29 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Bottom

Latest utorrent 1.8 Beta, Speed improve... no more throttle

squall_kay
post Jun 13 2008, 12:51 AM

5,726 posts

im currently using this uTorrent 1.8 Beta n im new in this torrent thingy sweat.gif
emm...is there any tweaking need to be done in oder to improve uTorrent speed?
im using screamyx 512 only sad.gif
thanx

Added on June 13, 2008, 1:00 am
QUOTE(Lakum @ Jun 12 2008, 09:00 PM)
Thanks for the suggestions. Now i'm using build 10770 and my speed improve from 20kbps to 40kbps laugh.gif

Better than nothing....
thats the latest build rite?
btw, why at uTorrent website they only put build 10431?
http://download.utorrent.com/beta/utorrent...a-10431.upx.exe
tq

This post has been edited by squall_kay: Jun 13 2008, 01:00 AM
x10amin
post Jun 13 2008, 01:06 AM

132 posts

Build 10770
http://download.utorrent.com/beta/utorrent...a-10770.upx.exe
squall_kay
post Jun 13 2008, 01:22 AM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(x10amin @ Jun 13 2008, 01:06 AM)
thanx bro... notworthy.gif
dokidoki
post Jun 13 2008, 09:29 AM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

new version is up

--- 2008-06-12: Version 1.8 beta (build 10843)
- Change: remove extra debugging (exe size and CPU should be back to normal)
- Change: add ftp34.dll to malware DLLs list. Please scan your systems!
- Fix: Fatal Error: 3985
- Fix: Some tweaks to refix searchbox border issue
- Fix: a couple inverted Yes/No vs. Ok/Cancel checks

http://download.utorrent.com/beta/utorrent...a-10843.upx.exe
squall_kay
post Jun 13 2008, 09:47 AM

5,726 posts

i wonder why i only getting around 25kbps only?
is there any setting?
dokidoki
post Jun 13 2008, 10:34 AM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Jun 13 2008, 09:47 AM)
i wonder why i only getting around 25kbps only?
is there any setting?
could be the file u downloading have limited seed.....try download those popular file to test out..
tanos
post Jun 14 2008, 10:50 PM

410 posts

Currently happy with build 10431. Able to get the fastest torrent speed ever > 80 kbps for the cartoon Spectacular spiderman. I am sticking with this build until things go wrong....
blindbox
post Jun 14 2008, 11:04 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

Let me just say this, utorrent 1.8 has problems connecting to tracker. It seems that using proxomitron and having firefox as the user-agent makes connecting to tracker a breeze.
utorrent + proxomitron combo beats the hell out of deluge (I was using deluge until I realize utorrent 1.8 is actually faster, except for the fact that it is having problems connecting to tracker).
squall_kay
post Jun 14 2008, 11:53 PM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(tanos @ Jun 14 2008, 10:50 PM)
Currently happy with build 10431. Able to get the fastest torrent speed ever > 80 kbps for the cartoon Spectacular spiderman. I am sticking with this build until things go wrong....
ya im currently revert to this build..it turns out this build perform faster than latest build..dunno y rclxub.gif
tanos
post Jun 15 2008, 12:34 AM

410 posts

QUOTE(blindbox @ Jun 14 2008, 11:04 PM)
Let me just say this, utorrent 1.8 has problems connecting to tracker. It seems that using proxomitron and having firefox as the user-agent makes connecting to tracker a breeze.
utorrent + proxomitron combo beats the hell out of deluge (I was using deluge until I realize utorrent 1.8 is actually faster, except for the fact that it is having problems connecting to tracker).
does proximitron still works? Hrmm... interesting.... Could you post the setup? I've used it before, but already uninstalled it in this new pc.... forgot how to configure it.... doh.gif

This post has been edited by tanos: Jun 15 2008, 12:37 AM
squall_kay
post Jun 15 2008, 12:40 AM

5,726 posts

i oso wanna know smile.gif
blindbox
post Jun 15 2008, 02:56 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(tanos @ Jun 15 2008, 12:34 AM)
does proximitron still works? Hrmm... interesting.... Could you post the setup? I've used it before, but already uninstalled it in this new pc.... forgot how to configure it.... doh.gif
Sure, just download proxomitron june edition, run it(using google isn't that HARD).

Press Headers, scroll down to an user-agent. Edit one of them(or create a new one) by selecting it and pressing the edit button. Rename it to User-Agent:Mozilla Firefox under HTTP Header. Replace the text under Replacement Text with this:

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-GB; rv:1.8.1.14) Gecko/20080404 Firefox/2.0.0.14
Then Press the Ok button.

