125 Pages « < 75 76 77 78 79 > » Bottom

Investing in US stocks, Does anyone know how?

sulifeisgreat
post Oct 22 2009, 11:12 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Oct 22 2009, 07:56 PM)
TA cannot use in DJI.

so how do we play dji then?

Added on October 22, 2009, 11:21 pm
QUOTE(redken @ Oct 22 2009, 06:10 PM)
If falling below long term MA its time to buy already. U should sell before it breach long term MA threshold coz from there onwards, its gonna freefall. If its approaching long term MA from below, then its time to sell, the reverse is true.
hmm... that means 95% of my ramblings could not be understood cry.gif
ok, in future more pictures, less talking
if can, u got to try the theory & see how it fits to ur study plan

basically 50>200 means its in uptrend
u can note some charts, the price just above 50 & ride up along the trend

so 50<200 means downtrend
u can note some charts, the price just below 200 & ride down along the trend

see how is 50 trying to move, notis it tries to move up, while still under 200

refer dia, qqqq & spy chart. the candlesticks charts & volume is giving u some kind of a clue, where the support & resistance r located
dia = dow jones, qqqq = nasdaq & spy = s&p500

the key point to watch is when 50 intersect with 200 & vice versa, who will win the fight? bulls or bear. u can either wait for confirmation or gamble on its next path rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by sulifeisgreat: Oct 22 2009, 11:48 PM
sulifeisgreat
post Oct 22 2009, 11:39 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(mrPOTATO @ Oct 22 2009, 05:25 PM)
I didn't even know the importance of technical analysis until lately. After reading yr link about MA and looking at the charts, i learnt that it is useful to compare the short term MA against long term MA and once the short term MA goes lower than the long term one, its time to run ?  blush.gif

Other parts of the technical analysis i haven't touched yet. Only use common sense to judge that the bottom blue bars are for volume, if they are on top its a good sign. Once it turns upside down, its not such a good sign anymore.  brows.gif

Sifu, right or not ? What other things to read in conjunction with the above ?  rclxub.gif
imo, nothing much to read in conjunction with above , as it seems there is an information overload laugh.gif
its like walking in the forest & looking for a way to the gold mine
of coz u wil wish there r signboard & a highway that leads to there
so i just give some ideas to engage ur mind & show some signs to there
all the best in your trading journey, anything - u can alwiz ask in the thread icon_rolleyes.gif

mH3nG
post Oct 22 2009, 11:43 PM

534 posts

Imo the 50 and 200 is too slow. Its more like whether or not the market is bullish or otherwise. the 10 and 30 days is more useful if you're looking at a shorter timeframe of say a few days.
sulifeisgreat
post Oct 22 2009, 11:55 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(mH3nG @ Oct 22 2009, 11:43 PM)
Imo the 50 and 200 is too slow. Its more like whether or not the market is bullish or otherwise. the 10 and 30 days is more useful if you're looking at a shorter timeframe of say a few days.
refer post#1483
agree, so how u use it & wat u wan to use depends on wat u r looking for
but my portfolio includes short, medium & long term stocks/ etf
for me, i see from overall picture, then i drill deeper down into individual stocks
everyone has diff opinion, as long as wateva makes $$$, its fine thumbup.gif
mH3nG
post Oct 23 2009, 12:02 AM

534 posts

QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Oct 22 2009, 11:55 PM)
refer post#1483
agree, so how u use it & wat u wan to use depends on wat u r looking for
but my portfolio includes short, medium & long term stocks/ etf
for me, i see from overall picture, then i drill deeper down into individual stocks
everyone has diff opinion, as long as wateva makes $$$, its fine  thumbup.gif
Very true. All the TA in the world won't help if someone suddenly decides to downgrade a certain bank stock. whistling.gif

The market seems to be quite ambivalent today thanks to the rise in jobless claims.

sulifeisgreat
post Oct 23 2009, 12:47 AM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(mH3nG @ Oct 23 2009, 12:02 AM)
Very true. All the TA in the world won't help if someone suddenly decides to downgrade a certain bank stock.  whistling.gif

The market seems to be quite ambivalent today thanks to the rise in jobless claims.
haha... for the market, stil hard to say... its still earnings season - opinion wise, it does seems lethargic
ozak
post Oct 23 2009, 12:58 AM

17,022 posts

Man. BAC so red. Wish I have more bullet to average down.
redken
post Oct 23 2009, 01:21 AM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Oct 22 2009, 11:12 PM)

so how do we play dji then?

