CREDIT Card Thread v2, Everything about the world of plastic

hye
post Jan 24 2008, 08:17 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(JamesPond @ Jan 24 2008, 04:15 PM)
anyone know which bank got the service like CIMB last time?

flexi-pay....
If I'm not mistaken ... a few banks offer it (the folks here can help me and I'll edit the post)

EON Bank

But beware ... the flexi-pay interest rates are much higher than DA. DA remains the most competitive rates among the flexi-pay providers when the service was still available.
hye
post Jan 25 2008, 04:23 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(jack7155 @ Jan 25 2008, 04:13 PM)
i wanna ask something. i have get my public visa card on july 07. when can i get my limit to go up a bit. now my credit limit is 3k and everymonth i use about 2.8k. just afraid that when i needed more time, hit limit.
You can ask for a credit limit upgrade via the CS and they will advise you on the necessary documents. Normally if I'm not mistaken should you fail in your credit limit upgrade application, banks will temporarily freeze a re-application for a credit limit increase (from yourself) between 6-12 months. Until you lapse these period, don't reapply coz it's a waste of time.

However, your card is rather new (around 6 months) .... you can try your luck. I believe after a 12 month membership you should be in a better position to ask for a credit limit increase than now. Worst case ... they reject you.

Emmm ... my previous PBB card also got very low limit. They put me up through so many excuses not to upgrade my limit despite my other cards limit was between 2x-3x more than PBB. That was a few years ago, not sure what's the situation now.
hye
post Jan 27 2008, 08:31 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(QiQio @ Jan 27 2008, 12:48 AM)
Can I ask whether I can change type of card from Maybank Classic to Maybank SonyCard ma?
More like a new application. I doubt you can just change the type of card upon request. They'll ask you to cancel and apply for a new one.
hye
post Jan 27 2008, 09:11 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

I agree credit card requires a high degree of discipline when using it but hope the government won't introduce new regulations to limit credit card usage like what they did circa year 2000. Back then each card need to pay RM50 government fee.

hye
post Jan 27 2008, 09:19 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 27 2008, 09:17 AM)
One-time fee or something like annual fee?
It's an annual fee on top of your credit card annual fees. I remember some banks back then offer to pay the government fee as part of the credit card promotion.

This post has been edited by hye: Jan 27 2008, 09:23 AM
hye
post Jan 29 2008, 09:15 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

CIMB PETRONAS MasterCard

http://www.cimbbank.com.my/index.php?ch=su...7&tpt=cimb_bank

The new Petronas Maybankard Visa! The fastest way to earn FREE petrol!

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/consumer/onlin...nas/about.shtml

Shell Citibank Credit Card

http://www.citibank.com.my/APPS/portal/gen.../card_shell.htm

Looks like the war has begun between the 2 companies (Shell and Petronas) has begun!
hye
post Jan 30 2008, 05:56 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Both the CIMB card and the MBB (Petronas co-brand) card is free for life ! Both also offer Platinum cards although only CIMB states that the entry point is only RM80K per annum income to qualify. MBB card seems to be a VISA (VISA Wave enabled) offering and likewise it's a Mastercard for CIMB.

Judging from the initial response from the senior guys here ... I predict these cards will be the next credit card hit in the market rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Jan 30 2008, 12:57 AM)
Wow, now their 0% IPP can extends up to 36 months? My gawd and I though 24 months was long enough. Maybank totally pawned in this thing man. I can buy something up to RM18k and only pays RM500 a month....and since this card is free for life...just wow, no fees for dragging the payment terms... Now, we have more reasons to have a really huge credit limit.
Well this depends whether the merchant wants to offer the product on a 36 months basis or not. Highly likely the merchant would only offer a 36-month IPP to items having characteristics with high profit margins and it's hard to sell.

This post has been edited by hye: Jan 30 2008, 06:12 AM
hye
post Jan 31 2008, 03:49 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(shiniraz @ Jan 31 2008, 01:47 PM)
Just got the CIMB Petronas CC pamphlet at petronas ttdi.
Stated Free For Life..but never see the "without any conditions" statement there..
The previous offer for CIMB CC otherwise stated that statement...

so the CIMB Petronas CC  "free for life" status is still in doubt  sweat.gif
Both the MBB and CIMB Petronas co-brand card is free for life .... Unconditional. CIMB would only kill their card if they don't make it Free For Life like MBB's version of the card don't you think so ?

