11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Chubby Hamsters V6, Sleeping furballs of Fun!

jayniel
post Mar 23 2008, 06:31 PM

802 posts

QUOTE(d100200 @ Mar 23 2008, 02:12 PM)
My baby hammies. Well, the mom had drag the babies out from the sand box.

by the way, the babies now can run around, shall I serve them some egg white ? or any food can recomend?
that's 3 agouti n 1 albino.. it's not argente becos doesnt look like my 3 argente pups at all.. page 1 of this thread contains many info on wat u can feed ur hamsters smile.gif

Added on March 23, 2008, 6:35 pm
QUOTE(ROTiJOHN @ Mar 23 2008, 03:46 PM)
Lolz my Robos like to eat honey star..hahaha damn funny..btw anywan one to exchange my robo with male 1?coz i terbought two female last time..sigh
read up on wat u're supposed/NOT supposed to do when breeding hamsters..

This post has been edited by jayniel: Mar 23 2008, 06:35 PM
jayniel
post Mar 24 2008, 06:00 PM

802 posts

tsk tsk, i can't imagine a woman giving birth over n over again.. i mean, tat's absolute torture.. same with animals, no matter they're rodents or watever, dun torture them like tat.. poor thing... at least wait a few months before allowing them to have the next batch (that is if u r at all ready for it....)

Added on March 24, 2008, 6:02 pm
QUOTE(4Rings @ Mar 24 2008, 05:57 PM)

My ex. hamster and offsprings.
RC? c some agouti n argente there..

This post has been edited by jayniel: Mar 24 2008, 06:02 PM
jayniel
post Mar 25 2008, 02:49 PM

802 posts

wanna ask some RC pros here.. i bought a RC from a forumer not loo long ago, but recently she has shown signs of flipping iover.. sometimes she even do somersaults backwards too..

the forumer told me it's just her playful behaviour.. but i dun think so n i think it's a genetic deformity.. may i noe wat reli is the cause? will it pass down to her future pups? very concerned here, need urgent guidance on this matter.. n how can it be cured?

thanks alot, just wanna clarify my doubts ere..
jayniel
post Mar 25 2008, 09:35 PM

802 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Mar 25 2008, 05:50 PM)
Did your hamster fall recently? Coz a blow on the head could lead a hamster to flip and circle a bit but it would go away once the hamster is steady. If it goes on, then it is a genetic disorder.

Oh, do not breed this hamster. It is a genetic disorder. Happens commonly in mottled lines. It has to do with the brain. It comes in 3 forms, flipping, pacing and circling. In extreme cases, the hamsters would stop eating and starve.

it could've started happening weeks ago, but i do not notice.. until yesterday nite (i slept late) i notice it flips n somersaults.. it's impossible she bangs her head on anything cos there's nth in my tank except water bottle n plastic food bowl.. btw she's probably around 2 months old now.. it's happening again today n it could be wat u said, a genetic disorder.. but she's not a mottled.. any idea how this came about? inbreeding? parents carrying this disorder? she still carries out normal activiteis but will flip all of a sudden..

hope the forumer wont breed that line again.....
jayniel
post Mar 26 2008, 05:50 PM

802 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Mar 25 2008, 10:14 PM)
Mottled, could be one of the parents is a mottled.... or a banded. But it is more common in mottleds.... meaning, even solid colours also can get this but not so easily. So if yours has it, then it is just one of the solids that gets it. The genetic disorder didn't turn up in the parent but in the new generation. This happens sometimes.

If she somersaults, then it is the brain disorder already. She would need to be housed alone so other hamsters do not bully her.
thanks for ur reply.. now i know more about this..

