7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Chubby Hamsters V6, Sleeping furballs of Fun!

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 3 2008, 09:44 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(anderyna @ Apr 3 2008, 10:59 AM)
Pet Shack there have public transport?? @ cab ??
Cause I'm taking cab from KTM station and I scare Petshack there dont have any cab available then die.. haha

My hammy like to sniff sniff and lick my finger when I get close to them wub.gif
They are so fast, how to grab them up?? doh.gif
You can take a taxi from Kelana Jaya LRT, it will cost Rm15. Another way is to hop onto the rapidkl bus t623. It cost only RM1 but you would spend about 10 to 15 minutes walking fast. On a hot or rainy day, really not nice loh hahah... but I do this tongue.gif Sometimes when I am lazy or carry alot of stuff, I will use cab. Taking a cab from KTM may cost more I think..... anyway, RM15 is without meter. I can't get cabs that run on meter around Kelana Jaya, I did get one last year and the cost was like Rm8 to Sunway Pyramid.

Another way is to go to Kota Raya to find a bus that goes to Sunway Pyramid. I'm not familiar with the numbers so you gotta find your own.

QUOTE(siokjinlim @ Apr 3 2008, 11:16 AM)
help help !! i notice my syrian hammy is sick... looks quite bad.. bout 7 hours ago, i was awake and she's still running the wheel..

10am: i notice on the left side of her jaw is bleeding... (look like someone when got punched on sides) and the was on the 2nd floor of the cage.. i find it weird as she looks weak... then i put my hand as a ladder and she walk down.. now she's eating at the bowl there, and then walk around... the way she walks like she have trouble with her back legs..

4rings.. you also experienced the same thing??? i cant stop worrying sad.gif

edited : photos...  icon_question.gif

[attachmentid=432858]
[attachmentid=432860]
Whoa.... your hammy got infected mouth. This is due to chewing cage bars. I think you should temporarily house her in a storage box. Let her mouth heal. Feed her with cooked pasta, cooked potato, veggie and some cooked egg.

Also, try and get yourself to Aman Suria's Hand and Paws vet. Dr Jenny, who is available during Sundays knows how to treat hamsters with such wounds. It won't be expensive, very affordable too.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 3 2008, 10:06 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(siokjinlim @ Apr 3 2008, 09:55 PM)
oh, thanks for pointing it out to me hun... or else i really dont know what to do next.. ok, will house her elsewhere first.. and i think i should remove the solid foods, and give her only soft foods... any specific kind of food i should give her to help her to recover faster?
Yes, remove the normal hamster food. Give those foods that I have mentioned. You can still give her some seeds but limit it and no hard dogfood or biscuits.

Bring to Hands and Paws to check if the infection is serious or not. Coz maybe need antibiotics.

QUOTE(qqiqii @ Apr 3 2008, 09:55 PM)
hi, newbie here ..
i jz get a WW last 2 week..
today, dono y my hamster vomit,something green colour 1.. but in her food don hav green colour thing, andthen she aso dono y finish all her water suddenly,abt 35 ml...
wat can i do T___T?
emm~wanna ask .. peanut is it ok for hamster ?
Vomit? How you know vomit? Did you see?

Hamsters do not drink much water if they are kept in a cool environment....

Peanut is ok but not everyday. Give only a few once or twice a week.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 3 2008, 10:34 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(qqiqii @ Apr 3 2008, 10:30 PM)
just now my sister play v hamster, den suddenly from hamster mouth come out a water type de thing,green colour,abt 20 sen size ...
den my sister told me when i bac home ...
Hamsters can't vomit. They mostly keep food in their cheeks so sometimes they would empty their cheek pouches when you hold them. But if it is liquid.... it could be some kinda infection. Are you sure it really vomited something liquid?
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 3 2008, 10:49 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(anderyna @ Apr 3 2008, 10:44 PM)
wow, then how you come back from sunway??? laugh.gif I mean that from the sunway to LRT station, sry for asking so many Qs.
I'm planning to go there tomorrow morning, hope I can get back before 2p.m. laugh.gif
you can walk back to Sunway Pyramid, the bus would take you back to Kelana Jaya or Subang Carrefour. Up to you where you wanna stop and ticket RM1 for whole day. Good mah. But it is not difficult to go back coz there got buses to KL Sentral as well.

