QUOTE(am_eniey @ Feb 1 2008, 11:18 AM)
it no way to compare between the two....different platform TS, if u still want to compare, 360 wins big time
At this very time, a rm1500 pc (exclude the monitor) can easily win 360..Can it?
Xbox 360 performance equivalent to..?, Xbox 360 vs PC
Feb 2 2008, 01:27 AM
2,694 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: KL |
Feb 2 2008, 11:55 AM
13,340 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: back from vacation XD |
oh dear not again lolz
1) 360 is 4 the ones who is poor ass that cant even afford a 300 bucks GC 2) PC is 4 the ones who is rich that can afford upgrades evry 3 mths 2 enjoy all latest technology whaddaya say pal This post has been edited by skylinegtr34rule4life: Feb 2 2008, 11:56 AM |
Feb 2 2008, 12:41 PM
5,366 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
too many off topics, too many idiotic comparison, too many fanboys here
for anyone of you that just keep bashing only PC is good in gaming because it delivers orgasm graphics, while console is crap because can't upgrade bla bla bla , or vice versa, you aren't really into maturity of a gamer of course a console will not able to do office works (PS3 is an exception), but what was the console's initial purpose? remember, the world's first gaming console predates even the IBM PC Added on February 2, 2008, 12:44 pm QUOTE(empire23 @ Jan 23 2008, 12:15 AM) No the cell processor isn't more powerful, it's just that it's priorities lies elsewhere, where else a PC can run GP code and let the OS sort out shit and the processor handle itself, the Cell is harder to program for as it trades die space for pure FPU performance. Think of it as an idiot that can run 60kmph easily but won't stop if a car is heading his way. It requires more handholding, more optimization and certainly more programming time. No, even the PS3 has it's own dedicated GPU, which is a geforce 7900 Equivalent. ur post will certainly knock off some fanboys head in console couch PROTIP : The PS3 looks good because it's games have low native resolutions and then are upscaled. And code is more streamlined on the developers part. Some rendering is hardware limited in form, it's obvious that the 8800 series will beat the 7900 series in the PS3 in terms of qualitative rendering, no amount of fancy programming can push hardware limitations, although you can trick the end user or implement more costly forms of rendering at high perf hit levels. If you must know, a 2k PC can beat a 2k PS3 soundly. The end. Fun factor is still at debate, i've had alot of fun with a Wii and it has totally rubbish specs. Added on February 2, 2008, 12:51 pm QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jan 22 2008, 11:07 PM) those console graphic 50% depents GC 50% is depents on CD...dun forget xbox 360 is using HD-DVD!...HD-DVD is 50% more clear than DVD....Even Xbox 360 is using Nvidia7900XT as GC...result out also same as 8800GTS.....WHen i play Ghost Recon Advance Warfighter...in Xbox graphic = PC Very high setting (PC i used 8800GTS SLI result = same graphic to Xbox 360 HD-DVD result) legendary.... uber legendary... u must not be an engineer for humankind's wellbeing PS3...DO it got GC..i tell u it dun have.....WHY PS3 graphic so so Pretty? PS3 using 8 Extreme Processor (Normal PC is 5Ghz super max OC with nitrogen liquid) But PS3 Processor is 20GHZ=2Trilion per second speed without OC MEANS 8X20 GHZ = 160GHZ PROCESSOR in PS3!!!!! plus using Blue-Ray Disk...150% more clear view than DVD....PS3 no GC but result same to 8800Ultra Triple SLI result (Do u guys see Grand Tusimo newest one? play games like see a Movie...SO SO real....Even 8800ultra triple SLi also cannot do that maybe....... Back to X-box 360....it using HD-DVD and x-box processor is 1 trilion per second speed...means 10Ghz Processor without OC....so PC how to beat those console ? Console no need GC at all using it processor power can make ur games see very nice and Very Fast!!! DO u see Console games make u lag before? LOL!!!! Conclusion:Console gaming they no depents on GC they used quality on HD-DVD or Blue Ray Disk to win PC......and Processor too~~~ Here the Link to let u see :PS3 power http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EwCDhMJ6-r4&feature=related Console Graphic Tech is far more higher than PC graphic setting....... This post has been edited by dattebayo: Feb 2 2008, 12:51 PM |
Feb 2 2008, 12:52 PM
1,640 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
