15 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

The WordPress Thread, Anything related to Wordpress

destfull
post May 22 2009, 12:25 PM

Brain for Creativity
1,063 posts

QUOTE(IcedNyior @ May 22 2009, 11:58 AM)
You look at the source code then copied the code right?

Well, he wont see that piece of code in his coding because its automatically generated. As in, he sees something like this
CODE
<?php wp_get_archives('type=postbypost&limit=10&format=html'); ?>

which will then list down the post one by one (type) for the most recent 10 posts (limit) and put the <li> and </li> html tags before and after it (format)

Added on May 22, 2009, 12:23 pm
refer to this http://codex.wordpress.org/Template_Tags/get_posts

3.4 Random posts

This is the example code
CODE
<ul><li><h2>A random selection of my writing</h2>
   <ul>
<?php
$rand_posts = get_posts('numberposts=5&orderby=rand');
foreach( $rand_posts as $post ) :
?>
   <li><a href="<?php the_permalink(); ?>"><?php the_title(); ?></a></li>
<?php endforeach; ?>
   </ul>
</li></ul>

I havent downloaded that theme so i cant direct u exactly how to change it.

For the other 2 things - adding menu & limit post title, im not sure
sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif OMG! busted!
clementcpteh
post May 22 2009, 12:48 PM

Find the business that's right for you.
2,439 posts

yea, i copied from he web page source. look like need hand on might know know to change it.

QUOTE(IcedNyior @ May 22 2009, 11:58 AM)
You look at the source code then copied the code right?

Well, he wont see that piece of code in his coding because its automatically generated. As in, he sees something like this
CODE
<?php wp_get_archives('type=postbypost&limit=10&format=html'); ?>

which will then list down the post one by one (type) for the most recent 10 posts (limit) and put the <li> and </li> html tags before and after it (format)

Added on May 22, 2009, 12:23 pm
refer to this http://codex.wordpress.org/Template_Tags/get_posts

3.4 Random posts

This is the example code
CODE
<ul><li><h2>A random selection of my writing</h2>
   <ul>
<?php
$rand_posts = get_posts('numberposts=5&orderby=rand');
foreach( $rand_posts as $post ) :
?>
   <li><a href="<?php the_permalink(); ?>"><?php the_title(); ?></a></li>
<?php endforeach; ?>
   </ul>
</li></ul>

I havent downloaded that theme so i cant direct u exactly how to change it.

For the other 2 things - adding menu & limit post title, im not sure
destfull
post May 22 2009, 02:07 PM

Brain for Creativity
1,063 posts

Eh, hey/

BTW, I want to organize Malaysian Wordcamp 2009.

Please provide some suggestion here : http://izuddinhelmi.com/2009/05/03/malaysian-wordcamp-2009/
clementcpteh
post May 22 2009, 02:09 PM

2,439 posts

QUOTE(destfull @ May 22 2009, 02:07 PM)
Eh, hey/

BTW, I want to organize Malaysian Wordcamp 2009.

Please provide some suggestion here : http://izuddinhelmi.com/2009/05/03/malaysian-wordcamp-2009/
what is that? competition do wordpress?
destfull
post May 22 2009, 02:12 PM

Brain for Creativity
1,063 posts

QUOTE(clementcpteh @ May 22 2009, 02:09 PM)
what is that? competition do wordpress?
no lah sweat.gif

Malaysian Wordpress Camp.. gather all wordpress enthusiast at one place with some activities brows.gif
clementcpteh
post May 22 2009, 02:15 PM

2,439 posts

QUOTE(destfull @ May 22 2009, 02:12 PM)
no lah  sweat.gif

Malaysian Wordpress Camp.. gather all wordpress enthusiast at one place with some activities  brows.gif
hey, i want join. I good in Woo themes designed. Already took 2 themes from Woo themes shop.
Sevenfold
post May 22 2009, 06:05 PM

211 posts

How to make header banner like this ? Flash Banner

Pls Need icon_question.gif

Added on May 23, 2009, 1:59 pmanyone?

This post has been edited by Sevenfold: May 23 2009, 01:59 PM
IcedNyior
post May 24 2009, 03:48 PM

1,768 posts

QUOTE(Sevenfold @ May 22 2009, 06:05 PM)
How to make header banner like this ?  Flash Banner
Pls Need icon_question.gif

Added on May 23, 2009, 1:59 pmanyone?
U just use Adobe Flash, add a few pictures and make it fade in and out.

The menu is a standard drop down menu (not flash)
jianwei87
post May 24 2009, 05:19 PM

481 posts

how many post we can be posted on wordpress?
destfull
post May 24 2009, 05:21 PM

Brain for Creativity
1,063 posts

QUOTE(jianwei87 @ May 24 2009, 05:19 PM)
how many post we can be posted on wordpress?
wink.gif As far as I am concern, there is no limitation blink.gif
jianwei87
post May 26 2009, 08:24 PM

481 posts

how to creating a theme? i would like to create a themes for myself.
IcedNyior
post May 27 2009, 11:32 AM

1,768 posts

QUOTE(jianwei87 @ May 26 2009, 08:24 PM)
how to creating a theme? i would like to create a themes for myself.
to be honest, you already have problems just editing a theme, and u want to create your own theme?

