assignments are minuscule and does not take a lot of ur time. so what keeps architecture students busy?

design projects. these are what takes the bulk of the time. u've done eng. dwgs. how long does it take for u to produce a single complete drawing? 1-3 hours? a complete set would take 20-30 hours easily. ofcourse, u just cant sit down and do just that for 20-30 hours straight. so u spread it throughout the week, maybe 4-5 hours per day. no big deal, right? well, that's just producing the drawings. we havent talked about approving a design yet.

usually, every week u will come up with a proposal, and these will be scrutinized, criticized and developed as part of the design process. and every week u'll restart or atleast redevelop ur design after each crit sessions. so u're continuously doing this every week, progressing and developing ur design to achieve perfection or atleast until ur tutor couldnt find anything wrong with it. why does it take so long to produce a design? bcoz the thinking that goes behind it. ofcourse, u could come up with just a crappy design, but that's not why u wanna be an architect, is it?

ii. and yes, eng. dwg will be used quite alot.

@azarimy. Is it true that sometime lecturer from university come to politeknik to give lectures?
sorry for asking to much question.

who earn more? naval architect or building architect? from what i know, if normal architect pursue naval architecture field, he'll have some problem for his part 3.

edited: do construction like SMART tunnel & projects Dam requires architect or it just the engineer to design it?

i. not that i'm aware of. maybe other universities do.

ii. i dont know who earns more at the end of the day. the starting pay is about the same, but i dont know the ceiling of naval architecture.

if u pursue naval architecture, u're not practicing architecture anymore, but a totally different field. part 3 does not apply. u could take ur part 3, but that would mean u still need to practice architecture (not naval), get ur part 3, but eventually u wont be using it if u continue in naval.

iii. smart tunnel and dams are engineers'. architects have no parts in it.

QUOTE(Benjamin911 @ Apr 20 2008, 07:49 AM)
The road system, bus stop placement, and the overhead bridge placement in my area is horrible to say the least, they are badly planned, inefficient, and placed in non strategic locations. (The road designs are very bad!) In addition, there is also no coordination between the buildings and the road system at all; it is as if the road system have got nothing to do with the buildings that sits besides them at all! Even worst still, the public transport system do not lead to the buildings as well (!), it is as if they do not like to have anything to do with the buildings at all! The bus stops are either placed in very bad locations or are totally non-existent in the areas that basically needs them the most; making the potential of those locations for catching public transports wasted. All of this certainly make the public transport system really inefficient! No bus stops are placed beside the prominent buildings, no bus stops are placed on the other side of the overhead bridge to facilitate transits to the opposite direction, and no bus stops are placed near enough to the main buildings. If public consideration was what they were looking at, then bus stops should not be sting upon! For example, instead of trying efficiently to place a single bus stop in between two communities in such a way that both communities have to walk an equally long distance to it; why not just place a bus stop beside each community to facilitate the efficiency needed??? (Not to mention that it would be another half an hour to a full hour wait if one misses the bus!!) That is not all, the worst of the worst is when there is no bus stop located nearby one's place of work, and a terribly long walk to the nearest bus stop is required for catching the buses!!! (We are talking about a modern city here!)

Anyway, the main question that I would like to ask is;

If someone have to be the one to revamp/re-plan/re-design the inefficient design above to a much more efficient design, who will it be? (It all involves the re-planning and the re-designing of the roads and the entire city in general.)

This thought came across my mind just now.

I am interested to know whether can the Architect do it?
those are town/city/regional planners, road-transport engineers and urban designers' job. architects have no part in it, unless he is a certified or an expert in any of those fields (usually by accumulating 10-15 years experience in those fields, or by taking masters/phd in those fields). architects COULD try and involve themselves in those fields, but they'd be stepping on a lot of toes.
TSazarimy
post Apr 21 2008, 05:20 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(*serenity* @ Apr 21 2008, 05:04 AM)
My colleague called up limkokwing (i'm working at studylink), the person in limkokwing said there will be people from curtin who come over to limkokwing to assess the students before awarding them the degree.
Thus, the cert will be directly from Curtin Uni itself.

Does this mean that it'll be accredited? I've emailed lam and I'm waiting for their reply.
no. that's the very meaning of a twinning/collaborative/partnership programme. what LAM wants is for students to study at one place for a degree/diploma entirely, and assessed internally by that very institution. it means if u start ur 1st year in LKW, it'd better be in LKW until u finish ur degree. the fact that LKW needs curtin's personnels to assess their students means they cant independently award the degree themselves. such are the things that LAM would look out for. it opens to a lot of trouble for the students and practice later on, so LAM just wouldnt bother recognizing them.

basically what LAM wants is for a school to be independent on its own right.