QUOTE(dattebayo @ Feb 2 2008, 12:41 PM) too many off topics, too many idiotic comparison, too many fanboys here Yes but the worlds first video game predates that gaming console for anyone of you that just keep bashing only PC is good in gaming because it delivers orgasm graphics, while console is crap because can't upgrade bla bla bla , or vice versa, you aren't really into maturity of a gamer of course a console will not able to do office works (PS3 is an exception), but what was the console's initial purpose? remember, the world's first gaming console predates even the IBM PC |
Feb 6 2008, 09:27 PM
757 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
QUOTE(arafat @ Feb 1 2008, 11:38 AM) games for xbox are catered specifically for them Well , not reallybut for pc, developer goes for latest tech u cant really compare pc & xbox If you compare games that made for both platform , i think this is a good way to compare For an example , gears of war... What is the min spec to play GOW smoothly with the same graphic settings? And with the same resolution? I think this is the best way to compare , of course , we are considering other games as well , such as blacksite , stranglehold etc... |
Mar 7 2008, 10:29 AM
3,314 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Taman Sri Melati, KL |
this topic shouldn't exist
Nov 15 2008, 04:42 PM
2,694 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: KL |
Nov 15 2008, 04:48 PM
5,644 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Heaven to HELL |
Nov 17 2008, 12:36 AM
857 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
LOL! LOL!
Btw xbox360 is good choice if want totally gaming as the game programming is specially design to the xbox360 platform. But when come to IQ + Gaming.PC will serve. IMO, pc facing driver issue more.That why the effieciency is so low.And beside that the resolution used in pc is very big compare to console. |
Nov 17 2008, 12:48 AM
1,705 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
Why is this thread revived O haizari?
Please, let this one stay dead. I hope there's no post after me(unless by a mod). First page is funny though, someone who doesn't know anything talked about PS3(it HAS a GPU) and xbox360(it's using a DVD drive, not HD DVD). |
Nov 17 2008, 08:52 PM
698 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
haha..yep..hatred thread.
i like pc better but still...what console is called again? GAMING console.. so because of the sole purpose...it is better than pc while pc need to maintain these software...that processing things.. too many fanboy...let close this thread |
Nov 17 2008, 08:56 PM
15,022 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Damansara Jaya/Bandar Utama |
Ooi!! Let the dead rest in peace!!
This whole f*** thread is pointless and invite trolls. |
Nov 18 2008, 12:03 AM
997 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
Well... before the thread dies.... i need to get something off my chest. (potential necro-thread?)
1stly, in terms of system benchmarks, I can't and don't know how to compare. BUT, you can't compare prices. Consoles cheat. With tie-ins and different manufacturing structures, the consoles cut costs. For example, you and I would buy a graphic card for a computer at X price which includes manufacturing costs, OEM profits AND the leasing of the tech from Nvidia or ATI. But console manufacturers buy the technology (rights) and manufacture based on their own design making manufacturing ALOT cheaper. Not only that, they pay less for the tech per console versus our per pc part. This means that a Nvidia Geforce 7800 costs X amount to us but a console user only play a fraction of that. Source : PC Gamer or PC Pro... i can't remember sorry. I'll dig up the edition if i feel like it |
Nov 18 2008, 02:24 AM
3,388 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: KL |
if compare benchmarks for console and PC in terms of raw processing power. is folding a good example??
This post has been edited by k!nex: Nov 18 2008, 02:25 AM |
Nov 18 2008, 09:08 AM
5,827 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Selayang, Selangor |
In gaming sense when the XBox360 was first released it was indeed the most powerful gaming platform out there but that only lasted to a month or so. The XBox360's GPU is based on the HD2900 Series GPU. Now that GPU is way outdated and when it premiered for the the PC market we found out how seriously flawed it is. Currently we are already in the HD4000 Series generation of GPUs. Even the HD4670 RM300 GPU is on par with the Xbox360 GPU.
