21 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Nokia [Nokia(tm) N95 8GB Official Thread], Its what improved computers have become!

pigcat
post Dec 4 2007, 02:21 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

Some useful information for anyone of you want to change spare parts. I've phoned the NCC HQ at the Berjaya Plaza (the 13th floor one, not the 1st floor NCC). They said they didn't order spare parts at the moment cause the spare part price will be going down so they're waiting to get a new price list for the spare parts in a week or 2 then only order them.

HolyCross how's your phone? Did you manage to have it repaired? I wonder how much they charge for the spare parts? I can imagine it'll be expensive at the moment right? ohmy.gif
pigcat
post Dec 4 2007, 07:05 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(HolyCross @ Dec 4 2007, 03:18 PM)
yeap repaired..but the NCC i went..said that they got the spare part
i don't even need to pay 1 sen..warranty biggrin.gif
Glad it worked for you! thumbup.gif

QUOTE(missgeek @ Dec 4 2007, 06:10 PM)

@pigcat
We better take extra care of our phones liow... hehehe. We need to pay leh... hahaha!
Haha yalo, i wished i was able to purchase an authorized set too, but if buy authorized set then have to really eat maggie whole month... sweat.gif

By the way, ncc called me again and said got spare parts...maybe the staff didn't check then simply say one... sweat.gif

So then i bought a keypad for RM32, maybe will try DIY change the keypad since only need to remove 2 things, not even a screw driver is needed. I thought they won't sell spare parts? Anyway i'm happy now... biggrin.gif
pigcat
post Dec 4 2007, 08:10 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(missgeek @ Dec 4 2007, 07:44 PM)
Eh, wah... they sell all spare parts meh? You know they have the camera cover and back cover or not?  hmm.gif
Now you got chinese strokes keypad already lah? Hehehe... good good..
You can phone them, phone number is 03-2141 5993. Not sure if they have it but I think they kinda have a few in stock gua...HQ woh cannot don't have spare parts... laugh.gif

BTW I just changed the keypad! Don't even need to take off anything and my phone is remain on! biggrin.gif

I just need to use a thin card like iTalk or prepaid reload card, then gently pry off the keypad, gently push the side cover outward a bit to make way for the keypad. Then replace, gao dim... rclxms.gif

By the way I accidently bend the very edge part of the soft plastic and left a folded mark there, but totally invincible once the keypad in place and won't affect the keypad at all so I'm happy with it...Now I know how to change keypad le... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

PS: here's the picture of the part that I was talking about... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by pigcat: Dec 4 2007, 08:14 PM

pigcat
post Dec 4 2007, 09:21 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(missgeek @ Dec 4 2007, 07:52 PM)
Hmm... Coreplayer is also cool. I have it and can play a lot of stuff, avi, divx biggrin.gif This one you need to google for percuma stuff also.
I dont keep the sis file after install, if not can upload all percuma stuff somewhere and u guys can download it. See la if I have the time to find all back I will PM you  brows.gif
Well, Coreplayer is NOT cool, it's FREAKINGLY AWESOME! I've been looking for video player that can let you choose just play left or right channel! I was having hard time trying to convert my older video files to just select only one of the audio channel, and this save my ass! Also, the most feature rich player for symbian phone I've ever seen! rclxms.gif

By the way, it seems that this player was officially at 1.1.1 beta, but I was able to find 1.1.2 however only in chinese...missgeek yours is chinese version or english version? I prefer english version, not that I don't read chinese though, just prefer english when it comes to application. If there's no ahem english version then I'll just stick to chinese version. laugh.gif
pigcat
post Dec 4 2007, 09:59 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(missgeek @ Dec 4 2007, 09:46 PM)
Hehehehehe... mine is version 1.1.2, English. This one a good friend of mine gave... I dont remember if we need to provide registration key.
Most prob he took my IMEI then provide me with the key.  hmm.gif I dont have the keygen for this... but I have the sis file  brows.gif U want ah pigcat?

Haha thanks I just found the english version of 1.12, trying to install it first see if it need serial... laugh.gif

pigcat
post Dec 4 2007, 10:10 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(missgeek @ Dec 4 2007, 10:08 PM)
Hehehehe....  tongue.gif
Haha, installed and run...Already *Ahem'ed (where's my fisherman friend?)... tongue.gif
pigcat
post Dec 5 2007, 11:51 AM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(Ash @ Dec 5 2007, 09:20 AM)
Does anyone here have a problem when they try to reply SMS there will be a warning showing that "Message is in used" before you could type your message?
Nope, never happened... hmm.gif

