Latest utorrent 1.8 Beta, Speed improve... no more throttle

blindbox
post Jan 12 2008, 12:36 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

You're... kidding me....

Time to get my speeds to mach 3 drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif . I wish it to be faster than deluge, trying it now.

I read the posts (and the one at utorrent). I'll think twice before changing to this.

This post has been edited by blindbox: Jan 12 2008, 12:41 AM
blindbox
post Jun 14 2008, 11:04 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

Let me just say this, utorrent 1.8 has problems connecting to tracker. It seems that using proxomitron and having firefox as the user-agent makes connecting to tracker a breeze.
utorrent + proxomitron combo beats the hell out of deluge (I was using deluge until I realize utorrent 1.8 is actually faster, except for the fact that it is having problems connecting to tracker).
blindbox
post Jun 15 2008, 02:56 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(tanos @ Jun 15 2008, 12:34 AM)
does proximitron still works? Hrmm... interesting.... Could you post the setup? I've used it before, but already uninstalled it in this new pc.... forgot how to configure it.... doh.gif
Sure, just download proxomitron june edition, run it(using google isn't that HARD).

Press Headers, scroll down to an user-agent. Edit one of them(or create a new one) by selecting it and pressing the edit button. Rename it to User-Agent:Mozilla Firefox under HTTP Header. Replace the text under Replacement Text with this:

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-GB; rv:1.8.1.14) Gecko/20080404 Firefox/2.0.0.14
Then Press the Ok button.

Now tick the "Out" box next to User-Agent:Mozilla Firefox. Press Apply then Ok and you're good to go.

I use the User Agent Switcher plugin to find out my user-agent(on firefox). You can always use something else, but I can't get it to work with netscape's user agent or whatever, so I decided to use firefox's.

Now, in utorrent 1.8, go to Options>Preferences(or just press ctrl+p)>Connection. Select proxy type as http, and insert 127.0.0.1 as ip and 8080 as port. Proxomitron needs to keep running for this to work. DO NOT tick the "Use proxy server for peer-to-peer connection".

By the way, your computer won't act as a public proxy as long as the "limit access to only this pc" is selected under config in proxomitron. If you still have doubts, just have a firewall on (I have my router for that).

Note: Proxomitron must be running while utorrent 1.8 is running if you were to use Proxomitron.

This post has been edited by blindbox: Aug 3 2008, 08:42 PM
blindbox
post Jun 15 2008, 11:02 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(tanos @ Jun 15 2008, 09:59 AM)
Why do we need to insert ip as "insert 127.0.0.1 as ip"? Is this a specific ip for proxomitron?
127.0.0.1 simply redirects back to yourself. It is the IP for localhost. Anyway, typing localhost as the IP might cause severe loop problems, in which I have tried using privoxy. I mean, cmon, proxomitron acts as a proxy server with YOU as the host and only YOU who is able to use it (unless you change the settings), so the IP address should be pointed back to you. Since I'm a helpful fellow, I'll throw in a link.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Localhost
blindbox
post Jul 19 2008, 09:28 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(sky3vil @ Jul 18 2008, 06:46 PM)
proxomitron+utorrent(forced encryption) get decent speed from 1mbps streamyx. when i use deluge hardly get to 40kBps

*guide on proxomitron go to previous page(i 4got) not far from here....
Page 19.

People, it is time for utorrent to rise again. <insert drama>

Well anyway, I haven't used deluge for a long time now. If I ever need to use private trackers, I'll do tests on it.
blindbox
post Oct 28 2008, 06:22 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

I'll quote myself

QUOTE(blindbox @ Oct 28 2008, 06:11 PM)
Do you have a software firewall running? It might interfere with your deluge (I know nothing of firewalls in ubuntu).

I'm going to type this one a little big, sorry.

For example, my ESET firewall (from eset smart security) BLOCKS my utorrent so that I could only get 10 kB/s to 20 kB/s. Well, I off the firewall and it no longer blocks my connections and I get full speed. Do not use eset's firewall, it lacks an exclusion feature when running on auto filtering mode. That was a few months of slow dload speed sad.gif . Luckily, I don't have much to download that time. Now that I'm on holiday, I have plenty, hahahahaha.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

Well, with no firewall whatsoever, utorrent works well on windows. I have no idea how deluge does on windows or ubuntu though, haven't tried.
Firewalls affect, remember that.

0.0138sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:20 AM