92 Pages « < 74 75 76 77 78 > » Bottom

☆Fellowship of the Strings☆Violin,Viola,Cello etc., ~String Instruments Lovers are welcome!~

liez
post May 4 2010, 09:07 AM

1,346 posts

EDIT

This post has been edited by liez: May 4 2010, 09:07 AM
a_pearl
post May 6 2010, 01:52 PM

50 posts

i come across these 2 brands or type...not sure too. what's the difference between scarlatti and gagliano? rclxub.gif
Suave
post May 7 2010, 11:32 AM

317 posts

QUOTE(air @ May 4 2010, 08:44 AM)
Swt after reading so many posts around, rarely got ppl learning cello =_=|||
I'll probably be starting soon, in the next few months i think. sigh sad.gif
i'll probably be the oldest beginner in the world.
might anybody by any chance know where's a good place to buy a very cheap cello for beginners?

p/s: i'm fully aware of the thing about buying cheap instruments, the sound quality and supceptibility to string breaks and da da da cos i've been a musician for nearly 20 years, so I know what happens when you buy cheap instruments. smile.gif
So i'm not looking for advise like "Why don't you spend a little bit more on a better one which will sound better and last you longer if you're really serious about learning..."

So yes, the objective of this post is to find out how cheap a cello can really go and from where smile.gif
if i need an upgrade, i'll probably think about that later smile.gif

Thanks so much guys and cheers!!

This post has been edited by Suave: May 7 2010, 01:57 PM
cassiemissy
post May 11 2010, 10:49 AM

211 posts

QUOTE(Suave @ May 7 2010, 11:32 AM)
I'll probably be starting soon, in the next few months i think. sigh sad.gif
i'll probably be the oldest beginner in the world.
might anybody by any chance know where's a good place to buy a very cheap cello for beginners?

p/s: i'm fully aware of the thing about buying cheap instruments, the sound quality and supceptibility to string breaks and da da da cos i've been a musician for nearly 20 years, so I know what happens when you buy cheap instruments. smile.gif
So i'm not looking for advise like "Why don't you spend a little bit more on a better one which will sound better and last you longer if you're really serious about learning..."

So yes, the objective of this post is to find out how cheap a cello can really go and from where smile.gif
if i need an upgrade, i'll probably think about that later smile.gif

Thanks so much guys and cheers!!
hmm.. maybe u can look for 2nd hand cello?

I've heard from my friends that her cello cost around rm1200++ and she seems quite please with it. Her's a new one though.. She mentioned before that beginner cello can cost around rm1200-rm1800++ Even cello for beginner can be good if you know how to choose.. haha.. Good luck on shopping.. Haha.. ^^
jovie701
post May 16 2010, 10:39 PM

Hi there...

I'm a beginner of learning cello. any cellist out there?
would like to know where do you learn cello and where to repair cello.
thanks =)

air
post May 17 2010, 08:51 AM

644 posts

QUOTE(jovie701 @ May 16 2010, 10:39 PM)
Hi there...

I'm a beginner of learning cello. any cellist out there?
would like to know where do you learn cello and where to repair cello.
thanks =)
Nice to meet you, I am one of cellist beginner, currently learning in Sec14, near digital mall PJ there.
picfantasia
post May 24 2010, 07:02 PM

277 posts

Hi everyone, I am a beginner violin player biggrin.gif nice to meet you all. Just curious, what rosin brand you guys used for violin??
cassiemissy
post May 25 2010, 10:13 AM

211 posts

I use paganini.. but i heard that there's another brand which the colour like jade colour is better.. haha.. i forgot the brand name adi..
picfantasia
post May 25 2010, 07:12 PM

277 posts

My tutor recom me to buy pirastro oliv rosin (green color 1), any opinion on tis rosin?
Geminist
post May 25 2010, 08:21 PM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

What sort of strings do you use? The string maker may have a matching rosin for the strings.

