The Quad Core "Advantage"?, Quad vs Dual core in the REAL world

Thrust
post Jan 5 2008, 12:05 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 5 2008, 02:48 AM)
most people boast dual-core is good but fact of the matter is most people aren't even utilizing 50% the processing capability of 1 core most of the time.
Well, I utilizes all my 4cores@100% running Folding@Home. My PS3 is not spared too. Looks like I am a Folding freak!!! drool.gif
onimusha333
post Jan 5 2008, 02:22 PM

169 posts

so if im onli a gamer and not running those heavy software,
which shud i go for between dual-core and quad core?
i mean heavy games like crysis, world in conflict etc...
sukhoi37
post Jan 5 2008, 02:22 PM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Jan 5 2008, 11:48 AM)
but the E6750 is cheaper sweat.gif it would be better if they compare E6850 with Q6600.
ya, but q6600 G0 has better ocibility.

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jan 5 2008, 12:03 PM)
Mana ade? It is not that straight forward.

If you look at that table, quad is good for video and 3D rendering but lose out on games and office apps. Disadvantage is quad is about rm300 more expensive and it is hotter, requiring better cooling for equivalent overclocks.....

In the end, it depends on what apps you use.......
hmm...quite true.
i see the chart wrongly... sweat.gif

t3chn0m4nc3r
post Jan 7 2008, 12:20 AM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(drgadgets @ Jan 5 2008, 05:52 AM)
When Nehalem comes out sometime in 2009, Penryn/Yorkdale would be outdated also anyway. It's an endless waiting game bro.
haiya... juz a few months or weeks only ma... if nex year than no need to wait lo...

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jan 5 2008, 08:29 AM)
At a high vcore for the E2160? No thanks...... Risk:benefit ratio not acceptable for me.... not to mention the heat.....
err... not really high... it's still below 1.4V... and temp below 60C... no risks... unless u use crappy Mobo and crappy PSU... if not everything should be fine... tat's wat slightly more pricey mobos are for... unsure.gif
TSdrgadgets
post Jan 8 2008, 05:45 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jan 5 2008, 07:29 AM)
At a high vcore for the E2160? No thanks...... Risk:benefit ratio not acceptable for me.... not to mention the heat.....
I thought u wanted the most bang for ur buck? blink.gif A E2160 isn't that ex anyway. Even if it fails in 1/2 years time(very short for a proc) u can always used the money u save to get a newer proc biggrin.gif
kmarc
post Jan 8 2008, 07:08 AM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(drgadgets @ Jan 8 2008, 05:45 AM)
I thought u wanted the most bang for ur buck? blink.gif A E2160 isn't that ex anyway. Even if it fails in 1/2 years time(very short for a proc) u can always used the money u save to get a newer proc biggrin.gif
Definitely best bang for buck but not with increased risk of damage. If need to RMA, then no more bang for buck wor..... smile.gif

Anyway, next CPU I'm aiming for - Q9450 wub.gif

Added on January 8, 2008, 7:09 am
QUOTE(t3chn0m4nc3r @ Jan 7 2008, 12:20 AM)
haiya... juz a few months or weeks only ma... if nex year than no need to wait lo...
err... not really high... it's still below 1.4V... and temp below 60C... no risks... unless u use crappy Mobo and crappy PSU... if not everything should be fine... tat's wat slightly more pricey mobos are for... unsure.gif
Really? If that is the case, then the proc would be excellent. However, I think a lot of users had to set high vcore to get high OC, IINM..... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jan 8 2008, 07:09 AM
Kataro
post Jan 8 2008, 09:03 PM

Super Saiya Jin 4
775 posts

For me...if I have that money, I sure will go for quad core...but I now is a student, can't afford to get quad core...so I will get dual core...like E8 series... maybe wait for it to be a bit more cheaper... laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
RegentCid
post Jan 8 2008, 09:09 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

If u using Nvidia Chipset board...no need wait 45nm Quad or Core2Duo....Nvidia chipset no support those Processor
mois
post Jan 8 2008, 09:37 PM

Enemy Territory
3,626 posts

if i got money, sure go for quad lo..
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Jan 8 2008, 11:05 PM

