17 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Cancer, Anyone here with a close family member..

basSist
post Mar 15 2009, 01:24 AM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ Mar 15 2009, 12:22 AM)
yeah, agree with puppyee, do not consume high sugary food. Anti-oxidants (co-Q10, A,C,E) may help your mum too.
Forgot to mention, sugary food especially white rice, white noodle, white bread. Replace them with whole grain sources.

This post has been edited by basSist: Mar 15 2009, 01:25 AM
Faith+1
post Mar 15 2009, 01:36 AM

1,420 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ Mar 15 2009, 01:24 AM)
Forgot to mention, sugary food especially white rice, white noodle, white bread. Replace them with whole grain sources.
She only take whole grain bread and organic brown rice.

I see the organic foods, I also rclxub.gif .
ivzh
post Mar 15 2009, 01:41 AM

668 posts

organic food ... tak sedap =x
basSist
post Mar 15 2009, 01:43 AM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(ivzh @ Mar 15 2009, 01:41 AM)
organic food ... tak sedap =x
That's why many people getting cancer nowadays sweat.gif
Faith+1
post Mar 15 2009, 01:52 AM

1,420 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ Mar 15 2009, 01:43 AM)
That's why many people getting cancer nowadays  sweat.gif
Yeah, after my mom get into this situation, I start to control my diet.
ivzh
post Mar 15 2009, 02:03 AM

668 posts

organic food so expensive.. and not easily available too.
CyberSetan
post Mar 15 2009, 02:05 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

Cancer has been known to have the tendency to occur within close family members signifying the presence of genetic component risk factor.

My own grandfather and my second uncle died of cancer. My uncle, a general medical practitioner, died of colorectal carcinoma which has metastasized to his liver four years ago.

It is likely that I too will get some from of cancer in the future (damn genes)..... grumble.gif

QUOTE(Faith+1 @ Mar 15 2009, 12:26 AM)
Yeah, breast cancer is one of the most high rate killing cancer in the world.

Earlier medical check up as first step or precaution.
Breast cancer is indeed a dangerous thing to have, finding it early WILL save your life. Just a few days ago I have had the chance to attend a surgical procedure during my clinical rotations.

The patient was an old lady of 72 years of age. She came to the outpatient department due to some cough problem when the doctor who examined her detected a hard mass within her right breast during auscultation. The right nipple appear retracted and deviated (picture below). There is even another hard lump detected in her armpit.

So, the doctor in outpatient department immediately refer her to the surgeon for further evaluation and finally decided to perform simple mastectomy with axillary clearance (the entire right breast was removed along with all the lymph nodes in her armpit).

Here are some pictures of that procedure and the excised breast

WARNING THE FOLLOWING PICTURES MAY BE DISTURBING

Females, be advised to always be concerned with the presence of any lump in your breasts. Immediately seek medical advice if they are present. Detection of breast cancer and its removal in its early stage WILL save your life.

wink.gif

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Mar 27 2009, 02:31 PM
Faith+1
post Mar 15 2009, 02:07 AM

1,420 posts

QUOTE(ivzh @ Mar 15 2009, 02:03 AM)
organic food so expensive.. and not easily available too.
Not easy available? At my place, a lot of organic goods shop. Keep on opening everywhere.

ivzh
post Mar 15 2009, 02:18 AM

668 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Mar 15 2009, 02:05 AM)
Cancer has been known to have the tendency to occur within close family members signifying the presence of genetic component risk factor.

My own grandfather and my second uncle died of cancer. My uncle, a general medical practitioner, died of colorectal carcinoma which has metastasized to his liver four years ago.

It is likely that I too will get some from of cancer in the future (damn genes).....  grumble.gif
Actually, all human is born with cancer gene (people with strong family history with cancer will have more ganas cancer gene). However, luckily we have a good gene call tumor suppressor genes (p53) to counter it. So an imbalence in Cancer gene Vs tumor suppresor genes will lead to development of cancer. Healthy lifestyle help maintain the the tumor suppresor gene.

QUOTE(Faith+1 @ Mar 15 2009, 02:07 AM)
Not easy available? At my place, a lot of organic goods shop. Keep on opening everywhere.

If in big town, then it's a Yes. If stay far from town, then very difficult to reach the organic food la.. Eh, btw organic food define as fruit or vege that is fertilized w/o usage of any insecticide and processed w/o added chemical?