Added on October 22, 2009, 11:21 pm

hmm... that means 95% of my ramblings could not be understood  cry.gif
ok, in future more pictures, less talking
if can, u got to try the theory & see how it fits to ur study plan

basically 50>200 means its in uptrend
u can note some charts, the price just above 50 & ride up along the trend

so 50<200 means downtrend
u can note some charts, the price just below 200 & ride down along the trend

see how is 50 trying to move, notis it tries to move up, while still under 200

refer dia, qqqq & spy chart. the candlesticks charts & volume is giving u some kind of a clue, where the support & resistance r located
dia = dow jones, qqqq = nasdaq & spy = s&p500

the key point to watch is when 50 intersect with 200 & vice versa, who will win the fight? bulls or bear. u can either wait for confirmation or gamble on its next path  rclxub.gif
Haha. Good. I did not say what he should do with short term MA. But truly, i do not understand u as well as your wife tongue.gif

Ayo CITI is not doing well leh. Plus we have no idea when the reverse split is coming. As investors are growing tired of the government interference in CITI, my guess is soon. If it takes a plunge after split just like AIG, then we better have more bullets in hand to whack it to the moon.
GHz
post Oct 23 2009, 07:47 AM

1,139 posts

wah URE has very good move yesterday, initially drop to 5.50 & finally rally to 5.93 (5.96 after market). Anyone ride on this?

I grab some at 5.59 & sold off at 5.80. Although not the best price but its very good for day trade.

However I still stuck with S & C. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by GHz: Oct 23 2009, 08:30 AM
zamans98
post Oct 23 2009, 08:41 AM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Oct 23 2009, 07:47 AM)
wah URE has very good move yesterday, initially drop to 5.50 & finally rally to 5.93 (5.96 after market). Anyone ride on this?

I grab some at 5.59 & sold off at 5.80. Although not the best price but its very good for day trade.

However I still stuck with S & C. sweat.gif
wow, totally opposite of yesterday's surprise crash by a monkey on WFC call.
(my firm believe - analyst tanked the market, buy/sell it for themselves, and sell/buy it later for profit)

Today, all recovered, in fact most of the giants back on their feet. As we chat last nite, 10,100 was the target for this week. Heck, Christmas came early..
900 points to 11,000 by end End November?

S back to my average price after market @ 341. Will hold till 350 and let go.

Trade yesterday thumbup.gif

x100 S 3.33
x200 URE 5.60
x200 URE 5.55
x200 UYG 5.93
x200 UYG 5.88

FRIDAY - we have Existing Home Sales, which will shake the market, plus its the weekend. Short trader will dump for profit, so am 1. Only C cannot dump as it far away from my ABP.
danmooncake
post Oct 23 2009, 09:12 AM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,125 posts

Whoa! Woke up and check my trades.

Still holding 200 TNA 43.80 biggrin.gif
I felt dirty and bought some small amount (50) FAS 81.25 tongue.gif

Missed the buy for ERX. sad.gif

Tonight, we'll probably get a pop due to AMZN amazing quarter. thumbup.gif

Dow to re-test @ 10100 and S&P to re-test 1100 soon. Time for another swing and sell some at this level.

zamans98
post Oct 23 2009, 09:23 AM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Oct 23 2009, 09:12 AM)
Whoa! Woke up and check my trades.

Still holding 200 TNA 43.80  biggrin.gif
I felt dirty and bought some small amount (50) FAS 81.25    tongue.gif

Missed the buy for ERX.  sad.gif

Tonight, we'll probably get a pop due to AMZN amazing quarter.  thumbup.gif

Dow to re-test @ 10100 and S&P to re-test 1100 soon. Time for another swing and sell some at this level.
I queued TNA x50 @ 43, but of course didn't hit. FAS still very xpensive for me. Wait till I dumped my KLSE crappy holding and go for NYSE full time. Then I will have cash.

AAPL not moving - after the news that NOKIA sues AAPL over patent rights. Nokia spend over $60 BILLION (yes, its billion) over 20 yrs on R&D on the wireless technology, but AAPL used it in their i-Phone without paying anything.

AAPL @ 190-200$ soon
mrPOTATO
post Oct 23 2009, 09:50 AM

2,113 posts

Hmm.. whats 500k unemployed out of 155million US workforce - just 0.3%. Americans like to count too much ha.

May the force go up again..

I'm going to diversify into hk, us go up, chinese go even higher, us come down, chinese slow down or even go up.

Anyway, i'm hoping aapl will come down too.

This post has been edited by mrPOTATO: Oct 23 2009, 09:53 AM
danmooncake
post Oct 23 2009, 01:21 PM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(mrPOTATO @ Oct 23 2009, 09:50 AM)
Hmm.. whats 500k unemployed out of 155million US workforce -  just 0.3%. Americans like to count too much ha.

May the force go up again..

I'm going to diversify into hk, us go up, chinese go even higher, us come down, chinese slow down or even go up.

Anyway, i'm hoping aapl will come down too.
Mr.Potato:

Aiya! No lah. Read the fine print. That's 500K is just weekly claims.. there are over 15 MILLION of unemployed people in US now. I know that because I just came back from there 2 weeks ago after meeting with my out-sourced employer and also business partner. Times are actually tough.. but this market is running on high octane now. The economic fundalmentals are really weak. Many banks are still refusing to lend or loosen up the credits for business. Recovery is there but really slow. The US Fed is creating a huge bubble again with treasuries and low US dollar and the stock market is way way ahead of itself now. Just trade carefully. nod.gif

zamans98
post Oct 23 2009, 02:07 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

Everyday the whole world talking about repeat crash this year, and yet nothing happening.

Traders holding short is dying to re-position themselves for long trades. Let's see what will happen this 2 months.
sulifeisgreat
post Oct 23 2009, 08:34 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(redken @ Oct 23 2009, 01:21 AM)
Haha. Good. I did not say what he should do with short term MA. But truly, i do not understand u as well as your wife  tongue.gif

Ayo CITI is not doing well leh. Plus we have no idea when the reverse split is coming. As investors are growing tired of the government interference in CITI, my guess is soon. If it takes a plunge after split just like AIG, then we better have more bullets in hand to whack it to the moon.
appreciate those who tried the trading & investing101 class. nod.gif
oh well, since participation really sux doh.gif time to gulung tikar laugh.gif
but i'll continue post case study whenever i pick up anything la

from now, i'll post gambling101 instead, but as usual, caveat emptor whistling.gif
for those who long, fix ur own buy, profit & cut loss level + vice versa when short
i don't set any limit order, i monitor it & when price hit, i do the necessary
i not licensed investment advisor & is just to show u all a glimpse of usa for ur entertainment purpose
do note, the stocks may or may not be part of my portfolio & this is not a recomendation nod.gif

gambling101 tongue.gif

buy if hit above 51 or pullback to 45 (whichever hit first)
holding period, few days before analyst earnings or when got signs to sell
call option +CLWDJ cost 10.70
if all fails, can be a short candidate blink.gif

wait pullback $24

buy at market open (options not available)
holding period, few days before analyst earnings or when got signs to sell

wait pullback $20

sulifeisgreat
post Oct 23 2009, 08:47 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 23 2009, 12:58 AM)
Man. BAC so red. Wish I have more bullet to average down.
imo for this range trading, options won't help, as direction still uncertain, it'll just decay its time value

hmm... 16.5-17.5 range trading? i sense greed & fear from the thread laugh.gif
wat the heck, buy market open & gamble vmad.gif ...caveat emptor

danmooncake
post Oct 23 2009, 09:41 PM

10,125 posts

Sold 100 TNA 47.80 tongue.gif

Still holding 100 shares of TNA and 50 FAS.

I shall see how it goes later.. feel like market take some profits for the weekend
or maybe we will rally because of AMZN and MSFT performance. tongue.gif

mH3nG
post Oct 23 2009, 09:51 PM

534 posts

Microsoft posted a lower profit but the stock is soaring. Odd. : doh.gif

Microsoft profit falls 18%, but results better than expected
zamans98
post Oct 23 2009, 10:01 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

good news : 5.57M new home sales!