CREDIT Card Thread v2, Everything about the world of plastic

cute_boboi
post Dec 24 2007, 05:41 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(guanteik @ Dec 24 2007, 02:32 PM)
Anyone knows whether if there is any expiry date/time for Maybank Treat Points?
So far, no expiry. Touch wood.

The longest single MBB CC I hold is ~3 yrs. I keep on cancel and apply new one when they start charging annual fees. But now, I'm using Flexx, must spend min RM300/mth which I use for insurance auto-debit.

cute_boboi
post Dec 26 2007, 12:03 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(popopi @ Dec 26 2007, 09:33 AM)
Hai..... Need recommendations from sifus here....

I had been using CIMB CC and erm, it's ok using it, paid fully everymonth. but erm...... it's like, wow UOB One card are giving instant cash rebate..... wtf..... i want to get discount in petrol and shopping.

so, it that ok if i change from CIMB CC to UOB One CC .... will UOB One CC causing trouble like extra charges on erm..... hidden charges?

FYI, I use my CC for Petrol & some shopping... mostly is on petrol...
and i studied that after 6 swipes on UOB card will have annual fee waiver... anyone experienced after 6 swipes still kena annual fee? cos the UOB One Annual Fee is quite expensive... RM300++ ....

Please advice~~~ thanks !!
popopi,

My 2 sen:
- Try and target 1-2 CC is enough, so that your points don't get spread out.

- Alway pay in full. Don't try. MUST.

- Check which bank/issuer has best offer/benefit

- Get those free for life which does not need you to call up and ask for a/f waiver. Some might has small print T&C.

- If bank don't offer a/f waiver, cancel and apply others.

What I recommend:
- MBB Amex = gives 2x points. Not many shops take Amex, but try to use it as frequent as possible.

- Citibank = I think has the best offer. Current offer till 31/12 = Buy 1 coffee-bean, free 1.

- Get another one if you need, free for life or with some rules like min RMxxx/mth or xx swipes per mth/yr. Put all direct debit things like TNB, Syabas, h/p, insurance, etc. to fulfil the minimum free for life requirement. Whatever over/above the requirement, put in Amex auto-debit, refer rule #1, 2x points.

cute_boboi
post Dec 28 2007, 11:07 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Dec 27 2007, 09:56 PM)
That only applies if you spend a lot every month...like a thousand or more. But if you spend only a few hundreds every month and you pay back in full, they are earning peanuts. The bank earns the most from you if you maxed up your credit card and pay enough that you are able to use it only for your monthly cc transactions.
True to a certain extent. If you swipe a lot, the banks will notice and sometimes will send you free gifts or special offer.

Also, I just realise Amex pump petrol has CC points. Not sure how true, will try it out. Stupid me...

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Dec 28 2007, 11:08 AM
cute_boboi
post Dec 28 2007, 11:29 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Dec 28 2007, 11:11 AM)
No not really...
If u get free stuffs, means other cardholder will also get.

Maybank Amex pump petrol got points...
Not really. There was a time I was spending 4-8k every mth (company expenses, claimable tongue.gif ) My fren holding the same card was spending <2k. I got something, but he didn't get anything.

Arghh... stupid me! Amex vmad.gif missed out on points !!! But when petrol stations start changing their system couple of yrs back, they only accept Visa/Master at the pump. No diners/amex. Maybe I get used to it, and forgot about amex.

cute_boboi
post Dec 31 2007, 01:43 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 29 2007, 08:56 AM)
How can I check my CCRIS record? Can I view it online at some page?
CCRIS = you need to go personally to any BNM branch. Remember bring IC and yourself.

Added on December 31, 2007, 1:47 pm
QUOTE(myusername @ Dec 31 2007, 01:26 PM)
RM48k per annum only  doh.gif

Wow... the lowest I saw before this was Mastercard platinum @60k p.a.
For Visa platinum, lowest I saw was @100k p.a.

Seems like CC standard dropping fast. I remember Gold @48k and Platinum @120k...

BTW, side track: this is my 300th posting thumbup.gif I got 3 stars now blush.gif

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Dec 31 2007, 01:48 PM
cute_boboi
post Jan 2 2008, 12:34 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Jan 2 2008, 11:49 AM)
Ok guys after doin some readups on those Free Annual Fee cards, i've decided to go with Maybank FLEX. I've got some quieries
1.is it Visa/Master?
2.is it entitled to those TreatPoints too? and does the points have expiry?
3.And also, does petrol refuelling applies to the RM1=1 treatpoints?
1. IINM, Flexx = Visa only
2. Yes, you have Rm1=1 TP. Expiry as per standard MBB CC
3. No TP for fuel using Flexx Visa.

Added on January 2, 2008, 12:35 pm
QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jan 2 2008, 11:55 AM)

Last but not least, if u wan apply card pls look for me tongue.gif
Im Maybankard agent..
I will offer u some cash if your card gets approved (becoz so far Maybank dont give promotion like other bank stingy Maybank tongue.gif )

woi... PM me pls... got something to ask u. wink.gif

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Jan 2 2008, 12:35 PM
cute_boboi
post Jan 3 2008, 02:37 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Playbook @ Jan 3 2008, 01:09 PM)
What's good credit card to get nowadays?

I am looking for a credit card with, preferably, no joining / annual fee.  I don't mind a minimum spend card though.

Any suggestions?

Some CC just off my mind:
1) MBB Flexx - Min rm300/mth

2) Citibank Choice - Min 2 swipe /mth

cute_boboi
post Jan 3 2008, 05:05 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Jan 3 2008, 02:43 PM)
MBB flex no more min rm300 liao...juz swipe 2times a month
Is it ? I'm not up to date tongue.gif

Added on January 3, 2008, 5:06 pm
QUOTE(mrcloud9 @ Jan 3 2008, 03:54 PM)
i am of the opinion that ocbc malaysia has totally 'cheapened' the prestige of platinum by offering this card. the income requirement isnt even half of what other banks demand to be platinum cardholder. what a shame.
What's the minimum requirement for OCBC Platinum Master ? rm150k p.a. ?

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Jan 3 2008, 05:06 PM
cute_boboi
post Jan 3 2008, 06:26 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(myusername @ Jan 3 2008, 05:28 PM)
If you're asking about the OCBC Robinson's Platinum, as I mentioned before it's just 48k  doh.gif
shocking.gif -> blink.gif -> doh.gif -> rclxub.gif

cute_boboi
post Jan 7 2008, 01:52 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Jan 7 2008, 12:26 AM)
is anyone here happy with Maybank Credit Cards? I'm not...I find other cards better...RHB, HSBC, Citibank...in fact, I just applied for RHB card today.
I'm one of a happy MBB CC fan. smile.gif Nothing personal, purely on MBB CC only and not their Cust. Serv, but I just feel the card, points and the places I spent, gives me good treatpoints. Also, the range of gifts are above average. Not that bad.

cute_boboi
post Feb 1 2008, 07:40 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Question: On top of the Treatpoints from MBB, can we still collect Mesra/RealRewards (or whatever it is called) points ?

cute_boboi
post Feb 6 2008, 10:41 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(sohaix @ Feb 6 2008, 09:44 AM)
I got a few questions.

-I earn about RM 3500 monthly before tax / epf. which is 42k per year.
-I only have 1 credit card from maybank which have a credit limit of RM 6000 (issued 2 months ago)

The question is, why when i apply for HSBC classic visa, i get rejected. And i got a One card from UOB recently and the credit limit is only RM 4000. Is there anyway to get a higher credit limit?

Thanks in advance.
sohaix,

Credit limit depends on each bank discretion and your usage. I refer one of my CC with 20k credit limit, and my own PV a/c with HSBC, but HSBC still reject me... LOL ... Anyway, nothing to lose, as the purpose to apply is just for the gift tongue.gif

One way to increase credit limit, is depends on your usage. Previously I was hitting close and over my 7k... i request and they increase... over again, request increase... all the way up.

Now no more hitting >10k/mth usage tongue.gif Mostly on business purpose and I paid in full every month after claim from company.

