9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

Technical PlayStation Portable For Beginners | V2, General PSP Q&A and Homebrew Discussion

Playboy21
post Nov 3 2008, 01:54 AM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

hahaha benwong88 xD

Shopping malls are the prime target.

This post has been edited by Playboy21: Nov 3 2008, 01:54 AM
Playboy21
post Nov 3 2008, 02:43 AM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

hahahaha
Playboy21
post Nov 4 2008, 07:02 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(MeruChan @ Nov 4 2008, 03:18 PM)
how much would upgrade cost?
Hey,upgrades are developed by psp hackers who release it FOR FREE.So you can upgrade it ALL by yourself unless you own an official firmware psp unit as that'll require a Pandora's Battery to hack.If you BUY upgrades,i'd say it'll be totally unfair to psp developers who spend hours and hours in front of their monitor coding the entire custom firmware.They do the work for no payment,but others who do nothing,sell them. doh.gif
Playboy21
post Nov 4 2008, 09:24 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Hey allen96713,i was wondering wether you have original 4GB sticks(Magic gate supported) in your shop.If yes,can you please PM me the price? Thanks man smile.gif
Playboy21
post Nov 6 2008, 06:12 AM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(Jcsy @ Nov 5 2008, 09:27 PM)
a question

anyone upgraded from 3.90M33-3 to the latest versions yet?

i am still looking on how to do this biggrin.gif

not sure how to reach 5.00 too ...
Note : There have been many cases of bricks upon upgrade,so it's up to you to take the risk.Otherwise,it's all good.

Requirements :
1)A phat/slim psp which has custom firmware 3.52m33-3 or any firmware above it.
*Minimum requirement is 3.52m33-3*

Guide

1) First of all,you need to set your kernel to 3.xx/4.xx.You can do so in recovery mode or in your VSH menu (if you have the VSH addon plugin installed)

**Recovery : Hold the off switch for 3-5 seconds,then HOLD R and boot your psp up.Now go to configuration,and click X at the "Game Folder Homebrew" option until it displays as 3.xx/4.xx kernel.Example : On a 3.52m33-3/4 psp,it should show as 3.52 kernel.

2) Download the 5.00M33 installer here

3) Download the 5.00 eboot.pbp here

4) Use your preferred software to extract the 5.00M33 rar file.You should now get two folders (UPDATE and Translate) as well as a readme.txt file.

5) Copy the UPDATE folder and paste it in ms0:/PSP/GAME.

** It should now look like this : ms0:/PSP/GAME/UPDATE/eboot.pbp **

6)Time,for the 5.00 eboot (step 2).

7) Copy the 500.PBP and paste it in your ms0:/PSP/GAME/UPDATE directory.

** It should now look like this : ms0:/PSP/GAME/UPDATE/eboot.pbp and 500.pbp **

8) That's all,seriously.All you need to do now is to run the installer on your PSP.

** The installer will seem very official like,but don't worry,that's how it's supposed to be like **

9) Remember,once the update is over,PRESS X/O when it asks you to do so or your psp will brick!!

10) What else,enjoy!

Playboy21
post Nov 6 2008, 03:22 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(juyut @ Nov 6 2008, 12:30 PM)
does psp supports divx codec or avi video files?
No,not by default.You can use certain homebrew applications to get this video format to work on your unit,but it isn't that good if you ask me.

As chicaman said,PMP format is way better as it's good in quality and it's small in size.Go get yourself a PMP player and start watching it! Just for your information,you can't play this video format by default as well,you'll need to get a PMP player like PMP MOD or something like that.
Playboy21
post Nov 6 2008, 06:39 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

PMP is way better.Mp4 is decent though.

PSP doesn't support it by default.Yes,similar to gpsp where a tool is used to get something which is NOT meant to work on a psp unit to actually work on it. smile.gif
Playboy21
post Nov 7 2008, 06:19 AM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(benwong88 @ Nov 6 2008, 11:55 PM)
holy cow... i never bothered to watch videos on my psp so i never knew.. thanks playboy
Anytime man wink.gif

Added on November 7, 2008, 6:26 am
QUOTE(neo_sharky @ Nov 7 2008, 03:26 AM)
guys, which one is better? the phat or the slim one? planning to get one soon smile.gif
It really is up to you.

(Good Stuff)
- A slim unit is lighter,better speakers (different position),faster UMD loading,better RAM,loads the internet browser faster (Very small difference) and a few other stuff.
- A fat unit has a solid feel to it as it sinks in your palms really well,it has Ir support,it's UMD drive is much better and it's capable of running 1.50 kernel homebrew.

(Bad Stuff)

- A slim unit has no ir support,not capable of running 1.50 homebrew (kXploit format),feels plasticky (For some,not me though).
- One might say that a fat unit is heavy,slow UMD loading,slow internet browsing,and a few others.

Basically,it's up to you.Go to a shop,see it for yourself,compare it and buy the one you like most.It doesn't matter if you buy a fat unit or a slim one,they're all just as good.

This post has been edited by Playboy21: Nov 7 2008, 06:26 AM
Playboy21
post Nov 8 2008, 06:31 AM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Alright,homebrew applications/games/flashers/plugins are third party developments made by fellow psp users who have got a decent programming knowledge. (C,C++,Lua,SDL etc).

