21 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Nokia [Nokia(tm) N95 8GB Official Thread], Its what improved computers have become!

pigcat
post Jan 4 2008, 11:15 AM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

Here's the corner peel off I was talking about, noticed the colour difference, it's because the top matt layer peel off and the lower layer showed up, same like the shiny piano black like the top slider cover.

And...Behold...Watch Youtube with Nokia web browser... brows.gif

Added on January 4, 2008, 11:17 am
QUOTE(guanteik @ Jan 4 2008, 11:07 AM)
what does it mean by lock? The first time i tried the GPS, it's working. This time... not really...
Means all 3 lights become green then it'll lock to your current position. smile.gif

How long have you waited? Sometimes mine 10 mins also cannot lock down due to bad weather...

This post has been edited by pigcat: Jan 4 2008, 11:17 AM
pigcat
post Jan 4 2008, 12:08 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(ddww @ Jan 4 2008, 12:05 PM)
i'm having difficulty in changing my phone's product code...
NSS seems to be unable to scan my phone's info... anyone know why? it says scan error when i press scan...
anyone successfully flash their N95 8GB?
Yours might have "locked", perhaps unlocking is needed before flashing to new firmware. hmm.gif

Added on January 4, 2008, 12:26 pm
QUOTE(WiLyi @ Jan 4 2008, 12:08 PM)
dear bro who updated their phone, beside flash lite 3, speed boast in menu n camera, what r da other improvement that u guys manage to detact...is da call log bug still exsist or is da video editor back...?
No video editor, as usual. smile.gif

FYI, Classic N95 also Video Editor gone with the latest update...

This post has been edited by pigcat: Jan 4 2008, 12:26 PM
pigcat
post Jan 4 2008, 12:43 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(ddww @ Jan 4 2008, 12:29 PM)
@@ how to unlock it then? aiks doh.gif
But he thing is I don't even sure if yours is a locked set. hmm.gif

I'd go to Nokia Care Center and ask them format + reinstall the firmware for RM30 cause unlocking service can be as much as RM50. hmm.gif

QUOTE(minde @ Jan 4 2008, 12:34 PM)
i think london maps for nokia maps are the most updated and accurate .
If they don't they'll kena bashed kao kao... brows.gif

Added on January 4, 2008, 12:47 pm
QUOTE(WiLyi @ Jan 4 2008, 12:41 PM)
but if u refer HERE, this guy mention tt da video editting function is back... hmm.gif confusing.....
Maybe Nokia wants to remove but there're leftovers codes that treat images as video... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by pigcat: Jan 4 2008, 12:47 PM
pigcat
post Jan 5 2008, 12:37 AM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(mstr583 @ Jan 4 2008, 11:13 PM)
Are u forgot the install the plugin?
For my case, after update the accelerometer still there installed.

QUOTE(WiLyi @ Jan 4 2008, 11:15 PM)
it appears tt da screen saver still stays in lanscape mode...i think nokia consider it as a feature rather than a bug which wan we considered it as...
Yup, still the old screensaver. It doesn't bother me much, and I think it's supposed to be like that. I think it's useless, might as well keep the screen blank to save even more battery juice. sweat.gif

QUOTE(WiLyi @ Jan 4 2008, 11:17 PM)
i read from symbian-freak, some users also complain tt nokomote n rotateme could not be acessed after da upgrage...but some reported tt they din suffer such problem...confused  hmm.gif...could any bro here who upgraded their firmware confirm abt this ar...
Strangely, after update many application need to manually re-install. The installation log still there, just need to reinstall them in the application manager. Nokmote is duplicated, and rotateme gone. Anyway those I need to find the installer and reinstall are emTube, Handy Taskman, Screenshot 2, CorePlayer and rotateme. The rest are all there. And everything back to normal as before, rotateme and nokmote all working.
pigcat
post Jan 5 2008, 10:21 AM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(minde @ Jan 5 2008, 01:39 AM)
hey,u guyz know why i get packet data not available ?
If yours is Maxis 3G sim card, probably you had the APN restricted. I can't use GPRS prior to set the APN to unrestricted. You might want to look at it in tools->setting->general->security->phone and sim->APN. Default PIN2 is 1234.

If not I don't have a clue of what other reason. hmm.gif

Added on January 5, 2008, 10:31 am
QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Jan 5 2008, 02:43 AM)
how can i sign up for symbiansigned when i only have hotmail or yahoo email?
anyone?
I think now symbiansigned only accept .com emails that's NOT freely available. They've been keeping their eyes on new freebies everyday. However, you can:

1. ask your mom/dad who has company email to register an account for you. However, the email address is going to be used as the account, so whoever provide you the email may or may not like it.

2. create yourself an email domain with free email hosting. I think just only USD$10 for a year. smile.gif

3. simply ask someone to sign it for you, hassle free. wink.gif

This post has been edited by pigcat: Jan 5 2008, 10:42 AM
pigcat
post Jan 5 2008, 10:35 AM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

Guys, if you've updated to V15 firmware, try transfer a 1GB data to your phone via USB and ready to be impressed... brows.gif

Also, VIDEO IS NOW AVAILABLE!! But only lite version though with 4 options - merge, change sound, add text and cut. But it's cool that you can now merge 1 video with another now. biggrin.gif

However, I noticed there's also the Widget thing but I couldn't find in my phone's menu. hmm.gif It's basically allow web based program running as S60 application...Anyone that has the firmware freshly installed without restoring your older menu setting can confirm have this or not? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by pigcat: Jan 5 2008, 10:47 AM
pigcat
post Jan 5 2008, 11:39 AM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(WiLyi @ Jan 5 2008, 10:57 AM)
what do u mean by video is now available....r u refering to video editing function... hmm.gif
Damn too happy already! I did mean editor lol!! thumbup.gif
pigcat
post Jan 5 2008, 11:53 AM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(pigcat @ Jan 5 2008, 10:35 AM)
Guys, if you've updated to V15 firmware, try transfer a 1GB data to your phone via USB and ready to be impressed... brows.gif
I quote ma self... sweat.gif

The speed of transfering via USB now faster than before, but still slow if compared to memory card...Anyway better than the turtle speed... thumbup.gif
pigcat
post Jan 5 2008, 06:18 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(micwin1437 @ Jan 5 2008, 05:42 PM)
went to Nokia shop in Aeon Bukit Tinggi and get a feel of the phone.......their demo unit slide mechanism got a bit loose.....scary
Stick to candybar and you'll be happy. wink.gif
pigcat
post Jan 5 2008, 07:41 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Jan 5 2008, 07:24 PM)
after just 1 month of usage..

the slider got a lil bit loose already..

previously..it was pretty stable when i slide up or down or when in stationary form..

now..even if i didnt slide it up..u can feel its a bit wobbly..so sad,,
When you shake your phone vertically (by holding the phone body but not touching the slider plate) did you notice the slider moving? Mine only will move if shake hard, and won't go contant tack tack tack, only like 30% of the time, that is when I shake it hard.. Can felt the slider is still firm but of course not as firm as when it was new. And it was remained that way even I always hand gatal go to slide it up and down few times in the past few weeks. brows.gif So no worries. wink.gif

Also I'm loving the slightly loosen slider cause sliding it up and down is more easier, and not to the point the phone will accidently slided in the pocket. biggrin.gif
pigcat
post Jan 5 2008, 08:50 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(WiLyi @ Jan 5 2008, 07:57 PM)
actually a slight wobble is not avoidable....as this is a dual slider phone which could slide up n slide down, da slider would get loose n abit wobble as time pass.....as long as da slider is not very loose n could even shake wif a slight movement, then imo i think it should be ok......atleast this is wat i think... biggrin.gif
Ya loh...If single slide then Nokia will put "heavy duty" type (at least it felt that way e.g. 5610 and E65). Now double side slide the slider has to be flexible on both side. I think that's the nature of dual slide unless somebody came out with a better one. biggrin.gif
pigcat
post Jan 5 2008, 09:36 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

Small bug discovered. When typing sms, switching from abc to 123 by holding # will leave the # character there. Normally it'll disappear and switch to 123. Nokia, Nokia...Can't you just add stuffs but at the same time not taking stuffs away...? sweat.gif
pigcat
post Jan 6 2008, 06:53 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(HolyCross @ Jan 6 2008, 03:44 PM)
u know how to set widgets in our phone??? how??? drool.gif
I'm wondering too, can't find it on my phone anywhere. hmm.gif
pigcat
post Jan 7 2008, 11:02 AM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(yaosiang @ Jan 7 2008, 10:57 AM)
Although I'm Only Using The Vanilla N95, I Think The Answer Is Yes.. Nokia Will Not Remove Such An Important Feature For The Camara.. It's Called The Close-up Mode If I Can Remember Well smile.gif
Yup, Close Up Mode itulah macro mode. nod.gif

But the major improvement is Nokia has put the auto focus function into the night mode and night portrait mode. Actually I rather have it no focus cause during focus the flash damn bright makes my eyes pain (if take self portrait). sweat.gif
pigcat
post Jan 7 2008, 02:13 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(al3xband @ Jan 7 2008, 02:03 PM)
But I tot if use night mode the flash will switch off.at least for firmware v11. So are u saying that fw v15 enable auto focus AND flash for night mode?
By default night mode don't have flash, but will still have auto focus. smile.gif

If you want to enable flash in both night modes and nigh portrait, the LED will switch on to focus for sure, and it makes my eyes pain. sweat.gif

Anyway, my strange problem if the phone gets "fever" and battery drain very fast I suspect it's due to the accelerometer didn't switch off properly although camera application closed. No more such problem until now, hope it won't happen again (touch wood)! laugh.gif
pigcat
post Jan 7 2008, 09:47 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(HolyCross @ Jan 7 2008, 08:30 PM)
where can i set the sensitive control for the n95 acrometer

have u all try installing game inside your phone??..i tried to install fifa07( not the demo)...but i can't run it..app wont start........
Accelerometer can only adjusted by the application provided the developer write the code for the sensitivity.

