103 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Bottom

High Dividend Counters, Better than putting in FD

Charlie82
post May 12 2012, 06:24 PM

130 posts

in case you are interested, some of my ramblings in here : http://geezsquare.blogspot.com/
DurianCoconut
post May 13 2012, 11:40 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(Charlie82 @ May 12 2012, 06:24 PM)
in case you are interested, some of my ramblings in here : http://geezsquare.blogspot.com/
very useful compilation my friend! seems like Harrison is paying higher dividends every year and the growth is almost consistent and sustainable (excluding the special dividends of coz), good choice of investment IMHO rclxms.gif well done!
Benny-T
post May 13 2012, 06:23 PM

450 posts

Guys,

now you can withdraw 45% of your EPF account 1 to buy shares( recommended to buy blue chips and IPO as well)
PM me for more info

This post has been edited by Benny-T: May 27 2012, 12:51 PM
Yeapy
post May 13 2012, 06:58 PM

371 posts

Bernas gave a total of 30sen last FY2011, based on current share price, just went ex on 10/5, the div yield is close to 10%. Bernas has the monopoly of rice in case you don't realised.
ManutdGiggs
post May 14 2012, 11:23 PM

13,761 posts

One if bot LTK 4 yrs ago can keep receive at least 6% a yr of ur real investment. The price is bout RM1 4 yrs ago. So low cost with good yield. Now it's Rm2 Liao.
NewB-MX
post May 15 2012, 09:19 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(skiddtrader @ Apr 26 2012, 03:01 PM)
TDM aren't really planting new fields for expansion although they have plans to do so. Meaning their profit growth is due to CPO price. So as long as CPO prices hold, they can maintain their profits but it won't grow without reason.
U were spot on, bro. TDM just released its last Q results and sure enough profit dropped due to lower CPO prices.

Quite a number of good plantation counters have been beaten down a fair bit the past 1 weeks (like Jtiasa, SOP, TSH, THPlant & TDM). I wonder if it's a good time to load up some for med-long term holding. Any views?
skiddtrader
post May 15 2012, 09:42 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(NewB-MX @ May 15 2012, 09:19 PM)
U were spot on, bro. TDM just released its last Q results and sure enough profit dropped due to lower CPO prices.

Quite a number of good plantation counters have been beaten down a fair bit the past 1 weeks (like Jtiasa, SOP, TSH, THPlant & TDM). I wonder if it's a good time to load up some for med-long term holding. Any views?
Yeah expected results to be lower because if you checked their 3 months production from Jan to March, it is lower than last years Jan to March production. Also prices are softer then, but this quarter might see some improvement as prices have stayed above RM3200, only left to see their production figures.

If you are looking to buy TDM, you might timed it after their dividend Ex-date because prices ex dividned tend to be weaker for some reason as investors lose interest in it and traders start dumping if no activity. So there is a chance Share will dip below RM4.20 range ex dividend.

NewB-MX
post May 16 2012, 07:49 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(skiddtrader @ May 15 2012, 09:42 PM)
Yeah expected results to be lower because if you checked their 3 months production from Jan to March, it is lower than last years Jan to March production. Also prices are softer then, but this quarter might see some improvement as prices have stayed above RM3200, only left to see their production figures.

If you are looking to buy TDM, you might timed it after their dividend Ex-date because prices ex dividned tend to be weaker for some reason as investors lose interest in it and traders start dumping if no activity. So there is a chance Share will dip below RM4.20 range ex dividend.
Your words are quite prophetic although by different circumstances. Looks like plantation counters are being sold down a bit.

Hmm...it might be a bit OT but do you think that TSH has more visible earnings growth in the next few years compared to TDM? I cant quite decide which to go for. Due to limited bullets I have to choose one and in any way buying 2 in the same sector might be a bit too risky for me. Appreciate your views.
skiddtrader
post May 17 2012, 06:05 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

Haha yeah wrong reasons indeed.

Did not expect TDM to be so quickly be sold down below RM4.20 because dividends are not ex yet.

I have not looked at TSH figures yet, but if you think both are similar then just choose the cheaper one. I mean in valuation terms not in actual price.

This post has been edited by skiddtrader: May 17 2012, 06:20 PM
Novice76
post May 18 2012, 07:50 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(skiddtrader @ May 17 2012, 06:05 PM)
Haha yeah wrong reasons indeed.

Did not expect TDM to be so quickly be sold down below RM4.20 because dividends are not ex yet.

I have not looked at TSH figures yet, but if you think both are similar then just choose the cheaper one. I mean in valuation terms not in actual price.
Hmm...I have the same dilemma too between TSH and TDM.

Nearly went in for TDM today but it rebounded a bit to above RM4. Figures wise its PE is lower, DY and NTA are higher compared to TSH. But TSH is more liquid and has more 'coverage'. Also, TDM's shareholding is heavily controlled by the Terengganu state govt.

Really tough choice.
duckaton
post May 18 2012, 09:07 PM

Progress is Imminent
1,216 posts

waiting for igbreit.

yiivei
post May 19 2012, 12:15 PM

~WooLaLa~
1,933 posts

QUOTE(Novice76 @ May 18 2012, 07:50 PM)
Hmm...I have the same dilemma too between TSH and TDM.

Nearly went in for TDM today but it rebounded a bit to above RM4. Figures wise its PE is lower, DY and NTA are higher compared to TSH. But TSH is more liquid and has more 'coverage'. Also, TDM's shareholding is heavily controlled by the Terengganu state govt.

Really tough choice.
Its good that you have not entered. I entered TDM on Thursday.

I think better stay sideline for now.
duckaton
post May 19 2012, 01:04 PM

Progress is Imminent
1,216 posts

QUOTE(yiivei @ May 19 2012, 12:15 PM)
Its good that you have not entered. I entered TDM on Thursday.

I think better stay sideline for now.
agreed,
market doesnt look good.

however, when there is risk, there is opportunity.

it's a gamble now
Charlie82
post May 26 2012, 10:21 AM

130 posts

JTI super fat dividend 62sen gross thumbup.gif rclxm9.gif
Kamen Rider
post May 26 2012, 01:20 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(Charlie82 @ May 26 2012, 10:21 AM)
JTI super fat dividend 62sen gross  thumbup.gif  rclxm9.gif
It is a special dividend, after that I don't think got any excitement smile.gif

SlowCiken
post Jun 5 2012, 08:26 AM

167 posts

How about airasia? Last yr divvy 50% before 30% right?
river.sand
post Jun 5 2012, 08:36 AM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(SlowCiken @ Jun 5 2012, 08:26 AM)
How about airasia? Last yr divvy 50% before 30% right?
That is 50% of par value, not related to dividend yield.
SlowCiken
post Jun 5 2012, 08:54 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Jun 5 2012, 08:36 AM)
That is 50% of par value, not related to dividend yield.
Sorry noob here, how to calculate the exact divvy by airasia last year?
river.sand
post Jun 5 2012, 09:09 AM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(SlowCiken @ Jun 5 2012, 08:54 AM)
Sorry noob here, how to calculate the exact divvy by airasia last year?
First you find out the par value of AirAsia. Multiply that number by 50%, you get dividend per share.

Dividend Yield = dividend per share/stock price
Ken
post Jun 7 2012, 04:43 PM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

if you to buy dividend stock, make sure to buy when it is dropping

don't chase it

if not, it will be worst then put in FD

FD can get back 100% capital.

103 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top