21 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

Nokia [Nokia(tm) N95 8GB Official Thread], Its what improved computers have become!

pigcat
post Jan 12 2008, 05:58 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(cgw @ Jan 12 2008, 05:55 PM)
something i came across with.. for those using vista, signing is possible now..
http://www.symbianv3.com/how-to-sign-sis-f...in-easy-3-steps
i tried with rotateme, it works!
Still need symbiansigned account... sweat.gif

But signing process seems to get simpler nowadays... rclxms.gif
pigcat
post Jan 13 2008, 12:38 AM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(mstr583 @ Jan 13 2008, 12:17 AM)
My phone also often restart wen unplug the usb connection...

If heavy usage (gps,wifi and etc) normally need everyday charging.
Hmm my phone never restart by doing the above, but used to restart when plug in the headphone halfway doing stuffs, but not anymore these days... hmm.gif

Also it depends what you use, rate the power usage from the highest to lowest will be wifi -> GPS -> camera (and also due to accelerometer remain on all the time). Never use 3G continuously, probably between wifi and GPS. hmm.gif

If only use normall call and sms, then very strange liao... hmm.gif
pigcat
post Jan 14 2008, 12:09 AM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(greddy @ Jan 13 2008, 06:33 PM)
pigcat, i tested the camera during daytime and the EV value has some respond... though it still doesn't match with the display...

btw does anyone know how to get rid of the shutter sound... i can't seem to find the setting for it...
This is what I've discovered after doing experiments with the camera in different mode:

1. In auto mode, shutter speed won't go beyond 1/15 second I think, that's the longest I've seen under auto mode (or anything other than night mode). So if EV=0 is the maximum shutter time for the light condition, even you set the EV higher also no use cause the shutter won't operate longer. sweat.gif

2. In night mode, shutter speed won't go beyond 1/5 second, that's the maximum. It's the limitation set by Nokia, anyway anything beyond 1/5 second will result blur image even shaked a little (that is when hand held the camera), not to mention the ISO-800 will blur the image even more. sweat.gif But night mode is not neccessary always ISO-800, if you want longer shutter time with lower ISO, you can use night mode even in day time in living room or indoor, but kind useless if use outdoor cause you don't need that long exposure under daylight. Again, same as auto mode, if 1/5 shutter time already needed with EV at zero, if push the EV higher also no use. sweat.gif

3. Manual ISO setting won't go beyong ISO-400, however if set to auto it can to way up to ISO-800.

There's a test about ISO performance between N82 and N95 8GB on the net, can't remember who wrote it. So the test revealed that even the N95 8GB will have significant difference even without flash. N95 8GB high ISO will take away a lot of noises, with the expenses of taking away lots of details, and making the image blur. However, N82 has different performance in high ISO setting, lower noise, but still maintained the detail all the way. Also I noticed different colour processing in N82, the colour is warmer (toward yellow or red) while N95 8GB is cooler (means towards blue), especially in night shots. It's sad that even Nokia already has the knowledge of producing better image processing algorithm (which I suspect is to work well with the xenon flash cause it's the first time they work on xenon flash), they probably never will put the same processing algorithm in N95 family. sad.gif I hope they WILL, but even firmware v15 also never put in, I really doubt if Nokia going to include it in the next firmware update. sad.gif

QUOTE(singleguy @ Jan 13 2008, 11:03 PM)
guys, how do you force restart your phone when it hangs? It happens twice dy.. but dont know how to force restart, just plug out the battery.
There's no other way, have to take out battery... sweat.gif But sometimes the phone will not hang to easily, probably sometimes just stucked a bit cause of heavy processing or something, wait for a minute or 2 as mentioned, if really cannot then take out battery. smile.gif

This post has been edited by pigcat: Jan 14 2008, 12:10 AM
pigcat
post Jan 14 2008, 01:19 AM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(piku @ Jan 14 2008, 01:16 AM)
Hi Guys,

Just want to check, How good is the music on this phone?

Say if ipod was a 10, how much will be the rating for this phone?

tq : )
If ipod is 10, I'd rate it 9 (against ipod 5.5th gen), music slightly less clear than ipod and less linear frequency range. But not much difference, and definitely nothing bad. smile.gif
pigcat
post Jan 14 2008, 10:54 AM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(JoshuaLee @ Jan 14 2008, 10:47 AM)
i cannot seem to find the MSN live messenger installation in "Downloads!" of my phone... i refreshed the list already... but still can't find it... instead, i am using the web-based msn live...
i heard there's payment for it (the msn live messenger program)
is there any package from any telco company providing unlimited data transfer so i won't be burning hole in my pocket each time i log into msn....

