4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Q&A, General question on stock market

rosdi1
post May 10 2011, 11:35 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(skyland87 @ May 10 2011, 05:33 PM)
hi,sifu i am new here, mind to ask for sell brokerage fee ..

example i got 1000 share with RM3,xxx price

if i sell 200unit for RM3,4xx,and at the the same time  i sell other 800 unit for RM3,6xx,

they charges me 2 time brokerage fee tran or?
You have to check with your Broker how are they charging.
You may like them to consider multiple trade on the same counter on a day are considered as a trade.
By having that facility you will save on the Brokerage fee more so if you are trading small lots or the odd lots.

All my accounts (CIMB, MAYBANK2U, OSK,and Jupiter ) have that facilities but what I don't understand why we we need to request for the facilities ..it should be just automatic.

rosdi1
post May 11 2011, 12:30 AM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ May 10 2011, 11:43 PM)
Request?

So far, it is automatically done by investment banks/broker firm to consolidate the transaction into one single contract if same counter.
If so that is very good.. sometime back it have to be on request basis.
rosdi1
post May 11 2011, 03:51 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(Lover @ May 11 2011, 03:42 PM)
den  if i buy stock X  via m2u. and some stock X via osk.

so i hv to open both platform if i want to sell? it wont combine both rite?
If both the account have exactly the same name you can easily do a transfer to merge the shares but it will cost you RM10.00. per counter.

This post has been edited by rosdi1: May 11 2011, 03:51 PM
rosdi1
post May 11 2011, 10:26 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ May 11 2011, 09:56 PM)
wat mean by NAB(Rm)?

I think NABis the equivalent to NTA.. Net Tangible Asset
may be NAB= Net Asset Backing
Sorry if I am wrong.
Where do you get those data? look very cool
rosdi1
post May 14 2011, 04:08 AM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(t5t @ May 14 2011, 02:01 AM)
Does anyone roughly knows which banks or trading companies come first in queue?
I am using Public Bank trading platform and most of the time I started submitted my trading at 12am...
But, quite often I see transaction matches my queuing price but my queue is not matched...
I think Public Bank definitely not the first one to enter the queue during pre-open at 8.30am...
My observation....and my checking on how the broker system submit their order Q...
Those pending Q submitted before 8.30 need to be manually release by the officer of the broker system after 8.30. and that usually takes a good few seconds or might be minutes.
If you will to send it at exactly 8.30 your order will be submitted automatically by the system and most of the time will be ahead of those in the pending Q. May be this is the reason why they have abolish the 2 session system. With the single session system the Q at bursa will not be cleared after 12.30 and the broker dont have to resubmit after 2.00 pm and we will not be able to jump the Q anymore.
In your case you may be ahead in the brokers pending Q but others can still beat you to the bursa system.
I hope I had explain it rightly.

This post has been edited by rosdi1: May 14 2011, 04:12 AM
rosdi1
post May 14 2011, 07:08 AM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(t5t @ May 14 2011, 04:14 AM)
So, do you mean that if I want to be one of the very first person in the queue, it's better for me to submit my order few minutes before 8.30am rather than 12am midnight?
no... not before 8.30 but at exactly 8.30 or just a second or two later....
anything before 8.30 will have to go to the pending Q of your broker and need to be released by the officer and not summited by the system automatically to bursa system.

Just as a reminder all this effort to smart play the system might not worth it. Window of opportunity is quite small and you might be just better off doing whatever you do now or you might want to use the GTD (good to Date) order. My response here is just to answer to your earlier question.

This post has been edited by rosdi1: May 14 2011, 07:46 AM
rosdi1
post May 14 2011, 02:40 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(Larrylow @ May 14 2011, 10:48 AM)
Got a newbie question here,

Let say a stock price is trading at 1.2x, but its NTA is 3.5x, does that mean this stock is undervalue?

If the management plans to take this company private, will they pay a premium to the current shareholders?

Thanks for your enlightenment!
No.. the right value for the share is always the current price.
The price are determine by the market based on a few factors
1. The demand for the shares
2. Revenue growth, ( Year to year revenue increase or decrease)
3. profit margin and its movement.
4. Staff productivity index and the rate movement
5. Assets in the balance sheet and off balance sheet assets
6 Management Team
7. Competitiveness of the companies both domestically and internationally.
... and many other factors....

you can see many companies that have NTA higher than the share prices for years but still the price never catch up.

The management couldn't take a company private or not, because they are just the employee to the company.
Only the majority share holders or a group of share holders that have majority share can, but still depending on which company and how the MOA was initially written.
Most of GLCs only the GOM can decide ( GOM have the Golden Share)

I hope I had not confused you much but my view is that if you want to know things like this you to read have the right books and not easy to correctly explained it here.