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 4 2008, 04:11 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(IcedNyior @ Apr 3 2008, 11:49 PM)
I just got my hamster yesterday. Seems pretty scared tho, keeps running away when I want to pick it up and squeals. Im not so sure what species it is tho, can u guys help?
user posted image user posted image
how do i make it more tame?
Your WW looks thin, anyway, it looks like an adult too.

The colour is agouti.

QUOTE(IcedNyior @ Apr 4 2008, 12:42 PM)
so does this hamster have to be housed seperately? Im not sure what it eats. i give it food but the food like never seems to diminish and always scattered everywhere
For WW, it is best to house separately so that no fights would come about. Some may say no lah, keep in pairs lah.... but trust me, WW are happier when housed alone.

QUOTE(anderyna @ Apr 4 2008, 02:19 PM)
My two cutie did not finish their food, they scattered the food everywhere cry.gif
I refll their food 1 day once, I thought hammy like to eat much..
But they just eat some cry.gif
Unfinished food, you refill everyday? I only refill every 2 to 3 days, coz it is just food wastage if you keep refill and refill everyday. Hamsters are hoarders, they keep food in their secret storage and won't go hungry for long. So just let your hamster be.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 5 2008, 03:33 PM

12,047 posts

I also would like to add.... mixing the babies, if they are all males and females, they would breed, causing another generation and they would be inbreed.... if you keep doing this, then you are really irresponsible.

Already you let the female breed again, I wonder, maybe the mother hamster got pregnant from one of her sons? Animals living in captivity need to be monitored. Animals cannot tell which is son or mother or grandpa or daughter or aunty... all they know is male and female, must breed.

Act responsible, make sure you separate the males and females siblings away from each other. If you think buying so many tanks or cages is a waste of money and space, then you should have thought about breeding carefully.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 6 2008, 10:46 AM

12,047 posts

Is not lack of vitamins. Yellowish.... your WW is a Pearl? Yellowish is from dirty habits. Like sitting or sleeping in bedding that is soaked with pee.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 6 2008, 07:25 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(lil`pumpkinz @ Apr 6 2008, 04:19 PM)
Sapphire. I change their bedding two days once. Only noticed yellowish fur around his ears, last time was grey.
could be changing his coat or aging...... I can't tell much unless I see the hamster myself.

QUOTE(bidangayah @ Apr 6 2008, 04:42 PM)
as i read through all the earlier pages, and googling, i wonder something. so here i want all the experts make this clear so i can understand well. well as u guys said, hamster can only pregnant three times a year and everything all the do's and dont's, is it based on experiences from all the pet lover or its based on fact. is it the same in their real life and habitat that the hamster only can pregnant three times a year, female will separate herself from female and so on? i just wonder and wanna make myself clear. thanks you in advanced. smile.gif
Is not can get pregnant. It means they should not get pregnant more than 3 times. By right, a hamster can give birth every 2 months..... so..... a year got how many months? Would you like to see a female give birth every 2 months?

In the wild, female hamsters can hide away from males if they feel tired or have babies with them. The wild, there is such a big space, so many hiding places, tunnels, burrows.... they can make sure that the get their own rest from breedings.

But in captivity, our cages are small. Male and female always see each other. As soon the female is capable of breeding, the male will not pass the opportunity.

As breeders, we practice ethical breeding. As we keep them in captivity, their space is limited. If we do not control the breedings, who will? How would you feel if the female has a shorter lifespan?
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 6 2008, 09:49 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(MooZz @ Apr 6 2008, 09:25 PM)
Anyone of you know in KL which pet shop sell hamster stuff cheaper?
or discount offered ?
Quite newbie n hope not to get cheated...lol... happy.gif
Go to Pet Shack at Sunway. It is opposite Sunway pyramid. There got a McDonalds, the petshop is behind it.

