128 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Technical LCD TV/Display Discussion Thread, technical discussion on LCD TV/Monitor

nerd
post May 12 2008, 02:03 AM

another brick in the wall.
3,373 posts

any way to force it fullscreen?

tak syok la with crop sad.gif
hafz
post May 12 2008, 08:40 AM

71 posts

Just Bought Dell 19" at Lowyat RM639.00 Just try with PS3 with default support 1080i...

Just try 1080p and working perfectly....
slko
post May 12 2008, 09:31 AM

836 posts

is samsung works wit ps3???
LG???
nerd
post May 12 2008, 11:37 AM

3,373 posts

ok I was pretty set on getting a 22", but now I hear about this cropping issue.. so only 24" will be capable of showing fullscreen @ 720p eh? even 19" won't make the cut? damn.
h_bib
post May 12 2008, 05:15 PM

Gadgets Freak
847 posts

ANyOne here play ps3 with viewsonic?any comment please..
Thunderbolt
post May 13 2008, 12:32 AM

Tonight We Dine In Penang!
1,191 posts

QUOTE(nerd @ May 12 2008, 11:37 AM)
ok I was pretty set on getting a 22", but now I hear about this cropping issue.. so only 24" will be capable of showing fullscreen @ 720p eh? even 19" won't make the cut? damn.

If the LCD support the 1:1 pixel mapping, there will be no crop issue. Widescreen LCD are 16:10 while PS3/Xbox360 are 16:9, thus the LCD need to crop it in order to fit the screen.

Even if you get 24" (1920x1200), you still need 1:1 pixel mapping support.

1920x1200 will be full screen under 1080p format but the image will be stretched to fit the screen. Through pixel mapping method, you will see black bars at the top and bottom of the screen. This is normal because it output the correct 1080p format.
nd3527
post May 13 2008, 01:40 AM

24 posts

use 22" LCD monitor to play ps3 (720p display)
see left & right cry.gif
for xbox, no problem rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by nd3527: May 13 2008, 02:04 AM

nerd
post May 13 2008, 10:13 AM

3,373 posts

QUOTE(Thunderbolt @ May 13 2008, 12:32 AM)
If the LCD support the 1:1 pixel mapping, there will be no crop issue. Widescreen LCD are 16:10 while PS3/Xbox360 are 16:9, thus the LCD need to crop it in order to fit the screen.

Even if you get 24" (1920x1200), you still need 1:1 pixel mapping support.

1920x1200 will be full screen under 1080p format but the image will be stretched to fit the screen. Through pixel mapping method, you will see black bars at the top and bottom of the screen. This is normal because it output the correct 1080p format.
thanks for the explanation bro! smile.gif

hmm from the picture above, the cropping seems quite bad. so I need to get one with pixel mapping now, I don't think I can live with the cropping, it'll reduce the gameplay experience sad.gif

any recommendations? does the Viewsonic VX2235wm-5 have pixel mapping? I was pretty set on that one.

edit: hmm after some reading it seems that only the Samsung 2253BW is capable of 1:1 pixel mapping. and it seems that only GT5P at 720p has this issue.. haih big decision to make here, the Samsung 2253bw is RM100 more expensive than the Viewsonic, and for a working student, that's alot of money..

This post has been edited by nerd: May 13 2008, 11:00 AM
prazole
post May 13 2008, 11:21 AM

Sleepyhead..
1,513 posts

to be honest.. all these pixel mapping 1:1 crap only matters before u buy a monitor..
after that it really doesn't..

i would recommend samsung monitor anytime.. its quality is top notch n price is very competitive
and we all know samsung has the best design
nerd
post May 13 2008, 12:35 PM

3,373 posts

i just don't want my images to be cropped.. it's better that i equip myself with the knowledge beforehand than be disappointed later on, no?

ferricide
post May 13 2008, 12:42 PM

Mercenary
638 posts

Grab a LCD TV for the gest gaming experience. Even have sellers here in LYN selling 32-inchers @ RM1899.

Once you have the larger displays, you won't look back already on LCD monitors.

I've got a 24" DELL and 37" Sammy LCDTV. Once you go big, no way you're gonna go back to small.

This post has been edited by ferricide: May 13 2008, 12:43 PM
nerd
post May 13 2008, 03:30 PM

3,373 posts

student working part-time here to earn cash la friend, plus, if I buy a 32-incher, there's no way I can carry that into uni.. sweat.gif 'coz once I enrol, I'll be staying on-campus.

and if I use my dad's 32-inch, I can't play at nights.. only during the day when he's not around.. sad.gif so have to settle for the best compromise.

still, I might consider just that..

