9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Technical PlayStation Portable For Beginners | V2, General PSP Q&A and Homebrew Discussion

Playboy21
post Oct 28 2008, 12:41 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(maniakidd87 @ Oct 28 2008, 11:36 AM)
Hi all,

Im a brand new psp owner (slim model 2000) and havent heard anything about firmwares or custom stuff till now,so Im abit confused here.Hope you all can help me outĀ  tongue.gif
1)Basically to play "ahem" games off the net,you'd need custom firmware right?What version would that be of the firmware?(Latest version)

2)Once flashed with the custom firmware,can we unflash it back to its original state? (Sony supported,able to auto dl updates online,etc like a regular brand new psp)

3)What other positive traits are there in flashing your psp besides "being an illegal gamer"?

Hope everypne can help me here,i joined the forums just so i can get answers for these questions.
P;s// If my questions were already answered at a previous point in time,please lead me to it by providing the linkĀ  rclxm9.gif
Alright,first of all,welcome to the psp world!

1)Yes,you'll need custom firmware if you want to do so.The latest version is 5.00M33,but versions like 3.52m33 --> 4.01m33 are just as good.

2)Yes,you can revert it back to official firmware using a Pandora's Battery,but no,you will never want to do so,trust me tongue.gif

3)You can enjoy homebrew which are third party games,applications and many more developed by fellow psp users who expertise in C/C++,Lua and other languages.You can also enjoy plugins,themes and many other cool features.

This post has been edited by Playboy21: Oct 28 2008, 12:41 PM
Playboy21
post Oct 28 2008, 01:53 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(maniakidd87 @ Oct 28 2008, 01:13 PM)
Wow thx for the first reply and im happy to be here biggrin.gif  anyways I did some more research so far and this is what i came up with :
1) I have version 5.0 of the official firmware so I think i need to straight use a pandora battery to flash it.

2)I dunno besides a pandora battery,what else would i need?

3)I got this instuction that says i need only 5 steps to flash any firmware version of psp =/  Dunno is boleh harap anot 1. Anyone can review it for me?tongue.gif

http://www.psp-hacks.com/forums/f133/easy-...lim-or-t210546/
thx alot and hope to join you guys in CFW world ^^
hehe,no problem.

1)Is it 5.00 or 5.00M33? If it has the m33 extension behind it,then you have a custom firmware unit in hand.Else,it is an official firmware unit and you'll need a Pandora's Battery to hack it,or in other words,install custom firmware in it.

2)When i say Pandora's Battery,i mean a Magic Memory stick as well.This is because a Pandora's Battery won't function unless a Magic memory stick is set up,and the very same will happen if you try to use a Magic memory stick without a Pandora's Battery.

3)That only works on custom firmware units.

Alright,if you have a official firmware unit,you can meet up with some people in this forums who are willing to hack your psp for free.Kind people like Lacus and many other people,for sure will be willing to do it for you.You can contact him,and ask him about it.

Enjoy your psp life man!
Playboy21
post Oct 28 2008, 02:15 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Pandora's Battery Conversion Methods.

1)If you have an already hacked unit in hand :
-Download your favourite battery creator (My favourite is Hellcat's 3.xx creator),and run it on the hacked psp with the battery you want to convert to a Pandora's Battery in it.After the process is over,hey presto!! You'll have a Pandora's Battery in possesion biggrin.gif

2)If you DON'T have an already hacked unit in hand :
-You'll need to open up you battery and cut a pin.This process,however is quite risky to perform mainly because wrong moves can cause injuries to your body.This process is also unreliable (Tak boleh harap) because it'll take a few batteries to get it to work if you're unlucky.

Magic Memory Stick Creation :

1)Run the MMS creator via a hacked psp unit.

2)Run the MMS creator on your PC.This method is VERY easy and very good indeed.

Playboy21
post Oct 28 2008, 02:18 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(maniakidd87 @ Oct 28 2008, 02:09 PM)
Hehe ok here are further details:

1)Its the official v5.00 cuz i bought mine from aus. Im studying in as at the moment but im malaysian from penang  brows.gif

2)How to get magic memory stick??  sweat.gif

3)I wanna learn how to do it myself cuz i got another unit which i also bought from aus which is my bro's biggrin.gif So i need to help him with it also sooner or later hehe.  Keep up the replies,im learning a lot here ^^
Edit :: I thought a magic memory stick is basically a memory stick duo thats between 64 mb and 4 gb? /that one can get from the stick already supplied with the psp right?Unless im wrong  rclxub.gif
1)Ah,then it for sure is an official firmware unit.

