50 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Call of Duty 4 Tournament, the discussion thread

TSking_kong
post Jan 10 2008, 10:53 AM

371 posts

i managed to get sample competition format from an online tournament.

i'd like some feedback on this too if possible.

PLEASE NOTE THIS IS NOT A FINAL CONFIRMATION OF THE TOURNAMENT.

the tourney may be changed to a TDM format, depending on response/feedbac.

it would seem most people like 8v8, more massacre!

This post has been edited by king_kong: Jan 10 2008, 11:09 AM

Attached File(s)
Attached File  Copy_of_Call_of_Duty_4.zip ( 35k ) Number of downloads: 44
Holyboyz
post Jan 10 2008, 01:33 PM

421 posts

File seems to be corrupted i cant unzip it
qu|kZ
post Jan 10 2008, 02:34 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(king_kong @ Jan 10 2008, 10:53 AM)
i managed to get sample competition format from an online tournament.

i'd like some feedback on this too if possible.

PLEASE NOTE THIS IS NOT A FINAL CONFIRMATION OF THE TOURNAMENT.

the tourney may be changed to a TDM format, depending on response/feedbac.

it would seem most people like 8v8, more massacre!
8v8 would be similar to the format in Battlefield Series smile.gif

ryohiko
post Jan 10 2008, 03:07 PM

Gamemode, i prefer sabotage, got an objectif. But some peaple dont understand how to play sabatoge, we go for TDM. xD
helicorpster
post Jan 10 2008, 05:55 PM

15 posts

every hour u can see cod4 kakis here but at night there will be more , about 10pm onwards
qu|kZ
post Jan 11 2008, 02:00 PM

48 posts

Since nothing is confirmed yet, i believe the tournament is delayed till the 23rd February right?
strace
post Jan 11 2008, 03:23 PM

Ayy
700 posts

Search & Destroy mode is the de facto format for CoD4 tourney but personally I like Sabotage biggrin.gif
Aoshi_88
post Jan 11 2008, 06:11 PM

Talking isn't difficult. Speaking is.
4,670 posts

QUOTE(king_kong @ Jan 8 2008, 12:38 PM)
sorry, i confused myself earlier (damn work).

it's suppose to be a TDM, not FFA. just that the players will be randomised at the start of each round.
Please give me your comment on these questions:

Q1. Fixed team or random teams (player placing decided by organizer, randomly)
Q2. Map suggestions
Q3. Time to play in the tournament: morning, afternoon or evening
Q4. Players in a team: 3 or 5
Q5. Suggested game modes
Q1 - I don't mind random. But i prefer fixed if a clan team was going to play

Q2 - Anything but Wetwork and Shipment. These maps aren't kind for newbies and both are grenade spam heavy.

Q3 - If it's going to be a weekend, starting in the morning should do it. I agree with qulkz on this, 10-11 is just nice.

Q4 - Maximum of 8 and minimum of 5. And allow at least one sub to standby in case.

Q5 - TDM/Sabotage/S&D.

Just realized that qu|kz replied here. You going to pwn us at CoD too eh, qu|kz? laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Anyway, now i gotta start looking for S&D and Sabotage servers. doh.gif

And i see that quite a few recommend HC as well. whistling.gif
TSking_kong
post Jan 11 2008, 06:28 PM

371 posts

QUOTE(Holyboyz @ Jan 10 2008, 01:33 PM)
File seems to be corrupted i cant unzip it
nuts, i forgot to tell everyone to RENAME IT TO .doc

then it'll open. sorry!
Holyboyz
post Jan 11 2008, 08:58 PM

421 posts

Read the Doc liao sounds good but i still think that 20 is a lil ex....is it 20 per person or team?besides that the rules all look ok and btw i just noticed today that tbun aman suria is running on ver 1.0 of COD 4 they should update it 2 1.4
slainemcroth
post Jan 12 2008, 02:52 AM

game modes : why not domination?
X-Lw|Ashley
post Jan 12 2008, 01:27 PM

Q1. Fixed team or random teams (player placing decided by organizer, randomly)
Q2. Map suggestions
Q3. Time to play in the tournament: morning, afternoon or evening
Q4. Players in a team: 3 or 5
Q5. Suggested game modes

A1. If this an introductory tournament, I suggest mixed players so it will be more player friendly and not owned by a single team. On the other hand, if you make fix teams, without a doubt you'll start to see CoD4 clans being made which is also good.

A2. No Shipment or there will be spawn-camping. No Wet works or a rank 41+ will just take 3 frag nades and just keep on throwing them. Turns the tourny into a Bomberman Tourny. All other maps will be fine but depending on the amount of players.

A3. If there are many players then you'll need more time unless you create more servers but be reminded that the server host lags more than usual.

A4. If you want 3 or 5 players in a team, I suggest Hardcore mode. On Regular mode, I would go with 8. That isn't too much nor too little.

A5. If Hardcore, play it with a few players so then will be more coordinated and not confusing and also with a purpose such as Search & Destroy or Domination modes. This will encourage a mixture of rushers and campers because if you play Hardcore on a Team Death Match, braise yourself for a camp fest which would make many players furious.
If Regular, any mode would be fine. On Regular, it promotes new set of tactics in a game. Flanking, Sniping, Rushing, etc etc. The Radar is important for tactical ops.

Its lunch time. I'll come back later if have more ideas. Sup Holyboy and Hello Seng! Ashley here. PEACE!