By the way, no problem so far with my phone in overall except don't simply insert headphone during a call or open Nokia Maps during PC Suite via USB...It'll restart... laugh.gif
pigcat
post Dec 5 2007, 12:02 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(DT8 @ Dec 5 2007, 11:53 AM)
Other than GPS, is there any worth mentioned stuff? Because I won't use the GPS since I know the places I want to go.
Em, TV out, 640x480 30fps video shooting, 5MP, 2.8" screen, N-Gage, WiFi, 3.5G, 8GB internal memory...I actually LOVE the dual slide even it's not perfectly designed... laugh.gif

Which phone are you comparing to...? brows.gif

This post has been edited by pigcat: Dec 5 2007, 12:05 PM
pigcat
post Dec 5 2007, 12:37 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(DT8 @ Dec 5 2007, 12:21 PM)
W960i. Either this or that  hmm.gif still thinking which to buy...but w960 need to wait it rls.
I don't see there's any 3.5mm audio jack for the W960, kinda render walkman phone useless in a way, but I'm sure there's remote control but you can't charge during music listening if it's a usual SE dock port.

However, battery life sure W960 win lo. N95 8GB has slightly better spec that you might not need, also for the features, I think W960 will be chaper than N95 8GB. Think about it... smile.gif
pigcat
post Dec 5 2007, 05:12 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(missgeek @ Dec 5 2007, 04:55 PM)
Hehe.. well maybe. But as far as I know, the K series camera is always better than the W series. smile.gif So, I dont think those in W960 3.2MP camera can challenge the one in K800, let alone the N95 5MP. That is the downside of SE phones. They differentiate their phone so much... sad.gif If you want good camera, K series. Sound wise, go for W series. Just look at P990 camera, it's 2MP is so suckie compared to other 2MP SE phones! So, I don't really think you can get the same quality 3.2MP camera in the K series in this W960 phone lor.
Actually even me also set to 3MP for casual shots only, 5MP is way overkill. However, I'm travelling to Macau soon so I'll set it to 5MP to capture all the nice nice scenes (the advantage of having the option to choose higher resolution). laugh.gif

Yeah the big problem with SE is that they simply don't want to come out with a "perfect" phone like Nokia did, pack everything inside. But they have their own market isn't it? Not every wants so many features. But then, no standard 3.5mm and USB port...Aww...I hate docking port... ohmy.gif

Oh yeah, still, the N95 8GB video shooting is really the best I've seen, way more appealing than the megapixel wars... laugh.gif
pigcat
post Dec 5 2007, 05:29 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

Bug report!

Ok, the manual light compensation (EV +-) doesn't work with the positive setting! When set to e.g. EV-1 the brightness will lower down, however, set to anything +0.5~+2 will not have any effect at all! I'm not sure if this is normal, but I've seen the N82 camera shots and it actually functional even though the picture came out too bright! It's a manual setting after all right?

Firmware is v11, not sure if this applied to v10 as well... ohmy.gif
pigcat
post Dec 5 2007, 06:13 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(missgeek @ Dec 5 2007, 05:39 PM)
Hmmm my firmware is still V10, the EV+- is working well.
Dang...Should have learn from my girlfriend, she never update her firmware lol!

Nevermind, wait for the new firmware then...So sad haha update new firmware that add more bugs... sweat.gif
pigcat
post Dec 5 2007, 06:34 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(missgeek @ Dec 5 2007, 06:32 PM)
biggrin.gif the increase doesnt show in the preview right? But when u took the pics, is the pic shows any effect?
After restart phone also still the same prob ah? I didnt update my firmware because my product code is tag with Singtel mah.. hehe. If not I also already update, haha.
No, both EV +- all preview very well, it's just after taking the photo with the positive setting, the picture will be no difference with normal setting (EV 0). However, negative setting seems to work after taking the picture too, picture come out darker as previewed.
pigcat
post Dec 6 2007, 01:11 AM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

More experiments with the TV out and the 3.5mm connector...

Well, the 3.5mm connector is very sensitive and won't accept anything that has non-standard size (certain headphones has slightly thicker diameter). Basically it'll detect good quality cables, but won't give a damn to chapalang cables. Also, how fast/slow you insert/unplug the jack will also affect the detection.

I tried a cheap china made AV cable for iPod video, totally cannot display (weird image) and produce annoying noise. Then I also tried it on the iPod video, it won't even detect it (it was OK and absolutely functional when my gf first got it, I guess the iPod 3.5mm port is also very sensitive). I use the original Nokia AV cable, and it was functional. So don't waste money on chapalang brand cables cause it's not worth it and waste money if so happened you lost your cable or cable spoiled (touch wood touch wood)...Also I found that if I unplug the AV cable too fast the phone will not resume to normal handset status and will remain on TV out...

