DIY?
saw first post teaching how to upgrade HDD but the screen shot is in Jap?
Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners, anyone here like2maintain V2 FAQ thread?
Jan 9 2008, 12:51 AM
3,246 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
DIY?
saw first post teaching how to upgrade HDD but the screen shot is in Jap? |
Jan 9 2008, 12:55 AM
10,052 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: House of Wax |
Jan 9 2008, 05:47 AM
6 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
hi all...
I have a question here..... Currently i hook up my ps3 to samsung tantus PS-42P2ST with 576i resolution the problem is: My ps3 use component cable....At the back of my television there are 2 Set Of Component Cable Connector... 1 Set to 480i and 576i 1 Set to 480p 576p 720p and 1080i When i connect my ps3 to 480i and 576i its working fine which was my current setting now but when i connect to 480p 576p 720p and 1080i that television tell me there is no signal..So i am wondering is ps3 not support thos resolution or do i need to setting at my tv or ps3....because 576i x cantik lah thx for your guys help... i really appreciate it |
Jan 9 2008, 06:24 AM
666 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Left Hand Society, West London |
QUOTE(terencetoo @ Jan 9 2008, 12:35 AM) ohh icic...hmm.... PS3 OS are stored in the NAND chips and not the HDD so upgrading HDD will not affect much on PS3 stability I think what about upgrading the hdd to 160GB or 250GB will it causes the PS3 unstable? or mulfunction? |
Jan 9 2008, 06:40 AM
2,451 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: GOD's Land |
QUOTE(Karberator-x @ Jan 9 2008, 05:47 AM) hi all... Whenever you change to any input on your tv, hold the power button for a few seconds until you hear a beep sound and let it go. PS3 will detect the new input and configure it back.I have a question here..... Currently i hook up my ps3 to samsung tantus PS-42P2ST with 576i resolution the problem is: My ps3 use component cable....At the back of my television there are 2 Set Of Component Cable Connector... 1 Set to 480i and 576i 1 Set to 480p 576p 720p and 1080i When i connect my ps3 to 480i and 576i its working fine which was my current setting now but when i connect to 480p 576p 720p and 1080i that television tell me there is no signal..So i am wondering is ps3 not support thos resolution or do i need to setting at my tv or ps3....because 576i x cantik lah thx for your guys help... i really appreciate it |
Jan 9 2008, 07:10 AM
3,760 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
Can PS3 supports .mkv in (.h264) file format?
Jan 9 2008, 07:30 AM
6,649 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: At the end... |
Jan 9 2008, 08:04 AM
2,316 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
QUOTE(Thrust @ Jan 9 2008, 07:10 AM) QUOTE(KidsCode @ Jan 9 2008, 07:30 AM) h264 yes. But it's the MKV header that's PS3 cannot read. So you need to demux the MKV, and remux it back to MP4. The h264 content will maintain the same, no conversion done. Easy say, like changing your cloth la... The tutorial how to do that is on the first page, third post I think... This post has been edited by aiman04: Jan 9 2008, 08:04 AM |
Jan 9 2008, 08:24 AM
The mkv file must use either AC3 or DTS (will be auto transcoded to AC3) audio not AAC. What the remux process does is, taking out the audio and video from the mkv container and put them into the vob container which PS3 supports.
For 1080p source the whole video will be trancoded into MPEG2 codec and the final file size will be bigger but the picture quality remains. For instance an 8GB of 1080p source will be 10GB after the transcoding process and it will take a while, depends how powerful your PC is. The best part is all the vob files regardless the size can be transferred to PS3 HDD via network. So don't need to burn into a DVDR or split those big files to fit into those FAT32 external devices which have 4GB size limitation. |
Jan 9 2008, 10:03 AM
QUOTE(vorchiel @ Jan 9 2008, 08:24 AM) PS3 OS are stored in the NAND chips and not the HDD so upgrading HDD will not affect much on PS3 stability I think so i change the hdd myself with proper tools is that so, do u refer to the guide at first page?or is just plug n play method? Regarding hooking up your console to computer lcd's..the best way is HDMI-->DVI. wonder is there any good quality (brand) of cable that produce crips picture quality to my computer lcd? Thanks |
Jan 9 2008, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(terencetoo @ Jan 9 2008, 10:03 AM) so i change the hdd myself with proper tools is that so, do u refer to the guide at first page? There is only one way to change PS3 HDD and I'm sure all guides talk about the same procedure. This is the shortest video that I can find on teh intarwebs:or is just plug n play method? Regarding hooking up your console to computer lcd's..the best way is HDMI-->DVI. wonder is there any good quality (brand) of cable that produce crips picture quality to my computer lcd? Thanks |
Jan 9 2008, 12:25 PM
@vorchiel
wowo lovely! Thanks.. okie since can be done so easily...what about the format? just purchase the hdd from shop and just insert it right away? do i need to format of insert folder name like psp does...movie, video and pictures? will the PS3 will auto crete the folder option for u once u insert new hdd. Thanks again This post has been edited by terencetoo: Jan 9 2008, 12:40 PM |
Jan 9 2008, 12:33 PM
The PS3 will format the HDD automatically. If you straightaway upgrade your HDD after purchasing your PS3, then there is no need to do the backup function of files/gamesaves/videos/music from the old HDD. Just pop in the new HDD, format it using the PS3, and if you want to use linux, just repartition it using the PS3 OS before transferring any new files to the new HDD as the repartitioning process wipes all data.
Added on January 9, 2008, 12:52 pmDont worry about the folder structure, they will be autogenerated by PS3 This post has been edited by vorchiel: Jan 9 2008, 12:52 PM |
Jan 9 2008, 01:39 PM
0 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
Jan 9 2008, 02:05 PM
11,809 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
i tot 2.5 internal sata biggest is 160? no?
Jan 9 2008, 02:17 PM
eii not 250GB?
act y do v need to insert 160 or 250GB n so on? what are u guys going to put in? where 40GB PS3 can hook up external hdd as well? Ohh another thing..usb for PS3 can support external 2.5"hdd? |
Jan 9 2008, 02:24 PM
Jan 9 2008, 02:46 PM
0 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
QUOTE(terencetoo @ Jan 9 2008, 02:17 PM) eii not 250GB? We are putting in trailers / demos and downloaded gamesact y do v need to insert 160 or 250GB n so on? what are u guys going to put in? where 40GB PS3 can hook up external hdd as well? Ohh another thing..usb for PS3 can support external 2.5"hdd? haha now i am confused Can an external harddisk connected to PS3 USB serve the same purposes as the internal harddisk? If yes, do I still need to upgrade my internal harddisk to bigger capacity? |
Jan 9 2008, 02:49 PM
yes, but ifu wanna dl directly to ur ext HDD, u kenot perfomr backgorund dling
Jan 9 2008, 04:17 PM
| Change to: | 0.0160sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:30 AM |