Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners, anyone here like2maintain V2 FAQ thread?

tot31
post Jan 2 2008, 01:47 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

yeah rx is org kaya...huhuhuhu
tot31
post Jan 2 2008, 01:49 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(edvpc @ Jan 2 2008, 01:48 PM)
muahaha tot kembali... thumbup.gif
yeah rx kaya... whistling.gif
come back with a vengeance ... muahahahahaha
tot31
post Jan 2 2008, 02:00 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

rx..soryy lar I never send you my HDD coz right now I already have more than 200GB of HD stuffs...enjoy watching them on my PS3...hehehehhe
tot31
post Jan 2 2008, 02:04 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 2 2008, 02:01 PM)
FUIYOH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
and increasing every day.... tongue.gif soon my 320GB HDD will run out....hehehehheehe
tot31
post Jan 2 2008, 02:11 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

after this 320GB fill up..I'll buy 500GB...1TB too expensive right now....
tot31
post Jan 2 2008, 04:12 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Jan 2 2008, 02:36 PM)
tot u're back!!! the avatar suits u man. haha
hehehehehe..thanks for the compliment...actually that avatar is about 3ROD thing..see carefully the skull's eyes....muahahahahhaa...kire I want to say that X360 sucks...muahahahahaha
tot31
post Jan 8 2008, 07:41 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

mkv files can be played by remuxing them into vob file, just take 15mins for a 4GB file....I've done many...hehehhehe
tot31
post Jan 8 2008, 07:48 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

tanyer bro aiman04...dier terrer bab2 cam nie....
tot31
post Jan 8 2008, 09:29 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

your external storage devices must be formatted with FAT32 not NTFS.
tot31
post Jan 9 2008, 06:40 AM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(Karberator-x @ Jan 9 2008, 05:47 AM)
hi all...
I have a question here.....
Currently i hook up my ps3 to samsung tantus PS-42P2ST with 576i resolution
the problem is:

My ps3 use component cable....At the back of my television there are 2 Set Of
Component Cable Connector...
1 Set to 480i and 576i
1 Set to 480p 576p 720p and 1080i
When i connect my ps3 to 480i and 576i its working fine which was my current setting now but when i connect to 480p 576p 720p and 1080i that television tell me there is no signal..So i am wondering is ps3 not support thos resolution or do i need to setting at my tv or ps3....because 576i x cantik lah

thx for your guys help...
i really appreciate it
Whenever you change to any input on your tv, hold the power button for a few seconds until you hear a beep sound and let it go. PS3 will detect the new input and configure it back.
tot31
post Jan 9 2008, 08:24 AM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

The mkv file must use either AC3 or DTS (will be auto transcoded to AC3) audio not AAC. What the remux process does is, taking out the audio and video from the mkv container and put them into the vob container which PS3 supports.

For 1080p source the whole video will be trancoded into MPEG2 codec and the final file size will be bigger but the picture quality remains. For instance an 8GB of 1080p source will be 10GB after the transcoding process and it will take a while, depends how powerful your PC is.

The best part is all the vob files regardless the size can be transferred to PS3 HDD via network. So don't need to burn into a DVDR or split those big files to fit into those FAT32 external devices which have 4GB size limitation.
tot31
post Jan 9 2008, 04:17 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 9 2008, 02:49 PM)
yes, but ifu wanna dl directly to ur ext HDD, u kenot perfomr backgorund dling
Are you sure rx that you can download any demo from PSN Store directly to your external storage device connected to PS3? I really doubt so.
tot31
post Jan 9 2008, 04:26 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Jan 9 2008, 04:23 PM)
so it means tat Demo directly store to your PS3 hdd where u upgrade internally..

where external hdd just for u to store additional stuff dl from whatever source n play back through PS3 right.
Yes, you're definitely right.
tot31
post Jan 9 2008, 04:28 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Jan 9 2008, 04:27 PM)
can PS3 support any computer media format such as mkv and h.264? Means are downloaded mkv(h.264) playable in PS3? How about others avi divx xvid?
Your question reagrding mkv (h264)has been answered. Firmware 2.10 supports divx/xvid playback.
tot31
post Jan 9 2008, 04:41 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

only 15mins mkv remuxing to vob needed and then transfer it to PS3 HDD and walaa....h264 + ac3 5.1 audio runnnig smoothly on your PS3. the only setback is you can't FF/RW the HD movie just PAUSE and if you stop it in the middle you can't continue, you must watch it from the beginning. Why? I don't know...I always watch a movie from start to finish and the hit PAUSE button just to take a leak.
tot31
post Jan 9 2008, 05:14 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Jan 9 2008, 04:55 PM)
ohh some silly question,
can i pause my games or movies while leaving PS3 for few hours and then come back and play? possible to do that?
Yup, it's possible..I always do that .... biggrin.gif
tot31
post Jan 9 2008, 07:31 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(Karberator-x @ Jan 9 2008, 07:23 PM)
thx tot for the advice....
my ps3 works with 1080i although got some horizontal line...
really appreciate it thx
no problem mate... biggrin.gif
tot31
post Jan 14 2008, 08:00 AM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(small-jeff @ Jan 13 2008, 10:53 PM)
hmm...is it possible to play video files larger than 2Gb and formats other than .avi..? must install linux er?
yes you can playback file larger than 2GB other than avi like mkv files but you must remux it into a vob or trancode/convert it into mpeg2 and transfer it via network to PS3 hdd....

Remux mkv into vob :-

Pros
- Only take 15-20mins.
- file size remains the same.
- picture quality remains like the original source.

Cons
- you can't ff/rw while playback.
- you can't stop in the middle and continue, once you stop, you must Play it from the beginning. You can only Pause the video.

Transcode/Convert into MPEG2

Pros
- you can ff/rw, stop in the middle and continue.
- picture quality remains like the original source.

Cons
- takes a longer time, 3-5 hours of transcoding (depends on the file size and how powerful your PC is).
- the file size will be almost double from the original file.
tot31
post Jan 14 2008, 12:28 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

File size is never a problem for me as I can transfer through network whatever the filesize is to my PS3 hdd. The largest I've transferred was 10GB. It only took around 15mins to transferred the 10GB file wired from my PC to my PS3.
tot31
post Jan 14 2008, 06:12 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 14 2008, 12:29 PM)
tot, use ethernet ar?
yes, ethernet.

0.0364sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled