9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Technical LCD TV/Display Discussion Thread, technical discussion on LCD TV/Monitor

SSJBen
post Apr 7 2009, 01:04 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Scavengers @ Apr 7 2009, 08:46 AM)
what do u guys think on samsung LA32A450 compared to aquos A33
anyone own this particular lcd model? need some input from sifus here tongue.gif
LA32A450 = Nice cabinet design, decent picture quality, decent black levels but bad implementation of dynamic contrast ratio, horrible sound(not an issue if you plan on having a set of other speakers), slight bit of after-image.

LC32A33M = Decent cabinet design traditional Japanese-feel, good picture quality, decent black levels, decent sound, no after-image issues.
SSJBen
post Apr 7 2009, 01:24 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

I'd suggest you take a look at a few othe models before making your choice.

Generally, the newer LC-32A37M is better in its picture scaling due to an update scaler and a better panel. However, strangely the speaker has been moved to the back so it won't sound nice if you have open air behind the TV. The sound levels will be low, no bass and the treble takes over entirely.
SSJBen
post Apr 15 2009, 07:24 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(de_lasoul @ Apr 15 2009, 05:36 PM)
Hi all,

Any bro can help me here. I've got a 2nd generation plasma 42 incher. Resolution is only 852 x 480 only.

Can it support the PS3 via HDMI cable? Any concern playing with COD4?
To my knowledge, theres really no 2nd generation plasma which has HDMI connection to begin with.
SSJBen
post Apr 15 2009, 09:48 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

If thats the case, there really isn't any problem then.
SSJBen
post Apr 15 2009, 11:01 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(chtan @ Mar 24 2009, 11:34 AM)
If you have enough money go for LCD TV or plasma. Monitor produces the worse image among them all cause they are lacking off proper post processing circuit. You loss out a lot of detail pairing your PS3/X360 with monitor(albeit a bit cheaper in this kind of setup).
Monitor is only capable of producing best picture when paired with a dedicated GPU card such as Nvdia/ATI etc.
doh.gif

I think you're mistaken.
The loss of detail you are talking about is due to the bigger pixel-pitch on monitors, thus creating all sorts of aliasing effects and low-res textures look EVEN low-res. Nothing to do with post processing, if you even know what post processing is that is.

Best picture?
An intergrated graphics processor(IGP) can produce as good looking as a dedicated GPU on the desktop. Of course, you bring games in and your framerates will drop to the shitter. But a monitor has nothing to do on how good of a picture it can produce regardless of what GPU you are using. Because if thats the case, everyone will be running on a SLI/Crossfire or GTX 295 GPUs now.
SSJBen
post Apr 18 2009, 11:57 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(de_lasoul @ Apr 16 2009, 12:14 AM)
Tried it before, somehow there is no display when I load COD4...
That is rather odd....
I haven't encountered that particular problem before.... hmm.gif

QUOTE(hazardcradle @ Apr 18 2009, 06:45 AM)
Ok guys, today i bought a PS3 and i want to play it with my non-HDCP LCD LG L225WS. I just need all of you here a confirmation;

1- if i use HDFURY HDMI to VGA converter, will it work? The website tells that this device can convert HDMI signal to VGA. Picture related:

2- What about sound? if i use this device, do i still need to plug the av cable (RCA) to my speaker?(i dont have speaker with optical input)That will make my ps3 has multiple output..will my ps3 support multiple output?

I hope you guys can answer me. Thanks icon_rolleyes.gif
1) AFAIK, it works.

2) Connect the RCA audio cables to your speakers individually or through a Y-splitter. The PS3 can individually select which type of sound output under the settings, in which case is A/V instead of HDMI for your issue.

