132 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Penang Property Talk, Property talk on Penang

Interrupt
post Jul 13 2009, 03:11 PM

Hi lwb, what's your opinion on the 20-30 years old 2 stories semi-d at Green Lane that are now selling above 600k? The one I visited before is facing T junction some more, with timber flooring for both floors (it's not of decorative timber, the 1st floor do not have cement or concrete). In Penang island, the price not only come from the building structure. It actually came from the land. You see, Penang island is too small, every outskirt area will eventually turn into township due to limited land for development. So I think you may not be able to apply what you understand from mainland in Penang.

This post has been edited by Interrupt: Jul 13 2009, 03:28 PM
samquah
post Jul 13 2009, 03:25 PM

603 posts

anyone know the projecy near mahsing launched by lipsin?
can buy?
lwb
post Jul 13 2009, 03:39 PM

1,504 posts

let's put returns aside and factor in the risk/cost involved.. then you decide.
yes, i may not be an islander per se.. i've both read and lived long to see;

demographic shift,
economic depression,
zoning law changes,
local authorities/municipals influences,
major catastrophe(e.g most of the places that i mentioned earlier have terrain elevation of no more than 20m),
.. and lots more, of course, these are macro issue.

here're some micro issues to consider; for a 20-30 year old property..
structural integrity such as roofing,
piling/structural(any upcoming highrise within 2km radius?)
plumbing,
wiring,
asbestos based materials which might've been use previously,
termites infestation,
who're your neighbors?
.. and lots more.

prepare about one-third (God forbid.. half!) of the purchase cost on fixing local, micro issues. most likely you'll be tied to a bank loan.. consider the double-up effect.. 600k becomes 1.2mil at the end of your loan tenure (this excludes all the risks/cost stated earlier).

and this is just for you to break even..

now.. another dude willingly take up this semi-d from you for 1.2mil and with a loan to boot.. put in the double-up effect again.. and that'll be 2.4mil..

my question is.. how many dude(s) will it takes before the entire charade thinks it's out of whack and re-price the entire semi-d back to.. say, 300k?

lwb
post Jul 13 2009, 03:49 PM

1,504 posts

i've personally seen some properties at ayer itam and pulau tikus that have the entire floor on wood based flooring (it means the ground level ceiling is wood).. this style has its historical background in old properties (even at other states such as melaka, seremban, ipoh.. same styling still stands today).. the wood used are strong, not like those used in american sub-urban housing constructions.. which creeky noise can be made while walking over it (even if it's carpeted)..

QUOTE(Interrupt @ Jul 13 2009, 03:11 PM)
Hi lwb, what's your opinion on the 20-30 years old 2 stories semi-d at Green Lane that are now selling above 600k? The one I visited before is facing T junction some more, with timber flooring for both floors (it's not of decorative timber, the 1st floor do not have cement or concrete). In Penang island, the price not only come from the building structure. It actually came from the land. You see, Penang island is too small, every outskirt area will eventually turn into township due to limited land for development. So I think you may not be able to apply what you understand from mainland in Penang.
This post has been edited by lwb: Jul 13 2009, 05:00 PM
genkis3
post Jul 13 2009, 07:59 PM

789 posts

Interrupt,
thanks for info. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(lwb @ Jul 13 2009, 03:39 PM)
prepare about one-third (God forbid.. half!) of the purchase cost on fixing local, micro issues. most likely you'll be tied to a bank loan.. consider the double-up effect.. 600k becomes 1.2mil at the end of your loan tenure (this excludes all the risks/cost stated earlier).

and this is just for you to break even..

now.. another dude willingly take up this semi-d from you for 1.2mil and with a loan to boot.. put in the double-up effect again.. and that'll be 2.4mil..

my question is.. how many dude(s) will it takes before the entire charade thinks it's out of whack and re-price the entire semi-d back to.. say, 300k?
yea, if plan to take long bank loan, property investment not going to make u rich...but still can make profit if can rent it out.

i dont think penang landed property will drop or reprice like what u mentioned 300k.

Added on July 13, 2009, 8:07 pm
QUOTE(lwb @ Jul 13 2009, 12:24 PM)
hi,
i guess you guys aren't familiar with maintenance fee charged by higher end condos..

rm0.20/sqf is considered very cheap.. if compared to kuala lumpur. that's considered the lower end of the monthly fee spectrum.. and can go up beyond rm0.60/sqf for some.

there're also other components that may incorporate into the monthly fee(not just maintenance per se).. some have sinking fund, amortized within.. thus adding up the so called monthly "maintenance fee"

for bayswater.. it looks like a reasonable range of rm0.30 - 0.50/sqf.

the other thing that you guys brought up about security.. living in a condo does not guarantee you total safety. there have been many incident of 'insider job' at alot of apartment/condo (of varying price range)

unless you have cctv on every public area/hallway at every floor.. you may never know that the thief is your very neighbor.  there was a common suspect that it's done by syndicates.. moving from one condo to the other.. so the break-ins comes and go in 'cycles'.. appear and disappear.

interrupt.. prices of all asset(property included) don't always go up y.o.y. this is the greatest fallacy that i come across for people who're new to investment.
bayswater rm600 for 1600sqf is too over in penang. somemore it's only mid-highend condo...

abt security, there's only one door for us to take care in condo, just custom made a thick stainless steel door and put more lock will do...dont be lazy. thief will runaway since there's still many units to choose from.

