Technical LCD TV/Display Discussion Thread, technical discussion on LCD TV/Monitor
gundamalpha
Jul 14 2009, 12:14 AM
Nope, but that's what I would recommend based on my testing on the unit. If I were to downgrade my monitor I would definitely get H233H at least for now since its specs is "up to date". The rests you mentioned were excellent when they were released, but not now.
gundamalpha
Jul 19 2009, 11:42 AM
QUOTE(Empires_Knight @ Jul 19 2009, 10:08 AM) sorry to say but i heard acer lcd monitor very easy to broken...im not sure but just listen from people... it is true?....im also interesting to acer but quiet worry...hope can help me...tq...  TBH in these days and age, every panel is is vulnerable if you are unlucky due to cost cutting by manufacturers to stay in competition. Acer or Samsung or LG or Sony or Pioneer, all with similar faith
gundamalpha
Jul 20 2009, 08:07 PM
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jul 20 2009, 08:04 PM) I always rate refresh rate as nothing other than market-gimmicks, also something more subjective to the person looking at the screen. 100hz, 120hz, 200hz, all look stupid to me. Makes movement on the screen really 'fake'. So I suggest you take a look and see if your eyes like higher refresh rates or not. I'd personally always opt for lower response times.  Unless the input is 100Hz, I don't see the need for 100Hz TV at all even though I own one myself.
gundamalpha
Jul 23 2009, 07:49 PM
Get H233H seriously, P244W is quite terrible and the price is quite ridiculous
gundamalpha
Jul 23 2009, 08:42 PM
QUOTE(Empires_Knight @ Jul 23 2009, 08:38 PM) really?...thnx bro...do u have h233h model?..  Honestly, no
gundamalpha
Aug 8 2009, 11:14 AM
If you don't mind old model Panasonic Z80 usually goes for RM28XX, 42" FHD.
gundamalpha
Aug 24 2009, 03:52 PM
QUOTE(CrossFirE @ Aug 24 2009, 03:51 PM) which lcd monitor is best for ps3? Honestly nothing is best, it's all down to preference
gundamalpha
Aug 24 2009, 03:56 PM
Most of us here agree that H233H is the best for its value, but of course there are still people complaining about that mostly becasue of its speakers
gundamalpha
Aug 26 2009, 10:11 AM
You can just use the normal AV cable that comes with the PS3 for sound if you don't use the audio from HDMI or using DVI (which has no audio signal). But of course you won't be able to get true surround sound this way. Alternatively you could use optical cable for sound, which you can get 5.1 out from the games.
gundamalpha
Dec 11 2009, 04:19 PM
QUOTE(TitaniumZ @ Dec 11 2009, 10:31 AM) http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/products/c...s=dhs&cs=mydhs1I'm choosing between Dell ST2210 @ RM589/ST2310 @ RM619 and S2209W @ RM529. Both are 1920x1080 but ST2210/ST2310 comes with HDMI with HDCP while S2209W is only DVD-D wihtout HDCP. So I want to know which one is better for PS3 if I want 1080P output? Do I need HDCP if using HDMI-DVI cable? HDCP is a must for PS3
gundamalpha
Dec 15 2009, 12:18 PM
QUOTE(gnsumas @ Dec 14 2009, 01:28 AM) 720p is the worst reso around... You can never find a 1280x720 tv/monitor  I remember those older 17"/19" wide monitors were 1280 x 720 native
gundamalpha
Jan 6 2010, 02:58 PM
QUOTE(Brian O'Connor @ Jan 6 2010, 02:24 PM) Guys.Wanna ask here. Recently I just bought a 2nd hand LCD monitor Samsung Full HD 20" from my friend. The point is, I wanted to connect my PS3, 360 and PC into the LCD at the same time but dun know the proper media to do that.Well we already knew that LCD Monitor is not like LCD TV which have 2-3 hdmi port at the same time.What is the best tool/device that I should use to connect my PS3,360 and PC at the same time?Where can I get it and how much usually it sell? p.s: I dun want to plug and connect every time I want to play on diff console or in the pc.Some more it might damage the cable port of the lcd. I believe there's at least 2 ports for your monitor? Leave the VGA to your PC, and connect your PS3 & 360 via something like this?