Added on April 18, 2009, 11:59 am
QUOTE(bluesfingers @ Apr 18 2009, 10:26 AM)
hey bros, i m planning to buy a LCD TV but nt sure the basic HD ready  without motion enhancement is good enuf? i normaly use for downloaded movie-rmvb, avi & DVD as well
It all depends on your budget.
If you have less than RM1.8 to RM2k, well the pretty much standard affair LCD monitors under these prices are fairly good enough.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Apr 18 2009, 11:59 AM
SSJBen
post Apr 26 2009, 02:50 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

If you mean the 1080p function to choose UNDER THE PS3 display settings, then duh.... of course you can choose it. Either your TV goes completely blank or your TV is able to accept 1080p signals then downscale it to its native 720p.
SSJBen
post Apr 26 2009, 10:46 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Redundant @ Apr 26 2009, 08:24 AM)
hi guys,

am looking forward to purchase an lcd monitor... samsung 2233sw is my choice for the time being... was wondering if would the font in MGS4 appear to be very small? like those description of the guns and stuff? also, will the aimming dot be hard to see?

thnx in advance =)
They would be rather small due to the pixel-pitch on a 22-inch monitor havine 1920x1080 pixels. Its so ultra-tight that on a PC game, you can nearly forget about turning on AA actually.

The fonts in MGS4 are generally very big. So they shouldn't be too hard to read though. Theres no aiming dot in MGS4, just one reticule-circle.

It'll depend on how far you sit from your monitor, if its between 2-4 feet then you shouldn't have a problem.

QUOTE(00 Gundam Exia @ Apr 26 2009, 09:09 AM)
Hmm. So basically, advised to play on 720 instead la right?
Whicever suits your eyes best.
SSJBen
post Apr 27 2009, 02:19 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

IINM, the Viewsonic VX2433wm is a little bit more expensive than the Dell S2409W. Last I saw the Viewsonic was priced at around RM739-RM759. You can get the Dell S2409W for less than RM700 these days.

Anyways, picture quality wise theres not much to compare. Pretty much neck and toe with each other, although I would say color accuracy is a little bit better on the Viewsonic. Nothing major really.

Go for whichever your budget allows.
SSJBen
post May 1 2009, 02:04 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(D.Sync @ Apr 30 2009, 04:56 PM)
Erm is ViewSonic VX2433WM comparable to Dell S2409W? I had been looking for Dell S2409W seller but so far no luck. So I guess my choice is the ViewSonic LCD monitor. Anyone using it with their PS3? How's the graphic?

Currently I have the following brand/model in my thought:
1. Acer H233H (Great contrast ratio among the rest, 40,000:1) 23"
2. ViewSonic VX2433WM 23.6"
3. BenQ G2411HD 24"

I might choose between (1) and (2), any comment that can stimulate my mind?

Added on April 30, 2009, 10:16 pmAfter searching in Google for almost 4 hours here's my conclusion:

1. There is very few user review for (3).
2. There is some light bleed problem in (1)
3. Various input such as composite, component...

Yet, still don't know which one to buy. Maybe (3)?
1.) Best contrast ratio, but just so you know... its DYNAMIC contrast ratio. Quality wise, its decent but I'd take the Viewsonic VX2433WM.

2.) This is what I'd recommend out of the 3 you have your eyes on. The backlight bleed is at the very edge of the screen and doesn't extend more than half an inch, you'd barely notice it.

3.) This BenQ is a 16:10 monitor, no 1:1 pixel mapping either(IINM) or 16:9 zoom in so your games may be stretched. There is a slight bit of ghosting as well due to it not using a TN panel.

QUOTE(snowdog20202020 @ May 1 2009, 01:07 AM)
hi guys...
jus want to know Dell S2409W when gaming through PS3 any ghosting or laggy???
thkzzz all bro...
Unless you have eyes as good as superman, you aren't going to see any ghosting on your games or movies on the S2409W.

SSJBen
post May 1 2009, 12:33 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(siqplus @ May 1 2009, 02:09 AM)
i want to ask... im confuse between

e2200hd            and              t2200hd + DVI cable..

is there any image quality difference?
is the dvi-hdmi cable the one that split to 3 things(white, yellow n red) ?

sorry.. its still confusing
No difference.

DVI is technically HDMI, they're 2 different technologies but they are based off the same concept which is digital connection.
DVI isn't able to carry audio sources through its cable only however. Video quality wise, while HDMI can support higher resolution(which at this moment is out of anyone's reach anyway), they're neck and toe.