On the other hand, the headphone cables. Yeah, I bought a Griffin (I think it's spelled that way) headphones RM100 (dang!), the diameter of the jack is slightly thicker so when insert it into the connector it'll just detect it as TV out no matter how hard I try. Then no choice I bought another good quality Sony headphone (RM119), an in-ear earbud headphones like those bundled with SE W series phones except it came with 50m cord + 1M extension cord (also the detachable ear frame that'll secure the headphone during jogging etc). No just the quality is even better, the rubber also very soft and easy on the ears, and most importantly the sound character goes really well with N95 8GB. Also, it has an L-shape connector. Highly recommend this, for the price I think it's really a good one. nod.gif I probably will give the Griffin headphones for my brother. However, the Griffin actually very nice also (just not as clear as the Sony headphone), and it doesn't need as much power to drive the volume as the Sony headphone (means the Sony headphone will be softer compared to the Griffin with the same volume setting). I would have stick to that one if the connector has "normal" size... rolleyes.gif laugh.gif
pigcat
post Dec 7 2007, 12:54 AM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

Sorry for a dumb question but how much is the in-car charger? Nokia charger supposed to be very popular but I never buy car charger before so I don't have a clue... blush.gif
pigcat
post Dec 7 2007, 11:02 AM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(chyuan @ Dec 7 2007, 01:01 AM)
Beside, anybody bought Martin Fields Screen Protector from http://www.overlayplus.com/ before?
Let say i want to pay by bank-in, is it i just need to send the bank-in slip and Transaction number to sales@overlayplus.com?
You need Public Bank to do direct bank in. Or else like me Maybank2U have to provide the bank account holder's ID number or something which is highly unlikely you can ask for it, so a no go if you don't use Public Bank. I use CC by the way, order went very smooth...Or contact Daijoubu for bulk order...? brows.gif

Added on December 7, 2007, 11:06 am
QUOTE(porkchop @ Dec 7 2007, 12:49 AM)
hmm................ eh is our nokia n95 8gb a symbian 60 or symbian 60 v9.1
whats the diff??
Em, what kind of difference you expect...? It's like asking what's the difference between Windows XP SP1 and Windows XP SP2...Moreover, you cannot install the OS by yourself, it's all built in as it is... tongue.gif

BTW I think N95 is using S60 v9.2...

This post has been edited by pigcat: Dec 7 2007, 11:06 AM
pigcat
post Dec 7 2007, 01:38 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

Hmm anyone experiences the numeric keypad "3" has poorer tactile feedback? It feels like the keypad wasn't aligned properly with the button underneath...It doesn't affect texting but somehow I felt uncomfortable whenever I press "3"... hmm.gif

EDIT: Oh nevermind, apparently it's my finder too big and didn't press in the middle of the button thus giving me that impression... blush.gif Funny that only happened with my right thumb... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by pigcat: Dec 7 2007, 01:40 PM
pigcat
post Dec 7 2007, 01:48 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

Oh and anyone found out the video recording is not always smooth? It's like the first few secs of the video capturing will stutter or low fps and then it'll become smooth. Kinda annoying when I want to capture something on the spot that only happen randomly. hmm.gif

I've just watched the sample video captured by the LG Viewty vs the N95, it appears that N95 finally meet its match! LG Viewty seems to capture smoother video than the N95 (maybe stablelizer enabled?), however color seems to be a little on the soft side... hmm.gif

Anyway still very happy with N95 video capture...Moreover got very convenient TV out plus the audio captured in compressed form means it'll pump the volume up to an optimized level, although not "natural" but that's what a casual shooting needed (also won't distort easily with high volume). biggrin.gif
pigcat
post Dec 7 2007, 01:55 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Dec 7 2007, 01:50 PM)
@pigcat
N95 30fps
Viewty 120fps

it's 4 times the fps brows.gif
I was comparing the 30fps video from both phone... biggrin.gif

Anyway the 120fps is only QVGA haha... tongue.gif
pigcat
post Dec 7 2007, 05:15 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Dec 7 2007, 04:52 PM)
so far..no users has any problem with the thickness?
or all of u are blinded by the functions already..
hehe
My E70 is even thicker, bigger and longer...Still no complaint...Why? I also have a big hand...I actually love the size of the E70 and the qwerty keyboard (kinda miss it).

So the size of N95 is a BIG PLUS for me... thumbup.gif

Added on December 7, 2007, 5:16 pm
QUOTE(BlueBerry~ @ Dec 7 2007, 05:05 PM)
And I'll know wheter my phone is in my pocket or not. If they are too thin. You wont notice if its gone. Just my opinion.
Also small phone hard to feel the vibration hence miss calls... brows.gif

This post has been edited by pigcat: Dec 7 2007, 05:16 PM

21 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.2580sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:54 AM