gundamalpha
Jan 6 2010, 03:58 PM
I'm not sure if they are available locally since I deal mostly online
gundamalpha
Jan 7 2010, 10:17 AM
QUOTE(Ezra86 @ Jan 7 2010, 08:48 AM) fast question.. wanna play ps2 using comp monitor.. not much time to do research... DVI/AGP monitor which i'm using.. pls help.. wat do i need and price if possible.. no latency as possible.. The cheapest decent one is HD Box Pro, around RM300. For better ones eg. XRGB series, Optoma series, DVDO series the price should go beyond RM1,000 used, latest models beyond RM10,000.
gundamalpha
Jan 15 2010, 10:27 AM
QUOTE(orangbulu @ Jan 15 2010, 06:38 AM) Just a heads up, monitors dont really upscale well, i'm using samsung 2243 swx as my display.... the games in 720p, can see the pixel... furthermore you are sitting so close to the monitor, compared to tv. If I knew this issue, i would've paid more to get a 720p TV instead or 1080p if i have extra cash Not really, scaling ability depends on the engine. There are also HDTVs with crappy scaling, and marvelous scaling on monitors. But nothing beats an dedicated external scaling machine though.
gundamalpha
Jan 16 2010, 09:11 AM
QUOTE(alston1203 @ Jan 16 2010, 08:37 AM) hi all, face some problem need some advice from you all.... most of the games in ps3 in 720p or 1080p? cause i will get my ps3 next week, now still cant make decision want to buy HD ready or Full HD LCD TV, for me ps3 just for gaming not for blue-ray movie..... please gv me some advice thanks!!! Most of them 720p
gundamalpha
Feb 3 2010, 07:48 PM
Calibration is hidden.. I mean the service mode. TV menus aren't enough to complete the job
gundamalpha
Feb 9 2010, 02:45 PM
QUOTE(figure8 @ Feb 9 2010, 02:38 PM) just forget it. normal tv is better. believe me. just ask others. i myself already tried with different brand of vga box n tv card, conclusion = image sux. i just give up and ended buying normal crt tv with hd ready support. I can't agree with that. Good VGA box/linedoubler can do the same, if not better, than what a CRT TV can do  Added on February 9, 2010, 2:55 pmMissed the cheaper part, my bad This post has been edited by gundamalpha: Feb 9 2010, 02:55 PM
gundamalpha
Feb 9 2010, 04:17 PM
If purely for PS2 then linedoublers would do the job nicely, but the problem is you have to get one from overseas. I myself using Videon Omega HDP for 480i games, which include most PS2 games, and the result is very satisfying. The interlaced lines shown are extremely stable, no flickering like playing on a CRT TV. The price I paid was about RM900, including shipping from Germany.
gundamalpha
Feb 9 2010, 07:24 PM
For your budget you should try HD Box Pro, heard SCE sells it last time, not sure about now. It does a very decent job. Added on February 9, 2010, 7:32 pmQUOTE(figure8 @ Feb 9 2010, 05:21 PM) ^i'm not really sure about new/expensive vga box that can produce good quality image over lcd, but for the last 3-4 years i've tried around ~5 vga box which range from 150-300. so far the quality is so-so, not that good compare to crt tv... maybe new n expensive vga box can do a lot better than that, but rm900 is sooo expensive. huhu almost can buy ps3 nowaday. Actually mine is a 10 year old converter, used to be RM6,000+ when it first launch. But old doesn't mean bad, at least it's more compatible with old systems This post has been edited by gundamalpha: Feb 9 2010, 07:32 PM