Now tick the "Out" box next to User-Agent:Mozilla Firefox. Press Apply then Ok and you're good to go.

I use the User Agent Switcher plugin to find out my user-agent(on firefox). You can always use something else, but I can't get it to work with netscape's user agent or whatever, so I decided to use firefox's.

Now, in utorrent 1.8, go to Options>Preferences(or just press ctrl+p)>Connection. Select proxy type as http, and insert 127.0.0.1 as ip and 8080 as port. Proxomitron needs to keep running for this to work. DO NOT tick the "Use proxy server for peer-to-peer connection".

By the way, your computer won't act as a public proxy as long as the "limit access to only this pc" is selected under config in proxomitron. If you still have doubts, just have a firewall on (I have my router for that).

Note: Proxomitron must be running while utorrent 1.8 is running if you were to use Proxomitron.

This post has been edited by blindbox: Aug 3 2008, 08:42 PM
tanos
post Jun 15 2008, 09:59 AM

410 posts

QUOTE(blindbox @ Jun 15 2008, 02:56 AM)
Sure, just download proxomitron june edition, run it(using google isn't that HARD).

Press Headers, scroll down to an user-agent. Edit one of them(or create a new one) by selecting it and pressing the edit button. Rename it to User-Agent:Mozilla Firefox under HTTP Header. Replace the text under Replacement Text with this:

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-GB; rv:1.8.1.14) Gecko/20080404 Firefox/2.0.0.14
Then Press the Ok button.

Now tick the "Out" box next to User-Agent:Mozilla Firefox. Press Apply then Ok and you're good to go.

I use the User Agent Switcher plugin to find out my user-agent(on firefox). You can always use something else, but I can't get it to work with netscape's user agent or whatever, so I decided to use firefox's.

Now, in utorrent 1.8, go to Options>Preferences(or just press ctrl+p)>Connection. Select proxy type as http, and insert 127.0.0.1 as ip and 8080 as port. Proxomitron needs to keep running for this to work. DO NOT tick the "Use proxy server for peer-to-peer connection".

By the way, your computer won't act as a public proxy as long as the "limit access to only this pc" is selected under config in proxomitron. If you still have doubts, just have a firewall on (I have my router for that).
Why do we need to insert ip as "insert 127.0.0.1 as ip"? Is this a specific ip for proxomitron?
blindbox
post Jun 15 2008, 11:02 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(tanos @ Jun 15 2008, 09:59 AM)
Why do we need to insert ip as "insert 127.0.0.1 as ip"? Is this a specific ip for proxomitron?
127.0.0.1 simply redirects back to yourself. It is the IP for localhost. Anyway, typing localhost as the IP might cause severe loop problems, in which I have tried using privoxy. I mean, cmon, proxomitron acts as a proxy server with YOU as the host and only YOU who is able to use it (unless you change the settings), so the IP address should be pointed back to you. Since I'm a helpful fellow, I'll throw in a link.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Localhost
tanos
post Jun 21 2008, 11:32 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(blindbox @ Jun 15 2008, 11:02 AM)
127.0.0.1 simply redirects back to yourself. It is the IP for localhost. Anyway, typing localhost as the IP might cause severe loop problems, in which I have tried using privoxy. I mean, cmon, proxomitron acts as a proxy server with YOU as the host and only YOU who is able to use it (unless you change the settings), so the IP address should be pointed back to you. Since I'm a helpful fellow, I'll throw in a link.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Localhost
ok thanks. Now using build 10431, without proximitron on my laptop ; wireless connection and able to get >90 kbps for Naruto Shipudden. Wow..... > 80 kbps is a wow for me.... although i know that some of you could get > 100 kbps..... sweat.gif

Now trying bleach, and see how fast it can go.....

Yup, still can go > 80 kbps..... another wow....

This post has been edited by tanos: Jun 22 2008, 12:55 AM
Biohazrd_XX
post Jul 4 2008, 04:37 PM

i'm using the latest U torrent 1.8(build 11200) and the speed is wonderfull...Attached Image

This post has been edited by Biohazrd_XX: Jul 4 2008, 04:46 PM
Thunderbolt
post Jul 4 2008, 05:34 PM

Tonight We Dine In Penang!
1,191 posts

Version 1.8 RC1 (build 11200)

- 2008-06-25: Version 1.8 RC1 (build 11200)
- Change: beta markings removed

http://download.utorrent.com/1.8/utorrent-1.8.exe
Laguna
post Jul 4 2008, 09:22 PM

313 posts

this client .......... my download only 1.5 kb...... even with 5 seeds T_T
shinjite
post Jul 4 2008, 10:49 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,320 posts