This post has been edited by ivzh: Mar 15 2009, 02:19 AM
Faith+1
post Mar 15 2009, 02:23 AM

1,420 posts

Organic foods are made according to certain production standards, meaning they are grown without the use of conventional pesticides and artificial fertilizers, free from contamination by human or industrial waste, and processed without irradiation or food additives. If livestock are involved, they must be reared without the routine use of antibiotics and without the use of growth hormones, and generally fed a healthy diet. In most countries, organic produce may not be genetically modified.

This post has been edited by Faith+1: Mar 15 2009, 02:24 AM
ezzone
post Mar 15 2009, 02:37 AM

54 posts

I heard canser is a genetic problem.
My uncle died of canser.
I does attack very fast if it was not detected early.

Now I take dragon fruit every other day. They said it can cleanse the body from canser cells.
puppyee
post Mar 15 2009, 08:22 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(ivzh @ Mar 15 2009, 12:44 AM)
Cancer can be cure if it's detected in early stage. How to detect it? Frequent body check? lab test? IT's still missed out very easily.

Sigh..
QUOTE(Faith+1 @ Mar 15 2009, 12:47 AM)
I thought cancer can't be cure but only can prevent it from spreading or expanding?
Cancer can't be cured (yes it cannot be cured) and can only be prevent from spreading. Even if u cut out the cancerous tumour at early stage, It'll encourage the cells to spread faster (a doctor once told me). Cancer at early stage is quite safe is safely measures are taken like controlling ur diet and stuff. Yalo, they say cancer is a genetic problem.. my grandpa died of cancer, so did my grandma and my aunt has breast cancer rclxub.gif

A little info if there're someone who doesn't know this.. cancer on any part of the body can spread (eg: bone cancer, breast cancer, can spread to leg, blood ad stuff) .. only brain cancer will remain in brain n will not spread. But the catch is, brain cancer is dangerous because the tumours will block the veins in the brain and resulting in blurry of vision, speech, kenot walk straightly, vomitting, and even can paralyze the limbs.

ivzh
post Mar 15 2009, 11:16 AM

668 posts

QUOTE(puppyee @ Mar 15 2009, 08:22 AM)
Cancer can't be cured (yes it cannot be cured) and can only be prevent from spreading. Even if u cut out the cancerous tumour at early stage, It'll encourage the cells to spread faster (a doctor once told me). Cancer at early stage is quite safe is safely measures are taken like controlling ur diet and stuff. Yalo, they say cancer is a genetic problem.. my grandpa died of cancer, so did my grandma and my aunt has breast cancer  rclxub.gif

A little info if there're someone who doesn't know this.. cancer on any part of the body can spread (eg: bone cancer, breast cancer, can spread to leg, blood ad stuff) .. only brain cancer will remain in brain n will not spread. But the catch is, brain cancer is dangerous because the tumours will block the veins in the brain and resulting in blurry of vision, speech, kenot walk straightly, vomitting, and even can paralyze the limbs.
The statement "cancer cannot be cured at any stage" mean direct give a death sentence to patient and is very unmotivating. Many records have shown human has win the war against cancer and live well after that. Well, my grandmother was diagnosed colorectal cancer at her age of 40+, she undergo operation (probably she was diagnose in very early stage those can be operated), she live well until age of 7x, having an usual people life style except she was diabetic. She pass away due to stroke, but not cancer.

Breast cancer is one of the most common cancer, and many people has benefit from the early detection.
Blood cancer for example leukemia also can be cured, haha i think many people ever watching those asian drama, where the hero or heroine was tortured by the leukemia, the only solution is bone marrow transplantation. Although organ transplantation hold high chance of failure, and many complication, however there is still hope for cancer to be cured.

Well, patient with history of cancer has great chance for the cancer to relapse, may be the due to it's spread somewhere else (again because it is in advance stage) and genetically he/she is cancer prone. So they need to be monitor closely by the medical professional.

Stage of solid cancer is depend on the size, the lymph node involment, and spreading. Early stage cancer mean it didn't spread yet and quite relatively small size. The aggressiveness and tendency to spread is depend on the cancer type. Lung cancer (small cell cancer) and skin cancer like melanoma is very very aggressive, often it's diagnosed at very late stage.. So, the patient also didn't have so much alternative left in the list of treatment.. compare to those cancer patient that diagnosed at early stage when spreading is not happen yet.