Added on March 26, 2008, 5:59 pm
QUOTE(bidangayah @ Mar 26 2008, 11:15 AM)
well i want to breed them for both fun n profit. yes it does lessen the smell so far.
ok, first of all, u shouldnt breed them for fun.. because giving birth is not a fun thing to them, at all.. next, there is no such thing as profit making in breeding hamsters unless u spent very little on them, which means not taking care of them well.. i breed hamsters too n am still making losses due to the amount i spend on them everyday..

next i hope u'll do research on the hamster u're trying to breed before actually doing so.. by saying tat ur hamster are pearls when they are actually agouti show ur lack of knowledge.. if u're breeding hamsters to sell to people, then make an effort to breed a good quality hamsters, not just simply breed n sell to make money..

when breeding them u need to take very good care of the mother.. feed good food to her.. n u need to separate the male into another cage/tank to prevent overbreeding, which will exhaust the female.. there are tonnes of info on the first page of this thread, or u can even google on wat u shud/shudnt do when breeding a hamster.. read up on genetics too if possible.. above all, every breeder must have an objective in wat they're doing.. if ur objective is just for fun n profit, pls reconsider for the hamsters' sake smile.gif

Added on March 26, 2008, 6:09 pm
QUOTE(sogoatticus @ Mar 26 2008, 12:59 PM)
eh can someone help me?my 2 males WW starting to fight this few days..actually only the pearl attacking the agouti..the agouti somtimes bleed a bit..they live together so long and no fight at all untill now..any mistakes that i did?
main factor is the gender/sex of the hamsters..
male-male pairs will fight when they reach minimum 2 months of age, this is from my experience.. but some people have experienced their males to be able to live peacefully till adulthood..

another factor is the size of cage/tank..
winter white is very territorial, fyi.. they will fight over space.. so providing a bigger cage/tank may help the situation to a certain level ONLY..

since they've been attacks to the point of bleeding, best n only way is to separate them, before fatality occurs.. males ww are harderto remain together til adulthood becos of BOTH the reasons above..

u din make any mistakes, but probably the careless mistake u did was to place them together?

Added on March 26, 2008, 6:18 pm
QUOTE(bidangayah @ Mar 26 2008, 01:25 AM)
well thx for all the infos and images, but here i've got a few questions

1. both are pearls i think, why i have to separate them?
2. what is sterile hamster? is it like albino?
3. how to know the age coz this couple i got from my frens
4. how to know their health?
5. if cant breed same pearl, what species shud i pair them with.
ans:
1. neither are pearls.......
2. sterile means 'mandul'.. 'mandul' means unable to produce young.. in WW, it only happens to male heterozygous pearl..
3. age is not easy to determine, for me i look at their length of the body n also their face.. let people with more experience answer this
4. go to a vet sweat.gif
5. u shud always pair with SAME SPECIES.. wat we're talking about here is the coat color.. certain coat colors when paired up, give 'cacat' pups.. this 1 u have to google for more info, cos there's too much to say..

ps/ n ya, the cage is only enuf for 1 hamster..

This post has been edited by jayniel: Mar 26 2008, 06:22 PM
jayniel
post Mar 27 2008, 03:19 PM

802 posts

hooverbell's one of our forumers that have 3 long-haired syrians.. apparently she bought them from jonker walk, melaka smile.gif
jayniel
post Mar 28 2008, 06:31 PM

802 posts

-Nos-

u can separate the tanks using impraboard.. can buy inpraboard from bookstores eg. Popular.. this method i learn from Crazymouse de.. very useful..
jayniel
post Apr 1 2008, 03:13 AM

802 posts

QUOTE(hooverbell @ Apr 1 2008, 03:02 AM)
oops.gif miss the chance d!!! Too busy during weekends...  dry.gif
i missed it too.. but i thought it's only for dogs n cats? the entrance fee itself is already rm5 lol..
jayniel
post Apr 1 2008, 07:02 PM

802 posts

QUOTE(ROTiJOHN @ Apr 1 2008, 06:55 PM)
it's time to wash my hamster cage..gegegege...
zzz.. go wash then.. lolz..
jayniel
post Apr 1 2008, 10:21 PM