QUOTE(destroyer @ Apr 21 2008, 07:00 AM)
After a lot of thinking. I finally get it.

Actually, how much we earn as starting don't matter much. fo me, what matter the most is the job opportunities. everyone is pursuing engineering. from my survey which i do by asking around. most of them don't want to go into architecture because of long time taken to get their degree. Architect need at least 6 to 7 years to be part 2 architect. almost the same like doctors or maybe even longer than doctor.

For architecture, an architect value increase over time because more experienced architect have more knowledge which lead to more new idea. they're like antique's. the older they are, the higher their value.

@azarimy, do you mind telling what need to be prepared for pursuing architecture using matriculation route. my mom wants me to go into matric. so, i don't want to dissapoint her. i need to know what portfolio i need to prepare in order to continue my degree in prestigious school like UTM.

so far, from your previous post, i need to get 3.5 in my matriculation, and portfolio. i need some info regarding the portfolio.

if i enter my degree from my matriculation, i need to start my degree from 1st year am i right?

normally, UTM accept how many student from matriculation to enter their architecture degree course? and normally, how many matriculation grads applied for architecture in UTM?

@azarimy, after u finish ur phd, you're going to teach diploma student or degree student?
i. if u're talking about job opportunities, then i'd have to say architecture have wider and more job opportunities than naval architecture. extremely.

ii. u would need at least 3.50cgpa and a portfolio. the portfolio would consist of artworks or designworks that u've done in the past. i think i've written the details of a portfolio in the FAQs. go check it out. the requirements' the same for all level. since u've done lukisan kejuruteraan before, it'd be best if u could include that as well.

iii. yes. matrics will start from 1st year.

iv. UTM takes about 30-40 students from matrics, depending on what they maximum number of students for that year. it is 50% of the total student intake for a year, where the other 50% would be from STPM. the max number have been reduced beginning 2007 from 100 students per year to about 60-70 students only. this is to make room for more diploma based students to join UTM at 2nd year (which should be about 40 of them).

as i've said before, UTM favors diploma students, especially from polytechnics. if u think u can score matrics and have a good chance of going through, by all means, do it. u'll save 2-3 years at least. but if u think u cant or u dont wanna strain urself competing at matrics level, then poly is the way to go. do note that other universities do not have a large provision for diploma students.

v. after i finish my phd, i'd be in the degree school in skudai.

QUOTE(myesarah @ Apr 21 2008, 08:36 AM)
hi, i'm currently studying in the foundation program of architecture and environmental design in IIUM. i'm about to finish the foundation program, and the program-selection for the main campus (degree) has already been made by the students. we are still waiting for the results of which degree program we will be studying in from the main campus.

i chose ID for my first choice. (it is actually under Applied Arts programme, but students will be majoring in ID, industrial design and conservation in the 2nd year). so, the problem is, i'm afraid that i won't be accepted to further my studies at the main campus.

therefore, what can i do for alternatives? i mean, should i apply for other unis' ID degree program (i.e, UiTM)? or should i apply for a diploma program instead? or should i repeat foundation? and, if i'm to apply for UiTM's ID degree program, what else can i do, as the dateline for the application has already passed.

please help me!! i don't know what to do  T_T
1st, i dont really know how IIUM conducts their foundation-to-degree selection, so i cant give my opinion in that. however, answering ur question, i'm not sure if UiTM accepts IIUM's foundation programme for degree intake. this is bcoz the general policy in IPT is that they dont recognize other university/college's foundation programmes. so u need to check this out.

but u still could apply their diploma programmes (bcoz they require SPM, not STPM). UiTM has two intakes per year. check out the december/january intake. there's nothing u can do for the july intake as the deadline's way passed already.
TSazarimy
post Apr 21 2008, 06:58 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Apr 21 2008, 10:14 AM)
Why do UTM reduced student intake?

is it because to maintain the quality and privileges or because they don't have much lecturer?
err... i've mentioned before: to take more diploma students.

UTM architecture degree have a maximum of 100 students per year (based on staff:student ratio). for the 2007 batch, they took 60 1st year students. so when they go into 2nd year, the school could take about 25 diploma students into that batch, totalling to 85 students. then in 3rd year, UTM will take another 15 students from UTM KL into that batch.

this move is made in the belief that architecture benefits from variety. in the future there will be more provisions for international students, perhaps up to 15%. but currently there are about 1-2 international students per batch.

46 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0665sec    1.07    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:32 PM