This post has been edited by rosdi1: May 14 2011, 02:44 PM
rosdi1
post Jun 9 2011, 09:55 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(Lover @ Jun 3 2011, 05:43 PM)
where to get the tools for analysis? software
I think you have to explain a bit on what you are thinking.
Do you already have the software and now looking for the program tools
or you dont have anything yet and are looking for a software tools.
If you have the software ? what software it is?

This post has been edited by rosdi1: Jun 9 2011, 09:56 PM
rosdi1
post Jun 23 2011, 03:40 AM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(mynoble @ Jun 16 2011, 08:21 PM)
is there any islamic online stockbroking in malaysia?
THIS ONE LOOK VERY ISLAMIC TO ME...

I am not sure if they have online or not.

This post has been edited by rosdi1: Jun 23 2011, 03:42 AM
rosdi1
post Jun 27 2011, 08:54 AM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(baqueen @ Jun 24 2011, 12:14 PM)
is there a "normal range" for PE in certain field applied to stock on bursa?

for example:
for stock in the field of XXX will have the PE in the range of 20-30, eventhough high but is normal in that field.
The market are trading based on current (now) and future earning.
The PE are calculated on hitory between 2 to 6 months late.
There can be huge different between the two situation.
rosdi1
post Jun 29 2011, 09:51 AM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(nasni @ Jun 29 2011, 09:44 AM)
yup  with diff  CDS a/c,  and u can "manipulate" err.. manage yr stocks to your advantage by transferring back & forth, vice versa.

eg. u can open with CIMB, RHB, OSk, etc ,  but mind u check their rates/charges?

Added on June 29, 2011, 9:45 am

see my response  abv  biggrin.gif
To transfer from one CDS A/C to another there is a RM10( Payable to the CDS) but some broker that you want to transfer too will absorb the charge.
rosdi1
post Jun 29 2011, 03:32 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(wongzai @ Jun 29 2011, 10:40 AM)
means i can have multiple cs a/c with different broker? (bank in these case)  biggrin.gif

but who should i ask to make the transfer? lets say from PBB to MBB?
yes
For example :
I have 3 CDS a/c with CIMB, 1 Personnal and2 nominee a/cs, 1 CDS a/c with Maybank also nominee a/c, 1 CDS personnal a/c with OSK, 1 with RHB , and 1 with Jupiter.
I can transfer the share from any of the CDS , just ask the receiving remiser to do it after signing application form. One form for every counter accoumpinied by RM10 for every form.
You can also make a transfer to immediate relative's CDS , girlfreind or boyfrinend not applicable.

Added on June 29, 2011, 3:36 pm
QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Jun 29 2011, 02:40 PM)
if my initial sell order is 10 lot...i got match 5 lot....then i cancel the 5 lot and resubmit another 5 lot sell order at another price, will my brokerage fee be charged one time or two time?
If the trade is done on the same day it will be considered as one or group together and the applicable price will be the average. So you can avoud having to pay minimun charge for each oder.

This post has been edited by rosdi1: Jun 29 2011, 03:36 PM
rosdi1
post Jul 1 2011, 11:44 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(muxx @ Jul 1 2011, 07:37 PM)
hi...I have a question regarding rights issue. Yesterday I bought Time Engineering(4456) @0.455. I understand that time is offering 10 shares of theirs for 8 shares of time.com at a discount price of rm0.53. This morning I realize that time the abp was rm0.315 and the ex date was today. This is my first time on receiving rights and I do have little knowledge of price adjustments. What I know that you are entitled for rights,div if you hold the share until the end of the trading session of the ex-date. I was thinking that i rugi la if I bought in yesterday instead of today because the price is lower today. Plz advice...
You may like to read my explaination at this link and the subsquent explaination there:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/936192/+330#

This post has been edited by rosdi1: Jul 1 2011, 11:46 PM
rosdi1
post Jul 5 2011, 03:22 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jul 5 2011, 01:53 PM)
Yes, standard charges applied, if there are any contra losses, interest will be charged to you. When a bank force sell, they sell at the lowest price available (current bid price) in order to get rid of your shares faster. Do you want this? if not, please settle your contracts on time or sell it yourself before T+3.
Yes never allow this to happen..
You will loss in many ways ...
They will sell at a very low price... and you limit will also be effected
rosdi1
post Jul 6 2011, 12:09 AM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(kokhoe8 @ Jul 5 2011, 09:55 PM)

I have some amount of BJTOTO some time ago, and traded over Maybank, then i guess it went for a split some time ago. Now when i am bout to sell it off (in sizes of multiple of 100) i am left with a remaining balance of 14 shares.

