Q&A, General question on stock market

rosdi1
post Jul 31 2011, 10:29 AM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Jul 30 2011, 08:39 PM)
Are you buying as an investor or as a trader/speculator?
If you're buying as a trader/speculator, then trade on paper first. Take into account the commission when calculating your profit or loss. When you're comfortable with your paper profit, then you can decide to trade with real money.
I think attending basic classes will provide you the initial push.

rosdi1
post Aug 7 2011, 03:53 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(Polaris @ Aug 4 2011, 09:19 AM)
^this was from 3 months ago.

The question is, is there a specific page on the bursa site which displays all the rights issues, warrants and other derivatives related to the mother share?
The Star , Business Section on every Monday.
List out all outstanding Rights, and Bonus after that you still need to go th bursa webpages under listed companies announcements for details.
I hope this help.
rosdi1
post Aug 8 2011, 08:26 AM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(kokhoe8 @ Aug 7 2011, 10:54 PM)
There is something that i dun like about theStar lately they went through some site renovation.

After the "renovatioin" it was almost unusable to me, dunno where to view the Fundamentals etc.
Last time it was easy to jus browse through, jus search and click Stocks from the dropdown. no no more
I don't think you can get it online .. you have to buy the news paper.
I agree with you on the website search...
I think you need to patch the URL sometimes...
rosdi1
post Aug 11 2011, 06:43 AM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(PlayMaker` @ Aug 9 2011, 04:32 PM)
Sorry if this question has been asked before.

A quick question.

Let's say if my trading limit is RM30,000 and today (Tuesday) i used RM10,000 to buy "ABC" share. By right, by Friday i need to cash in RM10,000 back to my trust account based on T-3.

My question is, if i sell all of my "ABC" share on the next day, Wednesday (still under T-3, before Friday), when would the RM10,000 arrived to offset my purchase on Tuesday?
Immediately after the order is fully done
rosdi1
post Aug 30 2011, 12:17 AM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(welkiller @ Aug 26 2011, 02:21 PM)
Hey guys just wanna ask wat r the min lot to purchase for the IPO...coz everytime i put the order on the 1st day of the IPO start but til the end i get rejected...must of the time i purchase around 30-50 lot...give me some advise on it...thx....
For IPO, the bigger the block the higher the chance is. I ususally applied for between 50K to 100 K the chance on the average 50% but I am a BUMI. For non bumi you have to applied for double the amount to get the same chance.
Good luck to you.
rosdi1
post Sep 14 2011, 06:47 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(Randomization @ Sep 13 2011, 09:50 AM)
Hi guys.

I'm new to this and I'm looking for any website that provides paper-trading and learning for newbies.
Preferably something user friendly and easy to use.

Hope to strengthen my basics before going into the real battlefield.

Any suggestions?
you may use this during trading hours only

http://game.itradecimb.com.my/bin/gameMenu.asp

(I was told that trading pin is needed to register: 6 digits trading pin is given to account holders with online facilities)

Added on September 14, 2011, 7:47 pm
QUOTE(Sakai1 @ Sep 3 2011, 11:28 PM)
I'm new in market. Bought some YTL Land share last month. Heard they are issuing ICPS. Question: what is this? Wat should I do now? Need help! Thx.
My advice :
Before buying any share check for and outstanding announcement.
If there are than study the announcement in details and if you don't understand it, ask your remisier or the broker help desk. If you are still unsure than skip that stock.

In this case they had announce ICULS rights x date on 03 Oct 2011.
I don't like ICULS...

If I were you, I will just sell off the share and if you still like YTLLAND than buy it again after the exercise after the 04 Nov 2011.
Good Luck.

Added on September 14, 2011, 9:07 pm
QUOTE(xDingx @ Sep 6 2011, 11:50 AM)
Dear All,

I'm new here and try to learn how to invest in stock market before investing the real money...so i still in the learning stage....

