PBBANK, All about PBBANK (1295)

SKY 1809
post Feb 21 2008, 10:13 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Feb 21 2008, 11:06 AM)
SKY 1809,

My model is very simple.  For PBBank, I am looking at the price where the dividend yield is good enough before I buy.  For  example, let's assume that PBBank annual dividend is RM0.80.  And, dividend yield of 8% is my target.  So, I will buy when the counter is at RM10 or lower.  I am NOT aiming for the absolute bottom since no one can time it perfectly.

<<A 50% cash and 50% shares ( including REIT ) could be a better option. >>

We are probably at the different of our life.  I will not put less than 5% and more than 20% in any single asset class.

Less than 5% is not worth my effort.  More than 20% is too risky.

Dreamer
Thank you for sharing. I do agree with your method. As I say earlier, it is very prudent.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Feb 21 2008, 10:14 AM
jasontoh
post Feb 21 2008, 10:15 AM

8,447 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Feb 21 2008, 09:02 AM)
this is the difference why me & dreamer has different point of view.
he is well-prepared, i am not.
We are all young, and working. If we have save some backup money, we can go all out. No need preparation
jongkolkhoo
post Feb 21 2008, 12:22 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Feb 21 2008, 09:15 AM)
We are all young, and working. If we have save some backup money, we can go all out. No need preparation
QUOTE(sharesa @ Feb 21 2008, 10:57 AM)
why didn't you hold, I thought this company is promising?
sold my pbb at 11.50 bought at 11.00 .. now at 11.70 ( so high )
how to buy ?? cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
should have listen to my sister and keep pbb instead of buying genting.

kinwawa
post Feb 21 2008, 02:30 PM

2,181 posts

QUOTE(jongkolkhoo @ Feb 21 2008, 12:22 PM)
how to buy ??   cry.gif   cry.gif   cry.gif 
as long as u earned liao...nvm la......now it's better for you to buy back when there is a big drop (hard to see it coming) or after ex-date for the dividend.....

at least u earned some during the weak market!

BTW...if i can prepare 2-5 yrs of savings..i think i need to wait another 10 yrs only can play share lo..hehehehe

This post has been edited by kinwawa: Feb 21 2008, 02:32 PM
Jordy
post Feb 21 2008, 05:12 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(jongkolkhoo @ Feb 21 2008, 12:22 PM)
how to buy ??  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif 
In investment, a rule of thumb is to never look back and never be greedy.
If the situation is recersed, you would be thanking the gods instead smile.gif
SKY 1809
post Feb 21 2008, 05:35 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Feb 21 2008, 06:12 PM)
In investment, a rule of thumb is to never look back and never be greedy.
If the situation is recersed, you would be thanking the gods instead smile.gif
Actually I see some of the PBank investors are quite anti Public Mutual agents.

By right, people like Jordy and some agents who sold billions of funds that making Pbank stronger in time to come.

Do appreciate what Jordy has done for us. Thank you.
jongkolkhoo
post Feb 21 2008, 08:32 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Feb 21 2008, 04:35 PM)

By right, people like Jordy and some agents who sold billions of funds that making Pbank stronger in time to come.

rclxm9.gif Gua also have some public mutual. in my pocket whistling.gif agent keep asking me to top up. advice me not to play so much on shares.
first encounter with mutual I bought on epf. now epf oledy penuh ( every 3 month i sign to top up) i add cash. but because it is crawling vmad.gif (mutual funds) and I got itchy hands rclxm9.gif , I think buying shares is much more fun.. wub.gif

I only play small time. don't have much money.
TSpanasonic88
post Feb 27 2008, 09:42 AM

37,028 posts

leaving a notes here...

PBBANK 50 sens dividend exdate is today
price is dropping, at 10.90 now rolleyes.gif
jongkolkhoo
post Feb 27 2008, 10:31 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Feb 27 2008, 08:42 AM)
leaving a notes here...

PBBANK 50 sens dividend exdate is today
price is dropping, at 10.90 now rolleyes.gif
if I buy pbbank today (feb 27 at 2.00pm) do i still qualify for the dividend ? drool.gif

TSpanasonic88
post Feb 27 2008, 10:37 AM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(jongkolkhoo @ Feb 27 2008, 10:31 AM)
if I buy pbbank today (feb 27 at 2.00pm) do i still qualify for the dividend ? drool.gif
not qualify. you must buy before the exdate. you should buy on yesterday.

This post has been edited by panasonic88: Feb 27 2008, 10:37 AM
jongkolkhoo
post Feb 27 2008, 10:40 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Feb 27 2008, 09:37 AM)
not qualify. you must buy before the exdate. you should buy on yesterday.
tried buying at 11.30 yesterday but was not lucky cry.gif cry.gif
on the bright side, I have extra money for karaoke . brows.gif brows.gif
SKY 1809
post Feb 27 2008, 11:25 AM

23,851 posts

B U S I N E S S

Wednesday February 27, 2008

Public Bank aims to maintain loan growth

PETALING JAYA: Public Bank Bhd, the country's second largest lender, aims to maintain double-digit loan growth this year.

Independent co-chairman Tan Sri Thong Yaw Hong told shareholders at the bank's AGM yesterday that this was among the targets, which also included a high dividend payout that would continue to create superior shareholder value.

The group's loans increased 20% to RM101.4bil at end-2007, giving it a domestic market share of 14.4%. At the same time, its customer deposits grew 24% to RM138.8bil.

Public Bank's net dividend payout for the financial year ended Dec 31, 2007 is expected to total RM1.85bil or 87% of net profit.

Tan Sri Teh Hong Piow (right) and Tan Sri Thong Yaw Hong
Its founder and chairman Tan Sri Teh Hong Piow said the banking group would continue to pursue its strategy of high organic loan and deposit growth, and improve cost efficiency and asset quality during the year.