Haven't try the fifa07 yet, not a big fan of soccer game. hmm.gif I'm waiting for the n-gage games though, they're not all new games but I hope the developer can add in accelerometer controlling. laugh.gif

QUOTE(Reventon @ Jan 7 2008, 09:38 PM)
hm.. how come my NSU only detect the latest firmware is v11 and not v15 ? and after update the firmware to v11 my N pc suite cannot detect my phone anymore.
Any sifu can help me on this ? thanks. wanna update my firmware to v15  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
I use normal PC suite, not the Nseries one. Version 6.85 I think (as long as latest version). Just plug in my phone then it'll tell me there's new firmware. smile.gif
pigcat
post Jan 7 2008, 09:53 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(Reventon @ Jan 7 2008, 09:52 PM)
hm.. how come my NSU only detect the latest firmware is v11 and not v15 ? and after update the firmware to v11 my N pc suite cannot detect my phone anymore.
Any sifu can help me on this ? thanks. wanna update my firmware to v15  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
Em, yours if AP or original? Did you somehow did some changes of the product code in the past? hmm.gif
pigcat
post Jan 7 2008, 11:30 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(al3xband @ Jan 7 2008, 10:37 PM)
so Pigcat , how long can your battery last? I've notice mine drain quite fast when i run gps apps. Full charge can drain til 70% or less after i use gps for like 15 - 20 mins...
besides tat, I also run rotateme on the background. So is rotateme causing the battery to drain too? I remember when I 1st bought it, the battery can last for 1 day(100%) without using gps n rotateme.....juz some gaming, media & stuff....so wat do u think>?
hmm.gif

My phone can last 2 and 1/2 day before my latest recharge, what I did was make call like 20~30mins per day and take around 20 shots of photos, some with flash. I also did 2~3 mins of video shot, around 20 mins of video playback. Just roughly like that, I still got 1 bar before recharge (not yet battery low warning).

Also I remember once I watched video for an hour, make several calls about 30~40mins in total, take a few photo shots, still can last 2 full days.

That's a bit strange if play GPS for 20mins can drain very fast, should be something wrong. I think it's the rotateme causing the draining, as like my camera application bug or something, I guess it's the accelerometer didn't switch off so running all the time causing the battery drain VERY fast. Accelerometer actually need lots of power. Try disable rotateme? I only enable it during viewing gallery. hmm.gif

Added on January 7, 2008, 11:32 pm
QUOTE(Reventon @ Jan 7 2008, 11:07 PM)
sad.gif  sad.gif

Mine WAS Ap set and the firmware if not remembered wrong was same with you before i changed it at nokia centre. And the shock is, yesterday i did a firmware update to v11 and my chinese gone, n pc suite cannot detect my phone anymore and when checked the latest firmware is still v11
Echo~~~ icon_idea.gif (why will it sometimes happened? hmm.gif)

Anyway, it's really strange why your chinese gone after update (or was it chinese dictionary?), mine I just update as usual and no problem. I think it happened to some other users too, not just Nokia, SE also kena. hmm.gif

I don't know what happened really, it should be working if you also bring to NCC and have them reinstall the firmware. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by pigcat: Jan 7 2008, 11:32 PM
pigcat
post Jan 8 2008, 01:36 AM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(Reventon @ Jan 8 2008, 01:15 AM)
yeap.. so i have to go to nokia center again to flash my firmware.. but anyone who have idea that NCC will flash the v15 or again the v10 ?
Totally the chinese language gone and only left Filipino , Malay and English..  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
Somemore unable to detect the latest firmware now....
I don't know if going back to NCC and reflash will work if your first time failed that way. It's strange cause we should be having the very same batch. Maybe phone NCC first to confirm if they have the latest firmware? hmm.gif
pigcat
post Jan 8 2008, 12:22 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(Reventon @ Jan 8 2008, 06:47 AM)
Yeaaahh , finally i managed to flash the product code to myr 0555181 biggrin.gif , everything was okay now , with firmware v15 and also the chinese input as well  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif

( 12.01 ) biggrin.gif
Congratz! thumbup.gif

21 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0457sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:21 AM