13k elite :P
13,340 posts

QUOTE(onimusha333 @ Jan 5 2008, 02:22 PM)
so if im onli a gamer and not running those heavy software,
which shud i go for between dual-core and quad core?
i mean heavy games like crysis, world in conflict etc...
definitely quad core laugh.gif even at crysis very high, you might need 4 cores 2 power up all the graphics with higher end GC too laugh.gif
-pWs-
post Jan 8 2008, 11:07 PM

8,545 posts

I will go for Quad too.
More PPD in folding. smile.gif

-pWs-
bulibulizaimon
post Jan 8 2008, 11:10 PM

PSN : bulibulizaimon
4,667 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Jan 8 2008, 11:07 PM)
I will go for Quad too.
More PPD in folding. smile.gif

-pWs-
Thumb for you mate! thumbup.gif

totally maniac folder haha laugh.gif
abechik
post Jan 8 2008, 11:16 PM

105 posts

knowing that you had a reserve extra power is good feeling already.. doesn't matter if it is used or not.. the more the better.

still using single core though..
-pWs-
post Jan 8 2008, 11:17 PM

8,545 posts

QUOTE(bulibulizaimon @ Jan 8 2008, 11:10 PM)
Thumb for you mate!  thumbup.gif

totally maniac folder haha  laugh.gif
laugh.gif laugh.gif
Fold sama2. smile.gif

-pWs-
hondy_wave
post Jan 9 2008, 12:28 PM

Lalalalala..
1,104 posts

sooner or later.. there will be no dual core or quad core.. there will be a more n more core in one single die chip.. i wonder when it will be.. doh.gif

n then all application will be bigger n storage may exceed 1 Terabyte..

GC oso can get fully advantages of this supermulti core.. n maybe GC oso can get quad core.. who knows.. cool2.gif
dkcc87
post Jan 9 2008, 06:02 PM

1,251 posts

QUOTE(hondy_wave @ Jan 9 2008, 12:28 PM)
sooner or later.. there will be no dual core or quad core.. there will be a more n more core in one single die chip.. i wonder when it will be..  doh.gif

n then all application will be bigger n storage may exceed 1 Terabyte..

GC oso can get fully advantages of this supermulti core.. n maybe GC oso can get quad core.. who knows..  cool2.gif
Well this is what u call technology..and were always chasing to be on par with it.. tongue.gif
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Jan 10 2008, 04:58 AM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jan 8 2008, 08:08 AM)
Definitely best bang for buck but not with increased risk of damage. If need to RMA, then no more bang for buck wor.....  smile.gif

Anyway, next CPU I'm aiming for - Q9450  wub.gif

Added on January 8, 2008, 7:09 am

Really? If that is the case, then the proc would be excellent. However, I think a lot of users had to set high vcore to get high OC, IINM.....  hmm.gif
ur OC ok wat... hmm.gif
empire23
post Jan 10 2008, 06:25 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

More cores = better even if you don't have applications to take advantage of it. Thread scheduling is done by the operating system at the end of the day and if the operating system can use all cores and dispatch all threads efficiently, thus if buying an octal core were cheaper than 2 halves and thus was value for money, there's no reason i wouldn't recommend it for a better operating system experience. Well that's provided the bottleneck is with the processor.
TSdrgadgets
post Jan 10 2008, 08:21 AM

178 posts

^erm empire23, i really don't get what u're trying to say here. Even if u can't make use of quad core it's still better?
SUSjoe_star
post Jan 10 2008, 09:36 AM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

QUOTE(minghao @ Jan 4 2008, 05:13 PM)
You have to see the quad core and the dual core clock speed when u comparing both them.
I'm not talking about performance bro. No doubt, in multithreaded apps more cores would win anytime. What I'm talking about is overall VALUE. That too depends on usage. I am totally fine using a single core to do my assignments and BT all day long, but I would be the 1st to say they're total sh1t for video encoding(not to mentin gaming n encoding at the same time, which i do sometimes sweat.gif ). Let me put it this way, not everyone would get the same value from a certain part. For average daily use, IMHO a single core would give the best value atm. Whereas anything else(gaming, video processing, etc etc) multicore all the way nod.gif

14 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0427sec    1.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:47 AM