Added on January 31, 2008, 3:52 pmOh yes ... in case anyone is complaining about CS. I've just found out accidentally that Affin Bank's CS only works from between 8am - 5.00pm. No one will pick up the phone beyond those hours and you'll get a prompt of the working hours when you call in beyond those working hours - how's that ?

Of course they'll give you a hotline in the event you lose your card. Those wanting to apply for Affin Bank cc .... beware of this 'hidden' caveat.

Added on January 31, 2008, 3:55 pm
QUOTE(kok_hui @ Jan 31 2008, 02:22 PM)
cimb credit card cannot verify paypal? I get this warning when trying to verify:

This credit card has been denied by the bank that issued your credit card. For details on why your card was denied, please contact your credit card issuer's customer service department. Or, you may want to try adding a different credit card.
Did you went through the 3D verification by CIMB when you used the card online ? CIMB / DA cards previously can't be used for online transactions. Now if you want to do so, you need to register your card for the 3D verifications by CIMB.

This post has been edited by hye: Jan 31 2008, 03:56 PM
hye
post Feb 1 2008, 07:37 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Feb 1 2008, 07:01 AM)
If you don't want the Zing card, I think you can untick it. Or I guess when Maybank call you for verification, you can specifically ask them that you're not interested with it. I didn't tick that portion in the application and I'm not interested to have it since RM 2 per each auto reload is expensive.
Oh yes .. I agree with you on this one. I disagree the RM 2 charge per reload plus this will be done automatically when the balance falls below RM 50. (With a RM100 top-up) In Singapore, the auto top-up facility only charges SGD$0.25 per reload.

I like the old days where the auto top-up facility from touch n go were free.
hye
post Feb 1 2008, 08:38 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Feb 1 2008, 07:40 PM)
Question: On top of the Treatpoints from MBB, can we still collect Mesra/RealRewards (or whatever it is called) points ?
If I'm not mistaken, if you were to use the Petronas MBB card, you would not able to collect points for the Mesra/RealRewards points.

This post has been edited by hye: Feb 1 2008, 08:40 PM
hye
post Feb 1 2008, 10:21 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Feb 1 2008, 10:11 PM)
well, since its an upgrade it should have been increased credit limit as well isn't it? Otherwise it wouldn't be an upgrade at all. Unless there's something else they're looking at here...like maybe your income?

Yup, a card upgrade should be followed with a credit limit upgrade as well. Recently, I was offered a card upgrade from SCB but it didn't come with a credit limit upgrade plus the condition of the offer is that I must keep 2 cards to enjoy the offer. I didn't buy into this offer and canceled the card afterwards. (I didn't activate the new card and terminated the old card) It was already on my list of cards to cancel, so I merely executed it.

oh yea...that free for life promo may not be available for long. If the promo is here to stay, then I'm sure other banks will start doing the same with new cards and all.
I'm optimistic about the free for life promo. Probably other banks is playing the wait and see game before deciding on their next strategy. I remembered it was the DA cards which revolutionized the Malaysian cc market with their free for life offering. None of the current cc back then had this offer and after DA came into the market, you see a lot of the banks changing their model.

Do you know that the CIMB Head of CC Business (Both for CIMB and DA cards) was formerly the head of SBB DA CC ? (If I'm not mistaken lah)

hye
post Feb 2 2008, 09:15 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

I'm not a big fan of AEON cards as they lost my payment to them before. I even sent over a copy of my proof of payment to them and they deny the payment reaching them even after showing them the proof. (I paid via bank transfer, all the bank-in information is correct)

2 months of endless arguments and no conclusion. mad.gif In the end, I gave up ... paid whatever they claim was due (it means I paid double) and canceled the card with no hesitation. Thank goodness the transaction was less than RM50 as I was skeptical about them back then and wanted to try out the card with a small transaction first.