The group would also further enhance its fee-based revenue.

"While we are pleased with the strong profit performance in 2007, I wish to reassure shareholders that the Public Bank group will continue to harness its resources to strive for another year of record performance in 2008," he said.

Teh also said the group intended to maintain the rate of increase in dividends in line with the rise in the group's profits.

To a shareholder's question on the group's succession plan and the possibility of the share price falling if Teh sold his stock, Thong said Teh had told the board of directors that he had no intention of disposing of his stake in the group.

"Teh will maintain his shares in Public Bank," he said.

Meanwhile, senior general manager Leong Kwok Nyem, in response to a question from the floor, said Public Bank was in strong position to deal with any possible effect of a slowdown in the US economy.

Malaysia's economy, being more domestic driven due stronger internal demand as well as Ninth Malaysia Plan spending, would be more resilient to an external slowdown and the group expected its domestic customers to also be resilient for this reason, Leong said.

He said Public Bank also had no plan at the moment to sell its treasury shares or distribute them to shareholders. To date, Public Bank has spent RM1.27bil buying back 176 million of its own shares or 5% of the bank's paid-up capital.

Jordy
post Feb 27 2008, 11:37 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Feb 21 2008, 05:35 PM)

Oh, it has been awhile since I last checked this thread.
I must take this as a compliment from an old-timer biggrin.gif

I am very confident with PBBANK.
If the price touches RM10.50 by any chance, I would consider taking it.
I still need to think of accumulating my money, but PBBANK is considered defensive counter.
I need to weigh the pros and cons to come up with a solution.
Any opinions guys? smile.gif
dreamer101
post Feb 27 2008, 11:51 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Feb 27 2008, 11:37 PM)

I still need to think of accumulating my money, but PBBANK is considered defensive counter.
Jordy,

1) One strategy on accumulating the counter that you have strong confident on is to set a limit buy order at 10% to 15% below current price. So, you do not have to watch counter every day. If there is some kind of panic going on, it will hit your buy order.

2) Patient. Things will go BAD after GE. So, why are you in a rush to buy anything?? Do (1) and wait.

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Feb 27 2008, 11:53 PM
SKY 1809
post Feb 28 2008, 12:03 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Feb 28 2008, 12:37 AM)

If I were given a choice to choose between Pbank and " others ", I would choose Pbank.

Pbank. Put your hard earned money to where "the trust and faith are ." The management works day and night for you. The track records are there for you to see.

Others might look good on paper but comes with a catch.

P/s > i assume you had given me the permission to talk.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Feb 28 2008, 06:12 AM
TSpanasonic88
post Feb 28 2008, 05:16 PM

37,028 posts

making another note...

PBBANK is moving downtrend after the exdate

today PBBANK closed at 10.40 while PBBANK-O1 closed at 10.50

i wonder will PBBANK goes below 10? if yes, i would like to wait for it at 9.80 rolleyes.gif
skiddtrader
post Feb 28 2008, 05:29 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Feb 28 2008, 05:16 PM)
making another note...

PBBANK is moving downtrend after the exdate

today PBBANK closed at 10.40 while PBBANK-O1 closed at 10.50

i wonder will PBBANK goes below 10? if yes, i would like to wait for it at 9.80 rolleyes.gif
I believe won't drop below RM10 for this current quarter unless KLCI crash again. Seems pretty strong above RM10.
TSpanasonic88
post Feb 28 2008, 05:40 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(skiddtrader @ Feb 28 2008, 05:29 PM)
I believe won't drop below RM10 for this current quarter unless KLCI crash again. Seems pretty strong above RM10.
crossing finger, let's see smile.gif
please report in when you hit the "buy" button on PBBANK tongue.gif
Jordy
post Feb 28 2008, 10:31 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Feb 27 2008, 11:51 PM)
Jordy,

1)  One strategy on accumulating the counter that you have strong confident on is to set a limit buy order at 10% to 15% below current price.  So, you do not have to watch counter every day.  If there is some kind of panic going on, it will hit your buy order.

2) Patient.  Things will go BAD after GE.  So, why are you in a rush to buy anything?? Do (1) and wait.

Dreamer
Yes, very good comment there bro smile.gif
Currently, I am still not going in yet because the time is way sooner than what I thought.
I would consider it after April.

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Feb 28 2008, 12:03 AM)
If I were given a choice  to choose  between Pbank and " others ", I would choose Pbank.

Pbank. Put your hard earned money to  where "the trust and faith are ." The management works day and night for you. The track records are there for you to see.

Others might look good on paper but comes with a catch.

P/s > i assume you had  given me the permission to talk.
Of course you have the permission to talk! smile.gif
PBBANK is definitely a good choice, but it is still not the best.
Management wise, I really have no doubts in PBBANK.
We will have to look at the loan performance now.
SKY 1809
post Feb 28 2008, 11:24 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Feb 28 2008, 11:31 PM)
Yes, very good comment there bro smile.gif
Currently, I am still not going in yet because the time is way sooner than what I thought.
I would consider it after April.
Of course you have the permission to talk! smile.gif
PBBANK is definitely a good choice, but it is still not the best.
Management wise, I really have no doubts in PBBANK.
We will have to look at the loan performance now.
You need to compare Apple with Apple.

Foreign Banks like Citigroup always trying their best for benefits of the shareholders, but comes with Sub Prime problem.

The best as you know in PM could be just one year performance out performing others.

To me, bank with Lowest NPL and high annual growth rate of 20% is the BEST.

Chinese do not believe in Good Sales figures alone. but also good collections too. There are so many people want to borrow from you if it is for "FOC".

Just my 2 sen opinion.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Feb 29 2008, 06:17 AM

77 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0169sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:27 AM