30 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V5<<, The Journey Continues Here!

fylon
post Nov 19 2007, 11:03 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Sang.. Via chipset cannot OC high. biggrin.gif Even can, not much performance can be gained as well. BioStar mobo... sweat.gif Latest mobo still quite good. But old generation.. Not a good choice.
fylon
post Nov 19 2007, 11:19 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@Sang
Lol.. Then u gotta teach him how to put siggy! biggrin.gif Working life is bored! sad.gif Was thinking of ProStreet.. drool.gif
fylon
post Nov 19 2007, 01:07 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@Ray
Ehe.. Dont like that. blush.gif Well.. Got new game ma.. Then play. I believe Edmin will try this game out soon. brows.gif As his 76GS was almost on par or better then my 68GT! Should be no problem for ProStreet.

The HD video? Yup.. Got time wanna try out. But im still looking for good codec which wont make my WMP get crazy when playing certain format. I was currently use the Korean player. The KMPlayer, so far so good. Just cannot track the fps. laugh.gif

@Sang
Hm.. Beside mobo, i think proc also playing an important roll. Not just the mobo. laugh.gif Thats my 2 cent.

This post has been edited by fylon: Nov 19 2007, 01:07 PM
fylon
post Nov 19 2007, 01:32 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@edmin
Ar? Robotech? Whats that? laugh.gif U come over my house take the DVD.
fylon
post Nov 19 2007, 01:58 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@Ray
Haha.. Hm.. Any nice codec intro? laugh.gif Wanna try the power of 4G! I will try the video out when im free. ProStreet? I guess the same is kinda long. I had raced over 30++ racing baru reach 6-8% complete. sweat.gif Nvm.. Such a good game need to take long time finish. Im disappointed with Carbon actually. I spend 15hrs to completed the game. shakehead.gif But ProStreet kinda different as it almost like GT4.. More realistic on the driving part! thumbup.gif That what im looking for.

@Kabu
Yup. I read about the review before. Something like flash the bios right? Anyways i dont plan wanna risk this mobo anymore. sweat.gif So just let it be at the original one will do. As i read from the article says that if modded to other bios, it cannot have better ram ratio. Just to gain extra 3-5% performance and wanna put the mobo on risk. I choose not to put on risk! laugh.gif
fylon
post Nov 19 2007, 02:49 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@Kabu
laugh.gif Yup.. 4G with 1:1 ratio.. drool.gif That what im waiting for actually. At the end it come true. But anyways, i dont wanna do the mod la. As i dont have backup mobo with me. Once this 1 'kong' then im going to dead for times. sweat.gif Otherwise, go ur house dig ur socket A borrow me. brows.gif

@Pengster
Owh? Ur GC cant handle CSS? Hm.. Never try mine with that game before. As i dont really like FPS game. laugh.gif If something like C&C 3 or NFS, i sure will play on it.
fylon
post Nov 19 2007, 10:43 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Nov 19 2007, 06:54 PM)
hahah...prescott are faster tongue.gif
Not really. Clock to clock in stock speed, Northwood is far faster then Prescott. Due Prescott have deeper pipeline. It takes more time to done a cycle. Well.. This is kinda technical thingy. Prescott will shine with high FSB. With OC result, Prescott is leading with high clock speed.

AS5 & MX-2, is depend on urs choice. As myself is using MX-2. Not bad.. Idle for my monster at 3.6Ghz around 39-41'c. And fan only run at 1.2k rpm. biggrin.gif

About ur stock hsf, are u sure ur technician is skilled enough? I never heard that person who called 'technician' break customer item. shakehead.gif P4 heatsink are actually very easy to take off. Dont have to be skill enough but u have to be smart on how to bend the kaki and take the fan off from each of the fan click. Anyways, im agreed with Edmin.. Im doubting about ur personal 'technician'..

70'c Celsius on northwood? shocking.gif U sure? 70'c is near the edge of frying off ur Northwood already. Btw, ur mobo dont support Thermal Throttle? Well.. Provided ur got enable this function. For more information about Thermal Throttle, press HERE.

@Ray
Yea.. Im not going to risk my 800SE anymore. sweat.gif Scare la.. Hard to find mobo u know. I think if this time it got dead, i will turn dark side! whistling.gif

fylon
post Nov 19 2007, 11:09 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@Kabu
Yea.. I saw once. Terus got goreng by the boss! Due dint install properly customer mobo. If im not mistaken, a quad core proc were burnt due to incorrect installation of cable. sweat.gif

@herojack41
Haha.. Actually u dun nid purposely put a Prescott on ur siggy. Just drop a E there will do already. I mean write it as 2.8E, with that, ppl will know is a PresHot Core based. Yup. Without thermal grease/paste, the heat that produced by the processor unable to get transmitted fast to heatsink. Thus, it makes ur processor get hotter then ever. Thermal paste are actually a small layer of material in between the processor & HSF. Its function as helps transfer the heat from processor to hsf.
fylon
post Nov 19 2007, 11:13 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

U using new hsf already? Are the thermal paste like a piece of chewing gum type? It it was, then it should be stock thermal paste. Which are LOW class type. (Well for me it was, i never use stock thermal paste, at least CM Nano Fusion. tongue.gif) If i were u, i will use the 3rd party type.
fylon
post Nov 19 2007, 11:54 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@Kabu
Ehehe.. Yea! Quad.. Thats why i say, that technician terus goreng by the boss. laugh.gif Anyways, i always double checked after all the component is installed properly before press the ON button.