Homebrew can be played on custom firmware psps,1.50,1.00 and a few other firmwares using HEN,but these days,every psp user (in here) uses custom firmware.Custom firmware is actually the official firmware which is homebrew capable.This means you can enjoy EVERY feature that an official firmware user that can enjoy,as well as run homebrew and other cool stuff.

So now,if you get your psp from US (example),it for sure will have official firmware on it.You can only hack it using a Pandora's Battery which works on some mother boards (Not the newer v3 ones).

Hope that helps you,chernie.

benwong smile.gif
Playboy21
post Nov 8 2008, 07:28 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(benwong88 @ Nov 8 2008, 10:40 AM)
woo can always count on u for the long winded & detailed explanations..
mwahaha biggrin.gif
Playboy21
post Nov 9 2008, 06:05 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

jfarm86,you can use CTF themes alongside your preferred background waves (System_plugin_bg.rco) as well as every other customizable rco including your 01-12.bmp.
Playboy21
post Nov 10 2008, 06:23 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

benwong88,no just google for free pdf's or txt's or just type in the name of the book you're looking for.
Playboy21
post Nov 11 2008, 08:48 AM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

lol,that's when he quit developing OE firmwares after pressure from Sony i believe.He then returned as Team M33 secretly.Most of us (apart from his friends) thought that M33 was a russian hacking group,but a few weeks later,Dark_AleX revealed that he IS Team M33.

So,old news is old.
Playboy21
post Nov 11 2008, 03:38 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

wetfusion,Dark_AleX is spanish,but he acted as though Team M33 is a Russian team in order to prevent anyone from suspecting that it really is him.If he said that Team M33 is Spanish,it would all be obvious wouldn't it? tongue.gif
Playboy21
post Nov 12 2008, 09:20 AM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

haha penmarker.

I think his real name is Alejendro (or however you spell it)
Playboy21
post Nov 12 2008, 09:49 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(Xalvin @ Nov 12 2008, 09:33 PM)
Hey I'm a complete noob to the ahem-ness for PSP.
Why are there so many versions for firmwares?
Is it safe to just buy one off the shelf?

I really want to fully use PSP for :
Games (ahem ahem)
Can play PS1 games (mainly FF7-9)
Videos (Downloaded videos like from youtube, movies, etc.)
Music (MP3)
Surfing Internet.

I'm just scared that the ahem versions of PSPs cannot do certain things.
Seems to me people update their firmwares, even though got risk of bricking.
Can I ask, why? Your previous versions functioned well right? Now you upgrade you get more problems like card can't read and such.
If you buy a psp 2000 unit in Malaysia(slim psp),you should be good to go.Make sure you ask the dealer if it has custom firmware on it.If it does not have custom firmware on it,don't buy it.

Sony update their versions all the time to keep up with the current technology,add features and to enhance their security.When sony update,so does Dark_AleX.That's why we see tons of custom and official firmwares out there.

If you manage to get a psp with custom firmware on it,everything that you mentioned,can be done.
If you get an official firmware psp,you can only use the last three wishes of yours tongue.gif

Custom firmware is illegal,but you do not need to name it "ahem" lah.

Custom firmware is actually an official firmware with MORE features,so you won't loose anything,unless stated so.
People update their psp to newer firmwares for better UMD support,to enjoy new features etc.
Playboy21
post Nov 12 2008, 10:52 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(Xalvin @ Nov 12 2008, 10:09 PM)
Wow you're really detailed in your explanations biggrin.gif

So basically if I see a "modded" or m33-x thing at the firmware, it means that the PSP is custom?
I'm trying to look for second hand PSPs because many people seem to regret buying it as it gets boring. Though for me I'm not really buying it as a gaming device. Gaming comes later when Kingdom Hearts : Birth by Sleep is released tongue.gif.

For 'ahem' games, and PS1 games + its emulator, how much space does it normally take for a single game? I'm not sure 4GB would be enough for me as I will probably split half for gaming and half for videos.

Also, theres this service someone is offering to mod PSPs for a cheaper price. Should I trust this and get an original PSP for him to mod?
hehe,thanks.

Yes,any firmware with odd extensions behind it is a custom firmware (SE,OE,WC,M33,GEN etc).
I bought my psp three years ago (after UPSR results) and i'm still enjoying it,and no,i don't use my psp as a gaming device only.

Well,it depends on the game itself.Some games like God Of War takes up about 1.69gb where else games like Lumines barely requires 80mb.Emulators and other homebrews are small in size so you don't need to worry about it.

I have a 32mb stick for my developments,1gb stick for homebrew/photos and 4gb stick for music/games/videos.

I would advise against getting a psp with official firmware on it as new psp units come with new mother boards which are,at the moment,unhackable.So,i'd say,don't take the risk,and go get a unit with custom firmware installed on it.
Playboy21
post Nov 13 2008, 12:26 AM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

lol,dark alex is m33 biggrin.gif
Playboy21
post Nov 13 2008, 06:35 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

DFlo,yes they are.Many do not know about it,but it actually is against the laws of EULA,but who cares? lol
Playboy21
post Nov 13 2008, 07:36 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Alright guys,i've completed my TrickBrick tool and i will release it tomorrow (maybe-if the beta testers are happy with it).So yea I'll post my brew' in here with the download link in here the minute i'm done with it.

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0419sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:44 AM