50 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Call of Duty 4 Tournament, the discussion thread

TSking_kong
post Jan 2 2008, 11:36 AM, updated 18y ago

371 posts

hey everyone, i'm exploring the possibility of a cod4 tournament.

DATE: 19th Jan (if there's enough time for players to confirm) or 23rd Feb (After CNY)
PLAYERS: 32 OR 48 OR 64
FEE: RM 20
PRIZES: tbc
MAP:
TIME: 10am onwards or 7pm onwards (usually takes about 4 to 6 hours to complete 1 tournament)
GAMEPLAY: team based with 16 randomly chosen each round. winner with highest scores win.
GAME OBJECTIVE: Deathmatch?

would anyone like comment?

some questions on my side:
1. does the game need a server to be created?
2. how many max players in a team?

do let me know.

updated:

Please give me your comment on these questions:

Q1. Fixed team or random teams (player placing decided by organizer, randomly)
Q2. Map suggestions
Q3. Time to play in the tournament: morning, afternoon or evening
Q4. Players in a team: 3 or 5
Q5. Suggested game modes

update: made changes to the first post to reflect that the tournament is currently To Be Confirmed. will update once there's good news.

This post has been edited by king_kong: Apr 11 2008, 11:23 AM
chapree
post Jan 2 2008, 03:09 PM

I used to stuff for LYN Editorial and troll at LYN Forums
2,046 posts

Is it open to local teams only or teams from neighboring countries can join too?
Dai`dai
post Jan 2 2008, 06:12 PM

I dun understand !!!^^
TSking_kong
post Jan 3 2008, 12:22 PM

371 posts

QUOTE(chapree @ Jan 2 2008, 03:09 PM)
Is it open to local teams only or teams from neighboring countries can join too?
its a casual tourney, not pro. anyone can play.

QUOTE(Dai`dai @ Jan 2 2008, 06:12 PM)
I dun understand !!!^^
i also dont understand on what is it u dont understand. am i suppose to know what u dont understand if u dont say anything?

johnnycp
post Jan 3 2008, 12:33 PM

600 posts

QUOTE(Dai`dai @ Jan 2 2008, 06:12 PM)
I dun understand !!!^^
It is a LAN tourney located at TBUN cyber cafe near Aman Suria

price is unconfirmed and it is random team. you cant choose ur side, so no staking up with
ur pro friend and pwn other noobs.
ayyam
post Jan 3 2008, 12:56 PM

56 posts

random team?why cant send teams instead of individuals?
so u mean that this tourney is a killing and all trying to get the most kills?
and what about weapon unlock and perks?

LuVz
post Jan 3 2008, 03:06 PM

169 posts

this is 1v1 or 5v5 dota tourney? @@"
dont understand leh. xD
temptation1314
post Jan 3 2008, 03:13 PM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

Aman Suria, sweat.gif can tell me near where ma?

Besides, on the thought for tourney.

Fee = RM20 sweat.gif RM10 cannot meh RM20 is a bit pricey.

2nd thing, about teams.
Get enough participants to enter, event organiser get must get ready with numbers in card or paper.
Roll it up and put in bucket.
Let each of the person take 1 number.
Then the team members will be decided using odd or even.
Fair?
TSking_kong
post Jan 3 2008, 03:33 PM

371 posts

QUOTE(johnnycp @ Jan 3 2008, 12:33 PM)
It is a LAN tourney located at TBUN cyber cafe near Aman Suria

price is unconfirmed and it is random team. you cant choose ur side, so no staking up with
ur pro friend and pwn other noobs.
players will be randomly placed in team to make it more fairer, no team is too imbalanced.

QUOTE(ayyam @ Jan 3 2008, 12:56 PM)
random team?why cant send teams instead of individuals?
so u mean that this tourney is a killing and all trying to get the most kills?
and what about weapon unlock and perks?
you can send a team, but i'll be breaking them up and randomly placing them with other teams.
its a tourney on getting the most kills. your teamwork skills are important when playing with people you don't know.

QUOTE(LuVz @ Jan 3 2008, 03:06 PM)
this is 1v1 or 5v5 dota tourney? @@"
dont understand leh. xD
no its not a dota tourney.

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Jan 3 2008, 03:13 PM)
Aman Suria, sweat.gif can tell me near where ma?

Besides, on the thought for tourney.

Fee = RM20 sweat.gif RM10 cannot meh RM20 is a bit pricey.

2nd thing, about teams.
Get enough participants to enter, event organiser get must get ready with numbers in card or paper.
Roll it up and put in bucket.
Let each of the person take 1 number.
Then the team members will be decided using odd or even.
Fair?
its near kelana jaya, next to dataran prima.

RM 20, any less cannot cover cost.

bucket with numbers, will have someting similar, not to worry.
strace
post Jan 4 2008, 01:55 PM

Ayy
700 posts

I know its a casual tourney but since the game setup is set to default tdm without perk restriction so I must say this:-
nub launcher nade fest FTW!!!!
TSking_kong
post Jan 5 2008, 11:00 AM

371 posts

due to the lack of response, i'm kiv-ing this for now until the player base matures.

i'll still check this forum feedback if any.
ryohiko
post Jan 6 2008, 11:43 PM

kong, i wan join. goofy,rie n joy. hehe.
maybe 2 more friends coming too. i tell u later. have to confirm with them.