Ehe.. My new MX-2 i think still got 95% full tube. laugh.gif Anyways, for those who OC their system now.. Is better reapply ur thermal paste every 2-3mnths. I mean do cleaning for ur system. I suppose u guys know that the thermal paste will get dried faster then run on stock when on OC. Due long time work on high temperature. smile.gif I clean up and apply new every 2months for my system. laugh.gif
fylon
post Nov 20 2007, 08:12 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@Pensgter
How comet eh 12v rail goes so high? Almost near 13v.. sweat.gif Hows ur component temperature? HDD? Seems quite abnormal to me. Never saw a high 12v before.

@Kabu
Yup.. Quad now is arouns 980 per biji. laugh.gif Well.. Kuching ppl not that hardcore. 3months only sold 3 biji Quad. Haha!
fylon
post Nov 20 2007, 10:17 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Wah.. Just back from beach and the thread become 2 page advance.. Not bad.. Spirit burning high! laugh.gif

@kabukiawie
Yea. Currently having MX-2 at my store. But not much.. Few stick only. Not much ppl know about AS product.. Kch ppl here all got blinded by CM liao.. sad.gif

@HMMaster
Yup. Agreed with u. But anyways, it just not enough power for gaming. Other then that, i think P4 can still handle other task well. Things such like surfing, chatting or documentation doesnt drain much resources. By then HTPC was a good choice. brows.gif Edmin gonna make his HTPC with P4 system.

@herojack41
Emm.. Actually the question about ur new rigs costing should be asked in Hardware Q&A! Here is just for P4.. Not for dark side. tongue.gif

As for how to apply thermal grease, refer to to kabu's post. Some advise around, apply to little will burnt ur cpu, apply too much will also burnt ur cpu. So becareful. wink.gif
fylon
post Nov 20 2007, 10:36 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

That is thermal paste. Not grease. Thermal grease is something like semi liquid. Just like cream type. Well.. The size of a rice is more then enough for a processor. Normally a tube of thermal grease (depend on size) can use for 10-40 pc. But anyways, it still depend. biggrin.gif
fylon
post Nov 20 2007, 10:41 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Then? If u wanna use it, just the size of a piece of rice will do for ur processor already. Did u read the post that kabu linked? Its a useful link, if ur the 1st time and duno how to apply.
fylon
post Nov 20 2007, 10:53 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@herojack41
If i were u, i will take it off again and reapply. As is danger if too much thermal grease is applied. Why? Because if the layer too thick it will make the heat transfer process become slow. Thus, temperature wil shot up high. Not good for long time, proc will burnt.

@Pengster
Ehehe.. Ur using the stock heatsink for ur 68GS? Mine were 60-67'c range. Idle is around 63'c, once gaming will heat 67'c. Ofcause will teh huge stock heatsink. biggrin.gif Lazy to change to my Zalman cooler.
fylon
post Nov 20 2007, 11:08 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Yeap. Maybe.. Even with stock hsf, my proc will never got beyond 55'c on full load. Change a reapply the thermal grease will helps reduce the heat. Bro, RM5 per stick? Mine near per RM50 per tube.
fylon
post Nov 20 2007, 11:46 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@Kabu
Haha.. Got! But rarely happened. U know what? Most of the user at kch here.. Their C2D rigs all run at E2xx0 series. Gosh! I seldom heard customer wanna find E6 series. sweat.gif Really sweat.. Haha..

By then, got chance grab a MX-2. It performance better then AS5. 3-4'c lower then AS5. And also, the tube is bigger.. Alot more of grease inside. brows.gif But the price is almost the same in LYN if u count in teh postage. LYN bulk see RM40, +shipping RM5. My place dealer price, RM45 also. Same.. So i grab at local here. laugh.gif
fylon
post Nov 20 2007, 11:59 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@Edmin
Hahaha.. Totally admit what ur words. Well.. Thats what kuching ppl was! laugh.gif 99% Softcore and only 1% hardcore. By then, those hardcore customer come, their request is damn scary type. All their items have to order. Maximus, 8800Ulta, crucial Balista and some other etc. Here is just like, wan cheap then all the way to cheapest. But if high end, then all the way high until scary type. laugh.gif HP? brows.gif Yup.. Some of their item really high end. HP Black Bird.. tongue.gif

P/s: MX-2? Yup. Got but i will be at HP Printer booth la.. Dont think can accessories booth find u what u want. laugh.gif As if i can go out during the fair then no problem go lim teh with both of u. rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by fylon: Nov 21 2007, 12:00 AM
fylon
post Nov 21 2007, 12:04 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Yeah. Gotta clean the surface before applying the new grease on. I usually lap it alcohol.. laugh.gif If u got enough cash, can get the thermal grease cleaner from sHawTy. He was doing the bulk for this item. RM25 it hink.
fylon
post Nov 21 2007, 08:22 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

What a busy day.. shakehead.gif

@herojack41
Yea. U can do that as well. It depend on individual actually. But for me, i will lap it flat on the surface of the processor.

30 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0531sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:29 PM