I am using Pirastro Goldflex, which is a good step up from the dodgy brandless rosin.

picfantasia
post May 25 2010, 09:17 PM

277 posts

i am currently using synwin student string smile.gif since i am using cheap violin, i tink normal string is enuf...
Geminist
post May 26 2010, 12:32 AM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

QUOTE(picfantasia @ May 25 2010, 01:17 PM)
i am currently using synwin student string smile.gif  since i am using cheap violin, i tink normal string is enuf...
It may be worth getting better strings, e.g. Dominant as they really make a difference as compared to student strings.
picfantasia
post May 26 2010, 07:24 PM

277 posts

Yep, I heard dominant is the most affordable best synthetic core string...but my violin is so cheap sad.gif , i afraid the violin cant bring full potential of the string and make up like good string give same performance as student string =.= correct me if i was wrong...anyway, anyone use the pirastro oliv rosin before? Any comment?
little ice
post May 26 2010, 08:03 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(picfantasia @ May 26 2010, 07:24 PM)
Yep, I heard dominant is the most affordable best synthetic core string...but my violin is so cheap  sad.gif , i afraid the violin cant bring full potential of the string and make up like good string give same performance as student string =.= correct me if i was wrong...anyway, anyone use the pirastro oliv rosin before? Any comment?
i will give a different tonal character to the violin if using dominant string on cheaper student violin, but will not give you extra quality. tone is fuller, rounder, but noticeable softer on some violin if you switch from steel to dominant.

rosins are cheap to invest, you can buy one and try, if don't like it you can try the other one. personally i use dominant and the dominant rosin works fine and problem free. pirastro goldflex has good grip and bite, but you'll see more rosin dust collecting on the violin more often. oliv/evah pirazzi is very sticky rosin, which may or may not work well. jade rosin i think similar to the goldflex, more grip and crisp bite, but more rosin dust.

for most steel strings violin, paganini (RM10~RM20, small rectangle red plastic case) rosin is plenty. but that said, a RM40 rosin cake can last you 5~10 years given you don't drop that thing and broken into pieces...
Geminist
post May 26 2010, 08:09 PM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

Well, my feeling is that if you don't have a decent string, then there really isn't any great worth getting better rosin.

In terms of the strings on a cheap violin, from speaking to luthiers and experienced violinists, the suggestion is always to get a set of decent strings if your pocket allows you to. I find better strings are easier to hold down and others thought so as well.
picfantasia
post May 26 2010, 09:19 PM

277 posts

OIC, hmm ten i will go for the dominant string biggrin.gif ...littleice, the music shop you recommended, do tey open during saturday or public holiday? i am oso tinking of buying a fiberglass bow since my china made bow is a bit heavy...wrist easily get tired lol
little ice
post May 26 2010, 11:55 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(picfantasia @ May 26 2010, 09:19 PM)
OIC, hmm ten i will go for the dominant string biggrin.gif ...littleice, the music shop you recommended, do tey open during saturday or public holiday? i am oso tinking of buying a fiberglass bow since my china made bow is a bit heavy...wrist easily get tired lol
euro music?

they open everyday, maybe except public holidays. call them to confirm.

it's not the figerglass that i recommend, it's the carbon fiber, RM230...
picfantasia
post May 28 2010, 11:04 PM

277 posts

Thank little Ice and geminist for all your comment. BTW what is the brand for the carbon fiber bow?

Added on June 7, 2010, 8:19 pmSo quiet... any one try Kremona violin before?

This post has been edited by picfantasia: Jun 7 2010, 08:19 PM
chiiupe
post Jun 14 2010, 12:33 AM

138 posts

what's the price of a student viola?
like the equivalent of a rm300-400 violin
little ice
post Jun 14 2010, 03:14 AM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(picfantasia @ May 28 2010, 11:04 PM)
Thank little Ice and geminist for all your comment. BTW what is the brand for the carbon fiber bow?

Added on June 7, 2010, 8:19 pmSo quiet... any one try Kremona violin before?
no brand, but it's from china...

kremona? probably just re-branded violins. i've seen quite a few brands but you can definitely tell they're from the same factory...

and you have to test them individually to tell if they're any good. violins can be really good and really bad and everything in between from the same price range...

92 Pages « < 74 75 76 77 78 > » Top

0.0247sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:31 PM