LYN Nvidia SLI Club, All SLI discussion here

Mavrix
post Dec 7 2008, 07:13 PM

1,118 posts

QUOTE(guess1805 @ Dec 7 2008, 09:44 AM)
Hi everyone!! Finally overcome my prob with the no fps or benchmark increase with my 9800GT SLI! icon_rolleyes.gif

Based on Mavrix's suggestions before, I tried to OC my E8200 from 2.8GHz up to 3.2GHz. Not too stable but be able to complete my benchmark, and I got from only 10k up to 13k!! thumbup.gif

Since Im too noob in OCing tongue.gif.. So, just bought the e8500 and tried this proc with a single card, 3dmark06 shows 11k and with SLI I achieved up to 14k!!

Later I'll post some screenies brows.gif
Congrats bro!!!
U got ur E8500 aa? hmm, i want oso but my motrbike just broke down and had to use the bajet for my bike.. well cannot get the proc for now.. D**N!!

Just stick to my old E6600 for now..
Mavrix
post Dec 8 2008, 11:38 PM

1,118 posts

Wonder can get lower price for the E8500 at PC Fair..
hmmmm hmm.gif
Mavrix
post Dec 30 2008, 06:12 PM

1,118 posts

The thread has been recover at last... but.. seems like not all data has been recovered..

Whats actually happen?? Server down?? Upgrading?? or virus attack??

What the heck! The thread is live again... hehe smile.gif

Mavrix
post Dec 30 2008, 09:42 PM

1,118 posts

A Q here...

Has any1 here put another cheap GC just for running physx??

For example: 2 8800gt SLI connected via sli bridge, and one more cheap 8 series GC to run physx calculation..

I plan to make it work like this..
Mavrix
post Dec 30 2008, 09:56 PM

1,118 posts

No i dont want to spend another 1K for a new GC.. Not for now.. if i letgo my current GC's just how much would i get??.. 8800gt now can get below rm400 a pieace.. that one is new! And how does the price if its a secondhand one??
Not worth for me..just for me la.. coz im not printing money as my hobby la fren... hehe.

So i guess its not a waste if i get, let say a 8400 or 8500gt to run physx.. but then i donno la if can set it or not??

Thats why im asking, CAN or NOT?? Need ur oppinion guys.. some says can but some say it will eat my PSU.. and temp issue...

Mavrix
post Jan 1 2009, 09:28 PM

1,118 posts

QUOTE(subrok007 @ Jan 1 2009, 11:19 AM)
@Mavrix
bro ur board must 3 pcie slot to do this.... somemore ur chipset shud be 780i onwards.. if u only single card then u can add in multi card in 2nd slot to rendering physX...

@Shaun3230
i agree with regendcid... 8800GT SLI cant even beat GTX260 with 216sp.. even my 9800GT configuration SLI also cant.... next gen i think nvidia going to kick all SLI setting out..with GTX295 new design SLI....

(correct me)
I do hav one more xtra PCI-E slot for GC..Im using striker ii mobo.. that xtra pcie-e slot is not in use now and kinda waste it, thats why im thinking bout putting another cheap 8 series gpu to render physx...BUT, i know now that the idea is not going to work.. coz i found out that we need to use same spec of gpu to do it.. and must be connected via sli bridge.
My 8800gt sli cant do it coz it cant perform 3way sli.. doh.gif xcept some ver of 9800gtx can.. but some other forumer says it can be done without using the sli bridge... that what make me confuse..
But then bro Aura came and gav me a link to nvidia website shows that in sli mode the 3rd card can be use to render physx but it must be a same spec and connected via sli bridge..

"next gen i think nvidia going to kick all SLI setting out..with GTX295 new design SLI.... "

Wait a minute!! Are u saying that SLI is going to be a history??? shocking.gif

QUOTE(Aura @ Dec 31 2008, 09:23 AM)
I dun think this will work.... I remembered looking back at the NVIDIA website not long ago and it stated there that if u hav 1 GC, then u can add in another card for physx calculation.... If u r using SLI, then u won't be able to do this.....

Check here for more info -> http://www.slizone.com/object/sli_cuda_learn.html

Hope it helps...
Thanx for da link bro... really helps.. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Mavrix: Jan 1 2009, 09:29 PM
Mavrix
post Jan 3 2009, 08:07 PM

1,118 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Jan 3 2009, 04:12 AM)
GTX285 hit the shelve already tongue.gif
Any chance gtx280 drop the price???
Mavrix
post Jan 3 2009, 10:03 PM

1,118 posts

Might hav some issue warranty void....

Dreaming on gtx280 now... hmmm
hehe smile.gif
Mavrix
post Jan 7 2009, 12:35 AM

1,118 posts

Try google....
Mavrix
post Feb 14 2009, 07:52 PM

1,118 posts

From the other thread, seems like the trouble come from ur mobo... but i cant help u in this case.. never use AMD setup before...

Myb u can try reg in XFX club and pin ur prob there..

Or just get another mobo.. hehe..
Mavrix
post Mar 3 2009, 11:33 AM

1,118 posts

That seller just wanna make some 'duit kopi' bro.. dont mind him.. but at least u are not 'traped' by his words... gladly u know something bout Sli..