This post has been edited by nerd: May 13 2008, 03:32 PM
Thunderbolt
post May 13 2008, 05:35 PM

Tonight We Dine In Penang!
1,191 posts

QUOTE(nerd @ May 13 2008, 10:13 AM)
thanks for the explanation bro! smile.gif

hmm from the picture above, the cropping seems quite bad. so I need to get one with pixel mapping now, I don't think I can live with the cropping, it'll reduce the gameplay experience sad.gif

any recommendations? does the Viewsonic VX2235wm-5 have pixel mapping? I was pretty set on that one.

edit: hmm after some reading it seems that only the Samsung 2253BW is capable of 1:1 pixel mapping. and it seems that only GT5P at 720p has this issue.. haih big decision to make here, the Samsung 2253bw is RM100 more expensive than the Viewsonic, and for a working student, that's alot of money..

Yes, the cropping are really bad. Some people can tolerate it while for most gamers, they would do away with the cropping. As far as i am concerned, most Dell model have 1:1 pixel mapping support but these brand are known for been expensive.

GT5P is a full 1080p game.

Grab a LCD TV for the gest gaming experience. Even have sellers here in LYN selling 32-inchers @ RM1899.

Once you have the larger displays, you won't look back already on LCD monitors.

I've got a 24" DELL and 37" Sammy LCDTV. Once you go big, no way you're gonna go back to small.
Of course the bigger would be the better but you need to know 37" is not the full 1080p format while any 24" LCD monitor can output 1080p full HD format. For LCD TV to output full HD, you need to get atleast 40" and above. It will cost you a bomb. Therefore, LCD monitor is the most ideal and cost saving option for playing PS3/Xbox360 consoles.

I have seen the comparison shot with many types of LCD TV brand and the best result is Sony Bravia model.
eliyazar
post May 13 2008, 06:25 PM

no need 32" inch lcd tv...how about go for dell 22" lcd monitor..got hdmi port
http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/products/p...dhs1&l=en&s=dhs

very nice lcd monitor..i recommend it coz i hv one.. biggrin.gif thumbup.gif

it also support 1080p icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by eliyazar: May 13 2008, 06:27 PM
lowyatfan02023
post May 13 2008, 06:40 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(nd3527 @ May 13 2008, 01:40 AM)
use 22" LCD monitor to play ps3 (720p display)
see left & right cry.gif
for xbox, no problem rclxms.gif
is that for gt5p only or for all game?
i want to know that before i bought a ps3. is it capable been played with samsung 226bw?
because i am having this monitor only and do not have enough money to buy lcd tv.
need your advice man!
nd3527
post May 13 2008, 06:51 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(lowyatfan02023 @ May 13 2008, 06:40 PM)
is that for gt5p only or for all game?
i want to know that before i bought a ps3. is it capable been played with samsung 226bw?
because i am having this monitor only and do not have enough money to buy lcd tv.
need your advice man!
sweat.gif i only hv gt5p 1 game only, sorry...
i think other game also hv this problem...i also hv demo game. feel like no crop loh..(maybe)
for me, ok la, 22" lcd monitor now about RM900+ nod.gif

This post has been edited by nd3527: May 13 2008, 07:12 PM
alex13
post May 14 2008, 10:45 AM

400 posts

Hi all, I got a Sony Bravia LCD 32S410A. Is that a good LCD? Can it fully support PS3 and Wii?

Thank you.
mr_hahn_nemo
post May 14 2008, 09:32 PM

114 posts

my budget around RM700..
any monitor thats support HD around this price???

btw..
the dell nice.. how much they sell in KL??

im in kedah.. gonna grab hd monitor end of this month in KL..
any recomenddation??
prazole
post May 15 2008, 10:05 AM

Sleepyhead..
1,513 posts

QUOTE(alex13 @ May 14 2008, 10:45 AM)
Hi all, I got a Sony Bravia LCD 32S410A. Is that a good LCD? Can it fully support PS3 and Wii?

Thank you.
???? what kind of question is this ?????
if u talking 1080p then no..

QUOTE(mr_hahn_nemo @ May 14 2008, 09:32 PM)
my budget around RM700..
any monitor thats support HD around this price???

btw..
the dell nice.. how much they sell in KL??

im in kedah.. gonna grab hd monitor end of this month in KL..
any recomenddation??
HD monitor? another 1080p question?
no ur budget is too low
alex13
post May 16 2008, 08:21 AM

400 posts

[quote=prazole,May 15 2008, 10:05 AM]
if u talking 1080p then no..

To Prazole,

I am not saying 1080p. All I want is to play PS3 with real PS3 rendering image and video and watch blu ray disk in the future. Is that OK?

Thank you.

128 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0286sec    0.99    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:32 AM