Brain cancer spread too, however, no matter it is histopathologically classified as benigh or malignant, it's considered as "ganas" as it's a mass that occupy spaces within the brain, and compress the brain... imaging, a very small bleeding inside brain can already make people paralyse and complain this and that, while tumor is a mass within the brain. IF operate mean u might have risk to loose some of the brain function, depend on the extend and location of the bad cell the surgeon excise.
Faith+1
post Mar 15 2009, 12:48 PM

1,420 posts

QUOTE(puppyee @ Mar 15 2009, 08:22 AM)
Cancer can't be cured (yes it cannot be cured) and can only be prevent from spreading. Even if u cut out the cancerous tumour at early stage, It'll encourage the cells to spread faster (a doctor once told me). Cancer at early stage is quite safe is safely measures are taken like controlling ur diet and stuff. Yalo, they say cancer is a genetic problem.. my grandpa died of cancer, so did my grandma and my aunt has breast cancer  rclxub.gif

This is exactly what I heard and know so far, until ivzh said otherwise. What I know is, you can do your best to prevent it but can't be cured.

hmm.gif
puppyee
post Mar 15 2009, 02:58 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(ivzh @ Mar 15 2009, 11:16 AM)
The statement "cancer cannot be cured at any stage" mean direct give a death sentence to patient and is very unmotivating.

Brain cancer spread too, however, no matter it is histopathologically classified as benigh or malignant, it's considered as "ganas" as it's a mass that occupy spaces within the brain, and compress the brain... imaging, a very small bleeding inside brain can already make people paralyse and complain this and that, while tumor is a mass within the brain. IF operate mean u might have risk to loose some of the brain function, depend on the extend and location of the bad cell the surgeon excise.
Yes, although it is very unmotivating, we cannot deny it. Yes human have win fights against cancer but that doesn't mean they have eliminated cancer once and for all in their body. If they do not take proper precaution in their diets as well as lifestyle, there will be high chances that the cells will erupt again. I did point out that cancer can be prevented from spreading with proper ways to look after oneself.

That was wat I was implying. Brain cancer will not spread to other parts of the body, it will only spread in within the brain.Duh. No offense or whatsoever but by saying that brain cancer spread too, u're giving some kind of wrong directions to ppl as if saying that they will run through the body as well.

This post has been edited by puppyee: Mar 15 2009, 03:05 PM
Faith+1
post Mar 15 2009, 05:08 PM

1,420 posts

So the true fact is, cancer can't be cured YET. Am I right? You can only take an early prevention right?
ezzone
post Mar 15 2009, 07:08 PM

54 posts

Maybe not Cured, but treated.
I know ppl who were diagnosed with cancer now is free from cancer.
They can weaken the cancer cells and prevent new cells to spread.
The cells still in the body but not active.
ivzh
post Mar 15 2009, 07:13 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(puppyee @ Mar 15 2009, 02:58 PM)
Yes, although it is very unmotivating, we cannot deny it. Yes human have win fights against cancer but that doesn't mean they have eliminated cancer once and for all in their body. If they do not take proper precaution in their diets as well as lifestyle, there will be high chances that the cells will erupt again. I did point out that cancer can be prevented from spreading with proper ways to look after oneself.
http://www.healthsquare.com/fgwh/wh1ch36.htm
Breast Cancer: Great Odds of a Cure

QUOTE(puppyee @ Mar 15 2009, 02:58 PM)
That was wat I was implying. Brain cancer will not spread to other parts of the body, it will only spread in within the brain.Duh. No offense or whatsoever but by saying that brain cancer spread too, u're giving some kind of wrong directions to ppl as if saying that they will run through the body as well.
http://www.springerlink.com/content/u064hr76rrm46867/
brain tumor is spreading outside the brain

The message i want to pass out is that prevention and early detection of cancer is equally important.

This post has been edited by ivzh: Mar 15 2009, 07:30 PM
Faith+1
post Mar 15 2009, 10:38 PM

1,420 posts

QUOTE(ivzh @ Mar 15 2009, 07:13 PM)

The message i want to pass out is that prevention and early detection of cancer is equally important.
Thanks for the article, useful information. smile.gif
puppyee
post Mar 16 2009, 10:06 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(ivzh @ Mar 15 2009, 07:13 PM)

I see, I've read it and I have to say, thanks for the infor. U have my sincere apology. Its glad to know that cancer can be cured nowadays. smile.gif

This post has been edited by puppyee: Mar 16 2009, 10:07 PM

17 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0280sec    2.06    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 06:07 AM