QUOTE(D.Sync @ May 1 2009, 12:18 PM)
For the (3) point, from their official website here, they did mention about 16:9 and 16:10 capability. They didn't mention thing about 1:1 pixel mapping either, so the information is uncertain? About the TN panel, yes, it does not able to provide fast response time, yet, it is able to reproduce all the 16 billion colors of 24-bit.

BTW did you use the (2) product? I've read some people commenting about the bright blue light (power LED) at the center of the screen which is very annoying. Wonder is it true?

Still cannot make up my mind.  doh.gif
My bad.
Confirming the resolution, it is a 16:9 monitor. 16:10 simple scales correctly without cropping on the screen.

The color accuracy of the panel is untouched by the other 2 you mentioned, but personally one thing I really hate from gaming is ghosting. Which unfortunately, the BenQ G2411W does have a little. More over, I'm thinking that this monitor is cost quite a bit as it isn't using TN+ panel. Over RM1k I think.

The blue LED light may be a little bright, it doesn't really annoy me though. If it does annoy you that much, you can always stick a white tape over it.

SSJBen
post May 1 2009, 01:16 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

I don't own to the Viewsonic VX2433wm, but I've tested it out pretty rigurously as part of my job. As I've said, backlight bleed is minimal at best. Some exaggarates it too much just because its irratating to their eyes, as for me I could live with it as the bleed doesn't extend more than half an-inch anyway.

The contrast ratio is typical enough, as good as it gets on a TN panel.

I'm pretty sure that the BenQ G2411HD is more expensive than the Viewsonic though, so better check your budget first. Alternatively, you should try both out personally before picking them up.
SSJBen
post May 8 2009, 12:30 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(gensylo @ May 5 2009, 05:27 PM)
hello guys...
i wanna buy LCD tv for my PS3..there are two option in mind:-
    1) KLV-32V550/W BRAVIA V550 Series        -RM2,999.00
    2) LC32A66M FULL HD ELEGANT A66 SERIES -RM2,799.00
which one is better picture quality..i like BRAVIA in terms of design..help me to choose
Both are about on equal terms.
I definitely perfer the V550 though, its black levels is untouched at the RM3k price point in the LCD arena.
Though if you prefer more of a sharper image as well as having better color vibrance, the Sharp is nicer in a way.

They're neck and toe, so I suggest you bring your PS3 and test them both out to see which looks better in your eyes.

QUOTE(Tomiya Takato @ May 8 2009, 09:18 AM)
Yesterday i went to lowyat and tried to get the acer H233H but everyone said it sold out any ideas where to get it now ?
Most places will be restocking at the 3rd week of this month, if not by the latest at the very early of next.
There are definitely still places where the Acer H233H is available, try Viewnet.
SSJBen
post May 12 2009, 04:56 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

What game are you playing?

Do know that many PS3 games are initially 720p(heck their actual resolution are even lower/higher in different aspect ratios). Since you play on a 1080p screen, images will need to be upscaled.... thus, loss in quality.

Some LCD monitors have rather crappy scalers, the Acer H233H... I'm not so sure.
SSJBen
post May 12 2009, 05:46 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Nothing to do with HDMI cable, less to do with screen size regardless of panel technology.

Its just the way the monitor is built perhaps, sub-par scaler and what not.
SSJBen
post May 14 2009, 12:15 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ May 13 2009, 11:14 PM)
Mine they din provide .. i have to buy seperate, cost me RM100 sad.gif
Not wanting to spoil your bubbles...

But HDMI cables only cost RM20 at most in Carrefour.
SSJBen
post May 14 2009, 12:42 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Wow.... and paying RM80 is justified for laziness?
I salute you man! notworthy.gif
SSJBen
post May 14 2009, 12:59 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Oohh... thank goodness you didn't get the Monster... if not really money down the drain.
SSJBen
post May 15 2009, 11:20 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Unless you have the money to splurge out on a V series BRAVIA under the 32" size, then go for the Aquos.

As for it being too big or small, it depends on how far you are sitting away from it. Of course, how big the space you have is also another factor.
SSJBen
post May 17 2009, 01:43 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Acer X203H is HDCP compliant.
It doesn't for some reason... display anything when you use a HDMI-DVI cable. Try using a dongle instead.

9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0385sec    0.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:54 AM