That said the Xbox360 is a dedicated gaming machine so it can squeeze more out of the system to increase frame rates. Unlike a PC where some power is reserved for background apps. Still with multi-core and more efficient processors we solved that too. A decent PC with a Core2Duo Processor, a midrange RM300-400 GPU, 2GB Memory will beat the XBox360 easily today. |
Nov 18 2008, 09:33 AM
15,022 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Damansara Jaya/Bandar Utama |
QUOTE(farkinid @ Nov 18 2008, 12:03 AM) Well... before the thread dies.... i need to get something off my chest. (potential necro-thread?) Sigh...what you don't really understand...Console vs PC is not about tech..it is about the games...Consoles have different games from PC. XBOX360 is shaping up to be the best RPG console for this generation with even Final Fanatasy 13 coming to it. You can't find these games on PC no matter how powerful it it. Although there are some cross platform title (quite a lot now, actually), but there are many titles that u can't find on PC.1stly, in terms of system benchmarks, I can't and don't know how to compare. BUT, you can't compare prices. Consoles cheat. With tie-ins and different manufacturing structures, the consoles cut costs. For example, you and I would buy a graphic card for a computer at X price which includes manufacturing costs, OEM profits AND the leasing of the tech from Nvidia or ATI. But console manufacturers buy the technology (rights) and manufacture based on their own design making manufacturing ALOT cheaper. Not only that, they pay less for the tech per console versus our per pc part. This means that a Nvidia Geforce 7800 costs X amount to us but a console user only play a fraction of that. Source : PC Gamer or PC Pro... i can't remember sorry. I'll dig up the edition if i feel like it Basically, FPS and RTS=PC, everything else, console. RPGs on PC are mostly western while on Console it's more Japanese influenced. Totally different creatures. PS: PSX maybe outdated but it has the best RPGs ever...not matched by PS2 or PS3 or any XBOX so far. Gameplay is not always about graphics. This post has been edited by Matrix: Nov 18 2008, 09:34 AM |
Nov 18 2008, 10:44 AM
997 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
QUOTE(Matrix @ Nov 18 2008, 09:33 AM) Sigh...what you don't really understand...Console vs PC is not about tech..it is about the games...Consoles have different games from PC. XBOX360 is shaping up to be the best RPG console for this generation with even Final Fanatasy 13 coming to it. You can't find these games on PC no matter how powerful it it. Although there are some cross platform title (quite a lot now, actually), but there are many titles that u can't find on PC. Err.... I don't see how your statement has anything to do with mine. I'm talking about why people shouldn't compare the prices if they want to take a shot in the dark about which 1 is technologically better.Basically, FPS and RTS=PC, everything else, console. RPGs on PC are mostly western while on Console it's more Japanese influenced. Totally different creatures. PS: PSX maybe outdated but it has the best RPGs ever...not matched by PS2 or PS3 or any XBOX so far. Gameplay is not always about graphics. On a side note, I disagree with your statement about consoles and PC being different in terms of game genre. Case to point is the latest Fallout 3. Originally a PC game. One of the best imho. But destroyed when moved to console. (Note: I feel its bad, doesn't mean others should feel the same) The main reason PC and console have different games not available on 1 or the other is because of the developers. An originally console only developer on ventures into the PC area occasionally. Probably the same with originally PC only developers. Hence the difference in game availability stems not from the platform used but rather the developers choice. Which leads me back to my original statement, I have no idea how to compare platforms technologically. Social-economics wise, does not seem to be a method of comparison either. ------------------------------- Edit : After re-reading my post, I can summarize that I have no idea on how to compare and don't have anything of importance to say to this topic. HAHAHA sorry if I wasted anybody's time. This post has been edited by farkinid: Nov 18 2008, 10:46 AM |
Nov 18 2008, 11:03 AM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(farkinid @ Nov 18 2008, 10:44 AM) On a side note, I disagree with your statement about consoles and PC being different in terms of game genre. Case to point is the latest Fallout 3. Originally a PC game. One of the best imho. But destroyed when moved to console. (Note: I feel its bad, doesn't mean others should feel the same) you said so yourself. personally, RTS + FPS = PC. but many did mention to me how they were suprised RTS worked pretty well with Xbox360! nevertheless, it's pointless to compare. even as a PC guy, I'm eyeing on getting me a console too! (donno what yet, either PS3 or Xbox360........ oh yeah, possibly Wii!) |
| Change to: | 0.0147sec
5 queries
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:44 PM |