This post has been edited by ryohiko: Jan 6 2008, 11:43 PM
CyPrinZe
post Jan 7 2008, 04:34 AM

223 posts

this sounds fun..
How is this going to be played?
pansy pants normal mode or hardcore(HC)?

hopefully its HC Search and Destroy or Domination as playing team deathmatch is boring and really gets dull fast as alot will just camp as there is no objective, where else if Free For All is mindless fun and all its still mindless...
hope to hear from you soon...
Yusuf9797
post Jan 7 2008, 10:44 AM

QUOTE(king_kong @ Jan 2 2008, 11:36 AM)
hey everyone, i'm exploring the possibility of a cod4 tournament.

DATE: 19th Jan (if there's enough time for players to confirm) or 23rd Feb (After CNY)
PLAYERS: 32 OR 48 OR 64
FEE: RM 20
PRIZES: tbc
MAP:
TIME: 10am onwards or 7pm onwards (usually takes about 4 to 6 hours to complete 1 tournament)
GAMEPLAY: team based with 16 randomly chosen each round. winner with highest scores win.
GAME OBJECTIVE: Deathmatch?

Interested:

would anyone like comment?

some questions on my side:
1. does the game need a server to be created?
2. how many max players in a team?

do let me know.
For console or for PC?

Valex
post Jan 7 2008, 12:56 PM

117 posts

pc i guess.
psygnite
post Jan 7 2008, 03:15 PM

interested, could u send me the updates to my mail?
kbj1985@yahoo.com
CyPrinZe
post Jan 7 2008, 06:42 PM

223 posts

damnit plz dont die!!
i like this idea..
but i dont like the idea of playing deathmatch game..
its a clueless game.. play 3 vs 3 or something..
FFA is just stupid..
TSking_kong
post Jan 7 2008, 09:49 PM

371 posts

QUOTE(ryohiko @ Jan 6 2008, 11:43 PM)
don't know when yet. the response is very very, discouraging.

QUOTE(CyPrinZe @ Jan 7 2008, 04:34 AM)
this sounds fun..

hopefully its HC Search and Destroy or Domination as playing team deathmatch is boring and really gets dull fast as alot will just camp as there is no objective, where else if Free For All is mindless fun and all its still mindless...
QUOTE(Valex @ Jan 7 2008, 12:56 PM)
pc i guess.
yes, PC. this is Gamer's Hideout for PC games....

QUOTE(psygnite @ Jan 7 2008, 03:15 PM)
kbj1985@yahoo.com
check em here. i wont be doing email updates on this matter unless i make an official announcement.

QUOTE(CyPrinZe @ Jan 7 2008, 06:42 PM)
damnit plz dont die!!
i like this idea..
FFA is just stupid..
dying isn't my choice dude.
im going to do FFA (but its not final), but in this FFA, i will be jumbling up players in teams and each player needs to work together with strangers to try to get the most kills. each player will be individually ranked after each match with additional bonus points if your team wins.
then in the next round, players are randomised again, this way you will be playing a typical FFA in the cafe, with different people all the time!
the idea is to play random, work with strangers will keeping urself alive. sure ther might be campers but teamwork will play an important role.

Added on January 7, 2008, 9:49 pm
QUOTE(ryohiko @ Jan 6 2008, 11:43 PM)
don't know when yet. the response is very very, discouraging.

QUOTE(CyPrinZe @ Jan 7 2008, 04:34 AM)
this sounds fun..

QUOTE(Valex @ Jan 7 2008, 12:56 PM)
pc i guess.
yes, PC. this is Gamer's Hideout for PC games....

QUOTE(psygnite @ Jan 7 2008, 03:15 PM)
kbj1985@yahoo.com
check em here. i wont be doing email updates on this matter unless i make an official announcement.

QUOTE(CyPrinZe @ Jan 7 2008, 06:42 PM)
damnit plz dont die!!
i like this idea..
FFA is just stupid..
dying isn't my choice dude.
im going to do FFA (but its not final), but in this FFA, i will be jumbling up players in teams and each player needs to work together with strangers to try to get the most kills. each player will be individually ranked after each match with additional bonus points if your team wins.
then in the next round, players are randomised again, this way you will be playing a typical FFA in the cafe, with different people all the time!
the idea is to play random, work with strangers will keeping urself alive. sure ther might be campers but teamwork will play an important role.

This post has been edited by king_kong: Jan 7 2008, 09:49 PM
helicorpster
post Jan 7 2008, 10:37 PM

15 posts

wait wait wait, I'm person in-charge of Tbun Aman Suria, if u want to book pcs, pls call me few days b4 u come... 012-2905604(ah seng)...
here got lots of cod4 kaki, these days cod4 kaki here are more than dota kaki already...
Holyboyz
post Jan 7 2008, 10:52 PM

421 posts

can u imagine 20 over players playing shipment in FFA? all hell will break loose...but if u make it the way ur about to its going to take alot of recording and management...im for the torny i go to Tbun often for cod4 so GL in organizing this...

50 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0171sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 09:40 PM