Well, not every petshop cheats lah.... coz you must think about rental, staff pay, upkeep of shop.... that is why the prices vary. Sometimes online cheaper coz people no shop, do from home or something.

Anyway, for hamster stuff, go to Pet Shack. I always go there to buy stuff. I'm always satisfied with their service and also good price. Cheaper than those big big petshops lah.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 6 2008, 10:16 PM

12,047 posts

[quote=MooZz,Apr 6 2008, 10:11 PM]
Well, not every petshop cheats lah.... coz you must think about rental, staff pay, upkeep of shop.... that is why the prices vary. Sometimes online cheaper coz people no shop, do from home or something.

Anyway, for hamster stuff, go to Pet Shack. I always go there to buy stuff. I'm always satisfied with their service and also good price. Cheaper than those big big petshops lah.

[/quote]

Icic, thx for ya infomation....haha....
on9 ar....see how lor....i staying at cyberjaya...
not all seller will go tht far mar...
n i have to come out n take...lol.. rclxub.gif

[/quote]

Normal lah like that. I stay at Setapak, travel to Sunway, that is like 40 minute LRT ride, then a RM12 10 minute taxi ride. Sometimes no taxi, so I wait for bus, that is like max 30 minute wait, plus the ride is about 15 minutes, walk to the shop is another 10 to 15 minutes. By the time I reach, sweat like just go gym hahahah...

I think it depends on how determine you are lah.

You can take the bus from Putrajaya. U43, then it drops you at Kelana Jaya LRT. There, just wait for bus T623 to go Sunway Pyramid. RM1 bus ticket, then drop off at Sunway Pyramid, walk down to the 1st pyramid mall, cross the road using overhead bridge then walk towards to McD. Hahahaah.... easy lah. U43 to KJ is like a 30 minute bus ride.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 6 2008, 10:23 PM

12,047 posts

So nice. I got no friend fetch.... sob sob.

Tomorrow I take the LRT to KL Sentral, then KLIA transit to Putrajaya, then taxi to Cyberia.
Ahahah.... cost money but saves time.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 6 2008, 10:28 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(MooZz @ Apr 6 2008, 10:25 PM)
Wow...tht cost a lot le...
u come Cyberia just to deal ?
or find frend oso?
I got classes tomorrow. Also go Cyberia to meet with friend for discussion lah heheheh.

Sometimes I gotta travel like that. For me, normal already coz that is how I travel to buy hamster products and look for nice hamsters at petshops tongue.gif
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 9 2008, 12:00 AM

12,047 posts

Cheese is salty.... and this comes from personal experience.... well, I tried this when I was a hamster newbie hahahah.... feeding cheese, it would make your hamster's pee smell stronger loh. But also it is full of salt and fat, so better not feed. Cottage cheese is ok coz low in fat and salt.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 9 2008, 07:48 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Apr 9 2008, 06:41 PM)
how many days can a hamster tahan without water?1 of my hamster is dehydrated due to my mistake,i seperate female & male and I dint notice the safari cage have a taller bottle location then my custom storage box..

currently had fed her water & juicy fruits...

and I had once read before we can give them a very little amount of mix water+100plus izzit(ofcos without gas already)?

now she is thinner & skin bounce back slowly....i seperated her on sat..today i just notice shes not active anymore
If the day is hot, even 1 day no water can die already. Anyway, separate her, and give the water mix with 100+. Don't put any wheel in the cage. Give a hid box for it to rest.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 9 2008, 09:28 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(mlinda @ Apr 9 2008, 08:53 PM)
Nobody replyyy...
Again...Help me!!!!

My syirian mom has out from her cage and left 8 babies and until now still missing ..she not appear . Her babies only 10 days old.. any suggestion? Can i put her babies to other mom..?

Now already 3 hours missing...afraid the babies die.... sad.gif
If you don't find the mom in 24 hours, the babies can die from cold and also no milk. If you put with another female, chances are the other female may reject or cannibalize.