Does anyone know how to sell the remaining 14? I wasnt able to key in other than multiples of 100.

THanks
You can sell it at the odd lot market. 14 shares at 4.45 not going to get you much after minimum commission and at the ood lot market the price are usually 20% cheaper.
If I will you
I will just keep it and collect the dividend and you can also attend the AGM/ EGM or sign for two proxies to attend the AGM/EGM.
rosdi1
post Jul 7 2011, 02:35 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(Larrylow @ Jul 6 2011, 11:27 AM)
I have a question, let say if I want to buy a counter for medium/ long term, do you think it is better to buy before or after ex-date. I know that buy before ex-date you get the dividend, but if you buy after the ex-date, you will not get any dividend.

Any opinion from the seniors here? notworthy.gif
Should do your own research..
From my observation after is much better. Most shares will dropped more than the dividend paid.
Same thing I will not usually go through the dividend,

Added on July 7, 2011, 2:41 pm
QUOTE(MNet @ Jul 5 2011, 11:39 AM)
Is there an brokerage account that I can buy first with no cash in my trust account then before T+3 I will bank in the amount to my trust account
This should be the normal case but your remiser shoud sign in for you.
If your remiser don't want to help find one that will.

This post has been edited by rosdi1: Jul 7 2011, 02:41 PM
rosdi1
post Jul 7 2011, 11:10 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(kokhoe8 @ Jul 7 2011, 08:53 PM)
Actually when u use maybank online do you have a remisier? How do you contact him/her?
you may call the service centre...
mine serviced by Plaza damansara 03 20938986
I understand Maybank decentralize their service centre.
so yours can be supported by another centre
rosdi1
post Jul 9 2011, 10:24 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(darkian @ Jul 9 2011, 03:07 PM)
Hi All,

I need some advice on a certain issue.
During the recent MSM IPO, my parents in law tried to subscribe for some lots using several family member's names. Out of the six subscription, two supposedly went through as the cheques were cleared, while the others were refunded. Now here is the problem.
1. One lot was via a son's name which has his own CDS account. According the the remisier, the share has not appeared in the account until now. Where/who do I need to contact to check on the share status?
2. Another lot was via a daughter's name which do not have a CDS account. Where/who would this share be allocated to?

I would really appreciate if somebody can tell me some information.
Thanks!
i don't know the right answer... but the worst case both will be refunded to the respective ppl.

Added on July 9, 2011, 10:32 pm
QUOTE(SentulChin @ Jul 9 2011, 02:47 PM)
Hi All,

Anyone of your sold Odd lot(Units less than 100 shares) shares before?
I got my odd lot share due to bonus issue & left the odd lot stick in my account  doh.gif
May i know how to sell them, what is the transaction cost apply & where to see the bid-ask on those odd lots? icon_question.gif
I use CIMB itrade... I dont have problem at all... just change the market to odd lot market.. there you re you can already put your share in the Q or buy more share to make it into a complete lot (100)
The minimum cost like normal will apply.
That why I think buying will be better as you can avoid the min cost as you can buy more from the normal market. adding both transaction together will avoid the min cost ( Just an idea)

This post has been edited by rosdi1: Jul 9 2011, 10:32 PM
rosdi1
post Jul 14 2011, 02:21 AM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(kokhoe8 @ Jul 11 2011, 11:04 PM)
Hi Rosdi,

Thanks for your advice, I called Pudu Share Investment Center (where I opened my account) and sold mine remaining 14 for 14*4.35=rm60.90

The sad thing is they minus a minimum of RM40 (i think this is the standard remisier charges) and thus remaining RM20.90.

Thus you could say Rosdi's is sound advice.

At the same time it shows something that Maybank Online Shares lack compared to CIMB, you cant trade Odd lots.
Hi
Tq...
It lucky that you get something after the minimun commision.
I am just worried that you might end up not getting anything.
Rgds
rosdi1
post Jul 18 2011, 08:26 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(august.decision @ Jul 18 2011, 03:07 PM)
hi...

i have a question here...hope some one can help...

i hv a nominee account with bank x.....after knowing that they charge alot on bank charges for every dividend payout....i decided to open a direct cds account with the same bank...

the question is: may i know do i still log in by the same account or different account number for share trading?
Most bank uses the same logon for multiple account. Check with the bank helpdesk and ask them to group it together dor the same signon.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0304sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:43 PM