Added on July 13, 2009, 8:13 pm
QUOTE(Interrupt @ Jul 13 2009, 03:11 PM)
i've visited there too. u gotta spend alot if u want to stay there! estimated >300k for renovation... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by genkis3: Jul 13 2009, 08:13 PM
whojen
post Jul 14 2009, 03:56 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(samquah @ Jul 13 2009, 03:25 PM)
anyone know the projecy near mahsing launched by lipsin?
can buy?
U are refering to Taman Sri Mewah Indah?
My friend was interested in purchasing that

saw some * unpleasant activities such as mat rempit and bike racing when he was touring
straight away said no
cherroy
post Jul 14 2009, 04:50 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(genkis3 @ Jul 13 2009, 07:59 PM)
bayswater rm600 for 1600sqf is too over in penang. somemore it's only mid-highend condo...

As far as I knew, Bayswater maintenance fee is Rm0.15 per sq feet based on lastest/last time I knew.
lwb
post Jul 14 2009, 05:13 PM

1,504 posts

no kidding?!? 15cent/sqf? that's like some perkeliling flats in jln pahang roundabout!!
sure bo?

This post has been edited by lwb: Jul 14 2009, 05:14 PM
whojen
post Jul 18 2009, 08:57 AM

1,207 posts

Reka Indah Development is launching thier condo today
Boulevard in Air Itam
cherroy
post Jul 18 2009, 11:10 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(lwb @ Jul 14 2009, 05:13 PM)
no kidding?!? 15cent/sqf? that's like some perkeliling flats in jln pahang roundabout!!
sure bo?
Yes, at least sure for the lastest or last time I updated time, about 2xx for 1600 sq feet one, but you need to take in account, Bayswater has 2 tower compared to most condo has 1 tower which all common facilities are shared by 2 tower, so there are more units contributing the maintenance fund, so it able to sustain itself. If one tower, it means 30 cents/sq feet.

I don't know about others, but mostly I knew about Penang area is that maintenance fee, any above 20 cents/sq feet is considered mid high level already.

invest2229
post Jul 18 2009, 11:33 PM

719 posts

Heh all, anyone can share which area of condo worth to invest for rental
income ? So far I observe for Batu Uban area where high potential for
USM student and Bayan Lepas worker.

Any other area with good rental ?
lwb
post Jul 19 2009, 12:07 AM

1,504 posts

kamsiah.. a new insight to me. may i know about the local taxes(cukai taksiran) in greater georgetown area?.. dbkl levied my unit at rm1,260 annum.. so much more expensive as compared to a pj(mbpj) unit, which is half of that.

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 18 2009, 11:10 AM)
Yes, at least sure for the lastest or last time I updated time, about 2xx for 1600 sq feet one, but you need to take in account, Bayswater has 2 tower compared to most condo has 1 tower which all common facilities are shared by 2 tower, so there are more units contributing the maintenance fund, so it able to sustain itself. If one tower, it means 30 cents/sq feet.

I don't know about others, but mostly I knew about Penang area is that maintenance fee, any above 20 cents/sq feet is considered mid high level already.
samquah
post Jul 20 2009, 05:27 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(whojen @ Jul 14 2009, 03:56 PM)
U are refering to Taman Sri Mewah Indah?
My friend was interested in purchasing that

saw some * unpleasant activities such as mat rempit and bike racing when he was touring
straight away said no
yes

what a waste i could not get a unit there... the front row all fully sold off... i was too late...
now left to consider southbay ... maybe will looks at other development nearby
ralf
post Jul 22 2009, 09:15 PM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

QUOTE(samquah @ Jul 20 2009, 05:27 PM)
yes

what a waste i could not get a unit there... the front row all fully sold off... i was too late...
now left to consider southbay ... maybe will looks at other development nearby
Taman Seri Mewah, only one unit left tongue.gif
samquah
post Jul 23 2009, 12:08 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(ralf @ Jul 22 2009, 09:15 PM)
Taman Seri Mewah, only one unit left  tongue.gif
only one unit?
i thought the back row still got a few left

why is it a hot cake? anyone know?
hong0228
post Jul 23 2009, 02:56 PM

51 posts

wish to buy double storey terrace at centro park near tambun, please check on the link below, any comment on that place?
http://esweb.my/syscms/link/centrohill/ind...play=3&i_page=0
vex
post Jul 24 2009, 09:30 PM

1,984 posts

hong0228 : how muchi ? the design look nice !! 1st floor is larger than ground floor ~ fully utilize the space~
littlediana
post Jul 26 2009, 12:56 AM

498 posts

would like to ask beside baystar condo @ penang (queensbay)

another other condos/similar projects near queensbay?

really seem to like the area there.... blush.gif

kindly advise ya...

TQ

http://www.queensbay.com.my/exp_baystar_summary.php

This post has been edited by littlediana: Jul 26 2009, 12:58 AM
SnoWFisH
post Jul 26 2009, 01:43 AM

2,250 posts

near queensbay so far there are only..

Baystar,Baygarden,Putra Place, Putra Marine,Gold Coast, Villa Emas, D'Residence. Bay Villa will be built later on in front of Baystar.

The bumi units for Baystar has been released, but from a recent inquiry from CP, the price increased about 10-20%. So you're looking at 600k ++ minimum.

Head over to our Queensbay forum at http://queensbay.invisionplus.net for more information smile.gif
GreenJellyBean
post Jul 26 2009, 03:33 PM

779 posts

Hi, I am currently looking for contractor contacts to reno my new house (pg), anyone has good recommendation? I can get many from yellow pages, but I prefer ones that you guys have good experience with. Thanks.

132 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0311sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:47 AM