Keep on looking for your female. You still really have to find her.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 9 2008, 09:37 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(jayniel @ Apr 9 2008, 09:31 PM)
my female ww n female rc are able to take care of other mum's pups.. sometimes i let them take turns to milk the babies so tat wont burden the mother too much.. is this impossible in syrian? just want to noe..
Dwarf is different. They are communal. Syrians it really depends. If lucky then ok.... if not, end up with dead babies.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 12 2008, 12:01 AM

12,047 posts

Petster Magazine is out. Got hamster article for this issue with cute pictures.

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 13 2008, 12:30 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(hooverbell @ Apr 12 2008, 10:02 PM)
I just came back from Petlovers Center... bought 1 packet of Breeder Celect for RM22 and 1 packet of corn cob for RM14.80.

Wanna try this two brands and see if it's good... biggrin.gif

By the way, wanna ask what brand of corn cobs did u guys usually buy?? I bought Living World's brand. Is it ok?

Corn cobs are all the same. So should be no problem.

QUOTE(irkuysm @ Apr 12 2008, 10:37 PM)
How much is fish tank price ussually???Aproximately price because i need to see my budget here....
Glass tanks are about Rm20 to Rm40 depending on glass thickness and also size. If you want a plastic tank, the biggest is a 2ft plastic one with lid, about Rm40.

QUOTE(narutokun83 @ Apr 13 2008, 12:15 AM)
just want to enquire with the experts here. Is it ok to bath hamsters in water?
NoooooOOOOooOOOOOOOoooooo

You should NEVER bath a hamster in water.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 13 2008, 06:09 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(akubest @ Apr 13 2008, 05:01 PM)
regarding my post bout my male n female hamster fighting, they are actually both males.. haha.. my fren told me juz now.. no wonder they were fighting.. the seller bluff me.. sad.gif
luckily i have two cages to separate them..
Males, so what? Is it bad to keep males?

Why do you want a male and female? Prepared to have 4 cages/tanks at home to separate the mother and father, males and females siblings? Not scared of over breeding?

Hamsters fight coz they are territorial. If you put male and female together also they would fight, same with female and females. Winter Whites are territorial and if your cage/tank is not suitable for it and their living spaces are too cluttered, then of course they would fight. Please don't jump into the bandwagon of just wanting a male and female to see babies crawling around.

The only hamsters that can live in groups or pairs are RC hamsters and Robo hamsters. WW only can tolerate siblings, but petshop ones, once you bring home, they feel it is different surroundings so they would fight for new territory. After some time, even siblings that never fight before would fight in the future. WW fights till bloody. Syrians too.

Added on April 13, 2008, 6:11 pm
QUOTE(blurjoey @ Apr 13 2008, 11:19 AM)
If OVO is the envy of other hamsters, I wonder what my ZooZone2 is to other hamsters? tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif

PS - The 4 tanks are all 2 feet tanks
All your tanks the best for syrians heheheh. rclxms.gif

Added on April 13, 2008, 6:18 pm
QUOTE(falxon88 @ Apr 13 2008, 05:23 AM)
Hi everyone! I got my syrian not long ago. Should be 2 months now. Whats the actual size for a 2 months syrian? 3 months? 4 months?

When will my syrian reach her fully adult size? Thank you!
It should be around 3 inches in length.... but once adult, it can go to 6 inches. They will reach their adult size in 4 to 5 months.

QUOTE(weefung2003 @ Apr 13 2008, 06:13 AM)
is this cage suitable for one syrian hamster?? thanks smile.gif
Oh no, that is not suited. Anyway, if you get a syrian from nezumitaro, she won't agree to this too. That cage is meant for dwarfs. It is an ok temporary cage or carrier cage for a syrian, but never for the next 3 years.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Apr 13 2008, 06:18 PM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 13 2008, 09:14 PM

12,047 posts

What you have done is good enough. You can give some fresh veggies, bits of cooked chicken meat or dry dogfood.

You should only start to clean the cage with partial wood shaving cleans after the hamster babies are about 10 to 14 days old. Then you can start handling the babies once they are about 16 days old already.

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0517sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:09 PM