2)Magic Memory Stick actually is standard memory stick pro duo which has pandora files on it.That's why it's known as the Magic Memory Stick.The creation of this memory stick is EXTREMELY easy judging by the fact that all you need to do is to run the easy-installer on your PC and it's done.

3)Oh,sure smile.gif

See my reply above,and tell me which option suits you best,and i'll try my best to guide you through it.
Playboy21
post Oct 28 2008, 02:46 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(maniakidd87 @ Oct 28 2008, 02:41 PM)
1)I bought my own pandora battery from hong kong online for about 10 AUD which is about Rm23 at the moment? should arrive in a few weeks time then i wont have to destroy a few batteries just to make 1 stupid pandora battery  tongue.gif
2)What is the name of the file ? (if its not illegal to ask) the magic memory stick program name i mean tongue.gif
1)That's brilliant.If so,you're all good to go! biggrin.gif

2)Here,use this guide.It's very simple,and if you mess up,you can reformat your memory stick and go through it all again.

Pandora Guide
Playboy21
post Oct 28 2008, 06:21 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Ah,they cannot be modded because these motherboards are the latest attempt by sony to prevent users from hacking it using a Pandora's Battery.In other words,these mother boards,for the time being,are Pandora proof.
Playboy21
post Oct 28 2008, 06:35 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

That,i'm not sure.I am a fat psp user,so yea,i don't know about the slim motherboard.I'm sorry man.
Playboy21
post Oct 28 2008, 06:51 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Cool man,i'm sorry i couldn't sort you out on that sad.gif

Anyways,good luck smile.gif
Playboy21
post Oct 28 2008, 07:05 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Yes,you will be able to do EVERYTHING that can be done on an official firmware psp.Don't worry man smile.gif

Added on October 28, 2008, 7:08 pm
QUOTE(maniakidd87 @ Oct 28 2008, 07:05 PM)
Hmmm i dont think it will auto update your system because the normal way of downloading updates is when you go to the "Network Update" function of your PSP.If you dont press that then I dont think the psp will find for the official updates by itself. Also,bricking happens when there is an interruption of the system while its flashing. Like in the process of updating,it says "Please dont turn off the system" or something like that. If you do then it will brick.
That,is another feature that may cause some problems.But recent M33 firmwares DO NOT have the official firmware update function.This is because Dark_AleX has replaced it with a "custom firmware downloader" instead.So,if you "accidentally" hit the network update option,you won't be disappointed tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Playboy21: Oct 28 2008, 07:08 PM
Playboy21
post Oct 28 2008, 08:27 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(maniakidd87 @ Oct 28 2008, 07:13 PM)
Hahaha wow,what a pro haxxer  drool.gif  Now i raelly cant wait to have my PSP modded. dunno why i never thought of this before  vmad.gif
haha tongue.gif
Playboy21
post Oct 30 2008, 02:41 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(andysoh @ Oct 30 2008, 01:34 PM)
wanna upgrade to new firmware...currently using 4.01 m33-2...i wanna try new 5.00 cfw for the new stuff like PSN,sleep timer.....need guide here
Alright,since many requested for a guide on it,i've created this one.It's very simple,and if you follow the steps correctly,you should end up with 5.00M33 installed on your psp.

Note : There have been many cases of bricks upon upgrade,so it's up to you to take the risk.Otherwise,it's all good.

Requirements :
1)A phat/slim psp which has custom firmware 3.52m33-3 or any firmware above it.
*Minimum requirement is 3.52m33-3*

Guide

1) First of all,you need to set your kernel to 3.xx/4.xx.You can do so in recovery mode or in your VSH menu (if you have the VSH addon plugin installed)

**Recovery : Hold the off switch for 3-5 seconds,then HOLD R and boot your psp up.Now go to configuration,and click X at the "Game Folder Homebrew" option until it displays as 3.xx/4.xx kernel.Example : On a 3.52m33-3/4 psp,it should show as 3.52 kernel.