As I know, trend analysis is one of the important steps for the stock investment, i try to look for the trend (the line graph) in biz.thestar market watch, got something i not really understand...

What is the difference between these?:
- Bursa Malaysia Market Watch - Composite ; and
- Bursa Malaysia Market Watch - Industrial

Are they representing the trend in the bursa malaysia main market?

How/Where can I look for the stock trend for the particular sector such as Consumer, Finance and Hotels?
Thank you....and sorry if my questions sound noob..
Phewwww
You did ask a very basic questions.
I suggest that you get yourself a good book on the basic of stock market, KLSE, indexes and strategy and techniques.
I also suggest that you make earlier investment to attend some classes on trading at the stock markets.
As trading can be very risky/costly without proper tools and knowledge.
I think it is not fair to ask those basic questions here.
good luck to you.

This post has been edited by rosdi1: Sep 14 2011, 10:44 PM
rosdi1
post Oct 9 2011, 06:49 AM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(holybo @ Sep 25 2011, 03:01 PM)
I would like to buy some financial stocks & reits. The problem is where should I find the fundamentals about the stocks? How should I read them because I don't have any knowledge in economy/accounting. What is the data you guys looking for before you go into a stocks? Thanks~
Read this book:
Stock Performance Guide Malaysia
Publish by Dynaquest Sdn Bhd
available at Popular Book Store or any other big Book store
Price : RM70.00
Publish twice a year

Or
Share investment Malaysia
publish by Pioneer & Leaders (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd
www.sharesinv.com
Publish Quaterly
Price: RM12 WM and RM 15 EM

rosdi1
post Oct 12 2011, 11:46 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(nendo_2008 @ Oct 12 2011, 07:38 PM)
dear all masters,
i would like to ask this question which is particularly weird
the situation is like this,

if what is said by the NASA regarding electrical appliances will be unable to use as the SUN is spreading some radioactive stuff in 2012 and the rumours about 2012 the end of world will u guys retreat and sell all your shares to avoid yourself from being trap?such as digi ,maxis,cars ,or other stuff of electrical appliances will be disabled will we take this issue to retreat our shares as precaution step ?
Ha ha.. Have you start to building your ship .. better start building now not much time left...
AS for me I enjoy trading... so I will continue to trade untill the trading system or my system stopped...
By that time you don't need any money or property anymore... as after that they will use a new currency.. similiar to the one that they always burnt or burried in the grave....
rosdi1
post Oct 13 2011, 10:36 AM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(nendo_2008 @ Oct 13 2011, 01:51 AM)
haha im young and i dun wanna die so early
You r not alone. As Steve Job said "even if you are sure to go to heaven you will not want to die yet"

I think you dont have to worry very much on this problem that you couldn't solve or handle just concentrate on being happy...
Like earning a lot of money.
rosdi1
post Oct 14 2011, 10:02 AM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(nendo_2008 @ Oct 13 2011, 11:13 AM)
haha i dun have a cds acc but currently im playing OSKIC where its a virtual game and a competition for college students and im trying hard to get no.1 as the prize is rm25k...and the initial capital is rm100k given
The trick to this competition i to buy a very high risk volatile stock.. Usually a very low value stock and to buy a much as possible in a go.
rosdi1
post Oct 27 2011, 02:11 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(lostintransition @ Oct 20 2011, 02:25 PM)
Hi all....
Just asking the sifus here....., i find it weird that despite a very uncertain world economy, the bursa can rise so much.....like AirAsia can rise from RM2.80 to RM3.80 within 1 month...... goodness, i am amazed.... this is within 1 month........

Anyway, AA is a high growth high potential company.....(especially when the AA-Japan venture kicks off next year) ......so, have to continue to wait at the sideline and pray the price will come down..... dividend wise... i don think this company can pay much of a dividend since it has huge capital commitments..... 200++ Airbus lar....