I've bought my phone from Sapura... smile.gif under sapura warranty... smile.gif

sound quality and etc... more than satisfied...
picture quality... what else can you ask from a PHONE??? good enough and clear enough... probably can't be competing with n82 as they CANNOT put the best in one phone and so they have to put something a little better in diff phone so that all the phones has a selling point...

screen quality is satisfactory... keypad , slides, video call, battery life... all under satisfactory...

i just love my phone...
hahaha

if can, please do teach me how to get more nice firmwares and etc etc .... smile.gif
Gratz for your new toy... brows.gif

As for competing with N82, well, don't forget N95 8GB also have flash lar, it's just LED mah. It's not like xenon flash is like a god, at least LED still can capture stuffs in the dark, not like no flash at all then cannot capture anything. LED also can be more useful than you think e.g. if light gone can use as torch, or emergency you drop the key inside the car and you want to search, imagine it was night time with no road lamp... brows.gif

Also, I find if you put so many functions inside a phone, without a big display, you're not going to enjoy all the functions. Make sense or not? brows.gif So I think apart from camera, N95 8GB is more enjoyable to use all the functions like internet browsing photo/video watching, even GPS you can view larger and more comfortable to use. biggrin.gif

As you said, no phone is the best, but there's the best to suit individual. nod.gif

Install Nokia PC Suite 6.85 (not the Nseries PC Suite), upon plugging in your phone it'll auto detect whether there's new firmware. wink.gif More about firmware can search this thread or google, tons of information about re-flash firmware, change product code etc etc...

This post has been edited by pigcat: Jan 14 2008, 10:56 AM
pigcat
post Jan 14 2008, 03:16 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(ysf @ Jan 14 2008, 03:13 PM)
My "Volume + " Button suddenly not function anymore... cry.gif

Feel soft when pressing...Later will bring to service center to check.. yawn.gif
Avaxx set or AP... hmm.gif

I also scare mine will kena something like that also... hmm.gif But should be covered even by AP warranty... nod.gif
pigcat
post Jan 14 2008, 05:05 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(cgw @ Jan 14 2008, 05:00 PM)
my d-pad getting soft after keep pressing.. Lol.. I guess its normal huh.. sad.gif
Hmm no ler...Still like normal... hmm.gif

Also the slider still (touch wood) maintained the solidness after 2 full months of usage! Keep going~ thumbup.gif
pigcat
post Jan 14 2008, 05:35 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(HolyCross @ Jan 14 2008, 05:33 PM)
how many demo game(n-gage) did nokia put inside our phone?

for me 2...

but why this http://youtube.com/watch?v=ZECqHU6bYnM&feature=related  <<<got 3 game
I also wonder, don't have space impact... hmm.gif Maybe region different?
pigcat
post Jan 15 2008, 01:11 AM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(huanwen @ Jan 15 2008, 12:51 AM)
How to sign for Rotateme ? Anyone help ?

Where to download the application ? Which application suitable for playing video and song ?
Omg...How many time this kind of question need to repeat...? sweat.gif

Google is your friend my dear... nod.gif

By the way, CorePlayer is the best player for playing multi format, but built in realplayer is the one can utilize internal hardware so it's the most effecient player. Means, if can, always use the internal realplayer. smile.gif
pigcat
post Jan 15 2008, 01:35 AM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Jan 15 2008, 01:16 AM)
but now..even in closed form..u r move it a little bit up and down..shakey...really got difference..
Mine already like that since the first day... sweat.gif
pigcat
post Jan 15 2008, 08:14 AM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(ddww @ Jan 15 2008, 07:12 AM)
for once my phone hang again last nite... all thanks to this best player...arg... getting so frustrated edi... any other avi player that i can try? eish... i really watch a lot of series with my phone... and i need to charge it very frequently... sweat.gif
QUOTE(jerm @ Jan 15 2008, 07:59 AM)
i use smartmovie. plays my avi files well enough, even at original size file and resolution as downloaded
Hmm many people seems to use smartmovie. I try them all (smartmovie and divx player looks like the same player lol only skin different) and all out of sync when playing xvid AVI file i wanted to watch so badly...CorePlayer is the only player that can overcome this problem, that's why I recommended it. nod.gif

pigcat
post Jan 15 2008, 09:02 AM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

