Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners, anyone here like2maintain V2 FAQ thread?

antimatterMY
post Jan 7 2008, 06:24 PM

hello guys,

just got my ps3 over the weekend.

still have not fully explore

thanks for the FAQ

Need to

1. Upgrade harddisk - is it biggest 160GB now?

2. Install Linux - which one is the best version?

3. Create PSN ID - can we do this using PC?

4. Where can I get all the past demos?

5. Can we download the demos using PC and then transfer to PS3?

oh yeah thanks for the poison too icon_rolleyes.gif
antimatterMY
post Jan 7 2008, 09:41 PM

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Jan 7 2008, 07:23 PM)
TQ aiman04

how to make my pc and my ps3 in the same network?

Does connecting my pc and ps3 to the same router (different LAN cable) count as in the same network?
antimatterMY
post Jan 8 2008, 11:47 PM

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Jan 8 2008, 07:15 PM)
Just use your pendrive or external HDD la... If want can copy to your PS3's internal...

Not just AVI files (DiVX), WMV, VOB or MP4 with 720p/1080p HD content (h264) also can...  nod.gif

Even "ahem2" movie...  laugh.gif
do we need to create folder or something?

or install Linux?
antimatterMY
post Jan 9 2008, 01:39 PM

QUOTE(babyk @ Jan 7 2008, 07:11 PM)
1. 2.5" SATA HDD currently 250GB the largest capacity

Can't seem to find shops selling 250GB or even in our LYP bulk.

Largest is 160GB
antimatterMY
post Jan 9 2008, 02:46 PM

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Jan 9 2008, 02:17 PM)
eii not 250GB?
act y do v need to insert 160 or 250GB n so on?
what are u guys going to put in?

where 40GB PS3 can hook up external hdd as well?
Ohh another thing..usb for PS3 can support external 2.5"hdd?
We are putting in trailers / demos and downloaded games

haha now i am confused rclxub.gif

Can an external harddisk connected to PS3 USB serve the same purposes as the internal harddisk?

If yes, do I still need to upgrade my internal harddisk to bigger capacity?

antimatterMY
post Jan 9 2008, 05:38 PM

QUOTE(babyk @ Jan 9 2008, 05:26 PM)
get just a PS3 now and you will know all the answer in 5 minutes time

the more you spend your time for discussion, the more you lose your precious PS3 time laugh.gif
haha agreed.

I also get a ps3 first before i start asking questions
antimatterMY
post Jan 9 2008, 07:29 PM

QUOTE(vorchiel @ Jan 9 2008, 07:20 PM)
250gb is plenty here.. one of them is in my ps3  brows.gif

500gb 2.5" sata has been announced last week but it will be in 12.5mm form (ps3 hdd cradle only supports 9mm drives)  sweat.gif
where did u get it? how much?

I want to get a hard disk fast before I start downloading
antimatterMY
post Jan 11 2008, 03:39 PM

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Jan 11 2008, 02:49 PM)
wow rm150....
emm...i think i transfer my .avi files to PS3 hehe

Anyway i will have a look n see how good is the quality smile.gif

Guys, if i want to change hdd, i heard i need to check my PS3 model/ Version to suits the PS3 is tat so?
haha let me answer since i just upgrade my harddisk to 160GB. very easy

Running smoothly now. no problem at all

Please refer to this guide HERE

I think general rule of thumb is

NOTEBOOK 2.5 inch HDD
SATA ANY SIZE
RPM 5400RPM (Same as the PS3's original HDD)

This post has been edited by antimatterMY: Jan 11 2008, 04:05 PM
antimatterMY
post Jan 11 2008, 04:04 PM

QUOTE(antimatterMY @ Jan 11 2008, 03:39 PM)
haha let me answer since i just upgrade my harddisk to 160GB. very easy

Running smoothly now. no problem at all

Please refer to this guide HERE

I think general rule of thumb is

NOTEBOOK 2.5 inch HDD
SATA ANY SIZE
RPM 5400RPM (Same as the PS3's original HDD)
edit - sorryla all tailo, too excited d
antimatterMY
post Jan 11 2008, 04:16 PM

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Jan 11 2008, 04:08 PM)
A man always use their measurements in inch la wei, not mm...  laugh.gif

For those looking for BDs, better buy from Amazon.com, cheaper... And when there's BOGO, even cheaper, you can get 2 for less than RM130 (standard shipping)...  nod.gif
Ooch... tongue.gif biggrin.gif
antimatterMY
post Jan 13 2008, 11:06 AM

wah just wake up. Slept at 3am last night

created PSD IDs

downloaded stuffs from PSN

partitioned hard disk

played some music, pic and movie - watched desperate housewife on my tv walao

I love my PS3 wub.gif

thanks for the FAQ acougan and all that contributed notworthy.gif

ps: terencetoo: Just Do It tongue.gif

This post has been edited by antimatterMY: Jan 13 2008, 11:07 AM
antimatterMY
post Jan 14 2008, 12:40 PM

Hi all,

I use the F@H method to download and install demos/trailers from my PC

The demos work fine after downloading and installation

The trailers once finish download and going for installation, it hit an error (error during installation 8**** or something).

Ok i thought since it is a .MP4 trailer, it can't be installed, only download

but when i tried to find the trailers under Video, it is not there.

Can anyone tell me what I did wrong?
antimatterMY
post Jan 14 2008, 12:56 PM

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 14 2008, 12:48 PM)
er... if trailer why wanna use the f@h method, i tot just copy the thing into ur ps3 will do?
oh is it? haha blush.gif laugh.gif

damn - then i need to get a big portable hardisk to copy / transfer wo sad.gif
antimatterMY
post Jan 17 2008, 11:46 AM

I want to get a HDMI to DVI for my PS3 so that I can play in my room

Any standard that I need to be aware of?

DVI-D??? what it is?

Also is it male to male cable?
antimatterMY
post Jan 17 2008, 01:07 PM

Thanks bro Ninja,

Is there any different version of DVI connectors?
antimatterMY
post Jan 17 2008, 01:53 PM

bro slickz, how much you bought that one?

and how long?

0.0418sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:00 PM