Frankly, I don't find much difference using CC from local/overseas bank whether in M'sia, or HK, SG, Indonesia, Philippines, Vietnam, etc. Never encounter problem so far. I can use local CC in Vietnam, but my colleague "overseas" bank Visa/Mastercard got problem when swipe, until have to make overseas call back to customer service to check. whistling.gif Security/fraud prevention ?

cute_boboi
post Feb 6 2008, 03:34 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(guanteik @ Feb 6 2008, 03:11 PM)
first time i encounter gold card with 10k limit... even my normal visa has 12k wink.gif
LOL... some ppl have gold card with 4-7k credit limit only. Some others have classic with >10k credit limit wink.gif

cute_boboi
post Feb 11 2008, 02:34 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(knight_kriss @ Feb 11 2008, 02:19 PM)
got it from Fwd email: ...
Good. Care to summarize in a matrix, with a range of spending, which one returns what % ?
e.g.
RM1-RM300 /mth
RM300-600 /mth
>RM600 /mth

cute_boboi
post Feb 18 2008, 02:55 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(D-Zire @ Feb 17 2008, 02:53 PM)
hi guys,
i seemed to have problems with my maybankard visa wave...for some unknown reason my card got rejected during approvals for payment...as far as i know i've never spend pass my credit limit...
say for example if my credit limit is 5k and i do a 5k purchase with 12 months installment...does it count as whole 5k purchase or 416.67 purchase every month? is this the reason y my card got rejected if i wanna made more purchses?
Assume credit limit rm6000.

You buy something rm6000, pay 12 mths at rm500

month CC_balance_available**
1 0
2 500
3 1000
4 1500
5 2000
6 2500
7 3000
8 3500
9 4000
10 4500
11 5000
12 5500
13 6000

** Balance available for you to swipe for other things

By month 13, you will have all 6k credit limit back.

e.g. if you want to buy 4k by installment again, you can't do it at month 8, as you have 3.5k credit limit only. However, you can buy in month 9. Then you 6k will fully used up again.

cute_boboi
post Feb 19 2008, 05:42 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(whoopa @ Feb 19 2008, 03:19 PM)
rm0.50 ah ... oh ok la ... then i think i continue to use touch and go instead of that zing la ... not very tempting since it wont auto reload at smart tag lane doh.gif ..
I think RM0.50 is worth it. Compare to driving all the way to some PLUS/Rangkaian Segar outlet. Waste petrol and parking fee. If park roadside also risk saman. Unless your regular route pass through these places.
cute_boboi
post Feb 21 2008, 03:43 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(sam240 @ Feb 21 2008, 01:43 PM)
oh, that's good.....do share with us when can use CC to topup for TnG....hehe....BTW, CC will charge for them....while ATM card should no any charges on it....correct me if I was wrong....
IINM, Petronas CS "claims" it is a separate payment system. Cannot use CC, must use cash only. I have reloaded couple of times some years ago. Not sure the policy has changed or not.

Reload TnG using CC can only be done at Rangkaian Segar (Tmn Desa) or some PLUS toll plaza counters only.

Inform us here, if anyone manage to reload TnG using CC on petrol kiosk, ATM, LRT station, etc.

cute_boboi
post Feb 21 2008, 04:53 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Feb 21 2008, 04:16 PM)
What if i pump petrol, buy some stuff and top up my touch n go over the counter at the same time, then i need to pay them credit card and also cash at the same time?  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Yes.
1) Pay TnG = separate cash
2)(a) Pay petrol separate transaction punch-in
2)(b) Pay food/drinks separate transaction punch-in

I think item (2)(a) and (b) cannot be combined into single-CC transaction, I'm not so sure about it. But last time, I can confirm item (1) and (2) cannot.

cute_boboi
post Feb 22 2008, 12:15 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(sam240 @ Feb 22 2008, 11:55 AM)
TnG can topup via ATM by using CC?.....any charges on CC?..... which bank offer this?....CIMB can?....AmBank can?
eh... can topup in ATM using CC ? e.g. I have MBB ATM and MBB CC.

cute_boboi
post Feb 27 2008, 06:07 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Today got call from EON bank offering Platinum card or something. Rejected nicely...

No offense, but gold card at 5k limit is a bit low... There are ppl with normal classic cards at 10k-20k limit.

Anyway, no point having high credit limit, if you are not utilising it... and paying full or 0% monthly installment. If you really hit credit limit and pay full every month, for 3-6 consecutive months, it is very easy to apply for higher credit limit.

0.0403sec    0.94    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:07 AM