I wonder if you all did the deadpixel test of your camera CMOS sensor? Not the one on LCD, it's the one that appear on your every picture took with the phone. Simple, just cover the camera lens and take a full black picture. Then check around if you see any bright white/green/red/blue spot. There WILL be lots of dark colour spots, but look for the very bright one.

http://www.starzen.com/imaging/deadpixeltest.htm

Mine seems to have one very bright green spot on the upper left corner, it'll appear in all photos especially low light photos ala ISO-800 photos. Can't do anything with it (cannot revive, and mine is AP set so cannot bug NCC to do something), but will easily gone once resize to smaller picture. There's an N82 user at hardwarezone seems to have 2 white spot in the middle area. So check it out, and if the dead pixel really bug you then you might want to bug NCC for an exchange as this is very common in digicam world, even DSLR will have not just 1 but quite some deadpixel, and normally can get it fix for free. smile.gif

However, digicam world people say even a healthy sensor will develop a pixel or 2, though. You guys want to check check or if you feel better with not knowing it then just forget this test. sweat.gif
pigcat
post Jan 15 2008, 09:28 AM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(mstr583 @ Jan 15 2008, 09:16 AM)
Me 2..Slider a bit loose after a week use only...Can it fix?
I don't think it need fix. The loosen up is more like a breaking in, use a little more while then you'll know. At least mine didn't get anymore loose until now. nod.gif
pigcat
post Jan 15 2008, 12:51 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(ddww @ Jan 15 2008, 12:38 PM)
i think the later N95-2 has better built quality... my fren (a girl who uses her phone very kasar one) has used her phone for almost 1 month edi and i can feel that her slider is much much much more tougher than mine sweat.gif and yet i protected my phone quite well... she even drop it once...
Guess pretty much depends on luck I guess... nod.gif
pigcat
post Jan 15 2008, 12:55 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(eyez98 @ Jan 15 2008, 12:53 PM)
built quality is ok la i guess, but not as good as i expected..

i'm a heavy sms user, now i can see my keypad "0" the paint peel off slightly.. so the light shines tru..
why this happen?? i thought the keypad should be laser marked/scribed?

anyone knows if warranty got cover paint peel off due to heavy usage?
You can always try your luck. BTW it's normal on all units due to the design (however mind still shiny like new hmm.gif ), and the keypad is damn easy to replace, last time I bough for RM32 directly from Zitron (Berjaya Plaza 13th floow), dunno how much for now...

This post has been edited by pigcat: Jan 15 2008, 12:57 PM
pigcat
post Jan 15 2008, 02:05 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(leekweehui @ Jan 15 2008, 01:54 PM)
anyone can browse file through network? i want to watch drama through my wifi network before sleep. XD.
You mean take files from other computer via WiFi and watch video? Kinda impossible... hmm.gif
pigcat
post Jan 15 2008, 02:14 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Jan 15 2008, 02:10 PM)
@leekweehui

it's possible if ur pc is WiFi capable. google for it. home network via N95
can ah? I'm going to try it when I'm free... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by pigcat: Jan 15 2008, 03:07 PM
pigcat
post Jan 15 2008, 03:07 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

Guys, my Invincible Shield finally arrive! biggrin.gif

But have to disappoint you guys, even the full body protection, it doesn't include the camera lens (front and back) and the flash protection leh, luckily I already got the MFSP...Looks like MFSP is better for protecting the critical part while Invincible Shield will protect whole body. Actually not whole body la, top surface only the "NOKIA" logo and N95 8GB logo got covered (by a full stripe of course, from left across to right), bottom and side all covered, power button part all covered, then left the charger/USB part not covered lol...

Still, have to buy MFSP to cover camera/flash... sweat.gif
pigcat
post Jan 15 2008, 03:51 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

Lai le lai le... tongue.gif Will post in 5 mins!
pigcat
post Jan 15 2008, 04:12 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

MFSP is Martin Field Screen Protector smile.gif

Here it is, haven't apply yet, not free these days ler...Will update if applied... tongue.gif

Picture sux cause ISO boosted to very high so image not clear. sad.gif

The spray is the adhesive, you may or may not like it cause it's liquid! But due to special design like this, the adhesive will stick on your device very strong. wink.gif

Then the black colour thing is made in rubber, it's to replace the usual credit card during application thus won't damage the protector or your phone by accident. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by pigcat: Jan 15 2008, 04:14 PM

21 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0429sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:47 AM