Mmm... i am just waiting for a repeat of 2007/2008 whereby good stocks are trading at a huge discount....
Like last time, when KLKepong is trading at around RM7 bottom price....hehehe...... just hold on that stock and every year enjoy at least RM0.50 dividend per stock....can hold on to it forever liaw.....and enjoy two ways appreciation - unrealized capital gains + dividends....
It look like you have a plan that work for you...
If I am yourself I will just hold on to your plan and trade on it. May be you like to calculate your realise return ( not the paper gain) per year.

Some ppl with a different plan realise more than 50% return a year.
If you are not returning such a percentage maybe you may like to find out why and how.
As for me I like to work on percentage to time as compared to just price increase.
eg: You mentioned AIRASIA that move from from 2.80 to 3.80 and now 4.00 ( the price in early AUG2011 less than 3 months ago) which mean it is a very volatile stock that is able to move 30% up and down.
You could had make a good profit by buying at the gap and selling at the peak or lost a lot of money if you had done the reverse or had not make anything like me who had not bought or sold anything.

There are may others that don't seen very conspicuous for example YTLLAND that move from low od 0.765 to 1.30 today a move of 70% in less than a month. Just imagine if you have bought and sold today you had made 70% in a month. The question is still the same have you done it. I made a call when YTLLAND was at 0.88 ....some had answered it and make agood profit and some had just ignored it and had not lost anything except this opputunity.

So the big issue for most trader is how to plan for a profitable trade as talking about history will not gain much. We all have to look at the future as the market is trading the future. That answer your first question why the market raise on uncertain world economy ( that may go up or down.) . What happen is that more people believe that it will go up!!!. If you have a different plan and that plan proved to be right later you can make or save a lot of money....

This post has been edited by rosdi1: Oct 27 2011, 02:14 PM
rosdi1
post Nov 12 2011, 08:56 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(Jt2020 @ Nov 11 2011, 04:26 PM)
Hi, if I wan to know which stock are in which sector specifically, where can I search for it?

I only know a stock for health sector is kpj, but if I want to know all the stocks for health sector, or maybe more specific, which stock belongs to hospitals, which stock belongs to drug companies, which stock belongs to medical equipments, etc. where should I refer?

I am using ecm and kpj is under service, where service is very wide,,,
I will get it from TheStarOnline...
for example for TM
http://biz.thestar.com.my/marketwatch/fund...?searchstr=4863
rosdi1
post Nov 23 2011, 07:47 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(specializedmin @ Nov 21 2011, 05:56 PM)
Currently I have just opened a Maybank Share Trading Atccount. Still yt to get the code from Maybank. Is Maybank share trading acc as good as Public Bank?
There are at least 3 types of A/C in Maybank. (
1. Normal ( You can use it to apply IPO) ,
2.Margin ( you get loan from the bank to buy more share but this is a nominee A/C ),
3.The special Prepaid nominee A?C where you are charge only 0.1 % per transaction
As you can see only the first one can be used to apply IPO.

To me Maybank online system is just OK but not great. Why you may like it is that the brokerage charge is low.
I preffer OSK to HLB, Maybank, Jupiter and CIMB ( sorry I never use Public Bank)

I think if you are just starting and not going to tread heavily ( more than 4 transactions a day and value below 20K) the broker and the rate don't really matter.

rosdi1
post Dec 24 2011, 05:45 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(stargate8 @ Dec 22 2011, 10:19 AM)
too many formula too many analyst with different views...for small time retail investor, just research the company 3-5 years performance and earnings, if you looking for dividends shares buy those with payout, if you are risk taker with deep pocket, buy more than 10 companies with share price climbing steadily over the years. then you may cash out once your portfolios grows to your expectation...
Most analysis at the face value are OK , depending on the parameters used.
To me the most important factor to know when reading an analysis is the timeframe, .. from when to when
The second factors is the cut off date of the data used in the analysis.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0252sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:27 PM