2) Download the 5.00M33 installer here

3) Download the 5.00 eboot.pbp here

4) Use your preferred software to extract the 5.00M33 rar file.You should now get two folders (UPDATE and Translate) as well as a readme.txt file.

5) Copy the UPDATE folder and paste it in ms0:/PSP/GAME.

** It should now look like this : ms0:/PSP/GAME/UPDATE/eboot.pbp **

6)Time,for the 5.00 eboot (step 2).

7) Copy the 500.PBP and paste it in your ms0:/PSP/GAME/UPDATE directory.

** It should now look like this : ms0:/PSP/GAME/UPDATE/eboot.pbp and 500.pbp **

8) That's all,seriously.All you need to do now is to run the installer on your PSP.

** The installer will seem very official like,but don't worry,that's how it's supposed to be like **

9) Remember,once the update is over,PRESS X/O when it asks you to do so or your psp will brick!!

10) What else,enjoy!

Playboy21
post Oct 30 2008, 02:43 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

I seriously rushed and made that guide,so if you find ANY errors (including spelling errors),please inform me.Thanks.
Playboy21
post Oct 30 2008, 03:24 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Well,ms0: is the root directory,not a folder.Yes,if you see the PSP folder,you're fine.

Added on October 30, 2008, 3:24 pm
QUOTE(rickysee @ Oct 30 2008, 03:02 PM)
Thanks Playboy21 for the quick guide, just wanna remind whoever are doing the firmware upgrade to keep your PSP charge while doing the upgrade, else if your PSP ran out power half way during the installation, you will bricked your PSP.
You're welcome,and thanks for the reminder wink.gif

This post has been edited by Playboy21: Oct 30 2008, 03:24 PM
Playboy21
post Oct 30 2008, 11:22 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Try increasing your CPU speed in the VSH menu or in recovery mode.You can toggle the VSH menu by pressing select/home in your XMB (psp menu).If the menu isn't enabled,go to recovery mode and do so.

**Recovery : Hold the off switch for 3-5 seconds,then HOLD R and boot your psp up.**
Playboy21
post Oct 30 2008, 11:26 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(partycoke @ Oct 30 2008, 11:23 PM)
where to set it ...  doh.gif  doh.gif
See above ^^ smile.gif

Playboy21
post Oct 30 2008, 11:28 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

That,i do not know.
Playboy21
post Nov 1 2008, 01:10 AM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Not much.

Fat psp : Much more solid feel,ir port

Slim psp : Plasticky feel,but pwns the fat psp in performance wise.Has no irport.

PSP 3000 : Google and you'll seee the new features on it.
Playboy21
post Nov 1 2008, 02:29 AM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

It also has a built in mic and some other features.
Playboy21
post Nov 2 2008, 11:05 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(BelowAverage @ Nov 2 2008, 10:56 PM)
umm, wat is the latest gameboy emulator for psp?

Iwant to use it to play pokemon gold^^!
I use MasterBoy and RINGbc.They're both awesome emulators,and i play my pokemon silver on them both,mwahaha.

Rin GBC : http://www.psp-hacks.com/file/11

Master Boy : http://www.psp-hacks.com/file/1232

If you wish to play pokemon fire red,sapphire and so on,get GPSP,which of course,is a game boy advance emulator.

Added on November 2, 2008, 11:07 pm
QUOTE(C-Note @ Nov 2 2008, 11:05 PM)
hey guys izit okay if i throw away the psp box(specifically a ceramic white psp2k) upon purchasing it? iz der anythg such as firmware ver..serial no. etc etc pasted on the box which is important?
I believe there are codes on it to determine the firmware of the psp in the box (before it is hacked of course),but i don't think they are important.Feel free to chuck them away,but i'd keep them,sweet memories tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Playboy21: Nov 2 2008, 11:07 PM
Playboy21
post Nov 2 2008, 11:34 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

GPSP is a GBA emulator while masterboy is a GB/GBC emulator ( a very decent one indeed).Yes,rin GBC is for GB/GBC games only and no,i don't think GPSP is capable of running gbc games.

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0429sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:26 PM