Added on January 12, 2008, 2:43 pmOh yeah peeps. Check this out. It has a lot to do with Spetsnaz or OpFor.

http://youtube.com/watch?v=wpKRd2xQeq8

This post has been edited by X-Lw|Ashley: Jan 12 2008, 02:43 PM
ryohiko
post Jan 12 2008, 04:43 PM

i prefer play sabotage than domination. domination is not suitable mode for CoD. if like bf2 is ok...big map...
i like hardcore mode. but how about the rookie player? the sure noob in the 1st place. so it's better play normal mode. last time i play at tbun wangsa maju, they dun wan hardcore cause they said it's hard to play. no map and all.
X-Lw|Ashley
post Jan 13 2008, 03:29 AM

In Tbun, Aman Suria we play Hardcore sometimes and I notice that the true nature of hardcore shows itself in small amounts of players. But thats not why I'm posting.

What I'm here to talk about is regarding the K/D Ratios and Teammate Sabotaging Rules.

Ever noticed how easy it is to get a kill using the Grenade Launcher?
And ever noticed that the top fragger may have 30 kills with 23 deaths while you have 24 kills with 5 deaths?
My point is, a rule has to be set in the tourny that for every certain about of death, you receive a kill penalty.
Enough to effect the overall score but not enough to make everybody camp.
You guys get the picture? It would be easy to just get Overkill and respawn with 4 Grenade Launcher rounds each time. I can just fire randomly at enemy from afar and die when I run out of all my explosives.

Another thing I would like to meantion about is, if we were to place random players in a TDM(Team Deathamatch) and then give rewards to the top fragger(losing/winning team), making rivalry within the team itself, some of the team members might sabotage the top fragger in his team by giving infomation to the opposing team. It's actually very simple, just press "T" and say something like "XXX player is on the highest roof" and BOOM! 3 grenades starts stacking on the roof. Should a penalty be imposed againts those who sabotages their own teammates for their own personal gain?
In a dog eat dog world, I would do anything to make my way to the top.

I guess that is all for now. I'll be back another time if I come up with more information. I hope you all are on the same page as I am. Peace!

EDITED: typo.

This post has been edited by X-Lw|Ashley: Jan 13 2008, 03:33 AM
Holyboyz
post Jan 13 2008, 03:40 PM

421 posts

Hey ashley whats up... u also into this ar? habis la we all,mayBe Blackdog also playing...i think everyone should start with stocks of course it will be imba for new players to just join at rank 1 and see rank 55 ppl (ashley) pwning the crap out of them (me)...and i agree with the death penalty thing that ashley propose although it will be abit more paper work but it will stop noob spammers bloody noobtubes....

Hardcore is very very cool but may not be noob friendly....

@king kong btw bro i ask the staff at tbun that day they like every heard anything about this also huh.gif
X-Lw|Ashley
post Jan 14 2008, 12:57 AM

Oh you haven't meantioned the few players who are better than me...

I don't suggest stock weapons. I say it should be open to all. Rank just means that you have more weapons and more perks but that doesn't make you any better againts other players and besides that, fixing a tournament date would allow other players to start ranking up if they need to. The link below is just a guide line for those who don't know what the future ranks holds for you:

http://www.supercheats.com/pc/callofduty4m...echeatcodes.htm

Some of the staff have not heard about it and the last time I went to the cafe, I forgot to promote this topic to the players. The next time I play in Tbun, I'll make sure I get everybody to come and visit this topic. I don't think the staff of Tbun will announce anything yet since this tourny has not been officialized yet so it's up to me and you to spread the news there.

Well anyway, the best way to get from rank 1 to rank 55 fast is to use every single gun and finish the 3rd Marksman Challenge and do all the simple Challenges. You can get from Rank 1 to at least 40 in 2 days.
Holyboyz
post Jan 14 2008, 01:55 PM

421 posts

Hmm i think that they should have allowed and non allowed perks so that we can have balance a game play...if u guys have dl'ed the flle in post #41 and read it it only allows a few perks which i find fair so i think we will see about that... but about gun attachment we should be able to decide our selfs (RDS ftw).

Anyways will circle this news around the cc and frens c how they respond too it does "kitty" "General Dispare" and "frostynipples" know about this yet?...Ash going Tbun later? i might be there about 2 to 3pm

This post has been edited by Holyboyz: Jan 14 2008, 01:56 PM
TSking_kong
post Jan 14 2008, 02:28 PM

371 posts

alright, looks like i have an indication of how to run the tournament.

thank you everyone for all the feedback, i'm going back to the drawing board to see how i can make this is an exciting tournament!

Holyboyz
post Jan 14 2008, 02:36 PM

421 posts

Good luck kong keep us posted
X-Lw|Ashley
post Jan 14 2008, 09:10 PM

I'm going there in about... Hmmm..... 30 mins? Gonna bath for a bit and then be on my way. I'm actually kinda sleepy... Just had a heavy dinner... family couldn't finish it so I had to become the garbage truck... @@ (K.O.ed).

Back to topic, alright you can cut out some perks. Perks but the only perk I feel is least useful would be Eavesdrop and the annoying perk, Matrydom. But perks aren't the serious issue. It is the method of getting kill which is a pain in the neck but then again, if the death is given the penalty, they wouldn't be able to depend on Grenade Launcher so much.

I'm going to the cafe soon. I'll ask more people to check out this site and hopefully they can find their way into here. Alright, thats all for now. Bye.

Keep us posted King Kong. Thx.

50 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0285sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 06:42 AM