802 posts

sometimes, the highest price is not the rarest.. the highest price for me so far is roborovski, n they certainly r not rare.. there are even rarer hamsters like certain colors of the RC, and also the white-faced robo which i've been looking for too..
jayniel
post Apr 1 2008, 11:28 PM

802 posts

QUOTE(-Nos- @ Apr 1 2008, 10:22 PM)
As for RCs, i think four genes colour CHAMPAGNE is the rarest hamster  biggrin.gif
it's VERY rare, because it's quite hard to breed that color.. many steps needed for it..
jayniel
post Apr 2 2008, 06:43 PM

802 posts

QUOTE(anderyna @ Apr 2 2008, 03:04 PM)
i will try to go there^^

just now i try to let stand on my hand and their claws poke me happy.gif
i think 1st time not used to them sweat.gif
wat hamsters u have there?
jayniel
post Apr 2 2008, 11:53 PM

802 posts

another possibility is the female pregnant, so will be more aggressive.. but very seldom will lead to fights.. do they draw blood?
jayniel
post Apr 3 2008, 02:04 AM

802 posts

anyone noes where the pet shop near pudu raya is? how to go there from the bus station?
jayniel
post Apr 3 2008, 04:47 PM

802 posts

QUOTE(siokjinlim @ Apr 3 2008, 11:16 AM)
help help !! i notice my syrian hammy is sick... looks quite bad.. bout 7 hours ago, i was awake and she's still running the wheel..

10am: i notice on the left side of her jaw is bleeding... (look like someone when got punched on sides) and the was on the 2nd floor of the cage.. i find it weird as she looks weak... then i put my hand as a ladder and she walk down.. now she's eating at the bowl there, and then walk around... the way she walks like she have trouble with her back legs..

4rings.. you also experienced the same thing??? i cant stop worrying sad.gif

edited : photos...  icon_question.gif

[attachmentid=432858]
[attachmentid=432860]
well i cant tell u wat happen, but ur second floor can cause hurt to the hamster's legs.. put card board on top of it or smth to prevent the hamster's legs from going thru..
jayniel
post Apr 3 2008, 06:13 PM

802 posts

well, hamsters noe when to take out the food they store.. i dun think it's cos of rotting, more probably an external cause.. well, maybe u can apply some medicine or wat?
jayniel
post Apr 5 2008, 10:08 PM

802 posts

maybe wat u can do is fix the tubes sideways instead of upwards.. at least they will not keep falling..
jayniel
post Apr 7 2008, 12:34 AM

802 posts

i think for 1 week is ok.. but make sure the water is full n the food is enough for 1 week.. n preferably change the bedding b4 u leave..
jayniel
post Apr 7 2008, 05:29 PM

802 posts

QUOTE(lil`pumpkinz @ Apr 7 2008, 01:11 PM)
I'm having a big headache. My WWs are fighting as if there's no tmrw. I put the male together, they fight. I put female with the male, they breed. I have 10 hammies now. Do I really need to put them separately in 10 cages? cry.gif
well, u ought to separate them in the first place.. do not place them together anymore.. u should have thought tat this would happen in the first place.. separate those that cannot be placed together..

Added on April 7, 2008, 5:30 pm
QUOTE(bidangayah @ Apr 7 2008, 04:39 PM)
my Julie's four pups start independent themselves, they start find and eat own food even their eye haven't open yet  sweat.gif. when can i touch the pups? so cute four of them  drool.gif
u can actually start touching them when their fur have grown.. but beware because they walk very fast.. careful not to drop them or hold them too high, so as not to injure them..

This post has been edited by jayniel: Apr 7 2008, 05:30 PM
jayniel
post Apr 7 2008, 06:39 PM

802 posts

QUOTE(-Nos- @ Apr 7 2008, 05:32 PM)
told u edi wert, travel to KL and pass it to me  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
Before their fur grown, better dont touch them, the mum might eat them
lolz repeating my words..

11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top