I agreed why noy just check the price at our garage sales here.. i think 780i boards not gonna cost u more than 1K nowadays... use the filter bro..
Mavrix
post Mar 6 2009, 01:37 PM

1,118 posts

Well bajet is always an issue when upgrading a pc... same goes to me a coupple of years before.. really giv me a headache.. unless that person is a Dato', Bisnesman, or can print the money from the back of his yard...hehehe smile.gif, its not a big prob la kan?

So for this year i will giv it a rest.. no bajet for upgrading... but at least i finally setup my own Sli rig now... except that my proc is bottlenecking my rig.. Darn it!!! Myb IF i got bajet from anyway, i'll consider to change my proc.. a quad myb...hihi

So for bro cheesecake69, dont rush2 la for upgrading, consideration is a must.. for a tight bajet person like us...or any1 else..

Added on March 6, 2009, 1:39 pmThis thread is quite 'sunyi sepi' la now... hehe

This post has been edited by Mavrix: Mar 6 2009, 01:39 PM
Mavrix
post Mar 6 2009, 07:37 PM

1,118 posts

QUOTE(dlwl @ Mar 6 2009, 06:02 PM)
if sunyi sepi then we shall make it alive again..laugh.gif
yeah agree on what mavrix said about upgrading, that's what i do too whenever i wanna upgrade my pc. see which part needs an upgrade, , do some budget planning, and research for the best model that suits the budget. then when the time comes, go for it biggrin.gif

if terburu-buru sometimes might run out of budget or overspend, then you might end up with a financial crisis.
YUp...Better Crysis Warhead then financial crysis.. hehehe... tongue.gif

Frankly for me, one of the major reason why im upgrading is...... GAMING la ofkos... rclxm9.gif
Its started when Crysis enter our shore.. that time i was using xfx 7300gt (nice mid card for me), then i change to asus 8600gt, still not satisfied, go for single xfx 8800gt (its the most xpensive gpu card ive purchased) by that time the price is about rm900... can play so so la.. by that time im using samsung flat crt 17" monitor... but still not satisfied!!! purchased another unit of xfx 8800gt gpu and go for SLI...( using sli board but didnt utilised it is kinda waste for me..hihi and my fren said i was crazy!) and manage to get full graphics setting in crysis... then my mobo pulak kaput!! i got myself a nice 780i sli board from a nice fella in this forum... its not free ofkos but i guess the offer is quite ok.. coz by that time, a lot, i mean a lot of forumer wanted that board, so i grab it lah.. sweat.gif and many more upgrades ive oready done... still my proc pulak leher botol!!(bottleneck) doh.gif

BUt all of this upgrades is being done in about 2 years period!!! not in a month!... sweat.gif

After all this, still NOT SATISFIED!!! Donno why, but maybe a satan is bisik2 at my ears... hehe icon_idea.gif

i7?? x58?? DDR3 tri-channel??? gtx295?? thats all is about bajet, bajet and bajet..... cry.gif

And what the H#LL am i babbling around here??? Sory guys, heheh rclxub.gif
Mavrix
post Mar 6 2009, 08:19 PM

1,118 posts

micro-stuttering?? hmm lets wait for our guru answer this q...
Mavrix
post Mar 6 2009, 08:57 PM

1,118 posts

QUOTE(dlwl @ Mar 6 2009, 08:53 PM)
laugh.gif mavrix, it's normal la when once we get something already then we want something better, i bet lots of people face this too biggrin.gif
Well that mean we are a normal human being right?? if not then myb somthing wrong there.. hehehe biggrin.gif

Added on March 6, 2009, 10:23 pmMicro stuttering... i found on many sites that saying the multi gpu confguration is the cause.. any1?

This post has been edited by Mavrix: Mar 6 2009, 10:23 PM
Mavrix
post Mar 27 2009, 08:54 AM

1,118 posts

QUOTE(rain_skywalker @ Mar 15 2009, 11:24 PM)
what mobo suitable to do sli eh??
anyone have suggestion??
from gigabyte n asus perhaps..
ud3p n p5n-d can sli?
TRy search for EVGA 750i FTW at the garage sales.. its the best sli board which is the price below 1K...
Mavrix
post Mar 31 2009, 10:54 AM

1,118 posts

QUOTE(SmallraiN @ Mar 31 2009, 12:58 AM)
then can i sli same gc but not same brand?
Diff brand no prob but make sure the speed and spec is the same...
Mavrix
post May 15 2009, 01:05 AM

1,118 posts

GUys..

Any1 here has install the latest nvidia driver?? whql 185.85???

Ive just install to my pc now and my system got a bit slower.. why is that?? is it normal?
Mavrix
post May 15 2009, 01:56 AM

1,118 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ May 15 2009, 01:17 AM)
It make my computer slow on the Right Click on Desktop pop out refresh menu and Nvidia Control Panel menu.
Yea.. same as me right now!!!
Mavrix
post May 15 2009, 08:12 PM

1,118 posts

What i do is revert back to a previous driver... Im not going to risk by attempting to alter my win registery..
I guess just hav to wait another driver from nvidia... or 3dguru as well..

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0404sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:12 PM