It is perhaps the one cc provider that I will never return to nor recommend anyone getting it. vmad.gif rclxub.gif I've heard similar feedback from my friends who share the same experience while using this card. Anyone here experienced the same thing?

This post has been edited by hye: Feb 2 2008, 09:17 AM
hye
post Feb 2 2008, 10:49 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Feb 2 2008, 10:34 AM)
just wondering...what kind of proof you showed to them? Usually its more difficult to prove an internet transaction...
It's the completed successful transaction snapshot from my Internet Banking facility. It shows the amount transferred, account no transferred to, time & date. They could have made the effort to trace but they didn't. To me, it proves their inefficiency and this kind of mistake is intolerable - losing a customer's payment.

I could have reported them to BNM but for that small transaction - I figured the effort is far more than the value of the transaction.

This post has been edited by hye: Feb 2 2008, 11:00 AM
hye
post Feb 2 2008, 06:31 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(ychwang @ Feb 2 2008, 06:00 PM)
May i know CIMB Petronas MasterCard have paypass facilities?

Which bank CC got free Personal Accident Insurance?
From the promotional pictures, CIMB Petronas doesn't seem to support PayPass. However, the good news is that the MBB Petronas card support PayWave. (Merchant terminal supporting multiple RF cards namely Mastercard PayPass, VISA Paywave & AMEX, these terminals have yet to debut in Malaysia)

Why do you want the Personal Accident Insurance ? Neither of the Petronas cc offer free Personal Accident Insurance. If I'm not mistaken MBF cc offer this but the payout is only RM25K and you need to fill in their form every year + it's not you who'll benefit from this. (If you understand what I'm trying to say) blink.gif

This post has been edited by hye: Feb 2 2008, 08:26 PM
hye
post Feb 2 2008, 09:52 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Anyone here wish to comment which card is the easy to obtain a extension of the free annual waiver ?

So far I have been fairly successful with Citibank and Standard Chartered (Character card).
hye
post Feb 2 2008, 11:09 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Feb 2 2008, 10:00 PM)
Just found out that two of my technician failed to get HSBC CC even though their basic salary meets the requirement of RM 18k p.a. HSBC sent them a rejection letter.
Quite weird .... any possible explanation for the rejection ?
hye
post Feb 3 2008, 08:53 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(guanteik @ Feb 3 2008, 08:32 AM)
actually what are the reasons one person having so many CC? we can just have 1 card with high credit limit rite...
Have you heard of this saying "Never put all your eggs in one basket". It's good to have an alternative card from another bank, especially if you are traveling. What if your ONLY card get rejected when you want to use it as security when you check-in into a hotel ?

Some people use their cards as a mean to regulate their spending. For example using 2 cards to separate - company expenses & personal expenses, petrol purchases & everything else, IPP purchases & everything else.

Yes ... you can have 1 card with very high credit limit but there are ways to make your purchases much more efficient & use credit cards as means to manage it. But definitely not as a method to accumulate short term debt - their finance charges will kill you.
hye
post Feb 3 2008, 09:40 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Feb 3 2008, 09:34 AM)
haha..
i din expect any calls from them, just wan to show how frequent they calling people.

we can see that Citibank is most active in Telemarketing.
I get frequent calls from Standard Chartered too. Calls stop after I cancel my card with them.
hye
post Feb 3 2008, 11:00 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Feb 3 2008, 10:34 AM)
why you cancel? Too many fussy calls?
Card limit was lower as compared to my other cards. Keeping only the high limit cards now.
hye
post Feb 3 2008, 12:48 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(myusername @ Feb 3 2008, 12:43 PM)
Does anybody use CIMB cards (not DA) who's tried online access without a savings account?
I'm using the CIMBClicks without a savings or current account and holding just the cards. Like David83 said, you need to apply for the cc PIN (It doesn't come automatically with the card unlike other cc). The PIN will be mailed to you but it'll probably take a while before it arrives, be patient.

Once you received it, go over to the bank and use the PIN to register for an Internet PIN. The rest should be straight forward.

This post has been edited by hye: Feb 3 2008, 12:49 PM

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0374sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:31 PM