You can come up with a design, then read up the wordpress documentation on http://codex.wordpress.org/
There are clear examples on how to use the codes.

You can also google for tutorials
SeeD
post May 27 2009, 11:50 AM

I Love Bubbles
6,728 posts

QUOTE(IcedNyior @ May 24 2009, 03:48 PM)
U just use Adobe Flash, add a few pictures and make it fade in and out.

The menu is a standard drop down menu (not flash)
That is not created by Flash.
That is javascript. Jquery I think?

EDIT: No it's not by Jquery. It's PHP O_O
http://louispang.com/blog/wp-content/theme...atingHeader.php
No idea, maybe goldfries can shed some light on this ... or any web programmers

This post has been edited by SeeD: May 27 2009, 11:54 AM
IcedNyior
post May 27 2009, 12:10 PM

1,768 posts

QUOTE(SeeD @ May 27 2009, 11:50 AM)
That is not created by Flash.
That is javascript. Jquery I think?

EDIT: No it's not by Jquery. It's PHP O_O
http://louispang.com/blog/wp-content/theme...atingHeader.php
No idea, maybe goldfries can shed some light on this ... or any web programmers
you can use flash also. but if you want to use a script, use this

http://webgarden.ca/Blog/how-to-rotate-hea...e-in-wordpress/
http://jakeldaily.com/wordpress-rotating-h...ges-no-plugins/

or if u want to use a plugin
http://wpimagerotator.com/
clementcpteh
post May 27 2009, 08:50 PM

2,439 posts

Jquery getting popular for wordpress themes, it can animating, and Ajax interactions for rapid web development. It no hard to read the code for modify.
mymaran4u
post May 27 2009, 11:03 PM

13 posts

Guys.....what is the best web hosting company for blog? Any suggestion? I want to start one & I'm new......please give some advice. icon_question.gif
clementcpteh
post May 28 2009, 12:52 AM

2,439 posts

QUOTE(mymaran4u @ May 27 2009, 11:03 PM)
Guys.....what is the best web hosting company for blog? Any suggestion?  I want to start one & I'm new......please give some advice. icon_question.gif
dont have any call best hosting. only have fast or slow, expensive or cheap web hosting. don't beliave people calling that is best web hosting. start a new blog. get 1 web hosting and domain. 5-10 G that is enough. want your blog look fast get better server.
etsuko
post May 30 2009, 03:44 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

After viewing, reading, observing and findings, I've noticed we've a number of want to be (not wannabe) Wordpress theme designers in Malaysia. But I'd like to have a serious discussion about wordpress theme development.

Goldy, make this a new topic if you think it should be later.

My discussion is about building commercial Wordpress themes. Which means it's either customized per client OR made-to-sell.

1. Do you create custom Wordpress themes from scratch (design, XHTML, etc)? OR, modify an existing theme?

2. Currently, do you sell the themes you have created?

3. Are the themes you are selling, custom or modified?

4. Personally, what is your opinion about designers who sell modified themes who were works of someone else?

5. What do you believe is the best method(s) to address the issue of designers who are selling modified themes or non-original works?

As mentioned, this is a serious discussion about a soon to be problem. And it's best to find a prevention, if ultimately a cure can't be found. smile.gif

This post has been edited by etsuko: May 30 2009, 03:44 PM
kadS
post Jun 6 2009, 05:07 PM

344 posts

Yes, im totally agree with u ets.

Me myself created my first theme from existing template and thinking to sell it. but after read on etsuko comment on my thread regarding building the repo first i've changed my mind.

okay speaking of template, i have submitted one theme to wordpress but there is one problem with the theme, here i quote from the email;

Since twitter and delicious links need to be set by the user to work there should be a theme option in wp-admin to do that

im not clear about this..anyone know how to do that?

This post has been edited by kadS: Jun 6 2009, 05:08 PM
etsuko
post Jun 6 2009, 07:36 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(kadS @ Jun 6 2009, 05:07 PM)
Yes, im totally agree with u ets.

Me myself created my first theme from existing template and thinking to sell it. but after read on etsuko comment on my thread regarding building the repo first i've changed my mind.

okay speaking of template, i have submitted one theme to wordpress but there is one problem with the theme, here i quote from the email;
im not clear about this..anyone know how to do that?
You've to learn to write a custom function normally added to functions.php. The function will later also add an option into the Appearance so a user who downloads the theme may only enter the necessary (username/API key) to activate twitter and delicious.

15 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0250sec    1.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:07 PM